/DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 5/20/26 have been fully considered but they are moot due to fact that all independent claims have been significantly amended, to which new ground rejection is presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 9, 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20160127903 A1) in view of D1 (WO 2022259858 A1, Foreign Reference dated 8/12/25, 36 pages).
For claim 1, Lee discloses a method (the method shown in FIG. 4 in view of “[0080] FIG. 4 shows an IEEE 802.11r fast basic service set (BSS) transition (FT) authentication and reauthentication process 400. …”) comprising:
communicating, by an STA, with a first Wi-Fi AP with messages secured utilizing a first security key (FIG. 4 and associated text, such as step 406, in view of “[0080] … STA 106 a may first perform successful session establishment and data transmission with a first access point 104 a via message flows 406. This first authentication and data transmission may be performed using IEEE 802.11 authentication. ...”);
while the STA is associated with the first Wi-Fi AP, transmitting a BSS Transition Query via the first Wi-Fi AP requesting candidate Wi-Fi APs in which to connect as a STA roams (FIG. 4, step 408 in view of “[0082] … The STA 106a may then transmit an 802.11 authentication request 408 to the second access point 104b. …”);
receiving, in response to the BSS Transition Query, BSS information identifying a second Wi-Fi AP utilizing a second security key, wherein the second security key is different than the first security key (FIG. 4 and associated text, such as step 409a and 409b in view of “[0082] … In response, the AP 104b may transmit a key request message 409a to the wireless LAN controller 402. The wireless LAN controller 402 provides a second pairwise master key to the second access point (PMK2) via response key response message 409b. ...”);
prior to disassociating from the first Wi-Fi AP, deriving one or more security keys for association with the second Wi-Fi AP based on the second security key (FIG. 4 and associated text, such as steps 409a, 409b and 412 in view of “[0082] … The wireless LAN controller 402 provides a second pairwise master key to the second access point (PMK2) via response key response message 409b. The second access point 104b may utilize the second pairwise master key (PMK2) to derive PTK2 and encrypt communication between the STA 106a and the second access point 104b using PTK2. ...”); and
re-associating to the second Wi-Fi AP using a fast transition that reuses at least a portion of an authentication state established with the first Wi-Fi AP, the fast transition comprising transmitting an FT Reassociation Request including a PMKID identifying a PMK cached by the second Wi-Fi AP and establishing the connection using the cached PMK without performing a full authentication exchange (FIGs. 1-12 and associated text, such as step 414 of FIG. 4 in view of “[0082] … The wireless LAN controller 402 provides a second pairwise master key to the second access point (PMK2) via response key response message 409b. The second access point 104b may utilize the second pairwise master key (PMK2) to derive PTK2 and encrypt communication between the STA 106a and the second access point 104b using PTK2. The AP 104b then transmits an authentication response message 410 to the STA 106a. The STA 106a may also perform a reassociation with the second access point 104b via reassociation request/reply messages 412/414.” and “[0134] FIG. 12 is a flowchart of a method of authenticating a wireless device. In some aspects, the process 1200 may be performed by the wireless LAN controllers described above with respect to FIGS. 7-10, and/or the wireless device 202 of FIG. 2. In some aspects, process 1200 is performed by an R0 key holder device as defined in the 802.11 fast transition key holder architecture.”; note that FIG. 4 shows the connection is established at step 414 using cashed PMK2 without performing a full authentication exchanges, e.g. MSK for first security protocol is used for the second security protocol, no new MSK is required).
Lee does not specifically state but D1, in the same field of endeavor in WiFi network communication, discloses using a first security protocol and a second security protocol and using them to create security keys (p7, 2nd para “… WPA, WPA2, and WPA3 are standards for authentication of a counterpart device and encryption of communication with the counterpart device. …”). OOSA would have been motivated to apply by security protocols (such as WPA, WPA2, and WPA3) to produce security keys by Lee to yield a predictable result of performing Wireless Protected Access for WLAN network. Furthermore, using a security key for authentication is considered as security protocol.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to OOSA before the effective filing date of the application to combine Lee and D1 for the benefit of performing authentication WLAN network (p7, 2nd para of D1).
Independent claim 9 is rejected because it is a computing apparatus that performs the method of claim 1 and has the same subject matter.
Independent claim 16 is rejected because it is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that performs the method of claim 1 and has the same subject matter.
As to claims 2, 10 and 17, Lee in view of D1 discloses claims 1, 9 and 16, D1 further discloses: informing entities within a Wi-Fi network that the STA requires roaming support that includes support for WPA-2 and WPA-3 security protocols in an association request message (p7, 2nd para “… WPA, WPA2, and WPA3 are standards for authentication of a counterpart device and encryption of communication with the counterpart device. …”). The motivation of combining Lee and D1 is the same as stated by the parent claims.
As to claims 3 and 11, Lee in view of D1 discloses claims 1 and 9, Lee further discloses: prior to a handshake with the first Wi-Fi AP, sharing information about security protocols supported by the STA within a Wi-Fi network; and establishing a connection with the first Wi-Fi AP (FIG. 4 in view of “[0082] … The wireless LAN controller 402 provides a second pairwise master key to the second access point (PMK2) via response key response message 409b. The second access point 104b may utilize the second pairwise master key (PMK2) to derive PTK2 and encrypt communication between the STA 106a and the second access point 104b using PTK2. The AP 104b then transmits an authentication response message 410 to the STA 106a. The STA 106a may also perform a reassociation with the second access point 104b via reassociation request/reply messages 412/414.” and “[0134] FIG. 12 is a flowchart of a method of authenticating a wireless device. In some aspects, the process 1200 may be performed by the wireless LAN controllers described above with respect to FIGS. 7-10, and/or the wireless device 202 of FIG. 2. In some aspects, process 1200 is performed by an R0 key holder device as defined in the 802.11 fast transition key holder architecture.”, further in view of FIGs. 1-12 and the associated text).
As to claims 4 and 12, view of D1 discloses claims 1 and 9, D1 further discloses: wherein the first security protocol includes a first AKM version and a first cipher suite and the second security protocol utilizes a second AKM version and a second cipher suite (p10, 6th para “The AKM Suite Count field 407 indicates the number of corresponding authentication methods. Specific values are shown in the AKM Suite List field 408 …” and p13, 2nd para “… the Multi-Link network construction setting is permitted, and only WPA3-SAE is added to the AKM Suite List field 408 included in the RSNE of Beacon or Probe Response or Association Response. …”; note that AKM Suite count field 407 and AKM Suite list field 408 may be used for both security protocol WPA2 and WPA3). The motivation of combining Lee and D1 is the same as stated by the parent claims.
As to claims 5, 13 and 18, view of D1 discloses claims 1, 9 and 16, D1 further discloses:
prior to the re-associating to the second Wi-Fi AP, deriving keys to associate with the second Wi-Fi AP using a second AKM version (p13, 2nd para “… the Multi-Link network construction setting is permitted, and only WPA3-SAE is added to the AKM Suite List field 408 included in the RSNE of Beacon or Probe Response or Association Response. …”). The motivation of combining Lee and D1 is the same as stated by the parent claims.
As to claims 6, 14 and 19, Lee view of D1 discloses claims 1, 9 and 16, Lee further discloses: determining to transition to the second Wi-Fi AP; communicating with the first Wi-Fi AP in a BSS Transition response informing the first Wi-Fi AP that the STA is going to transition to the second Wi-Fi AP (FIGs. 1-12 and the associated text, such as FIG. 4 in view of “[0082] … The wireless LAN controller 402 provides a second pairwise master key to the second access point (PMK2) via response key response message 409b. The second access point 104b may utilize the second pairwise master key (PMK2) to derive PTK2 and encrypt communication between the STA 106a and the second access point 104b using PTK2. The AP 104b then transmits an authentication response message 410 to the STA 106a. The STA 106a may also perform a reassociation with the second access point 104b via reassociation request/reply messages 412/414.”).
As to claims 7, 15 and 20, Lee view of D1 discloses claims 1, 9 and 16, Lee further discloses:
receiving an action frame specifying the second Wi-Fi AP as a target to which to transition (FIG. 4, step 414: receiving an action frame “Reassociation Response” from the second access point 104b).
As to claim 8, Lee view of D1 discloses claim 1, Lee further discloses: wherein the receiving the identification of the second Wi-Fi AP utilizing the second security protocol includes receiving a plurality of Wi-Fi APs including the second Wi-Fi AP (“FIG. 4, step 414: receiving an action frame “Reassociation Response” from the second access point 104b)”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIANYE WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462