DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-16, 25-26 in the reply filed on 9/15/2025 is acknowledged.
Examiner’s Comment
Claim 2 recites “having the same density” in line 3. It appears that the claim should recited “having a same density”.
Claim 3 recites “having the same compressive resistance” in line 3. It appears that the claim should recited “having a same compressive resistance”.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16, 25 and 26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18/476956 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the copending application claims the same molded bead foam article comprising polylactic acid, wherein a surface of the article has been skin formed which is the same to the instantly claimed molded bead foam. The molded bead foam articles both comprise polylactic acid, at least one surface and at least a portion of at least one surface has been skin formed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-8, 13, 14, 16, 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Roberts et al. (US Patent Application No. 2013/0189470).
Regarding claim 1, Roberts et al. teach a molded (page 1, paragraphs [0005], [0006]) bead foam article (page 1, paragraphs [0004]-[0006]) comprising polylactic acid (page 2, paragraph [0028]), wherein the molded (page 1, paragraphs [0005], [0006]) bead foam article comprises at least one surface (page 1, paragraphs [0004]-[0006]), wherein at least a portion of the at least one surface is thermoformed (has been skin formed) (page 1, paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 6, Roberts et al. teach wherein the skin formed portion of the at least one surface has a density of 1 lb/ft3 to 20 lb/ft3 which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of between about 1.0 pcf and about 6.0 pct (page 3, paragraph [0043]).
Regarding claim 7, Roberts et al. teach wherein the skin formed portion of the at least one surface is leak proof (page 4, paragraph [0055]).
Regarding claim 8, Roberts et al. teach a molded (page 1, paragraphs [0005], [0006]) bead foam article (page 1, paragraphs [0004]-[0006]) comprising polylactic acid (page 2, paragraph [0028]), wherein the molded (page 1, paragraphs [0005], [0006]) bead foam article comprises at least one surface (page 1, paragraphs [0004]-[0006]), wherein at least a portion of the at least one surface is thermoformed (has been skin formed) (page 1, paragraph [0006]).
Roberts et al. is silent on wherein the skin formed portion of the at least one surface has an R-value that is unchanged in at least 1 year when exposed to water. It is elementary that a mere recitation of a newly discovered property, inherently possessed by the things in the prior art, does not cause a claim drawn to those things to distinguish over the prior art (In re Swinehart et al, 169 USPQ 226 at 229). It is inherent that the inclusion of the same polylactic acid and skin formed surface within the molded bead foam article of Roberts et al. would possess the same R-value as the instant application because it possesses all the other claimed constituents in the same structure. MPEP 2112.01
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Roberts et al. teach wherein the molded bead foam articles is in the form of a box having a plurality of sides (page 3, paragraph [0035], Fig. 1), wherein fewer than all sides of the box have a skin formed portion on a surface (page 1, paragraph [0006], page 3, paragraph [0035], Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Roberts et al. teach wherein the molded bead foam article is in the form of a wheel (spare wheel cover) (page 2, paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 25, Roberts et al. teach wherein the at least one surface of the skin formed portion forms a wheel well (curved) (page 2, paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 26, Roberts et al. teach wherein the molded bead foam article comprises blends of polylactic acid (page 2, paragraph [0029]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts et al. (US Patent Application No. 2013/0189470).
Regarding claim 2, Roberts et al. teach a molded (page 1, paragraphs [0005], [0006]) bead foam article (page 1, paragraphs [0004]-[0006]) comprising polylactic acid (page 2, paragraph [0028]), wherein the molded (page 1, paragraphs [0005], [0006]) bead foam article comprises at least one surface (page 1, paragraphs [0004]-[0006]), wherein at least a portion of the at least one surface is thermoformed (has been skin formed) (page 1, paragraph [0006]).
Roberts et al. do not disclose wherein the skin formed portion of the at least one surface has a greater compressive resistance than a conventional EPS-based foamed article having the same density. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in compressive resistance involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the compressive resistance of Roberts et al. in order to increase the stiffness of the core (Roberts et al., page 2, paragraphs [0027], [0028]).
Regarding claim 3, Roberts et al. teach a molded (page 1, paragraphs [0005], [0006]) bead foam article (page 1, paragraphs [0004]-[0006]) comprising polylactic acid (page 2, paragraph [0028]), wherein the molded (page 1, paragraphs [0005], [0006]) bead foam article comprises at least one surface (page 1, paragraphs [0004]-[0006]), wherein at least a portion of the at least one surface is thermoformed (has been skin formed) (page 1, paragraph [0006]).
Roberts et al. do not disclose wherein the skin formed portion of the at least one surface has a lower density than a conventional EPS-based foam article having eh same compressive resistance. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in density involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the density of the skin formed portion of Roberts et al. in order to capture frequencies emanating from road and wind noise as well as vibration and harshness emissions (Roberts et al. page 5, paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 4, Roberts et al. teach a molded (page 1, paragraphs [0005], [0006]) bead foam article (page 1, paragraphs [0004]-[0006]) comprising polylactic acid (page 2, paragraph [0028]), wherein the molded (page 1, paragraphs [0005], [0006]) bead foam article comprises at least one surface (page 1, paragraphs [0004]-[0006]), wherein at least a portion of the at least one surface is thermoformed (has been skin formed) (page 1, paragraph [0006]).
Roberts et al. do not disclose wherein the skin formed portion of the at least one surface has a compressive resistance that is 30-50% greater than a surface of a PLA-based molded bead foam article that has not been skin formed. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in compressive resistance involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the compressive resistance of Roberts et al. in order to increase the stiffness of the core (Roberts et al., page 2, paragraphs [0027], [0028]).
Regarding claim 5, Roberts et al. teach wherein the skin formed portion of the at least one surface comprising a skin formed corner of skin formed corner of skin formed edge of the molded bead foam article (page 1, paragraphs [0004]-[0006], page 3, paragraph [0035], Figs. 1 and 2).
Roberts et al. do not disclose wherein the skin formed corner or skin formed edge is effective to increase a drop resistance of the molded bead foam article without changing the density. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in drop resistance involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the drop resistance of Roberts et al. in order to increase the stiffness of the core (Roberts et al., page 2, paragraphs [0027], [0028]).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts et al. (US Patent Application No. 2013/0189470) in view of Lee et al. (US Patent Application No. 2014/0050904).
Roberts et al. are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Roberts et al. fail to teach wherein the article further comprises identifying information printed directly on the skin formed portion of the at least one surface. However, Lee et al. teach a foam article comprising polylactic acid and at least one surface (page 1, paragraph [0006]), wherein the surface comprises a printed layer (page 3, paragraph [0066]), wherein the printed layer comprises ink comprising water (page 4, paragraph [0080]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the printed layer of Lee et al on the skin formed portion of Roberts et al. in order to impart various patterns and/or colors to the sheet to further improve the aesthetics of the sheet (Lee et al., page 3, paragraph [0066]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts et al. (US Patent Application No. 2013/0189470) in view of Ruckdaschel et al. (US Patent Application No. 2017/0369667).
Roberts et al. are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 11, Roberts et al. fail to teach wherein the molded bead foam article has an anisotropic compressive modulus and/or an anisotropic flexural modulus. However, Ruckdaschel et al. teach a molded foam (page 2, paragraph [0017]) comprising polylactic acid (page 5, paragraph [0085]), wherein the molded foam has an anisotropic compressive strength (page 2, paragraph [0031]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compressive modulus of Roberts et al. to that of Ruckdaschel et al. in order to provide different properties in different spatial directions (Ruckdaschel et al., page 6, paragraph [0108]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts et al. (US Patent Application No. 2013/0189470) in view of Waggoner et al. (US Patent Application No. 2022/0111570).
Roberts et al. are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 12, Roberts et al. fail to teach wherein the article further comprises a label with product information printed directly on the skin formed surface. However, Waggoner et al. teach an thermoformed expanded polylactic acid sheet (page 1, paragraph [0005], page 5, paragraph [0050], page 13, paragraph [0132]) comprising a label (page 15, paragraph [0152], page 18, paragraph [0180]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the label of Waggoner et al. on the skin formed surface of Roberts et al. in order to provide exceptional print quality (Waggoner et al., page 18, paragraph [0180]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts et al. (US Patent Application No. 2013/0189470) in view of Bhargava (US Patent Application No. 2016/0325472).
Roberts et al. are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 15, Roberts et al. fail to teach wherein the molded bead foam article is in the form of an automobile headrest. However, Bhargava teaches a molded bead foam article (page 1, paragraphs [0004], [0006], [0007]) comprising PLA (page 2, paragraph [0027]), wherein the molded bead foam article is in the form of an automobile headrest (page 5, paragraph [0060]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the article of Roberts et al. as an automobile headrest as that of Bhargava in order to provide use in the automotive industry, where lighter materials are desired (Bhargava, page 5, paragraph [0060]).
Conclusion
/Chinessa T. Golden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 12/31/2025