Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-9 remain in the application as withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ampferer (US 4,510,898). In the embodiment shown in Fig. 2, Ampferer discloses an indexing bolt (24) for joining forms comprising a first threaded barrel portion (25) receiving an adjustable retainer in the form of a flanged nut (29) engaging a first form assembly (at 31), a second smaller threaded barrel portion (25) threadably coupled to a second form (at 26) and, an indexing section including a tapered portion engaging the second form (at 28) and a non-threaded cylindrical portion indexing the first from. The nut would provide length adjustments for clamping the second form (7) to the first form (16).
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by applicant’s admitted prior art as shown in Fig. 6. In Fig. 6 of the instant application the AAPA discloses a from for a composite assembly (110) comprising: first and second forms (112 and 114) for engaging composite materials; the first from including and first alignment plate (120); the second form including a second alignment plate (132); an indexing bolt (138) extending through openings in the first and second alignment plates; a retainer (139) mounted to the indexing bolt engaging the first mounting plate for pushing the first form assembly to second form assembly; and the indexing bolt further includes a non-threaded cylindrical portion (166) and a tapered portion (164).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ampferer. Ampferer does not discuss any dimension of in regards to a length of the flange nut can adjust over the first barrel portion. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have the minimum and maximum adjustment within the claimed range because it is well known to make fasteners in different dimension based on the design requirements for a particular application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: while the prior art does disclose the indexing bolt for at least the reasons as explained above, it does not disclose or make obvious the indexing bolt in combination with first and second from assemblies which could be used for forming a composite part. Additionally, while the prior art also does disclose an indexing bolt clamping first and second form assemblies (applicant’s admitted prior art), there would be no motivation for combining it with a threaded retainer as taught in the indexing bolts of the prior art because claimed invention is at least a solution to a different problem not recognized in the similar prior art indexing bolts. See MPEP 2141.02 III.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675