Double Patenting
Claims from pending
Application No. 18/219,149
Claims from U.S.
Patent No. 11,751,224
1. An apparatus for wireless communication at a first network node, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the first network node to: receive, from a second network node, an indication of a mobility state of the second network node;
select one or more resources for the second network node based on the mobility state of the second network node; and provide an indication of the one or more resources to the second network node based on the one or more resources selected for the second network node.
17. A method of wireless communication performed at a network node, comprising: receiving, from a distributed unit (DU) of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, an indication of a mobility state of the IAB node; selecting one or more resources for the IAB node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) based on the mobility state of the IAB node; and transmitting, to the DU, an indication of the one or more resources to enable the IAB node to transmit the one or more SSBs using the one or more resources.
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to select the one or more resources, the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network node to: select, based on the mobility state of the second network node, the one or more resources for the second network node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs).
17. A method of wireless communication performed at a network node, comprising: receiving, from a distributed unit (DU) of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, an indication of a mobility state of the IAB node; selecting one or more resources for the IAB node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) based on the mobility state of the IAB node; and transmitting, to the DU, an indication of the one or more resources to enable the IAB node to transmit the one or more SSBs using the one or more resources.
3. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more SSBs are associated with at least one of cell access, cell selection, neighbor measurement, or peer discovery.
18. The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more SSBs are associated with at least one of cell access, cell selection, neighbor measurement, or peer discovery.
4. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to a synchronization raster associated with the mobility state.
20. The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to a synchronization raster associated with the mobility state.
5. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second network node is an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node.
17. A method of wireless communication performed at a network node, comprising: receiving, from a distributed unit (DU) of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, an indication of a mobility state of the IAB node; selecting one or more resources for the IAB node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) based on the mobility state of the IAB node; and transmitting, to the DU, an indication of the one or more resources to enable the IAB node to transmit the one or more SSBs using the one or more resources.
6. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the mobility state is a stationary mobility state or a mobile mobility state.
19. The method of claim 17, wherein the mobility state is a stationary mobility state or a mobile mobility state.
7. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to select the one or more resources, the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network node to: select the one or more resources for the second network node based on a type of the mobility state.
17. …selecting one or more resources for the IAB node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) based on the mobility state of the IAB node…
19. The method of claim 17, wherein the mobility state is a stationary mobility state or a mobile mobility state.
8. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state, wherein, to select the one or more resources, the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network node to: select the one or more resources for the second network node based on a first synchronization raster assigned to the first type of mobility state, and wherein a second synchronization raster is assigned to a second type of mobility state.
19. The method of claim 17, wherein the mobility state is a stationary mobility state or a mobile mobility state.
20. The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to a synchronization raster associated with the mobility state.
9. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state, wherein, to select the one or more resources, the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network node to: select the one or more resources for the second network node based on one or more of a first periodicity or a first time offset assigned to the first type of mobility state, and wherein one or more of a second periodicity or a second time offset is assigned to a second type of mobility state.
19. The method of claim 17, wherein the mobility state is a stationary mobility state or a mobile mobility state.
21. The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to at least one of a periodicity or a time offset associated with the mobility state.
10. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state, wherein, to select the one or more resources, the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network node to: select the one or more resources for the second network node based on one or more of a first synchronization signal block (SSB) measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window or a first SSB transmission configuration (STC) window assigned to the first type of mobility state, and wherein a second SMTC window or a second STC window is assigned to a second type of mobility state.
19. The method of claim 17, wherein the mobility state is a stationary mobility state or a mobile mobility state.
22. The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to a first SSB transmission configuration (STC) window associated with the mobility state, and wherein the first STC window is at least one of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to a second STC window associated with a different mobility state.
11. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the first SMTC window is one or more of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to the second SMTC window, or wherein the first STC window is one or more of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to the second STC window.
22. The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to a first SSB transmission configuration (STC) window associated with the mobility state, and wherein the first STC window is at least one of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to a second STC window associated with a different mobility state.
12. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein a first configuration of the first SMTC window or the first STC window identifies at least one of a first physical cell identifier (PCI) list or a first periodicity that is different from a second PCI list or a second periodicity identified by a second configuration of the second SMTC window or the second STC window.
23. The method of claim 22, wherein an STC of the first STC window identifies at least one of a first physical cell identifier (PCI) list or a first periodicity that is different from a second PCI list or a second periodicity identified by an STC of the second STC window.
13. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the indication includes information that enables the second network node to identify the one or more resources for transmission of one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs).
17. A method of wireless communication performed at a network node, comprising: receiving, from a distributed unit (DU) of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, an indication of a mobility state of the IAB node; selecting one or more resources for the IAB node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) based on the mobility state of the IAB node; and transmitting, to the DU, an indication of the one or more resources to enable the IAB node to transmit the one or more SSBs using the one or more resources.
15. A method of wireless communication performed at a first network node, comprising: receiving, from a second network node, an indication of a mobility state of the second network node;
selecting one or more resources for the second network node based on the mobility state of the second network node; and transmitting an indication of the one or more resources to the second network node based on the one or more resources being selected for the second network node.
17. A method of wireless communication performed at a network node, comprising: receiving, from a distributed unit (DU) of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, an indication of a mobility state of the IAB node; selecting one or more resources for the IAB node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) based on the mobility state of the IAB node; and transmitting, to the DU, an indication of the one or more resources to enable the IAB node to transmit the one or more SSBs using the one or more resources.
16. The method of claim 15, wherein selecting the one or more resources comprises: selecting, based on the mobility state of the second network node, the one or more resources for the second network node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs).
17. A method of wireless communication performed at a network node, comprising: receiving, from a distributed unit (DU) of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, an indication of a mobility state of the IAB node; selecting one or more resources for the IAB node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) based on the mobility state of the IAB node; and transmitting, to the DU, an indication of the one or more resources to enable the IAB node to transmit the one or more SSBs using the one or more resources.
17. The method of claim 16, wherein the one or more SSBs are associated with at least one of cell access, cell selection, neighbor measurement, or peer discovery.
18. The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more SSBs are associated with at least one of cell access, cell selection, neighbor measurement, or peer discovery.
18. The method of claim 16, wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to a synchronization raster associated with the mobility state.
20. The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to a synchronization raster associated with the mobility state.
19. The method of claim 15, wherein the second network node is an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node.
17. A method of wireless communication performed at a network node, comprising: receiving, from a distributed unit (DU) of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, an indication of a mobility state of the IAB node; selecting one or more resources for the IAB node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) based on the mobility state of the IAB node; and transmitting, to the DU, an indication of the one or more resources to enable the IAB node to transmit the one or more SSBs using the one or more resources.
20. The method of claim 15, wherein the mobility state is a stationary mobility state or a mobile mobility state.
19. The method of claim 17, wherein the mobility state is a stationary mobility state or a mobile mobility state.
21. The method of claim 15, wherein selecting the one or more resources comprises: selecting the one or more resources for the second network node based on a type of the mobility state.
17. …selecting one or more resources for the IAB node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) based on the mobility state of the IAB node…
19. The method of claim 17, wherein the mobility state is a stationary mobility state or a mobile mobility state.
22. The method of claim 15, wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state, wherein selecting the one or more resources comprises: selecting the one or more resources for the second network node based on a first synchronization raster assigned to the first type of mobility state, and wherein a second synchronization raster is assigned to a second type of mobility state.
19. The method of claim 17, wherein the mobility state is a stationary mobility state or a mobile mobility state.
20. The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to a synchronization raster associated with the mobility state.
23. The method of claim 15, wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state, wherein selecting the one or more resources comprises: selecting the one or more resources for the second network node based on one or more of a first periodicity or a first time offset assigned to the first type of mobility state, and wherein one or more of a second periodicity or a second time offset is assigned to a second type of mobility state.
19. The method of claim 17, wherein the mobility state is a stationary mobility state or a mobile mobility state.
21. The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to at least one of a periodicity or a time offset associated with the mobility state.
24. The method of claim 15, wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state, wherein selecting the one or more resources comprises: selecting the one or more resources for the second network node based on one or more of a first synchronization signal block (SSB) measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window or a first SSB transmission configuration (STC) window assigned to the first type of mobility state, and wherein a second SMTC window or a second STC window is assigned to a second type of mobility state.
19. The method of claim 17, wherein the mobility state is a stationary mobility state or a mobile mobility state.
22. The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to a first SSB transmission configuration (STC) window associated with the mobility state, and wherein the first STC window is at least one of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to a second STC window associated with a different mobility state.
25. The method of claim 24, wherein the first SMTC window is one or more of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to the second SMTC window, or wherein the first STC window is one or more of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to the second STC window.
22. The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to a first SSB transmission configuration (STC) window associated with the mobility state, and wherein the first STC window is at least one of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to a second STC window associated with a different mobility state.
26. The method of claim 24, wherein a first configuration of the first SMTC window or the first STC window identifies at least one of a first physical cell identifier (PCI) list or a first periodicity that is different from a second PCI list or a second periodicity identified by a second configuration of the second SMTC window or the second STC window.
23. The method of claim 22, wherein an STC of the first STC window identifies at least one of a first physical cell identifier (PCI) list or a first periodicity that is different from a second PCI list or a second periodicity identified by an STC of the second STC window.
27. The method of claim 15, wherein the indication includes information that enables the second network node to identify the one or more resources for transmission of one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs).
17. A method of wireless communication performed at a network node, comprising: receiving, from a distributed unit (DU) of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, an indication of a mobility state of the IAB node; selecting one or more resources for the IAB node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) based on the mobility state of the IAB node; and transmitting, to the DU, an indication of the one or more resources to enable the IAB node to transmit the one or more SSBs using the one or more resources.
29. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a first network node, cause the first network node to: receive, from a second network node, an indication of a mobility state of the second network node;
select one or more resources for the second network node based on the mobility state of the second network node; and provide an indication of the one or more resources to the second network node based on the one or more resources selected for the second network node.
49. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a network node, cause the network node to: receive, from a distributed unit (DU) of an integrated access and backhaul (TAB) node, an indication of a mobility state of the TAB node; select one or more resources for the TAB node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) based on the mobility state of the TAB node; and transmit, to the DU, an indication of the one or more resources to enable the TAB node to transmit the one or more SSBs using the one or more resources.
30. An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: means for receiving, from a second apparatus, an indication of a mobility state of the second apparatus;
means for selecting one or more resources for the second apparatus based on the mobility state of the second apparatus; and means for providing an indication of the one or more resources to the second apparatus based on the one or more resources selected for the second apparatus.
17. A method of wireless communication performed at a network node, comprising: receiving, from a distributed unit (DU) of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, an indication of a mobility state of the IAB node; selecting one or more resources for the IAB node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) based on the mobility state of the IAB node; and transmitting, to the DU, an indication of the one or more resources to enable the IAB node to transmit the one or more SSBs using the one or more resources.
Claims 1-13, 15-27 and 29-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17-23 and 49 of U.S. Patent No. 11,751,224. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of claims 1-13, 15-27 and 29-30 of the pending Appl. No. 18/356,866 and the subject matter of claims 17-23 and 49 of U.S. Patent No. 11,751,224 disclose a similar scope of invention. The similar scope of invention is related to receive, from a second network node, an indication of a mobility state of the second network node; select one or more resources for the second network node based on the mobility state of the second network node; and provide an indication of the one or more resources to the second network node based on the one or more resources selected for the second network node. While the claims are not verbatim copies, they are clearly identical in scope.
DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 02/17/2026 in which claims 1-30 are pending.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filed on 02/17/2026 with respect to independent claim 1 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection. Applicant’s arguments are addressed below. The claims have not overcome the claim rejections as shown below.
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Regarding amended independent claim 1, Applicant argues that You does not disclose at least “receive, from a second network node, an indication of a mobility state of the second network node” because there is not disclosure in You of the parent node receiving, from the child node, any indication of a mobility state of the child node.
Based on the amendments to the claim, further search was conducted resulting in the new ground of rejection presented below. The newly found prior art of Martin et al. (US 2018/0310297) discloses the amended feature of claim 1 as shown below in the Office Action.
Therefore, the amended independent claim 1 is rendered unpatentable. Independent claims 15, 29 and 30 recite similar distinguishing features as claim 1, thus are also rendered unpatentable. As a result the features of the claims are shown by the cited references as set forth below.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for receiving”, “means for selecting” and “means for providing” in claim 30.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The corresponding structure described in the specification includes controller/processor 240, memory 242, transmit processor 220, TX MIMO processor 230, MOD 232, antenna 234, etc. as indicated in Applicant’s PGPUB Fig. 2, and [0055].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 13, 15-17, 19-21, 27 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You et al. (US 2021/0014777) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “You” in view of Martin et al. (US 2018/0310297), hereinafter “Martin”.
As to claim 1, You teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a first network node (You, Figs. 13-14, 16, and 25, [0431]-[0434], the parent node or DgNB (base station) in a communication network with a child node), comprising:
one or more memories (You, Fig. 25, [0433], [0437], the base station includes a memory); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (You, Fig. 25, [0433], [0437], the base station includes processor connected to the memory to perform the functions of the base station), configured to cause the first network node to:
select one or more resources for the second network node based on the mobility state of the second network node (You, [0192]-[0193], [0195]-[0197], Fig. 16, [0212]-[0215], a configuration is determined by the parent node or DgNB and provided to a child node. The child node receives from the parent node or DgNB the discovery signal transmission configuration, discovery signal detection configuration and discovery signal transmission and detection request. The configuration received indicates information about the period, offset and duration for a discovery signal timing. Figs. 15 and 19, the resources to transmit the discovery signals include the period, offset and duration for a discovery signal timing. [0244], [0248], Fig. 19, the period to transmit the discovery signal A is based on the mobility of the IAB node); and
provide an indication of the one or more resources to the second network node based on the one or more resources selected for the second network node (You, [0192]-[0193], [0195]-[0197], [0204]-[0205], Fig. 16, [0212]-[0215], the parent node or DgNB transmits to the child node the discovery signal transmission configuration, discovery signal detection configuration and discovery signal transmission and detection request. The child node uses the configuration to transmit the discovery signal. The discovery signal is transmitted via the resources or timing indicated in the configuration).
You teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. You does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 1, receive, from a second network node, an indication of a mobility state of the second network node.
However, Martin teaches receive, from a second network node, an indication of a mobility state of the second network node (Martin, Fig. 6, [0067], “At step 703, the UE 500A transmits a D2D scheduling request to the base station 201. The D2D scheduling request includes the current speed of the UE (30 mph)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of You to have the features, as taught by Lee in order to determine which resources would be best suited (based on characteristics such as coverage area, transmission format, etc.), and allocate resources to the UE accordingly (Martin, [0066]).
As to claim 2, You teaches wherein, to select the one or more resources, the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network node to:
select, based on the mobility state of the second network node, the one or more resources for the second network node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) (You, [0143]-[0144], [0153], [0192]-[0193], [0195]-[0197], Fig. 16, [0212]-[0215], a configuration is determined by the parent node or DgNB and provided to a child node. The child node receives from the parent node or DgNB the discovery signal transmission configuration, discovery signal detection configuration and discovery signal transmission and detection request. The configuration received indicates information about the period, offset and duration for a discovery signal timing. Figs. 15 and 19, the resources to transmit the discovery signals include the period, offset and duration for a discovery signal timing. The discovery signal is a SSB. [0244], [0248], Fig. 19, the period to transmit the discovery signal A is based on the mobility of the IAB node).
As to claim 3, You teaches wherein the one or more SSBs are associated with at least one of cell access, cell selection, neighbor measurement, or peer discovery (You, [0143]-[0144], [0153], Fig. 16, [0211]-[0215], the discovery signal is a SSB and use to discover other IAB nodes or UEs. [0195], [0219], the procedure includes detection and measurement).
As to claim 5, You teaches wherein the second network node is an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node (You, [0157], [0243]-[0245], Fig. 19, the period to transmit the discovery signal A is based on the mobility of the IAB node).
As to claim 6, You teaches wherein the mobility state is a stationary mobility state or a mobile mobility state (You, [0157], [0187] ln 1-3, [0243]-[0245], Fig. 19, the period to transmit the discovery signal A is based on the mobility of the IAB node, such as little mobility, or no mobility).
As to claim 7, You teaches wherein, to select the one or more resources, the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network node to:
select the one or more resources for the second network node based on a type of the mobility state (You, [0192]-[0193], [0195]-[0197], Fig. 16, [0212]-[0215], a configuration is determined by the parent node or DgNB and provided to a child node. The child node receives from the parent node or DgNB the discovery signal transmission configuration, discovery signal detection configuration and discovery signal transmission and detection request. The configuration received indicates information about the period, offset and duration for a discovery signal timing. Figs. 15 and 19, the resources to transmit the discovery signals include the period, offset and duration for a discovery signal timing. [0244], [0248], Fig. 19, the period to transmit the discovery signal A is based on the mobility of the IAB node, such as little mobility, or no mobility).
As to claim 13, You teaches wherein the indication includes information that enables the second network node to identify the one or more resources for transmission of one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) (You, [0143]-[0144], [0153], [0192]-[0193], [0195]-[0197], [0204]-[0205], Fig. 16, [0212]-[0215], [0262], [0264], the parent node or DgNB transmits to the child node the discovery signal transmission configuration, discovery signal detection configuration and discovery signal transmission and detection request. The child node uses the configuration to transmit the discovery signal. The discovery signal is transmitted via the resources or timing indicated in the configuration. The discovery signal is a SSB).
As to claim 15, You teaches a method of wireless communication performed at a first network node (You, Fig. 13, [0176] ln 12-19, Fig. 14, Fig. 15, [0162], [0192]-[0193], [0195]-[0197], Fig. 16, [0212]-[0215], a process for discovery signal transmission/reception by a parent node), comprising:
selecting one or more resources for the second network node based on the mobility state of the second network node (You, [0192]-[0193], [0195]-[0197], Fig. 16, [0212]-[0215], a configuration is determined by the parent node or DgNB and provided to a child node. The child node receives from the parent node or DgNB the discovery signal transmission configuration, discovery signal detection configuration and discovery signal transmission and detection request. The configuration received indicates information about the period, offset and duration for a discovery signal timing. Figs. 15 and 19, the resources to transmit the discovery signals include the period, offset and duration for a discovery signal timing. [0244], [0248], Fig. 19, the period to transmit the discovery signal A is based on the mobility of the IAB node); and
transmitting an indication of the one or more resources to the second network node based on the one or more resources being selected for the second network node (You, [0192]-[0193], [0195]-[0197], [0204]-[0205], Fig. 16, [0212]-[0215], the parent node or DgNB transmits to the child node the discovery signal transmission configuration, discovery signal detection configuration and discovery signal transmission and detection request. The child node uses the configuration to transmit the discovery signal. The discovery signal is transmitted via the resources or timing indicated in the configuration).
You teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. You does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 15, receiving, from a second network node, an indication of a mobility state of the second network node.
However, Martin teaches receive, from a second network node, an indication of a mobility state of the second network node (Martin, Fig. 6, [0067], “At step 703, the UE 500A transmits a D2D scheduling request to the base station 201. The D2D scheduling request includes the current speed of the UE (30 mph)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of You to have the features, as taught by Lee in order to determine which resources would be best suited (based on characteristics such as coverage area, transmission format, etc.), and allocate resources to the UE accordingly (Martin, [0066]).
As to claim 16, You teaches wherein selecting the one or more resources comprises:
selecting, based on the mobility state of the second network node, the one or more resources for the second network node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) (You, [0143]-[0144], [0153], [0192]-[0193], [0195]-[0197], Fig. 16, [0212]-[0215], a configuration is determined by the parent node or DgNB and provided to a child node. The child node receives from the parent node or DgNB the discovery signal transmission configuration, discovery signal detection configuration and discovery signal transmission and detection request. The configuration received indicates information about the period, offset and duration for a discovery signal timing. Figs. 15 and 19, the resources to transmit the discovery signals include the period, offset and duration for a discovery signal timing. The discovery signal is a SSB. [0244], [0248], Fig. 19, the period to transmit the discovery signal A is based on the mobility of the IAB node).
As to claim 17, You teaches wherein the one or more SSBs are associated with at least one of cell access, cell selection, neighbor measurement, or peer discovery (You, [0143]-[0144], [0153], Fig. 16, [0211]-[0215], the discovery signal is a SSB and use to discover other IAB nodes or UEs. [0195], [0219], the procedure includes detection and measurement).
As to claim 19, You teaches wherein the second network node is an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node (You, [0157], [0243]-[0245], Fig. 19, the period to transmit the discovery signal A is based on the mobility of the IAB node).
As to claim 20, You teaches wherein the mobility state is a stationary mobility state or a mobile mobility state (You, [0157], [0187] ln 1-3, [0243]-[0245], Fig. 19, the period to transmit the discovery signal A is based on the mobility of the IAB node, such as little mobility, or no mobility).
As to claim 21, You teaches wherein selecting the one or more resources comprises:
selecting the one or more resources for the second network node based on a type of the mobility state (You, [0192]-[0193], [0195]-[0197], Fig. 16, [0212]-[0215], a configuration is determined by the parent node or DgNB and provided to a child node. The child node receives from the parent node or DgNB the discovery signal transmission configuration, discovery signal detection configuration and discovery signal transmission and detection request. The configuration received indicates information about the period, offset and duration for a discovery signal timing. Figs. 15 and 19, the resources to transmit the discovery signals include the period, offset and duration for a discovery signal timing. [0187] ln 1-3, [0244], [0248], Fig. 19, the period to transmit the discovery signal A is based on the mobility of the IAB node, such as little mobility, or no mobility).
As to claim 27, You teaches wherein the indication includes information that enables the second network node to identify the one or more resources for transmission of one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) (You, [0143]-[0144], [0153], [0192]-[0193], [0195]-[0197], [0204]-[0205], Fig. 16, [0212]-[0215], [0262], [0264], the parent node or DgNB transmits to the child node the discovery signal transmission configuration, discovery signal detection configuration and discovery signal transmission and detection request. The child node uses the configuration to transmit the discovery signal. The discovery signal is transmitted via the resources or timing indicated in the configuration. The discovery signal is a SSB).
As to claim 29, You teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication (You, Fig. 25, [0433], [0437], the base station includes a memory storing instructions executed by a processor to perform the functions of the base station. Figs. 13-14, 16, and 25, [0431]-[0434], the parent node or DgNB (base station) in a communication network with a child node), the set of instructions comprising:
one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a first network node, cause the first network node to:
select one or more resources for the second network node based on the mobility state of the second network node (You, [0192]-[0193], [0195]-[0197], Fig. 16, [0212]-[0215], a configuration is determined by the parent node or DgNB and provided to a child node. The child node receives from the parent node or DgNB the discovery signal transmission configuration, discovery signal detection configuration and discovery signal transmission and detection request. The configuration received indicates information about the period, offset and duration for a discovery signal timing. Figs. 15 and 19, the resources to transmit the discovery signals include the period, offset and duration for a discovery signal timing. [0244], [0248], Fig. 19, the period to transmit the discovery signal A is based on the mobility of the IAB node); and
provide an indication of the one or more resources to the second network node based on the one or more resources selected for the second network node (You, [0192]-[0193], [0195]-[0197], [0204]-[0205], Fig. 16, [0212]-[0215], the parent node or DgNB transmits to the child node the discovery signal transmission configuration, discovery signal detection configuration and discovery signal transmission and detection request. The child node uses the configuration to transmit the discovery signal. The discovery signal is transmitted via the resources or timing indicated in the configuration).
You teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. You does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 29, receive, from a second network node, an indication of a mobility state of the second network node.
However, Martin teaches receive, from a second network node, an indication of a mobility state of the second network node (Martin, Fig. 6, [0067], “At step 703, the UE 500A transmits a D2D scheduling request to the base station 201. The D2D scheduling request includes the current speed of the UE (30 mph)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of You to have the features, as taught by Lee in order to determine which resources would be best suited (based on characteristics such as coverage area, transmission format, etc.), and allocate resources to the UE accordingly (Martin, [0066]).
As to claim 30, You teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
means for (This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as controller/processor 240, memory 242, transmit processor 220, TX MIMO processor 230, MOD 232, antenna 234, etc. as indicated in Applicant’s PGPUB Fig. 2 and [0055]) (You, Fig. 25, [0433], [0437], the base station includes processor connected to the memory to perform the functions of the base station) selecting one or more resources for a second apparatus based on a mobility state of the second apparatus (You, [0192]-[0193], [0195]-[0197], Fig. 16, [0212]-[0215], a configuration is determined by the parent node or DgNB and provided to a child node. The child node receives from the parent node or DgNB the discovery signal transmission configuration, discovery signal detection configuration and discovery signal transmission and detection request. The configuration received indicates information about the period, offset and duration for a discovery signal timing. Figs. 15 and 19, the resources to transmit the discovery signals include the period, offset and duration for a discovery signal timing. [0244], [0248], Fig. 19, the period to transmit the discovery signal A is based on the mobility of the IAB node); and
means for (This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as controller/processor 240, memory 242, transmit processor 220, TX MIMO processor 230, MOD 232, antenna 234, etc. as indicated in Applicant’s PGPUB Fig. 2 and [0055]) (You, Fig. 25, [0437], a transceiver to transmit radio signals) providing an indication of the one or more resources to the second apparatus based on the one or more resources selected for the second apparatus (You, [0192]-[0193], [0195]-[0197], [0204]-[0205], Fig. 16, [0212]-[0215], the parent node or DgNB transmits to the child node the discovery signal transmission configuration, discovery signal detection configuration and discovery signal transmission and detection request. The child node uses the configuration to transmit the discovery signal. The discovery signal is transmitted via the resources or timing indicated in the configuration).
You teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. You does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 30, means for receiving, from a second apparatus, an indication of a mobility state of the second apparatus.
However, Martin teaches means for (This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as controller/processor 240, memory 242, receive processor 238, MIMO detector 236, DEMOD 232, antenna 234, etc. as indicated in Applicant’s PGPUB Fig. 2 and [0055]) (Martin, Fig. 3, [0052], a receiver 404) receiving, from a second apparatus, an indication of a mobility state of the second apparatus (Martin, Fig. 6, [0067], “At step 703, the UE 500A transmits a D2D scheduling request to the base station 201. The D2D scheduling request includes the current speed of the UE (30 mph)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of You to have the features, as taught by Lee in order to determine which resources would be best suited (based on characteristics such as coverage area, transmission format, etc.), and allocate resources to the UE accordingly (Martin, [0066]).
Claims 4, 8-9, 18 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You et al. (US 2021/0014777) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “You” in view of Martin et al. (US 2018/0310297), hereinafter “Martin” and further in view of Gupta et al. (US 2017/0359714) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Gupta”.
You and Martin teach the claimed limitations as stated above. You and Martin do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 4, wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to a synchronization raster associated with the mobility state.
As to claim 4, Gupta teaches wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to a synchronization raster associated with the mobility state (Gupta, Fig. 4, [0046]-[0052], Fig. 5A, [0054], Fig. 5B, [0057], Fig. 6, [0058], Fig. 9, [0059], [0068]-[0069], separate resources sets are provisioned to the device for different discovery modes associated with different mobility states. A static device is associated with a first discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. A device that moves more quickly is associated with a second discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. The discovery signal is transmitted using the identified set of resources according to the discovery mode, which is associated with the mobility state. You discloses in [0143]-[0144], [0153], Fig. 16, [0211]-[0215] that the discovery signal is a SSB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of You to have the features, as taught by Gupta, in order to perform an efficient process to discover other devices, such as a suitable relay, in a network with devices with mobility states between purely static to highly mobile (Gupta, [0002] ,[0047]).
You and Martin teach the claimed limitations as stated above. You and Martin do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 8, wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state,
wherein, to select the one or more resources, the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network node to:
select the one or more resources for the second network node based on a first synchronization raster assigned to the first type of mobility state, and
wherein a second synchronization raster is assigned to a second type of mobility state.
As to claim 8, Gupta teaches wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state (Gupta, Fig. 4, [0046]-[0052], Fig. 5A, [0054], Fig. 5B, [0057], Fig. 6, [0058], Fig. 9, [0059], [0068]-[0069], separate resources sets are provisioned to the device for different discovery modes associated with different mobility states. A static device is associated with a first discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. A device that moves more quickly is associated with a second discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. The discovery signal is transmitted using the identified set of resources according to the discovery mode, which is associated with the mobility state),
wherein, to select the one or more resources, the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network node to:
select the one or more resources for the second network node based on a first synchronization raster assigned to the first type of mobility state, and
wherein a second synchronization raster is assigned to a second type of mobility state (Gupta, Fig. 4, [0046]-[0052], Fig. 5A, [0054], Fig. 5B, [0057], Fig. 6, [0058], Fig. 9, [0059], [0068]-[0069], separate resources sets are provisioned to the device for different discovery modes associated with different mobility states. A static device is associated with a first discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. A device that moves more quickly is associated with a second discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. The discovery signal is transmitted using the identified set of resources according to the discovery mode, which is associated with the mobility state).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of You to have the features, as taught by Gupta, in order to perform an efficient process to discover other devices, such as a suitable relay, in a network with devices with mobility states between purely static to highly mobile (Gupta, [0002] ,[0047]).
You and Martin teach the claimed limitations as stated above. As discussed above, the child node receives configuration information including period, offset and duration, in order to transmit discovery signals to neighboring nodes (You, [0143]-[0144], [0153], [0193]-[0194], [0196]-[0197], [0204]-[0205], Fig. 16, [0213]-[0215], [0262], [0264]). However, You and Martin do not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 9, wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state,
wherein, to select the one or more resources, the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network node to:
select the one or more resources for the second network node based on one or more of a first periodicity or a first time offset assigned to the first type of mobility state, and
wherein one or more of a second periodicity or a second time offset is assigned to a second type of mobility state.
As to claim 9, Gupta teaches wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state (Gupta, Fig. 4, [0046]-[0052], Fig. 5A, [0054], Fig. 5B, [0057], Fig. 6, [0058], Fig. 9, [0059], [0068]-[0069], separate resources sets are provisioned to the device for different discovery modes associated with different mobility states. A static device is associated with a first discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. A device that moves more quickly is associated with a second discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. The discovery signal is transmitted using the identified set of resources according to the discovery mode, which is associated with the mobility state),
wherein, to select the one or more resources, the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network node to:
select the one or more resources for the second network node based on one or more of a first periodicity or a first time offset assigned to the first type of mobility state (Gupta, [0052], Fig. 6, [0058], the separate resource sets for each discovery mode include a corresponding periodicity. The more mobile a device is, the more frequently it transmits the discovery signal. A more static device corresponds to a less frequent discovery mode), and
wherein one or more of a second periodicity or a second time offset is assigned to a second type of mobility state (Gupta, [0052], Fig. 6, [0058], the separate resource sets for each discovery mode include a corresponding periodicity. The more mobile a device is, the more frequently it transmits the discovery signal. A more static device corresponds to a less frequent discovery mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of You to have the features, as taught by Gupta, in order to perform an efficient process to discover other devices, such as a suitable relay, in a network with devices with mobility states between purely static to highly mobile (Gupta, [0002], [0047], [0052]).
You and Martin teach the claimed limitations as stated above. You and Martin do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 18, wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to a synchronization raster associated with the mobility state.
As to claim 18, Gupta teaches wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to a synchronization raster associated with the mobility state (Gupta, Fig. 4, [0046]-[0052], Fig. 5A, [0054], Fig. 5B, [0057], Fig. 6, [0058], Fig. 9, [0059], [0068]-[0069], separate resources sets are provisioned to the device for different discovery modes associated with different mobility states. A static device is associated with a first discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. A device that moves more quickly is associated with a second discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. The discovery signal is transmitted using the identified set of resources according to the discovery mode, which is associated with the mobility state. You discloses in [0143]-[0144], [0153], Fig. 16, [0211]-[0215] that the discovery signal is a SSB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of You to have the features, as taught by Gupta, in order to perform an efficient process to discover other devices, such as a suitable relay, in a network with devices with mobility states between purely static to highly mobile (Gupta, [0002] ,[0047]).
You and Martin teach the claimed limitations as stated above. You and Martin do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 22, wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state,
wherein selecting the one or more resources comprises:
selecting the one or more resources for the second network node based on a first synchronization raster assigned to the first type of mobility state, and
wherein a second synchronization raster is assigned to a second type of mobility state.
As to claim 22, Gupta teaches wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state (Gupta, Fig. 4, [0046]-[0052], Fig. 5A, [0054], Fig. 5B, [0057], Fig. 6, [0058], Fig. 9, [0059], [0068]-[0069], separate resources sets are provisioned to the device for different discovery modes associated with different mobility states. A static device is associated with a first discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. A device that moves more quickly is associated with a second discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. The discovery signal is transmitted using the identified set of resources according to the discovery mode, which is associated with the mobility state),
wherein selecting the one or more resources comprises:
selecting the one or more resources for the second network node based on a first synchronization raster assigned to the first type of mobility state, and
wherein a second synchronization raster is assigned to a second type of mobility state (Gupta, Fig. 4, [0046]-[0052], Fig. 5A, [0054], Fig. 5B, [0057], Fig. 6, [0058], Fig. 9, [0059], [0068]-[0069], separate resources sets are provisioned to the device for different discovery modes associated with different mobility states. A static device is associated with a first discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. A device that moves more quickly is associated with a second discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. The discovery signal is transmitted using the identified set of resources according to the discovery mode, which is associated with the mobility state).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of You to have the features, as taught by Gupta, in order to perform an efficient process to discover other devices, such as a suitable relay, in a network with devices with mobility states between purely static to highly mobile (Gupta, [0002] ,[0047]).
You and Martin teach the claimed limitations as stated above. As discussed above, the child node receives configuration information including period, offset and duration, in order to transmit discovery signals to neighboring nodes (You, [0143]-[0144], [0153], [0193]-[0194], [0196]-[0197], [0204]-[0205], Fig. 16, [0213]-[0215], [0262], [0264]). However, You and Martin do not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 23, wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state,
wherein selecting the one or more resources comprises:
selecting the one or more resources for the second network node based on one or more of a first periodicity or a first time offset assigned to the first type of mobility state, and
wherein one or more of a second periodicity or a second time offset is assigned to a second type of mobility state.
As to claim 23, Gupta teaches wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state (Gupta, Fig. 4, [0046]-[0052], Fig. 5A, [0054], Fig. 5B, [0057], Fig. 6, [0058], Fig. 9, [0059], [0068]-[0069], separate resources sets are provisioned to the device for different discovery modes associated with different mobility states. A static device is associated with a first discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. A device that moves more quickly is associated with a second discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. The discovery signal is transmitted using the identified set of resources according to the discovery mode, which is associated with the mobility state),
wherein selecting the one or more resources comprises:
selecting the one or more resources for the second network node based on one or more of a first periodicity or a first time offset assigned to the first type of mobility state (Gupta, [0052], Fig. 6, [0058], the separate resource sets for each discovery mode include a corresponding periodicity. The more mobile a device is, the more frequently it transmits the discovery signal. A more static device corresponds to a less frequent discovery mode), and
wherein one or more of a second periodicity or a second time offset is assigned to a second type of mobility state (Gupta, [0052], Fig. 6, [0058], the separate resource sets for each discovery mode include a corresponding periodicity. The more mobile a device is, the more frequently it transmits the discovery signal. A more static device corresponds to a less frequent discovery mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of You to have the features, as taught by Gupta, in order to perform an efficient process to discover other devices, such as a suitable relay, in a network with devices with mobility states between purely static to highly mobile (Gupta, [0002], [0047], [0052]).
Claims 10 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You et al. (US 2021/0014777) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “You” in view of Martin et al. (US 2018/0310297), hereinafter “Martin” and further in view of Raghavan et al. (US 2021/0314785) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Raghavan”.
You and Martin teach the claimed limitations as stated above. You and Martin do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 10, wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state,
wherein, to select the one or more resources, the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network node to:
select the one or more resources for the second network node based on one or more of a first synchronization signal block (SSB) measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window or a first SSB transmission configuration (STC) window assigned to the first type of mobility state, and
wherein a second SMTC window or a second STC window is assigned to a second type of mobility state.
As to claim 10, Raghavan teaches wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state (Raghavan, [0031], “stationary,” “low mobility,” or “high mobility”),
wherein, to select the one or more resources, the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network node to:
select the one or more resources for the second network node based on one or more of a first synchronization signal block (SSB) measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window or a first SSB transmission configuration (STC) window assigned to the first type of mobility state (Raghavan, [0031], “the gNodeB or core network could also set the SMTC periodicity for the cells to be measured based on the UE mobility. For example, gNodeB or core network could set a lower periodicity for high mobility UEs, and higher periodicity for low mobility or stationary UEs”), and
wherein a second SMTC window or a second STC window is assigned to a second type of mobility state (Raghavan, [0031], “the gNodeB or core network could also set the SMTC periodicity for the cells to be measured based on the UE mobility. For example, gNodeB or core network could set a lower periodicity for high mobility UEs, and higher periodicity for low mobility or stationary UEs”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of You to have the features, as taught by Raghavan, in order to allow intra-frequency cell identification delay requirements measurements given their dependency on UE configurations (Raghavan, [0005]).
You and Martin teach the claimed limitations as stated above. You and Martin do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 24, wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state,
wherein selecting the one or more resources comprises:
selecting the one or more resources for the second network node based on one or more of a first synchronization signal block (SSB) measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window or a first SSB transmission configuration (STC) window assigned to the first type of mobility state, and
wherein a second SMTC window or a second STC window is assigned to a second type of mobility state.
As to claim 24, Raghavan teaches wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state (Raghavan, [0031], “stationary,” “low mobility,” or “high mobility”),
wherein selecting the one or more resources comprises:
selecting the one or more resources for the second network node based on one or more of a first synchronization signal block (SSB) measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window or a first SSB transmission configuration (STC) window assigned to the first type of mobility state (Raghavan, [0031], “the gNodeB or core network could also set the SMTC periodicity for the cells to be measured based on the UE mobility. For example, gNodeB or core network could set a lower periodicity for high mobility UEs, and higher periodicity for low mobility or stationary UEs”), and
wherein a second SMTC window or a second STC window is assigned to a second type of mobility state (Raghavan, [0031], “the gNodeB or core network could also set the SMTC periodicity for the cells to be measured based on the UE mobility. For example, gNodeB or core network could set a lower periodicity for high mobility UEs, and higher periodicity for low mobility or stationary UEs”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of You to have the features, as taught by Raghavan, in order to allow intra-frequency cell identification delay requirements measurements given their dependency on UE configurations (Raghavan, [0005]).
Claims 11-12 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You et al. (US 2021/0014777) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “You” in view of Martin et al. (US 2018/0310297), hereinafter “Martin” and further in view of Raghavan et al. (US 2021/0314785) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Raghavan” and further in view of 3GPP TSG-RAM WG1 #96-Bis, R1-1904832, Ericsson, “SSB-based IAB (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Ericsson”.
You and Raghavan teach the claimed limitations as stated above. You and Raghavan do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 11, wherein the first SMTC window is one or more of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to the second SMTC window, or
wherein the first STC window is one or more of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to the second STC window.
As to claim 11, Ericsson teaches wherein the first SMTC window is one or more of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to the second SMTC window (Ericsson, pages 1-2, Section 2, SSB transmission and measurement configurations (SMTCs) are determined and provided by the CU, where the SSB periodicity is based on the mobility of the node. SS indices are located in time domain, where the design includes orthogonal sets of SS indices. Page 3 Fig. 2, the SSBs are time-wise orthogonal with corresponding periodicity. Page 6, Proposal 4, “From the detectability point of view, each node should have timewise orthogonal transmission pattern”), or
wherein the first STC window is one or more of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to the second STC window.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of You and Raghavan to have the features, as taught by Ericsson, in order to support larger SSB periodicities for IAB nodes with no mobility, where channel conditions can be expected to be stable (Ericsson, page 2, lines 1-8), thereby reducing the amount of SSB transmissions when are not needed.
You and Raghavan teach the claimed limitations as stated above. You and Raghavan do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 12, wherein a first configuration of the first SMTC window or the first STC window identifies at least one of a first physical cell identifier (PCI) list or a first periodicity that is different from a second PCI list or a second periodicity identified by a second configuration of the second SMTC window or the second STC window.
As to claim 12, Ericsson teaches wherein a first configuration of the first SMTC window or the first STC window identifies at least one of a first physical cell identifier (PCI) list or a first periodicity that is different from a second PCI list or a second periodicity identified by a second configuration of the second SMTC window or the second STC window (Ericsson, page 2 lines 1-8, the SSB transmission has a periodicity based on the mobility of the IAB node. Figs. 2, 3, 5, Page 6, Proposal 4, the windows should be independent in terms of offset, duration and periodicity)..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of You and Raghavan to have the features, as taught by Ericsson, in order to support larger SSB periodicities for IAB nodes with no mobility, where channel conditions can be expected to be stable (Ericsson, page 2, lines 1-8), thereby reducing the amount of SSB transmissions when are not needed.
You and Raghavan teach the claimed limitations as stated above. You and Raghavan do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 25, wherein the first SMTC window is one or more of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to the second SMTC window, or
wherein the first STC window is one or more of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to the second STC window.
As to claim 25, Ericsson teaches wherein the first SMTC window is one or more of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to the second SMTC window (Ericsson, pages 1-2, Section 2, SSB transmission and measurement configurations (SMTCs) are determined and provided by the CU, where the SSB periodicity is based on the mobility of the node. SS indices are located in time domain, where the design includes orthogonal sets of SS indices. Page 3 Fig. 2, the SSBs are time-wise orthogonal with corresponding periodicity. Page 6, Proposal 4, “From the detectability point of view, each node should have timewise orthogonal transmission pattern”), or
wherein the first STC window is one or more of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to the second STC window.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of You and Raghavan to have the features, as taught by Ericsson, in order to support larger SSB periodicities for IAB nodes with no mobility, where channel conditions can be expected to be stable (Ericsson, page 2, lines 1-8), thereby reducing the amount of SSB transmissions when are not needed.
You and Raghavan teach the claimed limitations as stated above. You and Raghavan do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 26, wherein a first configuration of the first SMTC window or the first STC window identifies at least one of a first physical cell identifier (PCI) list or a first periodicity that is different from a second PCI list or a second periodicity identified by a second configuration of the second SMTC window or the second STC window.
As to claim 26, Ericsson teaches wherein a first configuration of the first SMTC window or the first STC window identifies at least one of a first physical cell identifier (PCI) list or a first periodicity that is different from a second PCI list or a second periodicity identified by a second configuration of the second SMTC window or the second STC window (Ericsson, page 2 lines 1-8, the SSB transmission has a periodicity based on the mobility of the IAB node. Figs. 2, 3, 5, Page 6, Proposal 4, the windows should be independent in terms of offset, duration and periodicity)..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of You and Raghavan to have the features, as taught by Ericsson, in order to support larger SSB periodicities for IAB nodes with no mobility, where channel conditions can be expected to be stable (Ericsson, page 2, lines 1-8), thereby reducing the amount of SSB transmissions when are not needed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICARDO H CASTANEYRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473