Claims 1, 3, 5-11, 21-30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, it is not clear what is meant by the resin “is configured to be pyrolyzed”. It is not clear how a configured resin differs structurally or chemically from the same resin which has not been so configured. The scope of the claims is not clear. Also, there appears to be a typographical error in claim 29, line 2 which recites “athe”.
Claims 1, 3, 5-11, 21-30 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending allowed Application No. 18/356,984 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims a porosity gradient fibrous preform.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 8, 10-11, 21-22, 24-26, 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weaver et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0015595.
Weaver discloses a plurality of preform plies which are associated together to form a preform. The preform can be subject to chemical vapor infiltration processing to define a ceramic matrix composite structure. See paragraph 0004. The plurality of plies can each have a different porosity, wherein the central ply can have a lower porosity than the outer plies. See paragraphs 0019, 0023. Therefore the weight percentage of the resin sequentially decreases from the lower porosity center ply to the outer surface plies. The preform plies can comprise woven or unidirectional fibers and can further comprise a binder. See paragraph 0034. The preform can be made by providing a tow and passing the tow through a bath of a slurry comprising a binder, carrier, fillers and pore formers. The tow can then be formed into the fibrous portion of the preform by laying up into the desired structure and then pyrolyzed to form the pores. The binder should be one which leaves char after pyrolysis or firing, such as phenolics. See paragraph 0040. The carrier is equated with a solvent since it is a liquid which dissolves or carrier the binder. See paragraph 0043. The pyrolysis opens up pores. See paragraph 0046. Since the structure is able to be infiltrated by a vapor, the pores must be interconnected and continuous or else the structure would not be able to infiltrated by the vapor. Since the inner portion has smaller pores, the amount of resin would be higher in the inner portion relative to the outer plies. The resin is not disclosed as being foamable. Since the layers are disposed on top of each other they are necessarily oriented at a angle to each other, since no particular angle is specified, so even if the fibers of adjacent layers are aligned, they are aligned at an angle of zero. Since Weaver discloses multiple plies, the pores would extend across at least three sequential layers and since Weaver teaches that the structure can have a porosity and structure which varies ply by ply, the plies would have different resin weight ratios, with the more porous layers having less resin and the less porous inner layers having more resin. Since Weaver teaches increasing porosity from the center to the outer plies, it teaches that the weight ratio percentage of the resin decreases monotonically.
With regard to claim 8, Weaver does not teach varying the fiber layers, so it is reasonable to expect that the fiber volume of each layer would be uniform.
With regard to claim 10, Weaver discloses a preform. See entire document.
With regard to claim 11, as set forth above, once a structure with a porosity gradient is formed as taught by Weaver, the less porous regions will weigh more than the more porous regions.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weaver, et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0015595.
Weaver discloses a structure as set forth above.
With regard to claim 7, Weaver does not teach a particular fiber volume, however, since the fibers serve to reinforce the structure, it would have been obvious to have selected the amount of fibers which produced the desired degree of reinforcement.
Claim(s) 3 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weaver as applied to claims above, and further in view of Tran et al, U.S. Patent No. 5,536,562.
Weaver discloses a structure as set forth above which includes solvent and Weaver teaches pyrolyzing to form the open porous network.
However, in the event Weaver does not clearly teach that the solvent provides the porosity, Tran discloses a fibrous substrate which may be in the form of a felt, tow, woven or interlock (which is interpreted as meaning knit) fabric. See col. 7, lines 13-15. The fibrous substrate is infiltrated with a thermosetting or thermoplastic resin. See col. 8, lines 58-65. The resin can include a solvent which is removed from the fibrous substrate to leave a preform having the desired porosity. The solvent can be removed in such a way that the center part of the structure is less dense, than the surface, which corresponds to the claimed gradient. See col. 9, lines 25-63; col. 10, lines 27-50.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have employed a solvent mixed with the resin form pores in a preform.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weaver as applied to claims above, and further in view of Manicke et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0150663.
Weaver discloses a structure as set forth above.
Weaver differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose that the resin has a particular char value.
However, Manicke et al discloses a composite material comprising impregnating a reinforcing material which can be a fibrous material, (see col. 0015), which is impregnated with a resin system which includes a solvent, (see paragraph 0017), wherein the rein has a high char residue or about 27 vol%, (see paragraph 0018), wherein the solvent is removed, (see paragraph 0020), wherein the structure is pyrolyzed to form a porous fiber structure, which establishes that the resin is configured to be pyrolyzed. See paragraph 0020.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have used a resin which was able to be pyrolyzed to form the preform structure and to have impregnated resin into the pore of the porous structure in view of their suitability as taught by Manicke.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weaver and further in view of WO 95/11797.
Weaver does not teach through thickness reinforcements.
However, WO ‘797 teaches providing through thickness reinforcement of preform structures in order to provide improved interlaminar strength. See pages 2-4.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have employed through thickness reinforcement in the structure of Weaver in order to improve interlaminar strength.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed with the RCE dated 12/3/25 have been carefully considered and are sufficient to overcome the previous rejections. New rejections are set forth above.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP H098586. JP ‘586 discloses a composite material having a gradient porosity. The material comprises a prepreg which includes a filler which reduces the porosity of the structure at the center of the structure. See abstract and paragraph 0005. The structure can fired or pyrolyzed to produce the porosity gradient material having a more dense center and less dense outer portions. See Examples, paragraph 0011. JP ‘586 teaches that resulting materials have improved strength compared to conventional uniform porosity structures. See paragraph 019.
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789