DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the fluid outlet" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3, 6, 8-10, and 12 are rejected for incorporating the indefinite limitation by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Broadus (US 6206252).
Broadus discloses a storage space assembly comprising a storage cavity (B) having a space for receiving items to be stored (Fig. 1), the storage space assembly further comprising at least one fluid reservoir (30) which is attached to the storage cavity or integrated into the storage cavity (Figs. 1-6), wherein the storage cavity has an inner wall facing the receiving space (Fig. 5, right side 34 facing truck bed) and an outer wall (Fig. 6, left side 34) and the fluid reservoir is arranged between an inner wall facing the receiving space and an outer wall of the storage cavity (Figs. 5, 6); the fluid reservoir and/or the storage cavity is/are made of a plastics material or comprise(s) such a plastics material (col. 2, ll. 30); the fluid reservoir extends over between 40% and 80% of the wall of the storage cavity (see Figs. 1, 2; nearly 100% of tailgate ‘wall’ covered); and wherein the fluid outlet is located on a lower edge of the fluid reservoir (see annotated figure below).
Broadus further discloses the fluid reservoir is integrally formed on the storage cavity (Figs. 106); the fluid reservoir comprises a fluid inlet (38) and a fluid outlet (52); the at least one fluid reservoir is a water tank (functional/intended use limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Broadus (US 6206252) in view of Graf (US 2008/0067179).
Broadus discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the particular materials of the fluid reservoir as claimed.
However, Graf teaches constructing a fluid reservoir wherein the material for the fluid reservoir is HDPE or PP (claim 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the Broadus fluid reservoir out of HDPE or PP material as taught by Graf, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Claim(s) 9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Broadus (US 6206252) in view of Graf (US 2008/0067179) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Knappe (US 5012950).
Broadus as modified above discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the particular materials of the fluid reservoir as claimed.
However, Knappe teaches constructing a fluid reservoir wherein the material for the fluid reservoir is filled with glass fiber material (Abstract, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the Broadus fluid reservoir out of glass fiber material as taught by Knappe, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Boadus does not teach the limitations of amended claim 1 because Broadus does not disclose a water tank and storage cavity that are made of plastic material. This argument has been considered, however is not persuasive in light of Broadus specifically teaching construction of its water tank out of plastic material (see col. 2, ll. 30).
Applicant next argues that Broadus does not disclose a fluid reservoir that extends over more than 40% of the wall of the storage cavity. This argument has been considered, however is not persuasive in light of the Broadus fluid reservoir extending over close to 100% of the end wall, or tailgate, of the storage cavity (truck bed). This is shown extensively throughout Figures 1-6 of Broadus.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the fluid outlet is in the bottom underneath the storage space) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
For the reasons stated above, as well as those set forth in the rejections above, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER N HELVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734
September 17, 2025