DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and accompanying remarks filed November 11, 2025 are acknowledged.
Examiner acknowledges amended claims 1-2 and 5-6.
Examiner acknowledges cancelled claims 11-20.
Examiner acknowledges newly added claim 21-30.
The rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112(pre-AIA ), second paragraph is overcome by Applicant’s amendment.
The rejection of claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112(pre-AIA ), second paragraph is withdrawn due to Applicant’s argument.
The rejection of claims 1-5 and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Weaver et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2017/0015595 is overcome by Applicant’s amendment.
The rejection of claims 1-10 under the provisionally ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over 1-6 and 11 of co-pending Application No. 18/356,995 is overcome by Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 9 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sassin, U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2020/0152989.
Regarding claim 1, Sassin discloses a laminated article having a first layer and a second layer wherein each layer has a porous carbon structure and a porous polymer with the two porous polymers having different pore sizes [porous gradient [abstract and 0005-0006]. Paragraph 0020 of Sassin discloses multiple layers of polymer nanofoam-filled carbon fiber papers [first and second fabric]. Paragraph 0026 discloses that polymer is a polymer of resorcinol and formaldehyde [thermoset]. Additionally, paragraph 0025 discloses that the two layers use different polymers. Applicant’s claim is not specific to the fugitive component. Examiner is corresponding the polymer nanofoam as the fugitive component. Applicant’s claim does not exclude the polymer material from being the fugitive component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6, 10 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)91) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sassin, U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2020/0152989.
Sassin, above, remains relied upon for claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Sassin teaches the claimed invention but fails to teach wherein, in response to the porosity gradient fibrous preform being heated to the a curing temperature, the first resin is configured to separate into a first fusible resin component and the first plurality of fugitive pore formers, and the second resin is configured to separate into a second fusible resin component and a second plurality of fugitive pore formers, wherein a volume of the first plurality of fugitive pore formers is greater than a volume of the second plurality of fugitive pore formers. It is reasonable to presume that wherein, in response to the porosity gradient fibrous preform being heated to the a curing temperature, the first resin is configured to separate into a first fusible resin component and the first plurality of fugitive pore formers, and the second resin is configured to separate into a second fusible resin component and a second plurality of fugitive pore formers, wherein a volume of the first plurality of fugitive pore formers is greater than a volume of the second plurality of fugitive pore formers is inherent to Sassin. Said presumption is based on Sassin’s disclosure of a laminated article having a first layer and a second layer wherein each layer has a porous carbon structure and a porous polymer with the two porous polymers having different pore sizes [porous gradient [abstract and 0005-0006]. Paragraph 0020 of Sassin discloses multiple layers of polymer nanofoam-filled carbon fiber papers [first and second fabric]. Paragraph 0026 discloses that polymer is a polymer of resorcinol and formaldehyde [thermoset]. Additionally, paragraph 0025 discloses that the two layers use different polymers. Applicant’s claim is not specific to the fugitive component. Examiner is corresponding the polymer nanofoam as the fugitive component. Applicant’s claim does not exclude the polymer material from being the fugitive component. Burden is upon Applicant to prove otherwise. Fitzgerald, In re, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 3, paragraph 0032 of Sassin discloses that the graded/gradient polymer nanofoam paper was pyrolyzed wherein the pores are interconnected [0026].
Regarding claim 4, paragraph 0023 discloses that the two layers have different pore size distributions from each other wherein the distribution across multiple layers form a gradient from one surface of the structure to the opposite surface. One layer will have a greater porosity from the other layer. Applicant’s claims do not distinguish between the first and second layers.
Regarding claim 5, paragraph 0030 discloses acetone as the solvent.
Regarding claims 6, 10 and 30, Sassin is silent to the fiber volume in the layers. However, this is an optimizable feature. The volume of the carbon fiber paper affects the porosity of the layers. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would optimize the carbon fiber in each layer to at least 25% by volume for enhanced porosity.
Claims 7-8, 21-24, 26-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Applicant claims a porosity gradient fibrous preform as recited in claim 1. The closest prior art, Sassin et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2020/0152989.
teaches a laminated article having a first layer and a second layer wherein each layer has a porous carbon structure and a porous polymer with the two porous polymers having different pore sizes [porous gradient [abstract and 0005-0006]. Paragraph 0020 of Sassin discloses multiple layers of polymer nanofoam-filled carbon fiber papers [first and second fabric]. Paragraph 0026 discloses that polymer is a polymer of resorcinol and formaldehyde [thermoset]. Additionally, paragraph 0025 discloses that the two layers use different polymers. Applicant’s claim is not specific to the fugitive component. Examiner is corresponding the polymer nanofoam as the fugitive component. Applicant’s claim does not exclude the polymer material from being the fugitive component. Sassin fails to teach or suggest the limitations of claims 7-8, 21-24, 26-29.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the present claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786