Double Patenting
Claims from pending
Application No. 18/219,149
Claims from U.S.
Patent No. 11,751,224
1. An apparatus for wireless communication at a first network node, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the first network node to: receive, from a second network node, an indication of a mobility state of the second network node; and provide, to the second network node, an indication of a first selection of one or more resources for the second network node based on the mobility state of the second network node, the first selection being performed in coordination with a second selection of resources for a third network node having a different mobility state.
17. A method of wireless communication performed at a network node, comprising: receiving, from a distributed unit (DU) of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, an indication of a mobility state of the IAB node; selecting one or more resources for the IAB node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) based on the mobility state of the IAB node; and transmitting, to the DU, an indication of the one or more resources to enable the IAB node to transmit the one or more SSBs using the one or more resources.
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network node to: select, based on the mobility state of the second network node, the one or more resources for the second network node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs).
17. A method of wireless communication performed at a network node, comprising: receiving, from a distributed unit (DU) of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, an indication of a mobility state of the IAB node; selecting one or more resources for the IAB node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) based on the mobility state of the IAB node; and transmitting, to the DU, an indication of the one or more resources to enable the IAB node to transmit the one or more SSBs using the one or more resources.
3. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more SSBs are associated with at least one of cell access, cell selection, neighbor measurement, or peer discovery.
18. The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more SSBs are associated with at least one of cell access, cell selection, neighbor measurement, or peer discovery.
4. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to a synchronization raster associated with the mobility state.
20. The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to a synchronization raster associated with the mobility state.
5. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second network node is an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node.
17. A method of wireless communication performed at a network node, comprising: receiving, from a distributed unit (DU) of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, an indication of a mobility state of the IAB node; selecting one or more resources for the IAB node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) based on the mobility state of the IAB node; and transmitting, to the DU, an indication of the one or more resources to enable the IAB node to transmit the one or more SSBs using the one or more resources.
6. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the mobility state is a stationary mobility state or a mobile mobility state.
19. The method of claim 17, wherein the mobility state is a stationary mobility state or a mobile mobility state.
7. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network node to: select the one or more resources for the second network node based on a type of the mobility state.
17. …selecting one or more resources for the IAB node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) based on the mobility state of the IAB node…
19. The method of claim 17, wherein the mobility state is a stationary mobility state or a mobile mobility state.
8. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network node to: select the one or more resources for the second network node based on a first synchronization raster assigned to the first type of mobility state, and wherein a second synchronization raster is assigned to a second type of mobility state.
19. The method of claim 17, wherein the mobility state is a stationary mobility state or a mobile mobility state.
20. The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to a synchronization raster associated with the mobility state.
9. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network node to: select the one or more resources for the second network node based on one or more of a first periodicity or a first time offset assigned to the first type of mobility state, and wherein one or more of a second periodicity or a second time offset is assigned to a second type of mobility state.
19. The method of claim 17, wherein the mobility state is a stationary mobility state or a mobile mobility state.
21. The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to at least one of a periodicity or a time offset associated with the mobility state.
10. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network node to: select the one or more resources for the second network node based on one or more of a first synchronization signal block (SSB) measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window or a first SSB transmission configuration (STC) window assigned to the first type of mobility state, and wherein a second SMTC window or a second STC window is assigned to a second type of mobility state.
19. The method of claim 17, wherein the mobility state is a stationary mobility state or a mobile mobility state.
22. The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to a first SSB transmission configuration (STC) window associated with the mobility state, and wherein the first STC window is at least one of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to a second STC window associated with a different mobility state.
11. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the first SMTC window is one or more of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to the second SMTC window, or wherein the first STC window is one or more of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to the second STC window.
22. The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to a first SSB transmission configuration (STC) window associated with the mobility state, and wherein the first STC window is at least one of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to a second STC window associated with a different mobility state.
12. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein a first configuration of the first SMTC window or the first STC window identifies at least one of a first physical cell identifier (PCI) list or a first periodicity that is different from a second PCI list or a second periodicity identified by a second configuration of the second SMTC window or the second STC window.
23. The method of claim 22, wherein an STC of the first STC window identifies at least one of a first physical cell identifier (PCI) list or a first periodicity that is different from a second PCI list or a second periodicity identified by an STC of the second STC window.
13. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the indication includes information that enables the second network node to identify the one or more resources for transmission of one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs).
17. A method of wireless communication performed at a network node, comprising: receiving, from a distributed unit (DU) of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, an indication of a mobility state of the IAB node; selecting one or more resources for the IAB node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) based on the mobility state of the IAB node; and transmitting, to the DU, an indication of the one or more resources to enable the IAB node to transmit the one or more SSBs using the one or more resources.
15. A method of wireless communication performed at a first network node, comprising: receiving, from a second network node, an indication of a mobility state of the second network node; and
providing, to the second network node, an indication of a first selection of one or more resources for the second network node based on the mobility state of the second network node, the first selection being performed in coordination with a second selection of resources for a third network node having a different mobility state..
17. A method of wireless communication performed at a network node, comprising: receiving, from a distributed unit (DU) of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, an indication of a mobility state of the IAB node; selecting one or more resources for the IAB node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) based on the mobility state of the IAB node; and transmitting, to the DU, an indication of the one or more resources to enable the IAB node to transmit the one or more SSBs using the one or more resources.
16. The method of claim 15 further comprising: selecting, based on the mobility state of the second network node, the one or more resources for the second network node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs).
17. A method of wireless communication performed at a network node, comprising: receiving, from a distributed unit (DU) of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, an indication of a mobility state of the IAB node; selecting one or more resources for the IAB node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) based on the mobility state of the IAB node; and transmitting, to the DU, an indication of the one or more resources to enable the IAB node to transmit the one or more SSBs using the one or more resources.
17. The method of claim 16, wherein the one or more SSBs are associated with at least one of cell access, cell selection, neighbor measurement, or peer discovery.
18. The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more SSBs are associated with at least one of cell access, cell selection, neighbor measurement, or peer discovery.
18. The method of claim 16, wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to a synchronization raster associated with the mobility state.
20. The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to a synchronization raster associated with the mobility state.
19. The method of claim 15, wherein the second network node is an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node.
17. A method of wireless communication performed at a network node, comprising: receiving, from a distributed unit (DU) of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, an indication of a mobility state of the IAB node; selecting one or more resources for the IAB node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) based on the mobility state of the IAB node; and transmitting, to the DU, an indication of the one or more resources to enable the IAB node to transmit the one or more SSBs using the one or more resources.
20. The method of claim 15, wherein the mobility state is a stationary mobility state or a mobile mobility state.
19. The method of claim 17, wherein the mobility state is a stationary mobility state or a mobile mobility state.
21. The method of claim 15, further comprising: selecting the one or more resources for the second network node based on a type of the mobility state.
17. …selecting one or more resources for the IAB node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) based on the mobility state of the IAB node…
19. The method of claim 17, wherein the mobility state is a stationary mobility state or a mobile mobility state.
22. The method of claim 15, wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state, wherein the indication provided to the second network node indicates the one or more resources for the second network node based on a first synchronization raster assigned to the first type of mobility state, and wherein a second synchronization raster is assigned to a second type of mobility state.
19. The method of claim 17, wherein the mobility state is a stationary mobility state or a mobile mobility state.
20. The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to a synchronization raster associated with the mobility state.
23. The method of claim 15, wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state, wherein the indication provided to the second network node indicates the one or more resources for the second network node based on one or more of a first periodicity or a first time offset assigned to the first type of mobility state, and wherein one or more of a second periodicity or a second time offset is assigned to a second type of mobility state.
19. The method of claim 17, wherein the mobility state is a stationary mobility state or a mobile mobility state.
21. The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to at least one of a periodicity or a time offset associated with the mobility state.
24. The method of claim 15, wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state, wherein the indication provided to the second network node indicates the one or more resources for the second network node based on one or more of a first synchronization signal block (SSB) measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window or a first SSB transmission configuration (STC) window assigned to the first type of mobility state, and wherein a second SMTC window or a second STC window is assigned to a second type of mobility state.
19. The method of claim 17, wherein the mobility state is a stationary mobility state or a mobile mobility state.
22. The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to a first SSB transmission configuration (STC) window associated with the mobility state, and wherein the first STC window is at least one of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to a second STC window associated with a different mobility state.
25. The method of claim 24, wherein the first SMTC window is one or more of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to the second SMTC window, or wherein the first STC window is one or more of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to the second STC window.
22. The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to a first SSB transmission configuration (STC) window associated with the mobility state, and wherein the first STC window is at least one of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to a second STC window associated with a different mobility state.
26. The method of claim 24, wherein a first configuration of the first SMTC window or the first STC window identifies at least one of a first physical cell identifier (PCI) list or a first periodicity that is different from a second PCI list or a second periodicity identified by a second configuration of the second SMTC window or the second STC window.
23. The method of claim 22, wherein an STC of the first STC window identifies at least one of a first physical cell identifier (PCI) list or a first periodicity that is different from a second PCI list or a second periodicity identified by an STC of the second STC window.
27. The method of claim 15, wherein the indication of the first selection of the one or more resources includes information that enables the second network node to identify the one or more resources for transmission of one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs).
17. A method of wireless communication performed at a network node, comprising: receiving, from a distributed unit (DU) of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, an indication of a mobility state of the IAB node; selecting one or more resources for the IAB node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) based on the mobility state of the IAB node; and transmitting, to the DU, an indication of the one or more resources to enable the IAB node to transmit the one or more SSBs using the one or more resources.
29. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a first network node, cause the first network node to: receive, from a second network node, an indication of a mobility state of the second network node; and
provide, to the second network node an indication of a first selection of one or more resources for the second network node based on the mobility state of the second network node, the first selection being performed in coordination with a second selection of resources for a third network node having a different mobility state.
49. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a network node, cause the network node to: receive, from a distributed unit (DU) of an integrated access and backhaul (TAB) node, an indication of a mobility state of the TAB node; select one or more resources for the TAB node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) based on the mobility state of the TAB node; and transmit, to the DU, an indication of the one or more resources to enable the TAB node to transmit the one or more SSBs using the one or more resources.
30. An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: means for receiving, from a second apparatus, an indication of a mobility state of the second apparatus; and
means for providing, to the second apparatus, an indication of a first selection of one or more resources for the second apparatus based on the mobility state of the second apparatus, the first selection being performed in coordination with a second selection of resources for a third network node having a different mobility state..
17. A method of wireless communication performed at a network node, comprising: receiving, from a distributed unit (DU) of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, an indication of a mobility state of the IAB node; selecting one or more resources for the IAB node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) based on the mobility state of the IAB node; and transmitting, to the DU, an indication of the one or more resources to enable the IAB node to transmit the one or more SSBs using the one or more resources.
Claims 2-13 and 16-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17-23 and 49 of U.S. Patent No. 11,751,224. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of claims 2-13 and 16-27 of the pending Appl. No. 18/356,866 and the subject matter of claims 17-23 and 49 of U.S. Patent No. 11,751,224 disclose a similar scope of invention. While the claims are not verbatim copies, they are clearly identical in scope.
Claims 1, 15 and 29-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being respectively unpatentable over claims 17-23 and 49 of U.S. Patent No. 11,751,224 in view of Oh et al. (US 2006/0039318), hereinafter “Oh”.
Claims 17-23 and 49 of U.S. Patent No. 11,751,224 disclose every feature in the instant Application No. 18/356,866 except the following: regarding claims 1, 15 and 29-30, the first selection being performed in coordination with a second selection of resources for a third network node having a different mobility state.
Regarding claims 1, 15 and 29-30, Oh teaches the first selection being performed in coordination with a second selection of resources for a third network node having a different mobility state (Oh, [0033], “a base station allocates radio resources, especially, frequency resources, taking mobility of a user equipment (UE) into consideration, thereby guaranteeing the quality of service (QoS) of a plurality of UEs moving at different speeds in the same cell”, [0035], “the base station acquires a moving velocity or a Doppler value of each UE, and if the velocity/Doppler value is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold, the base station uses a resource allocation solution set for a fast UE group, that is appropriate for a higher channel variation rate. If the velocity/Doppler value is less than the threshold, the base station uses a resource allocation solution set for a slow UE group, that is appropriate for a lower channel variation rate”. See also Figs. 3 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of U.S. Patent No. 11,751,224 to have the features, as taught by Oh in order to maximize transmission efficiency of UEs taking into account channel environments of the UEs having different speeds of mobility (Oh, [0035]).
DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 05/05/2026 in which claims 1-30 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filed on 05/05/2026 with respect to amended independent claim 1 have been fully considered. Based on the amendments to claims, further search was performed, resulting in a new grounds of rejection. The claims have not overcome the claim rejections as shown below.
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Based on the amendments to the independent claims, Applicant argues that the non-statutory double patenting rejection is moot and requests for reconsideration and withdraw.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Based on the amendments, further search was conducted and the prior art Oh et al. (US 2006/0039318), hereinafter “Oh” was found to disclose the claimed invention in combination with the U.S. Patent No. 11,751,224. Thus, a new Double Patenting rejection is presented.
Regarding amended independent claim 1, Applicant argues that the prior arts You and Martin, taken alone or in any reasonable combination, do not disclose at least “provide, to the second network node, an indication of a first selection of one or more resources for the second network node based on the mobility state of the second network node, the first selection being performed in coordination with a second selection of resources for a third network node having a different mobility state”.
Based on Applicant’s amendment to the claim, further search was conducted resulting in a new ground of rejection presented below. The newly found prior art of Oh et al. (US 2006/0039318), hereinafter “Oh” in combination with Martin et al. (US 2018/0310297), hereinafter “Martin” discloses the amended feature “provide, to the second network node, an indication of a first selection of one or more resources for the second network node based on the mobility state of the second network node, the first selection being performed in coordination with a second selection of resources for a third network node having a different mobility state”.
Therefore, based on the new ground of rejection, the independent claim 1 is rendered unpatentable. Independent claims 15, 29 and 30 recite similar distinguishing features as claim 1 discussed above, thus are rendered unpatentable for the reasons discussed above. As a result the features of the claims are shown by the cited references as set forth below.
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for receiving” and “means for providing” in claim 30.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The corresponding structure described in the specification includes controller/processor 240, memory 242, transmit processor 220, TX MIMO processor 230, MOD 232, antenna 234, etc. as indicated in Applicant’s PGPUB Fig. 2, and [0055].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-7, 14-15, 20-21 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et al. (US 2018/0310297), hereinafter “Martin” in view of Oh et al. (US 2006/0039318), hereinafter “Oh”.
As to claim 1, Martin teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a first network node (Martin, Fig. 3, [0058], Fig. 6, a base station ), comprising:
one or more memories (Martin, Fig. 3, [0058], the base station includes a storage medium); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (Martin, Fig. 3, [0058], [0127], [0129], the base station includes controller running the software stored in the storage medium or memory to perform the functions of the base station), configured to cause the first network node to:
receive, from a second network node, an indication of a mobility state of the second network node (Martin, Fig. 6, [0067], “At step 703, the UE 500A transmits a D2D scheduling request to the base station 201. The D2D scheduling request includes the current speed of the UE (30 mph)”); and
provide, to the second network node, an indication of a first selection of one or more resources for the second network node based on the mobility state of the second network node (Martin, [0067], Fig. 6, step 705, the base station indicates to the UE 500A the resources allocated based on the speed reported by the UE (steps 703-706)).
Martin teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Martin does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 1, the first selection being performed in coordination with a second selection of resources for a third network node having a different mobility state.
However, Oh teaches the first selection being performed in coordination with a second selection of resources for a third network node having a different mobility state (Oh, [0033], “a base station allocates radio resources, especially, frequency resources, taking mobility of a user equipment (UE) into consideration, thereby guaranteeing the quality of service (QoS) of a plurality of UEs moving at different speeds in the same cell”, [0035], “the base station acquires a moving velocity or a Doppler value of each UE, and if the velocity/Doppler value is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold, the base station uses a resource allocation solution set for a fast UE group, that is appropriate for a higher channel variation rate. If the velocity/Doppler value is less than the threshold, the base station uses a resource allocation solution set for a slow UE group, that is appropriate for a lower channel variation rate”. See also Figs. 3 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin to have the features, as taught by Oh in order to maximize transmission efficiency of UEs taking into account channel environments of the UEs having different speeds of mobility (Oh, [0035]).
As to claim 6, Martin teaches wherein the mobility state is a stationary mobility state or a mobile mobility state (Martin, Fig. 6, [0067], “At step 703, the UE 500A transmits a D2D scheduling request to the base station 201. The D2D scheduling request includes the current speed of the UE (30 mph)”).
As to claim 7, Martin teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network node to:
select the one or more resources for the second network node based on a type of the mobility state (Martin, Fig. 6, [0067], “At step 704, the network, based on the speed reported by the UE, determines communication resources for use by the UE in performing D2D communication”).
As to claim 14, Martin teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network node to:
receive a request for the first network node to assign the one or more resources to the second network node (Martin, Fig. 6, [0067], “At step 703, the UE 500A transmits a D2D scheduling request to the base station 201”), and wherein the indication indicates that the one or more resources have been assigned to the second network node (Martin, Fig. 6, [0067], “At step 704, the network, based on the speed reported by the UE, determines communication resources for use by the UE in performing D2D communication. These resources are then allocated and scheduled to the UE 500A at step 705”).
As to claim 15, Martin teaches a method of wireless communication performed at a first network node (Martin, Fig. 3, [0058], Fig. 6, a method performed by a base station), comprising:
receiving, from a second network node, an indication of a mobility state of the second network node (Martin, Fig. 6, [0067], “At step 703, the UE 500A transmits a D2D scheduling request to the base station 201. The D2D scheduling request includes the current speed of the UE (30 mph)”); and
providing, to the second network node, an indication of a first selection of one or more resources for the second network node based on the mobility state of the second network node (Martin, [0067], Fig. 6, step 705, the base station indicates to the UE 500A the resources allocated based on the speed reported by the UE (steps 703-706)).
Martin teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Martin does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 15, the first selection being performed in coordination with a second selection of resources for a third network node having a different mobility state.
However, Oh teaches the first selection being performed in coordination with a second selection of resources for a third network node having a different mobility state (Oh, [0033], “a base station allocates radio resources, especially, frequency resources, taking mobility of a user equipment (UE) into consideration, thereby guaranteeing the quality of service (QoS) of a plurality of UEs moving at different speeds in the same cell”, [0035], “the base station acquires a moving velocity or a Doppler value of each UE, and if the velocity/Doppler value is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold, the base station uses a resource allocation solution set for a fast UE group, that is appropriate for a higher channel variation rate. If the velocity/Doppler value is less than the threshold, the base station uses a resource allocation solution set for a slow UE group, that is appropriate for a lower channel variation rate”. See also Figs. 3 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin to have the features, as taught by Oh in order to maximize transmission efficiency of UEs taking into account channel environments of the UEs having different speeds of mobility (Oh, [0035]).
As to claim 20, Martin teaches wherein the mobility state is a stationary mobility state or a mobile mobility state (Martin, Fig. 6, [0067], “At step 703, the UE 500A transmits a D2D scheduling request to the base station 201. The D2D scheduling request includes the current speed of the UE (30 mph)”).
As to claim 21, Martin teaches further comprising:
selecting the one or more resources for the second network node based on a type of the mobility state (Martin, Fig. 6, [0067], “At step 704, the network, based on the speed reported by the UE, determines communication resources for use by the UE in performing D2D communication”).
As to claim 28, Martin teaches further comprising:
receiving a request for the first network node to assign the one or more resources to the second network node (Martin, Fig. 6, [0067], “At step 703, the UE 500A transmits a D2D scheduling request to the base station 201”), and wherein the indication indicates that the one or more resources have been assigned to the second network node (Martin, Fig. 6, [0067], “At step 704, the network, based on the speed reported by the UE, determines communication resources for use by the UE in performing D2D communication. These resources are then allocated and scheduled to the UE 500A at step 705”).
As to claim 29, Martin teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication (Martin, Fig. 3, [0058], [0127], [0129], a storage medium in a base station storing software), the set of instructions comprising:
one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a first network node (Martin, Fig. 3, [0058], [0127], [0129], the storage medium in the base station storing software executed by a controller to perform the functions of the base station), cause the first network node to:
receive, from a second network node, an indication of a mobility state of the second network node (Martin, Fig. 6, [0067], “At step 703, the UE 500A transmits a D2D scheduling request to the base station 201. The D2D scheduling request includes the current speed of the UE (30 mph)”); and
provide, to the second network node, an indication of a first selection of one or more resources for the second network node based on the mobility state of the second network node (Martin, [0067], Fig. 6, step 705, the base station indicates to the UE 500A the resources allocated based on the speed reported by the UE (steps 703-706)).
Martin teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Martin does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 29, the first selection being performed in coordination with a second selection of resources for a third network node having a different mobility state.
However, Oh teaches the first selection being performed in coordination with a second selection of resources for a third network node having a different mobility state (Oh, [0033], “a base station allocates radio resources, especially, frequency resources, taking mobility of a user equipment (UE) into consideration, thereby guaranteeing the quality of service (QoS) of a plurality of UEs moving at different speeds in the same cell”, [0035], “the base station acquires a moving velocity or a Doppler value of each UE, and if the velocity/Doppler value is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold, the base station uses a resource allocation solution set for a fast UE group, that is appropriate for a higher channel variation rate. If the velocity/Doppler value is less than the threshold, the base station uses a resource allocation solution set for a slow UE group, that is appropriate for a lower channel variation rate”. See also Figs. 3 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin to have the features, as taught by Oh in order to maximize transmission efficiency of UEs taking into account channel environments of the UEs having different speeds of mobility (Oh, [0035]).
As to claim 30, Martin teaches an apparatus for wireless communication (Martin, Fig. 3, [0058], Fig. 6, a base station), comprising:
means for (This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as controller/processor 240, memory 242, transmit processor 220, TX MIMO processor 230, MOD 232, antenna 234, etc. as indicated in Applicant’s PGPUB Fig. 2 and [0055]) (Martin, Fig. 3, [0058], Fig. 6, the base station includes a receiver, controller, etc.) receiving, from a second apparatus, an indication of a mobility state of the second apparatus (Martin, Fig. 6, [0067], “At step 703, the UE 500A transmits a D2D scheduling request to the base station 201. The D2D scheduling request includes the current speed of the UE (30 mph)”); and
means for (This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as controller/processor 240, memory 242, transmit processor 220, TX MIMO processor 230, MOD 232, antenna 234, etc. as indicated in Applicant’s PGPUB Fig. 2 and [0055]) (Martin, Fig. 3, [0058], Fig. 6, the base station includes a transmitter, controller, etc.) providing, to the second apparatus, an indication of a first selection of one or more resources for the second apparatus based on the mobility state of the second apparatus (Martin, [0067], Fig. 6, step 705, the base station indicates to the UE 500A the resources allocated based on the speed reported by the UE (steps 703-706)).
Martin teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Martin does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 30, the first selection being performed in coordination with a second selection of resources for a third network node having a different mobility state.
However, Oh teaches the first selection being performed in coordination with a second selection of resources for a third network node having a different mobility state (Oh, [0033], “a base station allocates radio resources, especially, frequency resources, taking mobility of a user equipment (UE) into consideration, thereby guaranteeing the quality of service (QoS) of a plurality of UEs moving at different speeds in the same cell”, [0035], “the base station acquires a moving velocity or a Doppler value of each UE, and if the velocity/Doppler value is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold, the base station uses a resource allocation solution set for a fast UE group, that is appropriate for a higher channel variation rate. If the velocity/Doppler value is less than the threshold, the base station uses a resource allocation solution set for a slow UE group, that is appropriate for a lower channel variation rate”. See also Figs. 3 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin to have the features, as taught by Oh in order to maximize transmission efficiency of UEs taking into account channel environments of the UEs having different speeds of mobility (Oh, [0035]).
Claims 2-3, 5, 13, 16-17, 19 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et al. (US 2018/0310297), hereinafter “Martin” in view of Oh et al. (US 2006/0039318), hereinafter “Oh” and further in view of You et al. (US 2021/0014777) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “You”.
Martin and Oh teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Martin and Oh do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network node to:
select, based on the mobility state of the second network node, the one or more resources for the second network node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs).
As to claim 2, You teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network node to:
select, based on the mobility state of the second network node, the one or more resources for the second network node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) (You, [0143]-[0144], [0153], [0192]-[0193], [0195]-[0197], Fig. 16, [0212]-[0215], a configuration is determined by the parent node or DgNB and provided to a child node. The child node receives from the parent node or DgNB the discovery signal transmission configuration, discovery signal detection configuration and discovery signal transmission and detection request. The configuration received indicates information about the period, offset and duration for a discovery signal timing. Figs. 15 and 19, the resources to transmit the discovery signals include the period, offset and duration for a discovery signal timing. The discovery signal is a SSB. [0244], [0248], Fig. 19, the period to transmit the discovery signal A is based on the mobility of the IAB node).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin and Oh to have the features, as taught by You, in order to avoid a frequent IAB node detection process and discovery signal transmission based on the mobility of the IAB node (You, [0244]).
Martin and Oh teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Martin and Oh do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 3, wherein the one or more SSBs are associated with at least one of cell access, cell selection, neighbor measurement, or peer discovery.
As to claim 3, You teaches wherein the one or more SSBs are associated with at least one of cell access, cell selection, neighbor measurement, or peer discovery (You, [0143]-[0144], [0153], Fig. 16, [0211]-[0215], the discovery signal is a SSB and use to discover other IAB nodes or UEs. [0195], [0219], the procedure includes detection and measurement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin and Oh to have the features, as taught by You, in order to avoid a frequent IAB node detection process and discovery signal transmission based on the mobility of the IAB node (You, [0244]).
Martin and Oh teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Martin and Oh do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 5, wherein the second network node is an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node.
As to claim 5, You teaches wherein the second network node is an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node (You, [0157], [0243]-[0245], Fig. 19, the period to transmit the discovery signal A is based on the mobility of the IAB node).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin and Oh to have the features, as taught by You, in order to avoid a frequent IAB node detection process and discovery signal transmission based on the mobility of the IAB node (You, [0244]).
Martin and Oh teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Martin and Oh do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 13, wherein the indication includes information that enables the second network node to identify the one or more resources for transmission of one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs).
As to claim 13, You teaches wherein the indication includes information that enables the second network node to identify the one or more resources for transmission of one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) (You, [0143]-[0144], [0153], [0192]-[0193], [0195]-[0197], [0204]-[0205], Fig. 16, [0212]-[0215], [0262], [0264], the parent node or DgNB transmits to the child node the discovery signal transmission configuration, discovery signal detection configuration and discovery signal transmission and detection request. The child node uses the configuration to transmit the discovery signal. The discovery signal is transmitted via the resources or timing indicated in the configuration. The discovery signal is a SSB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin and Oh to have the features, as taught by You, in order to avoid a frequent IAB node detection process and discovery signal transmission based on the mobility of the IAB node (You, [0244]).
Martin and Oh teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Martin and Oh do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 16, further comprising:
selecting, based on the mobility state of the second network node, the one or more resources for the second network node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs).
As to claim 16, You teaches further comprising:
selecting, based on the mobility state of the second network node, the one or more resources for the second network node to transmit one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) (You, [0143]-[0144], [0153], [0192]-[0193], [0195]-[0197], Fig. 16, [0212]-[0215], a configuration is determined by the parent node or DgNB and provided to a child node. The child node receives from the parent node or DgNB the discovery signal transmission configuration, discovery signal detection configuration and discovery signal transmission and detection request. The configuration received indicates information about the period, offset and duration for a discovery signal timing. Figs. 15 and 19, the resources to transmit the discovery signals include the period, offset and duration for a discovery signal timing. The discovery signal is a SSB. [0244], [0248], Fig. 19, the period to transmit the discovery signal A is based on the mobility of the IAB node).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin and Oh to have the features, as taught by You, in order to avoid a frequent IAB node detection process and discovery signal transmission based on the mobility of the IAB node (You, [0244]).
Martin and Oh teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Martin and Oh do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 17, wherein the one or more SSBs are associated with at least one of cell access, cell selection, neighbor measurement, or peer discovery.
As to claim 17, You teaches wherein the one or more SSBs are associated with at least one of cell access, cell selection, neighbor measurement, or peer discovery (You, [0143]-[0144], [0153], Fig. 16, [0211]-[0215], the discovery signal is a SSB and use to discover other IAB nodes or UEs. [0195], [0219], the procedure includes detection and measurement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin and Oh to have the features, as taught by You, in order to avoid a frequent IAB node detection process and discovery signal transmission based on the mobility of the IAB node (You, [0244]).
Martin and Oh teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Martin and Oh do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 19, wherein the second network node is an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node.
As to claim 19, You teaches wherein the second network node is an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node (You, [0157], [0243]-[0245], Fig. 19, the period to transmit the discovery signal A is based on the mobility of the IAB node).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin and Oh to have the features, as taught by You, in order to avoid a frequent IAB node detection process and discovery signal transmission based on the mobility of the IAB node (You, [0244]).
Martin and Oh teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Martin and Oh do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 27, wherein the indication of the first selection of the one or more resources includes information that enables the second network node to identify the one or more resources for transmission of one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs).
As to claim 27, You teaches wherein the indication of the first selection of the one or more resources includes information that enables the second network node to identify the one or more resources for transmission of one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) (You, [0143]-[0144], [0153], [0192]-[0193], [0195]-[0197], [0204]-[0205], Fig. 16, [0212]-[0215], [0262], [0264], the parent node or DgNB transmits to the child node the discovery signal transmission configuration, discovery signal detection configuration and discovery signal transmission and detection request. The child node uses the configuration to transmit the discovery signal. The discovery signal is transmitted via the resources or timing indicated in the configuration. The discovery signal is a SSB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin and Oh to have the features, as taught by You, in order to avoid a frequent IAB node detection process and discovery signal transmission based on the mobility of the IAB node (You, [0244]).
Claims 4, 8-9, 18 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et al. (US 2018/0310297), hereinafter “Martin” in view of Oh et al. (US 2006/0039318), hereinafter “Oh” and further in view of Gupta et al. (US 2017/0359714) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Gupta”.
Martin and Oh teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Martin and Oh do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 4, wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to a synchronization raster associated with the mobility state.
As to claim 4, Gupta teaches wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to a synchronization raster associated with the mobility state (Gupta, Fig. 4, [0046]-[0052], Fig. 5A, [0054], Fig. 5B, [0057], Fig. 6, [0058], Fig. 9, [0059], [0068]-[0069], separate resources sets are provisioned to the device for different discovery modes associated with different mobility states. A static device is associated with a first discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. A device that moves more quickly is associated with a second discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. The discovery signal is transmitted using the identified set of resources according to the discovery mode, which is associated with the mobility state. You discloses in [0143]-[0144], [0153], Fig. 16, [0211]-[0215] that the discovery signal is a SSB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin and Oh to have the features, as taught by Gupta, in order to perform an efficient process to discover other devices, such as a suitable relay, in a network with devices with mobility states between purely static to highly mobile (Gupta, [0002] ,[0047]).
Martin and Oh teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Martin and Oh do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 8, wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network node to:
select the one or more resources for the second network node based on a first synchronization raster assigned to the first type of mobility state, and
wherein a second synchronization raster is assigned to a second type of mobility state.
As to claim 8, Gupta teaches wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state (Gupta, Fig. 4, [0046]-[0052], Fig. 5A, [0054], Fig. 5B, [0057], Fig. 6, [0058], Fig. 9, [0059], [0068]-[0069], separate resources sets are provisioned to the device for different discovery modes associated with different mobility states. A static device is associated with a first discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. A device that moves more quickly is associated with a second discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. The discovery signal is transmitted using the identified set of resources according to the discovery mode, which is associated with the mobility state), wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network node to:
select the one or more resources for the second network node based on a first synchronization raster assigned to the first type of mobility state, and
wherein a second synchronization raster is assigned to a second type of mobility state (Gupta, Fig. 4, [0046]-[0052], Fig. 5A, [0054], Fig. 5B, [0057], Fig. 6, [0058], Fig. 9, [0059], [0068]-[0069], separate resources sets are provisioned to the device for different discovery modes associated with different mobility states. A static device is associated with a first discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. A device that moves more quickly is associated with a second discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. The discovery signal is transmitted using the identified set of resources according to the discovery mode, which is associated with the mobility state).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin and Oh to have the features, as taught by Gupta, in order to perform an efficient process to discover other devices, such as a suitable relay, in a network with devices with mobility states between purely static to highly mobile (Gupta, [0002] ,[0047]).
Martin and Oh teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Martin and Oh do not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 9, wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network node to:
select the one or more resources for the second network node based on one or more of a first periodicity or a first time offset assigned to the first type of mobility state, and
wherein one or more of a second periodicity or a second time offset is assigned to a second type of mobility state.
As to claim 9, Gupta teaches wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state (Gupta, Fig. 4, [0046]-[0052], Fig. 5A, [0054], Fig. 5B, [0057], Fig. 6, [0058], Fig. 9, [0059], [0068]-[0069], separate resources sets are provisioned to the device for different discovery modes associated with different mobility states. A static device is associated with a first discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. A device that moves more quickly is associated with a second discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. The discovery signal is transmitted using the identified set of resources according to the discovery mode, which is associated with the mobility state), wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network node to:
select the one or more resources for the second network node based on one or more of a first periodicity or a first time offset assigned to the first type of mobility state (Gupta, [0052], Fig. 6, [0058], the separate resource sets for each discovery mode include a corresponding periodicity. The more mobile a device is, the more frequently it transmits the discovery signal. A more static device corresponds to a less frequent discovery mode), and
wherein one or more of a second periodicity or a second time offset is assigned to a second type of mobility state (Gupta, [0052], Fig. 6, [0058], the separate resource sets for each discovery mode include a corresponding periodicity. The more mobile a device is, the more frequently it transmits the discovery signal. A more static device corresponds to a less frequent discovery mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin and Oh to have the features, as taught by Gupta, in order to perform an efficient process to discover other devices, such as a suitable relay, in a network with devices with mobility states between purely static to highly mobile (Gupta, [0002], [0047], [0052]).
Martin and Oh teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Martin and Oh do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 18, wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to a synchronization raster associated with the mobility state.
As to claim 18, Gupta teaches wherein the one or more SSBs are transmitted according to a synchronization raster associated with the mobility state (Gupta, Fig. 4, [0046]-[0052], Fig. 5A, [0054], Fig. 5B, [0057], Fig. 6, [0058], Fig. 9, [0059], [0068]-[0069], separate resources sets are provisioned to the device for different discovery modes associated with different mobility states. A static device is associated with a first discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. A device that moves more quickly is associated with a second discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. The discovery signal is transmitted using the identified set of resources according to the discovery mode, which is associated with the mobility state. You discloses in [0143]-[0144], [0153], Fig. 16, [0211]-[0215] that the discovery signal is a SSB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin and Oh to have the features, as taught by Gupta, in order to perform an efficient process to discover other devices, such as a suitable relay, in a network with devices with mobility states between purely static to highly mobile (Gupta, [0002] ,[0047]).
Martin and Oh teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Martin and Oh do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 22, wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state,
wherein the indication provided to the second network node indicates the one or more resources for the second network node based on a first synchronization raster assigned to the first type of mobility state, and
wherein a second synchronization raster is assigned to a second type of mobility state.
As to claim 22, Gupta teaches wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state (Gupta, Fig. 4, [0046]-[0052], Fig. 5A, [0054], Fig. 5B, [0057], Fig. 6, [0058], Fig. 9, [0059], [0068]-[0069], separate resources sets are provisioned to the device for different discovery modes associated with different mobility states. A static device is associated with a first discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. A device that moves more quickly is associated with a second discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. The discovery signal is transmitted using the identified set of resources according to the discovery mode, which is associated with the mobility state),
wherein the indication provided to the second network node indicates the one or more resources for the second network node based on a first synchronization raster assigned to the first type of mobility state, and
wherein a second synchronization raster is assigned to a second type of mobility state (Gupta, Fig. 4, [0046]-[0052], Fig. 5A, [0054], Fig. 5B, [0057], Fig. 6, [0058], Fig. 9, [0059], [0068]-[0069], separate resources sets are provisioned to the device for different discovery modes associated with different mobility states. A static device is associated with a first discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. A device that moves more quickly is associated with a second discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. The discovery signal is transmitted using the identified set of resources according to the discovery mode, which is associated with the mobility state).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin and Oh to have the features, as taught by Gupta, in order to perform an efficient process to discover other devices, such as a suitable relay, in a network with devices with mobility states between purely static to highly mobile (Gupta, [0002] ,[0047]).
Martin and Oh teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Martin and Oh do not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 23, wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state,
wherein the indication provided to the second network node indicates the one or more resources for the second network node based on one or more of a first periodicity or a first time offset assigned to the first type of mobility state, and
wherein one or more of a second periodicity or a second time offset is assigned to a second type of mobility state.
As to claim 23, Gupta teaches wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state (Gupta, Fig. 4, [0046]-[0052], Fig. 5A, [0054], Fig. 5B, [0057], Fig. 6, [0058], Fig. 9, [0059], [0068]-[0069], separate resources sets are provisioned to the device for different discovery modes associated with different mobility states. A static device is associated with a first discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. A device that moves more quickly is associated with a second discovery mode with corresponding set of resources to transmit discovery signals. The discovery signal is transmitted using the identified set of resources according to the discovery mode, which is associated with the mobility state),
wherein the indication provided to the second network node indicates the one or more resources for the second network node based on one or more of a first periodicity or a first time offset assigned to the first type of mobility state (Gupta, [0052], Fig. 6, [0058], the separate resource sets for each discovery mode include a corresponding periodicity. The more mobile a device is, the more frequently it transmits the discovery signal. A more static device corresponds to a less frequent discovery mode), and
wherein one or more of a second periodicity or a second time offset is assigned to a second type of mobility state (Gupta, [0052], Fig. 6, [0058], the separate resource sets for each discovery mode include a corresponding periodicity. The more mobile a device is, the more frequently it transmits the discovery signal. A more static device corresponds to a less frequent discovery mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin and Oh to have the features, as taught by Gupta, in order to perform an efficient process to discover other devices, such as a suitable relay, in a network with devices with mobility states between purely static to highly mobile (Gupta, [0002], [0047], [0052]).
Claims 10 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et al. (US 2018/0310297), hereinafter “Martin” in view of Oh et al. (US 2006/0039318), hereinafter “Oh” and further in view of Raghavan et al. (US 2021/0314785) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Raghavan”.
Martin and Oh teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Martin and Oh do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 10, wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state,
wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network node to:
select the one or more resources for the second network node based on one or more of a first synchronization signal block (SSB) measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window or a first SSB transmission configuration (STC) window assigned to the first type of mobility state, and
wherein a second SMTC window or a second STC window is assigned to a second type of mobility state.
As to claim 10, Raghavan teaches wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state (Raghavan, [0031], “stationary,” “low mobility,” or “high mobility”),
wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the first network node to:
select the one or more resources for the second network node based on one or more of a first synchronization signal block (SSB) measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window or a first SSB transmission configuration (STC) window assigned to the first type of mobility state (Raghavan, [0031], “the gNodeB or core network could also set the SMTC periodicity for the cells to be measured based on the UE mobility. For example, gNodeB or core network could set a lower periodicity for high mobility UEs, and higher periodicity for low mobility or stationary UEs”), and
wherein a second SMTC window or a second STC window is assigned to a second type of mobility state (Raghavan, [0031], “the gNodeB or core network could also set the SMTC periodicity for the cells to be measured based on the UE mobility. For example, gNodeB or core network could set a lower periodicity for high mobility UEs, and higher periodicity for low mobility or stationary UEs”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin and Oh to have the features, as taught by Raghavan, in order to allow intra-frequency cell identification delay requirements measurements given their dependency on UE configurations (Raghavan, [0005]).
Martin and Oh teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Martin and Oh do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 24, wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state,
wherein the indication provided to the second network node indicates the one or more resources for the second network node based on one or more of a first synchronization signal block (SSB) measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window or a first SSB transmission configuration (STC) window assigned to the first type of mobility state, and
wherein a second SMTC window or a second STC window is assigned to a second type of mobility state.
As to claim 24, Raghavan teaches wherein the mobility state is a first type of mobility state (Raghavan, [0031], “stationary,” “low mobility,” or “high mobility”),
wherein the indication provided to the second network node indicates the one or more resources for the second network node based on one or more of a first synchronization signal block (SSB) measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window or a first SSB transmission configuration (STC) window assigned to the first type of mobility state (Raghavan, [0031], “the gNodeB or core network could also set the SMTC periodicity for the cells to be measured based on the UE mobility. For example, gNodeB or core network could set a lower periodicity for high mobility UEs, and higher periodicity for low mobility or stationary UEs”), and
wherein a second SMTC window or a second STC window is assigned to a second type of mobility state (Raghavan, [0031], “the gNodeB or core network could also set the SMTC periodicity for the cells to be measured based on the UE mobility. For example, gNodeB or core network could set a lower periodicity for high mobility UEs, and higher periodicity for low mobility or stationary UEs”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin and Oh to have the features, as taught by Raghavan, in order to allow intra-frequency cell identification delay requirements measurements given their dependency on UE configurations (Raghavan, [0005]).
Claims 11-12 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et al. (US 2018/0310297), hereinafter “Martin” in view of Oh et al. (US 2006/0039318), hereinafter “Oh” and further in view of Raghavan et al. (US 2021/0314785) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Raghavan” and further in view of 3GPP TSG-RAM WG1 #96-Bis, R1-1904832, Ericsson, “SSB-based IAB (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Ericsson”.
Martin, Oh and Raghavan teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Martin, Oh and Raghavan do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 11, wherein the first SMTC window is one or more of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to the second SMTC window, or
wherein the first STC window is one or more of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to the second STC window.
As to claim 11, Ericsson teaches wherein the first SMTC window is one or more of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to the second SMTC window (Ericsson, pages 1-2, Section 2, SSB transmission and measurement configurations (SMTCs) are determined and provided by the CU, where the SSB periodicity is based on the mobility of the node. SS indices are located in time domain, where the design includes orthogonal sets of SS indices. Page 3 Fig. 2, the SSBs are time-wise orthogonal with corresponding periodicity. Page 6, Proposal 4, “From the detectability point of view, each node should have timewise orthogonal transmission pattern”), or
wherein the first STC window is one or more of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to the second STC window.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin, Oh and Raghavan to have the features, as taught by Ericsson, in order to support larger SSB periodicities for IAB nodes with no mobility, where channel conditions can be expected to be stable (Ericsson, page 2, lines 1-8), thereby reducing the amount of SSB transmissions when are not needed.
Martin, Oh and Raghavan teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Martin, Oh and Raghavan do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 12, wherein a first configuration of the first SMTC window or the first STC window identifies at least one of a first physical cell identifier (PCI) list or a first periodicity that is different from a second PCI list or a second periodicity identified by a second configuration of the second SMTC window or the second STC window.
As to claim 12, Ericsson teaches wherein a first configuration of the first SMTC window or the first STC window identifies at least one of a first physical cell identifier (PCI) list or a first periodicity that is different from a second PCI list or a second periodicity identified by a second configuration of the second SMTC window or the second STC window (Ericsson, page 2 lines 1-8, the SSB transmission has a periodicity based on the mobility of the IAB node. Figs. 2, 3, 5, Page 6, Proposal 4, the windows should be independent in terms of offset, duration and periodicity)..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin, Oh and Raghavan to have the features, as taught by Ericsson, in order to support larger SSB periodicities for IAB nodes with no mobility, where channel conditions can be expected to be stable (Ericsson, page 2, lines 1-8), thereby reducing the amount of SSB transmissions when are not needed.
Martin, Oh and Raghavan teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Martin, Oh and Raghavan do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 25, wherein the first SMTC window is one or more of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to the second SMTC window, or
wherein the first STC window is one or more of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to the second STC window.
As to claim 25, Ericsson teaches wherein the first SMTC window is one or more of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to the second SMTC window (Ericsson, pages 1-2, Section 2, SSB transmission and measurement configurations (SMTCs) are determined and provided by the CU, where the SSB periodicity is based on the mobility of the node. SS indices are located in time domain, where the design includes orthogonal sets of SS indices. Page 3 Fig. 2, the SSBs are time-wise orthogonal with corresponding periodicity. Page 6, Proposal 4, “From the detectability point of view, each node should have timewise orthogonal transmission pattern”), or
wherein the first STC window is one or more of orthogonal in time or orthogonal in frequency to the second STC window.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin, Oh and Raghavan to have the features, as taught by Ericsson, in order to support larger SSB periodicities for IAB nodes with no mobility, where channel conditions can be expected to be stable (Ericsson, page 2, lines 1-8), thereby reducing the amount of SSB transmissions when are not needed.
Martin, Oh and Raghavan teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Martin, Oh and Raghavan do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 26, wherein a first configuration of the first SMTC window or the first STC window identifies at least one of a first physical cell identifier (PCI) list or a first periodicity that is different from a second PCI list or a second periodicity identified by a second configuration of the second SMTC window or the second STC window.
As to claim 26, Ericsson teaches wherein a first configuration of the first SMTC window or the first STC window identifies at least one of a first physical cell identifier (PCI) list or a first periodicity that is different from a second PCI list or a second periodicity identified by a second configuration of the second SMTC window or the second STC window (Ericsson, page 2 lines 1-8, the SSB transmission has a periodicity based on the mobility of the IAB node. Figs. 2, 3, 5, Page 6, Proposal 4, the windows should be independent in terms of offset, duration and periodicity)..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin, Oh and Raghavan to have the features, as taught by Ericsson, in order to support larger SSB periodicities for IAB nodes with no mobility, where channel conditions can be expected to be stable (Ericsson, page 2, lines 1-8), thereby reducing the amount of SSB transmissions when are not needed.
Conclusion
/RICARDO H CASTANEYRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473