DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-20 in the reply filed on 4/8/26 is acknowledged.
Claim 21 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method of making, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 10, 12, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cuisinier (US 2020/0259207 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cuisinier discloses an apparatus comprising: an anode current collector coated with a layer of sulfurized polyacrylonitrile (SPAN) (paragraph 19). The anode active material is not necessarily present as stated in the claim; thus, features of the active material are not given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 3, Cuisinier discloses that Li2S would be present in the coating (paragraph 2).
Regarding claims 10 and 12, Cuisinier discloses that the coating comprises carbon black (paragraph 19).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, the anode active material is not necessarily present as stated in the claims; thus, features of the active material are not given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 17, Cuisinier discloses a cathode and electrolyte (paragraph 19).
Regarding claim 18, Cuisinier discloses that a liquid electrolyte (paragraph 20).
Regarding claim 20, Cuisinier discloses that the cathode active material is formed on a base (current collector) and includes magnesium, aluminum, lithium with an adjacent separator (paragraph 19) of polypropylene (paragraph 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6, 7, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cuisinier as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Liu (US 2022/0149353 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Cuisinier does not disclose the particle size of the SPAN. Liu—in an invention for an anode with SPAN framework—discloses SPAN particle sizes of 50-500 nm (Table 1). Liu discloses that due to the protective effect of the three-dimensional framework structure, side reactions of between Li and electrolyte are reduced, and the cycle life is greatly prolonged compared with ordinary lithium tablets (paragraph 107). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize the features of the SPAN material of Liu for the coating of Cuisinier for its disclosed advantages.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Cuisinier discloses that that the intercalated metal is lithium oxide (claim 6) and a particle size of 1-100 microns (Table 1).
Regarding claim 9, Liu disclose a 1:3 ratio of lithium oxide to SPAN (Table 1).
Regarding claim 11, Cuisinier discloses that the coating comprises carbon black (paragraph 19); carbon black is amorphous. Liu discloses that the carbon is 1-10 nm (paragraph 38).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cuisinier and Liu as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Kakiage (US 2023/0238511 A1).
The instant specification states that both Nb2O5 and TiO2 are pseudo-capacitive oxides having lithiophilicity (instant paragraph 71). Neither Cuisinier nor Liu discloses Nb2O5 or TiO2. Kakiage—in an invention for anodes having sulfur-modified polyacrylonitrile—discloses using sulfur-modified polyacrylonitrile and a lithium-titanium oxide (paragraph 10) to provide a battery having a high electric capacity at the time of high-speed charge and discharge and is excellent in high-temperature stability (paragraph 19). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to add titanium oxide to the anode of Cuisinier and Liu to improve the battery’s characteristics as disclosed in Kakiage.
Claims 4, 5, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cuisinier as applied to claims 1, 10, and 17 above, and further in view of Eng (US 2022/0302453 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Cuisinier does not disclose a fluoride binder. Eng—in an invention for a battery utilizing SPAN—discloses a weight ratio of SPAN to carbon to PVDF of 7:2:1 (paragraph 117). Eng discloses that the polymer binder of the electrode functions to bind the carbonized composite and conductive carbon to form a solid electrode (paragraph 77). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize the features of the SPAN material of Eng for the coating of Cuisinier for its disclosed advantages.
Regarding claim 13, Eng discloses that the carbon is present as 20-50 wt% of the composite (paragraph 47).
Regarding claim 19, Eng discloses a solid electrolyte (paragraph 5) comprising sulfur (paragraph 124).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cuisinier as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhou (CN 111864191 A). Citations for Zhou are directed to the attached machine translation.
Cuisinier discloses that the separator is 25 microns (paragraph 20) but that the thickness of the anode coating. Zhou—in an invention for an anode with SPAN—discloses an anode 38-416 microns thick (claim 4). Zhou discloses that sulfur-polyacrylonitrile has high specific capacity, low cost, rich raw material resource, good safety, it will not produce the polysulfide compound, and it is friendly to the environment (paragraph 37). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize the features of the SPAN material of Zhou for the coating of Cuisinier for its disclosed advantages.
Conclusion
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725