Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Martin et al. (US 20200048015 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Martin et al. teaches an end effector (Fig. 2B, number 100) for a robotic arm, the end effector comprising a suction cup (Fig. 2B, number 120) and an inline filter assembly (Fig. 2B, number 110) in fluid communication with the suction cup.
Regarding claim 2, Martin et al. teaches the end effector according to claim 1, wherein the inline filter assembly (Fig. 2B, number 110) is axially aligned with the suction cup (Fig. 2B, number 120).
Regarding claim 3, Martin et al. teaches the end effector according to claim 1, wherein the inline filter assembly (Fig. 2B, number 110) is connected to the suction cup (Fig 2B, number 120).
Regarding claim 4, Martin et al. teaches the end effector according to claim 3, wherein the inline filter assembly (Fig. 2B, number 110) is removably connected (Paragraph 15, lines 2-3) to the suction cup (Fig. 2B, number 120).
Regarding claim 6, Martin et al. teaches the end effector according to claim 1, wherein the end effector comprises an elongate stem (Fig. 2B, number 344) in fluid communication with the inline filter assembly (Fig. 2B, number 110) and the suction cup (Fig. 2B, number 120).
Regarding claim 8, Martin et al. teaches the end effector according to claim 6, wherein the inline filter assembly is connected at a first end to the elongate stem and at a second end to the suction cup. (See annotated Figure 2B below.)
Claim(s) 1 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Robinson et al. (US 20190061174 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Robinson et al. teaches an end effector for a robotic arm, the end effector comprising a suction cup (Fig. 1, number 100) and an inline filter assembly (Fig. 1, number 16) in fluid communication with the suction cup.
Regarding claim 6, Robinson et al. teaches the end effector of claim 1, as discussed above. Robinson et al. further teaches the end effector comprising an elongate stem (Fig. 1, number 18) in fluid communication with the inline filter assembly and the suction cup.
Regarding claim 7, Robinson et al. teaches the end effector of claim 6, as discussed above. Robinson et al. further teaches the inline filter assembly being connected to a first end of the elongate stem and the suction cup being connected to a second end of the elongate stem (see below).
Claim(s) 9-10 and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fofonoff et al. (US 20220266458 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Fofonoff et al. teaches a suction cup assembly for a robot end effector, the suction cup assembly comprising:
a suction cup (Fig. 4, number 402); and
a removable inline filter assembly (Fig. 4, number 400; see paragraph 80, lines 1-4) comprising a connection element (Fig. 4, number 406) to connect to the robot end effector.
Regarding claim 10, Fofonoff et al. teaches the suction cup assembly according to claim 9, wherein the filter assembly comprises a separable filter housing (Fig. 4, number 400) to house a filter element (Paragraph 80, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 14, Fofonoff et al. teaches the suction cup assembly according to claim 9, wherein the connection element is to connect the removable inline filter assembly to a stem of the robot end effector (Fig. 12A, number 1200).
Regarding claim 15, Fofonoff et al. teaches the suction cup assembly according to claim 9, wherein the connection element (Fig. 4, number 406) is to connect the removable inline filter assembly (Fig. 4, number 400) to an intermediate connector (Fig. 9, number 904) for connection to a robotic arm (Paragraph 91, lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 16, Fofonoff et al. teaches a robot end effector (Fig. 11, number 1100) comprising the suction cup assembly according to claim 9. Regarding claim 17, Fofonoff et al. teaches a robotic manipulator (Fig. 12, number 1200) comprising the robot end effector according to claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fofonoff et al.
Martin et al. teaches the end effector of claim 1. Martin et al. does not teach an inline filter assembly comprising a connection element to connect to at least one of: an elongate stem; the robotic arm; or an intermediate connector for connection to the robotic arm. Fofonoff et al. teaches in inline filter assembly (Fig. 4, number 400) comprising a connection element (Fig. 4, number 406) to connect to an intermediate connector (Fig. 9, number 904). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the inline filter assembly of Fofonoff et al. for the inline filter assembly of Martin et al. to allow the filter assembly to connect to an intermediate connector equipped with a mounting screw for connection to a robotic device.
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fofonoff et al. as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Zhang (US 20240389807 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Fofonoff et al. teaches the assembly of claim 10, as discussed above. Fofonoff et al. does not teach a separable filter housing comprising a body and a removable cap which, when connected together, enclose a space for the filter element. Zhang teaches a separable filter housing (Fig. 5) comprising a body (Fig. 5, number 21) and a removable cap (Fig. 5, number 23) which, when connected together, enclose a space for the filter element (Fig. 5, number 222). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the filter housing of Zhang for the filter housing of Fofonoff in order to make it convenient for the user to clean the filter components (Zhang, Paragraph 35, lines 8-12).
Regarding claim 12, Fofonoff et al. and Zhang teach the assembly of claim 11, as discussed above. Zhang further teaches a filter housing wherein the body and the removable cap comprise corresponding connection elements to connect together.
Regarding claim 13, Fofonoff et al. and Zhang teach the assembly of claim 12, as discussed above. Fofonoff et al. and Zhang do not teach a filter housing wherein the connection elements of the body and cap comprise corresponding screw threads. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the connection elements of Zhang with corresponding screw threads because applicant has not disclosed that the corresponding screw threads solve any stated problem or serve any particular purpose, and it appears the invention would perform equally well with the connection elements of Zhang.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fofonoff et al. as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Stadie et al. (WO 2015185628 A2).
Regarding claim 18, Fofonoff teaches the robotic manipulator of claim 17, as shown above. Fofonoff et al. does not teach a robotic picking station comprising a robotic manipulator. Stadie et al. teaches a robotic picking station comprising a robotic manipulator (Page 9, lines 29-30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the robotic manipulator of Stadie et al. for the workers or robots of Fofonoff et al. to conduct tasks, such as picking items for fulfilment of orders.
Regarding claim 19, Fofonoff et al. teaches the robotic manipulator of claim 17, as shown above. Fofonoff et al. does not teach a grid-based storage and retrieval system or a robotic picking station according to claim 18. Stadie et al. teaches a robotic picking station according to claim 18, as shown above. Stadie also teaches a grid-based storage and retrieval system comprising a robotic picking station (Page 10, lines 11-14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the robotic picking station of Fofonoff et al. and Stadie et al. with the grid-based storage and retrieval system of Stadie et al. to deliver ordered containers of items to designated workstations for picking and delivery.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 6, and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of copending Application No. 18/882335 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the species claimed in claim 12 of the reference application anticipates the genera claimed in claims 1, 3, 6, and 8 of the instant application and, therefore, a patent to the genera would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genera issue as a patent after the species.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 3-6, and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of copending Application No. 18/882335 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the species claimed in claim 13 of the reference application anticipates the genera claimed in claims 1, 3-6, and 8 of the instant application and, therefore, a patent to the genera would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genera issue as a patent after the species.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Young et al. (WO 2019180255 A1) teaches a robot end effector comprising a suction gripper with an inline filter within the conduit.
Wang (CN 215749237 U) teaches a suction gripper with three filters placed at various points within a vacuum suction tube.
/TAYLOR J LINDENBUSCH/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654