POSITIVE ELECTRODE AND BATTERY EMPLOYING THE SAME
Examiner: Adam Arciero S.N. 18/357,000 Art Unit: 1727 February 6, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
The Application filed on July 21, 2023 has been received. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (US 2024/0145682 A1).
As to Claims 1-7, 9 and 11-20, Ko discloses a battery, comprising: a positive electrode, separator, and a negative electrode having a current collector and active material, wherein the positive electrode comprises: a current collector 10; a first active material layer 21a comprises: a Li-Ni-Co-Mn composite oxide active material represented by formula 1, a binder and a conductive additive; and second and third active material layers 21b each comprising a second positive active material such as a lithium iron phosphate compound represented by Formula 2 (also reads on stabilized lithium metal particle of claims 9 and 12), a conductive additive such as graphite (inorganic conductive powder) and a binder (Abstract, Fig. 1, and paragraphs [0010, 0020, 0025-0026, 0052, 0078, 0080-0081, 0083, 0109]). Ko teaches wherein the active materials are present in an amount of 95 wt% or more; wherein the conductor is present in an amount of 0.1 to 4 wt%; and a binder present in an amount of 1-5 wt%; and wherein the lithium iron phosphate is present in an amount up to 20 wt% (paragraphs [0075, 0079, 0081 and 0083]). These ranges overlap with the ranges in the original disclosure of the present invention. The courts have held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976), see MPEP 2144.05, I. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the amounts of each of the components in the active material layers to read on the claims and original disclosure because Ko teaches that a battery with improved stability and safety is provided (Title and Abstract). Ko does not specifically disclose the claimed electrical resistance ratio. However, it is the position of the Office that the claimed electrical resistance ratio is intrinsically present in the prior art given that the structure, materials and amounts thereof are the same, see MPEP 2112.
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (US 2024/0145682 A1) as applied to claims 1-7, 9 and 11-20 above, and in further view of Takashi et al. (JP 2012-204278; as found in IDS dated 02/21/2025 and using machine translation for citation purposes).
As to Claims 8 and 10, Ko teaches wherein a conductor such as graphite is present in the active material layers (paragraph [0080]). Ko does not specifically disclose the claimed metal oxides.
However, Takashi teaches of an electrode material for a battery, comprising a conductive additive such as graphite or an inorganic metal oxide powders such as Sn (paragraph [0023]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the inorganic metal oxide of Takashi for the conductor of Ko because Takashi teaches that high electrical conductivity can be achieved with a small amount added (paragraph [0023]). In addition, Takashi recognizes the conductor materials are functionally equivalent in providing increase electrical conductivity to an electrode. The courts have held that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results, see KSR, MPEP 2143, I, B.
Conclusion
/ADAM A ARCIERO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727