DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment filed May 6, 2026:
Claims 1, 2, 4-9 and 11-20 are pending. Claims 3 and 10 have been canceled as per Applicant’s request;
The 102 and 103 rejections to Kim et al. set forth in the previous Office Action are withdrawn in light of the amendment;
The 102 and 103 rejections to Kaiser et al. set forth in the previous Office Action stand in light of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-8, 13-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaiser et al. (EP1511102A2).
As to claim 1, Kaiser discloses an apparatus (bipolar plate) comprising:
a plurality of flow field channels, wherein the plurality of flow field channels includes:
a plurality of ribs (walls between each flow path in the array of channels shown in Fig. 6 below) connecting an inlet and an outlet in a serpentine flow design; and
a plurality of blocking ribs within the plurality of ribs (see annotated Fig. 6 below).
As shown above Kaiser shows a first larger serpentine flow field wherein, the additional blocking ribs in the triangular area above are further representative of a further serpentine pathway within that area, as part of the larger serpentine flow field. Additional annotated copies of Fig. 6 are provided below.
As to claim 6, gases flown in a serpentine pattern between the blocking ribs within the serpentine pattern of the plurality of ribs defining flow channels (Fig. 6 for example).
As to claim 7, the plurality of ribs are congruent (Fig. 6 for example).
As to claim 8, Kim discloses an fuel cell (see pages 1-2 of the machine translation and the claims on page 14 of the machine translation) comprising:
a plurality of flow field channels, wherein the plurality of flow field channels includes:
a plurality of ribs (walls between each flow path in the array of channels shown in Fig. 6 below) connecting an inlet and an outlet in a serpentine flow design; and
a plurality of blocking ribs within the plurality of ribs (see annotated Fig. 6 below).
As shown above Kaiser shows a first larger serpentine flow field wherein, the additional blocking ribs in the triangular area above are further representative of a further serpentine pathway within that area, as part of the larger serpentine flow field. Additional annotated copies of Fig. 6 are provided below.
As to claim 13, gases flown in a serpentine pattern between the blocking ribs within the serpentine pattern of the plurality of ribs defining flow channels (Fig. 6 for example).
As to claim 14, the plurality of ribs are congruent (Fig. 6 for example).
As to claim 15, Kim discloses a method comprising:
creating a fuel cell (see pages 1-2 of the machine translation and the claims on page 14 of the machine translation) with a plurality of flow field channels, wherein the plurality of flow field channels includes:
a plurality of ribs (walls between each flow path in the array of channels shown in Fig. 6 below) connecting an inlet and an outlet in a serpentine flow design; and
a plurality of blocking ribs within the plurality of ribs (see annotated Fig. 6 below).
As shown above Kaiser shows a first larger serpentine flow field wherein, the additional blocking ribs in the triangular area above are further representative of a further serpentine pathway within that area, as part of the larger serpentine flow field. Additional annotated copies of Fig. 6 are provided below.
As to claim 19, gases flown in a serpentine pattern between the blocking ribs within the serpentine pattern of the plurality of ribs defining flow channels (Fig. 6 for example).
As to claim 20, the plurality of ribs are congruent (Fig. 6 for example).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 11-12 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaiser et al. (EP 1511102A2) as applied to claims 1, 8 and 16 above, and further in view of Kadowaki et al. (JP 2000-251907A).
Kaiser teaches of providing an array of blocking ribs along the walls (ribs) of at least a portion of the flow channels of a serpentine flow field channel array as discussed above. The design provides for flow which includes a serpentine flow path between the blocking ribs along a larger serpentine flow path of the flow channel itself (as discussed above).
Kaiser does not teach of the blocking ribs including first and second sets of blocking ribs attached to different portions of the ribs (claims 4-5, 11-12, 17-18). Kaiser teaches of flow field designs wherein members provided in the serpentine flow field channel can improve flow efficiency therein.
Kadowaki is drawn to the same field of endeavor relating to fuel cell flow fields and improving fluid flow in the channels of the flow field plate. Kadowaki discloses that various flow field designs can be implanted including providing blocking ribs attached to the channel ribs themselves (Fig. 2, to claims 3, 10 and 17) with alternating blocking ribs therein attached to both the upper and lower portions of the ribs (claims 4-5, 11-12, 17-18). Kadowaki teaches that placement of blocking ribs in various ways can improve fluid flow within the flow channel.
In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
As discussed above there has been prior legal precedent showing that rearrangement of a part in the face of a prior art teaching, a reasonable statement of such modification to be of routine design choice to provide the same desired benefit of either configuration.
In similar fashion, the difference between Kaiser and the claims noted above appears to be attachment of the blocking ribs to different portions of the ribs/walls. Providing the blocking ribs of Kaiser to upper and lower portions of the ribs of the flow channels themselves (as taught by Kadowaki) can similarly improve fluid flow within the flow channel. Rearranging the placement/location of blocking ribs within a flow channel as taught by Kadowaki to the flow channel of Kaiser (which appreciated the inclusion of blocking ribs in the flow channel) is held to have been a matter of routine design choice for modifying fluid flow within the flow channel absent some unexpected advantage to the particular attachment of blocking ribs to the ribs rather than the plate.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flow field design of Kaiser to include blocking ribs provided at the ribs at upper and lower portions of the ribs as taught by Kadowaki since it would have provided a suitable attachment design to effectively improve fluid flow along the flow field channels where blocking ribs are disposed on the flow channel walls/ribs themselves (Kaiser). Furthermore, rearranging the placement of the ribs to certain portions of the walls/ribs in the flow field channel including the ribs defining the flow channel (Kadowaki) would have been of routine design choice for modifying fluid flow within the flow channel absent some unexpected advantage to the particular attachment of blocking ribs to the ribs rather than the plate. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Claims 2, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaiser et al. (EP 1511102A2) as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0229348) or Kadowaki et al. (JP 2000-251907A).
Kaiser teaches of providing an array of blocking ribs along the walls (ribs) of at least a portion of the flow channels of a serpentine flow field channel array as discussed above. The design provides for flow which includes a serpentine flow path between the blocking ribs along a larger serpentine flow path of the flow channel itself (as discussed above).
Kaiser does not appear to explicitly teach of at least a portion of the blocking ribs within the plurality of blocking ribs attached to a plate (claims 2, 9 and 16).
Providing the blocking ribs to the base plate either directly or indirectly would have provided for a design that effectively permitted the serpentine in serpentine flow of fluid through the flow field of Kaiser. The design would have further provided a mechanical integration while providing the necessary functionality of the blocking ribs in that region. Making the blocking ribs integral with the plate supports the structure while also defining the gas flow paths.
Kim is drawn to the same field of endeavor relating to fuel cell flow fields and improving fluid flow in the channels of the flow field plate. Kim discloses an apparatus (fuel cell separator) comprising a plurality of flow field channels 100 (110/120), wherein the plurality of flow field channels includes a plurality of ribs (defining the flow field channels 100) connecting an inlet and an outlet in a serpentine flow design; and a plurality of blocking ribs 141, 142 within the plurality of ribs (Figs. 2 below and further Figs. 4-7, 9-12b, and 14).
The blocking ribs 141 and 142 are attached to a base plate surface (Fis. 4-5 and corresponding disclosure).
Even though the location of the ribs are different in placement, the concept recognized that the ribs are attached to the overall structure of the flow field plate and are not free-floating. It would be reasonably obvious to have the walls/ribs of Kaiser to be attached to the base plate of the flow field (either directly or indirectly) to effectively provide for the flow field design implemented by Kaiser where the blocking ribs are disposed along the entire height of the flow field (thus from the base plate of the flow field to the top of the ribs of the flow field) to provide the effective flow effect necessitated within the blocking rib region and overall flow field design of Kaiser.
Kadowaki is drawn to the same field of endeavor relating to fuel cell flow fields and improving fluid flow in the channels of the flow field plate. Kadowaki discloses that various flow field designs can be implanted including providing blocking ribs attached to the channel ribs themselves that are attached to the side walls and base plate (Fig. 2).
Kadowaki teaches that placement of blocking ribs in various ways can improve fluid flow within the flow channel but also recognized that the blocking ribs along a longer flow field path traverses the entire height of the flow field and is attached to the base plate of the flow field. The design would have further provided a mechanical integration while providing the necessary functionality of the blocking ribs in that region for manipulation of fluid flow along the flow field channel or path. Making the blocking ribs integral with the plate mechanically supports the structure while also defining the gas flow paths and requisite functionality.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to couple the blocking ribs of Kaiser to the base plate of the flow field as taught by Kim or Kadowaki since it would have provided a design which provided both mechanical and functional integration of the blocking ribs of Kaiser in the flow field design of Kaiser. Such modified blocking ribs would have effectively traversed the entire height of the flow field, thereby effectively influencing the flow through the blocking ribs along the entire height of a larger flow field channel and would have provided both the aforementioned functionality while providing additional effective mechanical integration of the blocking ribs into the flow field plate by coupling them to the base plate of the flow field.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 5, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument that Kaiser does not teach blocking ribs attached to the plurality of ribs is not persuasive.
As discussed above, Kaiser does show a greater serpentine flow field, defined by walls or extending ribs which are further modified in a triangular region with additional ribs (blocking ribs) to effectively form a larger serpentine flow field coupled with an additional serpentine flow path within the larger serpentine flow field along the triangular region.
Therefore, as shown above, an array of “blocking” ribs are provided in the triangular region of Kaiser and these ribs are attached to corresponding longer ribs defining the greater serpentine flow path from inlet to outlet.
Applicant further argues that Kaiser does not appear to disclose blocking ribs attached to the ribs that form a serpentine blocking rib pattern within the serpentine flow design of the ribs.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As shown in the two annotated copies of Fig. 6 above, Kaiser does teach of a first serpentine flow design from inlet to outlet using an array of first ribs extending from the base plate. In addition, Kaiser compliments that design with a portion of additional ribs (blocking ribs) that provide for a further serpentine blocking rib pattern within the larger serpentine flow field in the region of Kaiser noted above.
Therefore, the claims stand rejected as stated above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GREGG CANTELMO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725