DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yadav (US Publication No. 20170191843).
As to claim 1, Yadav teaches a method of interacting in a social media platform (fig. 1, Abs, social network and geo-location based system for enhancing personal safety via users' mobile devices. Through the system's operation, a user can cause sending of a distress signal to pre-identified persons, groups within their social network), the method comprising: receiving from a first user of a social media platform via a safety feature of the social media platform a request to a second user of the social media platform to track the first user in response to the request (fig. 1, fig. 15A-C, tracking user micro-crowd members, pp0116, a system user 112 selects the tracking button 312 from the home page graphical user interface 300 of the personal safety system application 108. Through use of the method 1500, a system user 112 adds selected members of the user's user crowd 114 to the user's micro-crowd 114 for tracking of the selected members' geo-locations and safety check-ins, may display the then current geo-location of a selected micro-crowd member, and pp0123, pp00124, request and response process); providing the request to the second user via the safety feature; in response to the request, allowing the second user to track the physical location of the first user via the safety feature (fig. 1, fig. 15A-C, tracking user micro-crowd members, pp0116, a system user 112 selects the tracking button 312 from the home page graphical user interface 300 of the personal safety system application 108. Through use of the method 1500, a system user 112 adds selected members of the user's user crowd 114 to the user's micro-crowd 114 for tracking of the selected members' geo-locations and safety check-ins, may display the then current geo-location of a selected micro-crowd member, and pp0123, pp00124, request and response process); receiving an alert from the first user via a panic button of the safety feature; and providing the alert to the second user via the safety feature (fig. 1, fig. 4A-B, #412, #420, alert post button to send alert to mobile devices of user crowd members, and pp0088, pp0089).
As to claim 2, Yadav teaches wherein the second user is physically near the first user when the request is provided to the second user (fig. 1, fig. 15, pp0011, users attending an event at an event venue. While event crowd members are at the event venue, the system tracks their geo-locations and provides geo-located information to them on a map of the event venue displayed, via the system's mobile device software, on the event crowd members' mobile devices).
As to claim 3, Yadav teaches wherein the request is provided to a plurality of users physically near the first user (fig. 1, fig. 15, pp0011, users attending an event at an event venue. While event crowd members are at the event venue, the system tracks their geo-locations and provides geo-located information to them on a map of the event venue displayed, via the system's mobile device software, on the event crowd members' mobile devices).
As to claim 4, Yadav teaches wherein the alert is provided to the plurality of users (fig. 1, fig. 4A-B, #412, #420, alert post button to send alert to mobile devices of user crowd members, and pp0088, pp0089).
As to claim 5, Yadav teaches wherein the first user and the plurality of user are unacquainted (fig. 1, fig. 3, pp0011, event crowd members, attending an event at an event venue).
As to claim 6, Yadav teaches wherein the first user and the second user are unacquainted (fig. 1, fig. 3, pp0011, event crowd members, attending an event at an event venue).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yadav (US Publication No. 20170191843) in view of Crutchfield et al. (US Publication No. 20160234643).
As to claim 7, Yadav teaches the limitations of the independent claim as discussed above. Yadav further teaches the concept of further comprising:
providing a map interface to the second user (fig. 1, fig. 3, #302, pp0080), the map interface including a location of user content that is available to the second user feature of the social media platform, the user content including a virtual object representing a user profile of the first user (fig. 1, fig. 3, #308, pp0080, pp0105, an alert marker 308 indicating the geo-location of the corresponding alert on the map 1014, The detail information comprises the alert type, the geo-location of the alert in textual form, the date and time when the alert was created, the name of the person who created the alert, and an alert description). However, Yadav fails to explicitly teach providing to the second user via an augmented reality.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Crutchfield teaches the concept of providing to the second user via an augmented reality (fig. 22, pp0066, the augmented reality module may overlay a representation 430/FIG 22 (e.g., icon or photograph, plus name, location and/or distance) of each group member over a point in the scope image 432 having the position coordinates (e.g., latitude and longitude) corresponding with the position coordinates of the group member's mobile device, and fig. 25). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yadav with the teachings of Crutchfield to achieve the goal of efficiently and accurately connecting people socially by providing the precise location of each friend by displaying a profile icon on the screen of their mobile device and enhancing user’s experience in a communication system (Crutchfield, pp0007).
As to claims 8, 13, and 18, Yadav in view of Crutchfield teaches the limitations of independent claims as discussed above. Yadav further teaches wherein the virtual object representing a user profile of the first user is pinned to a first geographic location (fig. 3, #308, #312, pp0080, and pp0105, an alert marker 308 indicating the geo-location of the corresponding alert on the map 1014 and current location the system user 112, The detail information comprises the alert type, the geo-location of the alert in textual form, the date and time when the alert was created, the name of the person who created the alert, and an alert description).
As to claims 9, 10, 14, 15, 19, and 20, Yadav in view of Crutchfield teaches the limitations of independent claims as discussed above. Yadav further teaches wherein the virtual object representing a user profile of the first user has a location near the physical location (current location the system user 112) of the first user (fig. 3, #308, #312, pp0080, and pp0105, an alert marker 308 indicating the geo-location of the corresponding alert on the map 1014 and current location the system user 112, The detail information comprises the alert type, the geo-location of the alert in textual form, the date and time when the alert was created, the name of the person who created the alert, and an alert description).
As to claims 11 and 16, Yadav in view of Crutchfield teaches the limitations of independent claims as discussed above. However, fails to explicitly teach further comprising providing an augmented reality user interface to the second user, the augmented reality user interface including a display of the virtual object representing a user profile of the first user superimposed over an image of a real-world environment captured by a camera of a mobile device of the second user.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Crutchfield teaches the concept of providing an augmented reality user interface to the second user (fig. 22, fig. 25), the augmented reality user interface including a display of the virtual object representing a user profile of the first user superimposed over an image of a real-world environment captured by a camera of a mobile device of the second user (fig. 22, Clm. 1, pp0066, the augmented reality module may overlay a representation 430/FIG 22 (e.g., icon or photograph, plus name, location and/or distance) of each group member over a point in the scope image 432 having the position coordinates (e.g., latitude and longitude) corresponding with the position coordinates of the group member's mobile device, and fig. 25). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yadav with the teachings of Crutchfield to achieve the goal of efficiently and accurately connecting people socially by providing the precise location of each friend by displaying a profile icon on the screen of their mobile device and enhancing user’s experience in a communication system (Crutchfield, pp0007).
As to claims 12 and 17, Yadav in view of Crutchfield teaches the limitations of independent claims as discussed above. However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the first user is viewable in the image of the real-world environment.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Crutchfield teaches the concept wherein the first user is viewable in the image of the real-world environment (fig. 22, fig. 25). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yadav with the teachings of Crutchfield to achieve the goal of efficiently and accurately connecting people socially by providing the precise location of each friend by displaying a profile icon on the screen of their mobile device and enhancing user’s experience in a communication system (Crutchfield, pp0007).
As to claim 21, Yadav teaches a method of interacting in a social media platform (fig. 1, Abs, social network and geo-location based system for enhancing personal safety via users' mobile devices. Through the system's operation, a user can cause sending of a distress signal to pre-identified persons, groups within their social network), the method comprising: receiving from a first user of a social media platform via a safety feature of the social media platform a request to a second user of the social media platform to track the first user in response to the request (fig. 1, fig. 15A-C, tracking user micro-crowd members, pp0116, a system user 112 selects the tracking button 312 from the home page graphical user interface 300 of the personal safety system application 108. Through use of the method 1500, a system user 112 adds selected members of the user's user crowd 114 to the user's micro-crowd 114 for tracking of the selected members' geo-locations and safety check-ins, may display the then current geo-location of a selected micro-crowd member, and pp0123, pp00124, request and response process); providing the request to the second user via the safety feature; in response to the request, allowing the second user to track the physical location of the first user via the safety feature (fig. 1, fig. 15A-C, tracking user micro-crowd members, pp0116, a system user 112 selects the tracking button 312 from the home page graphical user interface 300 of the personal safety system application 108. Through use of the method 1500, a system user 112 adds selected members of the user's user crowd 114 to the user's micro-crowd 114 for tracking of the selected members' geo-locations and safety check-ins, may display the then current geo-location of a selected micro-crowd member, and pp0123, pp00124, request and response process); receiving an alert from the first user via a panic button of the safety feature; and providing the alert to the second user via the safety feature (fig. 1, fig. 4A-B, #412, #420, alert post button to send alert to mobile devices of user crowd members, and pp0088, pp0089); and providing a map interface to the second user (fig. 1, fig. 3, #302, pp0080), the map interface including a location of user content that is available to the second user of the social media platform, the user content including a virtual object representing a user profile of the first user (fig. 1, fig. 3, #308, pp0080, pp0105, an alert marker 308 indicating the geo-location of the corresponding alert on the map 1014, The detail information comprises the alert type, the geo-location of the alert in textual form, the date and time when the alert was created, the name of the person who created the alert, and an alert description). However, Yadav fails to explicitly teach providing to the second user via an augmented reality feature.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Crutchfield teaches the concept of providing to the second user via an augmented reality feature (fig. 22, pp0066, the augmented reality module may overlay a representation 430/FIG 22 (e.g., icon or photograph, plus name, location and/or distance) of each group member over a point in the scope image 432 having the position coordinates (e.g., latitude and longitude) corresponding with the position coordinates of the group member's mobile device, and fig. 25). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yadav with the teachings of Crutchfield to achieve the goal of efficiently and accurately connecting people socially by providing the precise location of each friend by displaying a profile icon on the screen of their mobile device and enhancing user’s experience in a communication system (Crutchfield, pp0007).
As to claims 22 and 24, Yadav in view of Crutchfield teaches the limitations of independent claims as discussed above. However, fails to explicitly teach further comprising allowing the second user to access the user profile of the first user via the virtual object, the user profile including a graphical representation of the first user’s personality, the graphical representation being based on answers provided by the first user to a plurality of questions.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Crutchfield teaches the concept of allowing the second user to access the user profile of the first user via the virtual object (fig. 22, fig. 24, fig. 26), the user profile including a graphical representation of the first user’s personality (fig. 22, fig. 24, fig. 26, pp0066, a representation 430/FIG 22 (e.g., icon or photograph, plus name, location and/or distance)), the graphical representation being based on answers provided by the first user to a plurality of questions (fig. 22, fig. 24, fig. 26, pp0066, a representation 430/FIG 22 (e.g., icon or photograph, plus name, location and/or distance), and pp0069, the expanded container 434 may take the user to that group member's profile, to view more information about that user, such as her preferences, and pp0037). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yadav with the teachings of Crutchfield to achieve the goal of efficiently and accurately connecting people socially by providing the precise location of each friend by displaying a profile icon on the screen of their mobile device and enhancing user’s experience in a communication system (Crutchfield, pp0007).
As to claim 23, Yadav teaches a method of interacting in a social media platform (fig. 1, Abs, social network and geo-location based system for enhancing personal safety via users' mobile devices. Through the system's operation, a user can cause sending of a distress signal to pre-identified persons, groups within their social network), the method comprising: receiving from a first user of a social media platform via a safety feature of the social media platform a request to a second user of the social media platform to track the first user in response to the request (fig. 1, fig. 15A-C, tracking user micro-crowd members, pp0116, a system user 112 selects the tracking button 312 from the home page graphical user interface 300 of the personal safety system application 108. Through use of the method 1500, a system user 112 adds selected members of the user's user crowd 114 to the user's micro-crowd 114 for tracking of the selected members' geo-locations and safety check-ins, may display the then current geo-location of a selected micro-crowd member, and pp0123, pp00124, request and response process); providing the request to the second user via the safety feature; in response to the request, allowing the second user to track the physical location of the first user via the safety feature (fig. 1, fig. 15A-C, tracking user micro-crowd members, pp0116, a system user 112 selects the tracking button 312 from the home page graphical user interface 300 of the personal safety system application 108. Through use of the method 1500, a system user 112 adds selected members of the user's user crowd 114 to the user's micro-crowd 114 for tracking of the selected members' geo-locations and safety check-ins, may display the then current geo-location of a selected micro-crowd member, and pp0123, pp00124, request and response process); receiving an alert from the first user via a panic button of the safety feature; and providing the alert to the second user via the safety feature (fig. 1, fig. 4A-B, #412, #420, alert post button to send alert to mobile devices of user crowd members, and pp0088, pp0089); and providing a map interface to the second user (fig. 1, fig. 3, #302, pp0080), the map interface including a location of user content that is available to the second user of the social media platform, the user content including a virtual object representing a user profile of the first user (fig. 1, fig. 3, #308, pp0080, pp0105, an alert marker 308 indicating the geo-location of the corresponding alert on the map 1014, The detail information comprises the alert type, the geo-location of the alert in textual form, the date and time when the alert was created, the name of the person who created the alert, and an alert description). However, fails to explicitly teach providing an augmented reality user interface to the second user, the augmented reality user interface including a display of the virtual object representing a user profile of the first user superimposed over an image of a real-world environment captured by a camera of a mobile device of the second user.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Crutchfield teaches the concept of providing an augmented reality user interface to the second user (fig. 22, fig. 25), the augmented reality user interface including a display of the virtual object representing a user profile of the first user superimposed over an image of a real-world environment captured by a camera of a mobile device of the second user (fig. 22, Clm. 1, pp0066, the augmented reality module may overlay a representation 430/FIG 22 (e.g., icon or photograph, plus name, location and/or distance) of each group member over a point in the scope image 432 having the position coordinates (e.g., latitude and longitude) corresponding with the position coordinates of the group member's mobile device, and fig. 25). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yadav with the teachings of Crutchfield to achieve the goal of efficiently and accurately connecting people socially by providing the precise location of each friend by displaying a profile icon on the screen of their mobile device and enhancing user’s experience in a communication system (Crutchfield, pp0007).
Conclusion
/OMONIYI OBAYANJU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645