DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faust (US 2013/0065105) in view of Shaffer, II et al. (US 2010/0183920) and further in view of Whitney (US 516,253).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Faust discloses in Figs 1-9, a bipolar storage battery (ref 100), comprising: a bipolar plate (ref 10, 12); a positive current collector (one of ref 14) bonded to one surface ([0039]) of the bipolar plate (ref 10, 12); a positive active material layer (ref 16) placed on the positive current collector (ref 14); a negative current collector (another of ref 14) bonded to another surface ([0039]) of the bipolar plate (ref 10, 12); a negative active material layer (ref 18) placed on the negative current collector (another of ref 14); and a cover plate (ref 11) covering a peripheral edge portion ([0024]) of the positive current collector (one of ref 14).
Faust does not explicitly disclose collectors bonded by adhesive to the bipolar plate.
Shaffer, II discloses in Figs 1-14, a bipolar battery ([0042]) including a substrate having positive and negative current collectors applied to each of opposing faces of the substrate via an adhesive ([0023]). This configuration enhances the bonding of the collectors to the substrate ([0023]).
Shaffer, II and Faust are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, bipolar battery plates.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the adhesive disclosed by Shaffer, II into the structure of Faust to enhance bonding of the collectors to the bipolar plate, thereby enhancing overall structure integrity of the battery.
Faust also does not disclose a support column configured to support adjacent plates to each other when stacked, wherein the peripheral edge portion includes a peripheral edge portion of the support column, and the cover plate covers the peripheral edge portion of the support column.
Whitney discloses in Figs 1-3, a secondary battery (Title) for a vehicle (P2/C2/L15-16) including a stack of electrode trays (refs “a”, Fig 2), stacked on top of one another (Fig 2). The electrode trays (refs “a”) are formed with a column (P1/C2/L73-95) therein at peripheral end shoulder areas (refs a3, a4, Fig 2), and the columns are screw-threaded for bolts (refs b) to fasten the stacked trays (refs “a”) together (Fig 2, P1/C2/L73-95). This configuration enhances the structural integrity of the battery structure (P1/C1/L10-12, P1/C2/L73-95).
Faust and Whitney are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the column support structure disclosed by Whitney to the bipolar plate structure of Faust to enhance overall battery structural integrity. The envisaged combination of Faust and Whitney results in the cover plate / frame covering a peripheral edge of the support column.
Regarding claims 2, 4, 6, 9 and 13, modified Faust discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the positive current collector (one of ref 14) and the negative current collector (another of ref 14) are made of lead ([0023]).
Regarding claims 3, 7 and 10, modified Faust discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the cover plate (ref 11) covers an end portion (Fig 2, at ref 11a, Fig 4, depicts frame structure in exploded form) of a positive electrode ([0023]) that includes the positive current collector (one of ref 14) and the positive active material layer (ref 16), and the cover plate (ref 11) has a frame shape (Fig 2, Fig 4, depicts frame structure in exploded form, [0025]-[0027]).
Regarding claims 5, 11 and 14, modified Faust discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the cover plate (ref 11) is placed at least on an adhesive ([0027]) provided on a positive electrode ([0023]) that includes the positive current collector (one of ref 14) and the positive active material layer (ref 16), and one end of the cover plate (ref 11) is placed to cover a region ([0027]) on which the adhesive ([0027]) is provided.
Regarding claims 8 and 15, modified Faust discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the cover plate (ref 11) is made of an acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene copolymer or polypropylene ([0029]-[0030], both listed).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Eskra et al. (US 2019/0393559) discloses in Figs 1-7, a battery (ref 10) including a bipolar plate laminated with positive (ref 14) and negative electrodes (ref 12), including outer laminated layers thereon (refs 18, 20).
/KENNETH J DOUYETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725