DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response filed on December 18, 2025.
No Claims have been amended.
No Claims have been cancelled.
No Claims have been added.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on December 18, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues on pages 8-9 of the applicant’s remarks/arguments that Khan fails to disclose “wherein the transmitting from the first part to the base station is secured across multiple layers of a network stack.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Khan discloses the outside module includes a wireless power receiver. The system includes an inside module configured to communicate with the outside module at a third frequency and to communicate with a communications device at a fourth frequency. The inside module includes a wireless power transmitter configured to wirelessly transmit power to the outside module. The second frequency is in the millimeter wave frequency band and the first, third and fourth frequencies are in the sub-6 GHz bands([0008]). Therefore, the communication between first part and the base station used Wi-Fi 6 GHZ that used WPA3 security protocol which is a multilayer secured protocol . Then Khan teaches the transmitting from the first part to the base station is secured across multiple layers of a network stack as claimed by the instant application.
The applicant argues on page 10 of the applicant’s remarks/arguments that Khan fails to disclose “attached to the window by an adhesive mechanism.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Khan discloses the outside module 208 is attached to the outer side of the glass window 304 while the inside module 216 is attached to the inner side of the glass window 304([0017]). As disclosed a mechanism to attach to the window. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use adhesive, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416
Subscriber identity module (SIM or eSIM) is an inherent features of communication device 220.
Regarding security camera It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use security camera since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formally been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
For at least the reasons provided above, the applicant arguments regarding independent claims are not persuasive. The applicant argues that independent claims are patentable for similar reasons and are also not persuasive. The applicant further argues that since dependent claims depend on the argued independent claim; they are patentable at least by virtue of their dependencies. Since the applicant's arguments regarding independent claims are not persuasive, the applicant's arguments regarding dependent claims are also not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Khan et al. (US Application 2018/0019798, hereinafter Khan).
Regarding claims 1, 11, 18, Khan discloses a wireless access point, a method , and a non-transitory computer readable medium(Figs. 1-17), comprising:
a first part disposed outside of a building, the first part transmitting to and receiving from a base station of a telecommunications network over a radio frequency of the base station and transcoding between a signal associated with the radio frequency and a signal associated with an unlicensed frequency (Abstract, [0003]-[004],[0006]- [0008], [0016]-[0024], which recites the intermediate node 200 refers to the communications link between an outside module 208 and an inside module 216. The functionality of the intermediate node 200 is split across a wall 204 separating the outside and inside environments. The wall 204 may be structure of a building that separates the inside environment from the outside environment. Alternatively, the wall 204 may be a structure that separates the inside compartment of a vehicle from the outside environment. The outside module 208 communicates with a radio base station 212 while the inside module 216 communicates with a communication device 220 inside. The inside and outside modules 216 and 208 communicate with each other using either wired or another wireless link. Wi-Fi is generally used indoors as a short-range wireless extension of wired broadband systems. frequencies referred to as millimeter waves in addition to currently used frequency bands below 6 GHz considered as unlicensed frequency);
a second part disposed inside of the building, on a opposite side of a window of the building from the first part, the second part transmitting to and receiving from one or more devices disposed within the building over the unlicensed frequency and receiving a charge from a power component coupled to the second part(Abstract, [0003]-[004],[0006]- [0008], [0016]-[0024], which recites the intermediate node 200 refers to the communications link between an outside module 208 and an inside module 216. The functionality of the intermediate node 200 is split across a wall 204 separating the outside and inside environments. The wall 204 may be structure of a building that separates the inside environment from the outside environment. Alternatively, the wall 204 may be a structure that separates the inside compartment of a vehicle from the outside environment. The outside module 208 communicates with a radio base station 212 while the inside module 216 communicates with a communication device 220 inside. The inside and outside modules 216 and 208 communicate with each other using either wired or another wireless link. Wi-Fi is generally used indoors as a short-range wireless extension of wired broadband systems. frequencies referred to as millimeter waves in addition to currently used frequency bands below 6 GHz considered as unlicensed frequency);
and
a connection mechanism for transmitting and receiving data between the first part and the second part and for transmitting the charge from the second part to the first part(Abstract, [0003]-[004],[0006]- [0008], [0016]-[0024], which recites the intermediate node 200 refers to the communications link between an outside module 208 and an inside module 216. The functionality of the intermediate node 200 is split across a wall 204 separating the outside and inside environments. The wall 204 may be structure of a building that separates the inside environment from the outside environment. Alternatively, the wall 204 may be a structure that separates the inside compartment of a vehicle from the outside environment. The outside module 208 communicates with a radio base station 212 while the inside module 216 communicates with a communication device 220 inside. The inside and outside modules 216 and 208 communicate with each other using either wired or another wireless link. Wi-Fi is generally used indoors as a short-range wireless extension of wired broadband systems. frequencies referred to as millimeter waves in addition to currently used frequency bands below 6 GHz considered as unlicensed frequency);
, wherein the transmitting from the first part to the base station is secured across multiple layers of a network stack(Abstract, [0003]-[004],[0006]- [0008], [0016]-[0024], which recites the intermediate node 200 refers to the communications link between an outside module 208 and an inside module 216. The functionality of the intermediate node 200 is split across a wall 204 separating the outside and inside environments. The wall 204 may be structure of a building that separates the inside environment from the outside environment. Alternatively, the wall 204 may be a structure that separates the inside compartment of a vehicle from the outside environment. The outside module 208 communicates with a radio base station 212 while the inside module 216 communicates with a communication device 220 inside. The inside and outside modules 216 and 208 communicate with each other using either wired or another wireless link. Wi-Fi is generally used indoors as a short-range wireless extension of wired broadband systems. frequencies referred to as millimeter waves in addition to currently used frequency bands below 6 GHz considered as unlicensed frequency).
Regarding claim 2, Khan discloses the wireless access point of claim 1, wherein the one or more devices disposed within the building include at least a security camera, an Internet-of-Things device, a media player, a computing device, or a user equipment (UE) ([0015]-[0016]).
Regarding claims 3, 14, Khan discloses the wireless access point of claim 1, wherein the connection mechanism for transmitting and receiving the data between the first part and the second part is one of light emitting and detecting components or laser emitting and detecting components(fig. 13, [0029]-[0030]).
Regarding claim 4, Khan discloses the wireless access point of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first part and the second part is attached to the window by an adhesive mechanism(Abstract, [0003]-[004],[0006]- [0008], [0016]-[0024]).
Regarding claim 5, Khan discloses the wireless access point of claim 1, further comprising a subscriber identity module (SIM) or an embedded SIM (eSIM) disposed within the first part or the second part and configured to provide identity information for the wireless access point to the telecommunications network([0015]-[0016]).
Regarding claim 6, Khan discloses the wireless access point of claim 1, further comprising an Ethernet port disposed on a surface of the second part for wireline communications with the one or more devices([0015]-[0016]).
Regarding claim 7, Khan discloses the wireless access point of claim 1, wherein the wireless access point is configured to serve as a hub device for one or more security cameras disposed on the first part of the wireless access point, on the building, or in proximity to the building and provide a security monitoring service(Abstract, [0003]-[004],[0006]- [0008], [0016]-[0024]).
Regarding claim 8, Khan discloses the wireless access point of claim 1, wherein the wireless access point is managed by an application of a user equipment (UE) ([0015]-[0016]).
Regarding claim 9, Khan discloses the wireless access point of claim 8, wherein the application provides set-up guidance for installing the wireless access point, the set-up guidance including capabilities for identifying signal strengths at possible installation sites around the building(Abstract, [0003]-[004],[0006]- [0008], [0016]-[0024]).
Regarding claim 10, Khan discloses the wireless access point of claim 9, wherein the application includes capabilities for determining whether a window is suitable for installation(Abstract, [0003]-[004],[0006]- [0008], [0016]-[0024]).
Regarding claim 12, Khan discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: receiving, by the outside part of the wireless access point, a second transmission from the base station over the radio frequency of the base station; transcoding, by the outside part of the wireless access point, the second transmission from the radio frequency to the unlicensed frequency; communicating, from the outside part of the wireless access point to the inside part of the wireless access point, the second transmission; and sending, by the inside part of the wireless access point, the second transmission to the device over the unlicensed frequency(Abstract, [0003]-[004],[0006]- [0008], [0015]-[0024]).
Regarding claim 13, Khan discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising receiving, at the outside part of the wireless access point, a transmission from a security camera disposed outside the building as part of the outside part or remote from the outside part([0015]-[0016]).
Regarding claim 15, Khan discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: receiving, by the inside part of the wireless access point, a charge through a charging port of the inside part; and transmitting, by the inside part of the wireless access point to the outside part of the wireless access point, the charge through the window(Abstract, [0003]-[004],[0006]- [0008], [0016]-[0024]).
Regarding claims 16, 19, Khan discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the device is a security camera, and the wireless access point serves as a hub for a security service for the building(Abstract, [0003]-[004],[0006]- [0008], [0016]-[0024]).
Regarding claims 17, 20, Khan discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the device is one of a plurality of devices communicating through the wireless access point to the telecommunications network, and the outside part of the wireless access point is configured to prioritize transmissions to or from different ones of the devices based on device types associated with the devices or content types associated with the transmissions(Abstract, [0003]-[004],[0006]- [0008], [0016]-[0024]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DADY CHERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461