DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leiber et al. (U.S. 2018/0065605).
Regarding claim 1, Leiber discloses (figs. 1-3) An integrated brake apparatus of a vehicle (see claim 1 at least) and comprising:
a first housing (GH1);
a brake master cylinder (10) configured to generate a first hydraulic pressure (standard master cylinder operation) under action of a brake pedal (BP), wherein the brake master cylinder comprises a first cylinder body (10 is called a “piston-cylinder unit”, thus the cylinder body is the cylinder of the piston-cylinder unit), and wherein the first cylinder body and the first housing are integrally formed (fig. 2 as shown);
a motor (M) disposed on the first housing (disposed “on” the housing GH1 at the bottom thereof);
a pump (11) configured to generate a second hydraulic pressure when driven by the motor (11 is called a “pressure supply device”, thus it generates pressure), wherein the pump comprises a pump housing, and wherein the pump housing and the first housing are integrally formed (as shown, pump 11 is housed within GH1 and does not contain a separate housing, thus it is “integrally formed” at least functionally if not literally);
a second housing (GH2) coupled to the first housing (as shown);
a valve apparatus (valving including 15a, 15b at least) disposed in the second housing (as shown), wherein the valve apparatus is configured to: enable either the first hydraulic pressure or the second hydraulic pressure to be supplied to a wheel brake; and adjust a strength of either the first hydraulic pressure or the second hydraulic pressure supplied to the wheel brake (see pgh. 0075, enables and adjusts pressure supplied to wheel brakes);
a fluid reservoir (VB) comprising an oil fill port (at the top of VB in fig. 2); and
an electronic control unit (ECU),
wherein the first housing, the second housing, and the electronic control unit are arranged in a first direction (
A
2
) perpendicular to a second direction (pointing to the left in fig. 2), and wherein the second direction faces an opening of the oil fill port (looking to the left from axis
A
2
“faces”, i.e. looks toward, the opening of the reservoir VB).
Regarding claim 3, Leiber discloses (figs. 1-3) the motor is disposed on a first side that is of the first housing and that is away from the electronic control unit (as shown, motor at the bottom and ECU at the top relative to GH1)
Regarding claim 4, Leiber discloses (figs. 1-3) a rotation axis of the motor is perpendicular to an axis of the first cylinder body (as shown, rotation axis of the motor is along
A
2
while the cylinder body is along
A
1
).
Regarding claim 5, Leiber discloses (figs. 1-3) an included angle between a rotation axis of the motor and an axis of the first cylinder body is 60 degrees to 120 degrees (as shown, 90 degrees).
Regarding claim 6, Leiber discloses (figs. 1-3) an oil outlet (one of 15a, 15b) is disposed on a surface of a third side (see fig. 3, side facing to the left, corresponding to out of the page in fig. 2) that is of the second housing and that is away from the electronic control unit (the third side facing out of the page is “away” from the electronic control unit in that it does not point directly toward it as in up on the page in fig. 2), and wherein the oil outlet is configured to supply either the first hydraulic pressure or the second hydraulic pressure to the wheel brake (see pgh. 0075 at least).
Regarding claim 7, Leiber discloses (figs. 1-3) a first oil passage port (the other of 15a, 15b) is disposed on the second housing (as shown), and wherein the first oil passage port is connected to the fluid reservoir (indirectly, via 16 at least).
Regarding claim 11, Leiber discloses (figs. 1-3) A vehicle (abstract at least), comprising: a brake pedal (BP) configured to swing around a first axis extending in a first direction when pressed by a driver1; and an integrated brake apparatus comprising:
a first housing (GH1);
a brake master cylinder (10) configured to generate a first hydraulic pressure (standard master cylinder operation) under action of a brake pedal (BP), wherein the brake master cylinder comprises a first cylinder body (10 is called a “piston-cylinder unit”, thus the cylinder body is the cylinder of the piston-cylinder unit), and wherein the first cylinder body and the first housing are integrally formed (fig. 2 as shown);
a motor (M) disposed on the first housing (disposed “on” the housing GH1 at the bottom thereof);
a pump (11) configured to generate a second hydraulic pressure when driven by the motor (11 is called a “pressure supply device”, thus it generates pressure), wherein the pump comprises a pump housing, and wherein the pump housing and the first housing are integrally formed (as shown, pump 11 is housed within GH1 and does not contain a separate housing, thus it is “integrally formed” at least functionally if not literally);
a second housing (GH2) coupled to the first housing (as shown);
a valve apparatus (including 15a, 15b at least) disposed in the second housing (as shown), wherein the valve apparatus is configured to: enable either the first hydraulic pressure or the second hydraulic pressure to be supplied to a wheel brake; and adjust a strength of either the first hydraulic pressure or the second hydraulic pressure supplied to the wheel brake (see pgh. 0075, enables and adjusts pressure supplied to wheel brakes);
a fluid reservoir (VB) comprising an oil fill port (at the top of VB in fig. 2); and
an electronic control unit (ECU),
wherein the first housing, the second housing, and the electronic control unit are arranged in the first direction2 perpendicular to a second direction (whichever direction is named the “first direction, whether horizontally on the page or vertically on the page, the other direction is “perpendicular” to that), and
wherein the second direction faces an opening of the oil fill port (looking to the left from axis
A
2
“faces”, i.e. looks toward, the opening of the reservoir VB, or looking up from the location of pump 11, for example).
Regarding claim 12, Leiber discloses (figs. 1-3) the motor is disposed on a side that is of the first housing and that is away from the electronic control unit (as shown, motor M and ECU are on opposite sides of first housing GH1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leiber et al. (U.S. 2018/0065605) in view of Maruo et al. (U.S. 2016/0264114).
Regarding claim 8, Leiber does not appear to disclose the first oil passage port supplying oil to the master cylinder. In the same field of endeavor of brake control devices, Maruo teaches (figs. 1-2) a brake control device including a reservoir (4), a master cylinder (50), and an oil passage port (one of 502P, 502S) supplying oil to the brake master cylinder. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided oil passage ports from the reservoir to the master cylinder as suggested by Maruo to continually ensure the correct amount of fluid in the master cylinder, since some is sent along the path to the wheel brakes, recirculated back to the reservoir as needed, etc., so therefore the master cylinder needs to be provided with fluid to maintain pedal feel and performance.
Regarding claim 9, Leiber does not appear to disclose the location of the second and third oil passage ports. Maruo teaches a plurality of second oil passage ports are disposed on the first housing (e.g. 501S, 501P), wherein a plurality of third oil passage ports are disposed on the second housing (e.g. 120d, 120c), and wherein the second oil passage ports are connected to the third oil passage ports (see fig. 1,7, ports 501S,P attached to the master cylinder which is entirely contained within the first housing, while 120c,d are within the second housing due to proximity to the solenoids 22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the second and third oil passage ports on their respective housings to provide the ports adjacent the components they operate with, thereby achieving efficiency. Since the second ports are associated with the master cylinder which is provided in the first housing, these ports can also be in the first housing. Since the third ports are associated with the solenoids which are provided near the second housing, these ports can be provided in the second housing. This alleviates having addition tubing or connections to interconnect the various ports. Further it is noted that each device operates in the same manner when viewed in combination as they operated separately, namely each operates as a brake control device with slightly different design, but upon viewing them in combination, the prior art suggests the claimed invention.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leiber et al. (U.S. 2018/0065605) in view of Maruo et al. (U.S. 2016/0264114) and Nagashima et al. (U.S. 5607207).
Regarding claim 10, Leiber does not appear to disclose a seal plate. In the same field of endeavor of brake control devices, Nagashima teaches (figs. 1, 2, 6,7) a brake apparatus including a first housing (21,31,41), a second housing (VA), and a sealing plate component (50) disposed between the first housing and the second housing, wherein the sealing plate component comprises a plurality of through holes (107, 115, 120-123) corresponding to positions of the second oil passage ports and the third oil passage ports (“flow communication passages”. See also fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the sealing plate as suggested by Nagashima to prevent leakage of hydraulic fluid at the interface between the housing pieces.
Prior Art
Kawakami ‘988 discloses a brake control device with two-piece housing.
Conclusion
/DAVID MORRIS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/DAVID R MORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
1 Standard brake pedal structure. The pedal is connected to tappet 27, see figs. 3,5. Accordingly, the swing axis is either up and down in fig. 2, or left and right in fig. 2 in order to properly compress the tappet.
2 The recited components are all “arranged” in some manner in three dimensional space relative to one another, thus they are all “arranged in the first direction” as well, e.g. vertically on the page or horizontally on the page, at least.