DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The proposed amendments filed 03/24/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 03/24/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0082658 (Contarini hereinafter) in view of US 2023/0062358 (Kehl hereinafter) and further in view of WO 2019/001235 (LV hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Contarini teaches a laundry appliance that discloses a vertical, a lateral, and a transverse direction (Figure 1 shows a laundry cabinet 110), the laundry appliance comprising: a cabinet comprising a front panel (Cabinet 110 with front for door 115 in Figure 1), the front panel defining an opening (Opening for allowing clothes into 105), the front panel comprising a recessed portion (Figure 1 where the door shown being set into a recessed portion of the front panel); a door assembly mounted to the cabinet (Door 115 in Figure 1), the door assembly being rotatable between an open position and a closed portion (Inherent operation of a door in a laundry unit); a tub positioned within the cabinet (Figure 2, tub 205); a basket supported for rotation within the tub and accessible through the opening (Inherent basket for holding the clothes within the tub 205); a recirculating air flow system comprising a fan fluidly coupled to the tub (Figure 2, recirculation path 245); and a fan (Fan 250 in Figure 2).
Contarini is silent with respect to the door assembly defining an undercut, and wherein the recessed portion of the front panel and the undercut of the door assembly define a ventilation gap for venting from the vent tube, whereby air is urged through the ventilation gap by the fan of the recirculating air flow system while the door assembly is in the closed position.
However, Kehl teaches a door assembly mounted to the cabinet (Figure 2, door 106), a front panel with a recessed portion (Front panel 104 with recess at 123), and the door assembly defining an undercut (Undercut at 115 in Figure 2), and wherein the recessed portion of the front panel and the undercut of the door assembly define a ventilation gap for venting from the vent tube (Figure 3 shows the ventilation gap 122 per ¶ 25-26), whereby air is urged through the ventilation gap by the fan of the recirculating air flow system while the door assembly is in the closed position (¶ 25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the door of Contarini with the door venting of Kehl to allow for ventilation to occur when the door is closed and in a more compact position.
Contarini is silent with respect to a vent tube having a first end fluidly coupled to a pressure side of the fan; wherein a second end of the vent tube is in fluid communication with an external atmosphere.
However, LV teaches a laundry appliance that discloses a vent tube having a first end (Figures 1, 3, and 4 with vent tube 4 and first end at 42); wherein a second end of the vent tube is in fluid communication with an external atmosphere (Second end 41 in Figure 4). The resultant combination would be such that the first end of the vent would be fluidly coupled to a pressure side of the fan (The vent 4 of LV is placed on the door side of the laundry appliance would be on the door side of the appliance of Contarini at fan 250 and on a pressure side of the fan).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the recirculation path of Contarini with the vent of LV to allow for the laundry chamber to be vented and prevent odor from forming.
Regarding claim 2, Contarini’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Contarini, Kehl, and LV would further disclose that the second end of the vent tube is disposed in the recessed portion (Recessed portion for the door to mate with the cabinet front face as seen in Figures 1-4 of Kehl and Figures 1 and 4 of LV).
Regarding claim 4, Contarini’s modified teachings are described above in claim 2 where the combination of Contarini, Kehl, and LV would further disclose that wherein, in the closed position, the second end of the vent tube is covered by a portion of the door assembly (Kehl ¶ 26 and LV’s Gap from 41 through 61 in Figure 4 of LV per “Further, the first control switch 6 is disposed on the door body 5, and mainly includes a shutter 61 and a solenoid valve 62 connected to the shutter 61. Specifically, the shutter 61 is pivotally or slidably disposed in the door body 5, and the solenoid valve 62 can drive the shutter 61 to rotate or slide, so that the shutter 61 is in the closed position (the position of the shutter 61 in FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Contarini’s modified teachings are described above in claim 4 where the combination of Contarini, Kehl, and LV would further disclose that the ventilation gap facilitates a flow of air from the vent tube into the external atmosphere away from the cabinet (LV teaches the airflow through 61 in the cited portion of LV in the rejection of claim 5 above).
Regarding claim 6, Contarini’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Contarini, Kehl, and LV would further disclose the recirculating air flow system further comprises a heat exchanger having an evaporator and a condenser (Figure 2 of Contarini with evaporator 215 and condenser 220).
Regarding claim 7, Contarini’s modified teachings are described above in claim 6 where the combination of Contarini, Kehl, and LV would further disclose that the tub and the recirculating air flow system cooperate to provide an air flow path including the basket, the heat exchanger, the fan, and the basket (Evident from Figure 2 of Contarini along 245).
Regarding claim 8, Contarini’s modified teachings are described above in claim 6 where the combination of Contarini, Kehl, and LV would further disclose a flow of recirculating process air follows the air flow path through the evaporator, the condenser, the fan, and the basket (Evident form Figure 2 of LV).
Regarding claim 9, Contarini’s modified teachings are described above in claim 8 where the combination of Contarini, Kehl, and LV would further disclose that the evaporator extracts heat energy and moisture from the flow of recirculating process air (Inherent operation of the evaporator of Contarini), the condenser adds heat energy to the flow of recirculating process air, and the fan urges the flow of recirculating process air (Inherent of the condenser of Contarini).
Regarding claim 10, Contarini’s modified teachings are described above in claim 8 where the combination of Contarini, Kehl, and LV would further disclose a portion of the flow of recirculating process air flows through the vent tube to the external atmosphere (Vent 4 of LV as seen in Figure 4 of LV as modifying Contarini).
Regarding claim 11, Contarini’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Contarini, Kehl, and LV would further disclose that the first end of the vent tube is fluidly coupled to the pressure side of the fan at a fan housing (The vent 4 of LV is placed on the door side of the laundry appliance would be on the door side of the appliance of Contarini at fan 250 and on a pressure side of the fan).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0082658 (Contarini) in view of US 2023/0062358 (Kehl) in view of WO 2019/001235 (LV) and further in view of US 2012/0111066 (Hayashi hereinafter).
Regarding claim 3, Contarini’s modified teachings are described above in claim 2 but are silent with respect that the second end of the vent tube terminates in a diffuser.
However, Hayashi teaches a laundry appliance that discloses a diffuser on an ventilation outlet (Figure 2 with diffuser 83a and ¶ 96).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the opening of the vent of LV as modifying Contarini with the diffuser of Hayashi to prevent debris from entering while diffusing the outlet airflow.
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0082658 (Contarini) in view of US 2021/0214880 (Masters hereinafter) in view of US 2023/0062358 (Kehl) and further in view of WO 2019/001235 (LV).
Regarding claim 12, Contarini teaches a laundry appliance that discloses a vertical, a lateral, and a transverse direction (Figure 1 shows a laundry cabinet 110), the laundry appliance comprising: a cabinet comprising a front panel (Cabinet 110 with front for door 115 in Figure 1), the front panel defining an opening (Opening for allowing clothes into 105), the front panel comprising a recessed portion (Figure 1 where the door shown being set into a recessed portion of the front panel) a door assembly mounted to the cabinet (Door 115), the door assembly being rotatable between an open position and a closed portion (Inherent operation of a door in a laundry unit); a tub positioned within the cabinet (Figure 2, tub 205); a basket supported for rotation within the tub and accessible through the opening (Inherent basket for holding the clothes within the tub 205); a recirculating air flow system comprising a fan fluidly coupled to the tub (Figure 2, recirculation path 245); and a fan (Fan 250 in Figure 2).
Contarini is silent with respect to the laundry appliance being a combination washer/dryer.
However, Masters teaches the interchangeability and applicability of a washer, dryer, and combination washer/dryer (¶ 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the type of laundry appliance of Contarini with the combination washer/dryer to minimize the footprint required for a full laundry set-up.
Contarini is silent with respect to the door assembly defining an undercut, and wherein the recessed portion of the front panel and the undercut of the door assembly define a ventilation gap for venting from the vent tube, whereby air is urged through the ventilation gap by the fan of the recirculating air flow system while the door assembly is in the closed position.
However, Kehl teaches a door assembly mounted to the cabinet (Figure 2, door 106), a front panel with a recessed portion (Front panel 104 with recess at 123), and the door assembly defining an undercut (Undercut at 115 in Figure 2), and wherein the recessed portion of the front panel and the undercut of the door assembly define a ventilation gap for venting from the vent tube (Figure 3 shows the ventilation gap 122 per ¶ 25-26), whereby air is urged through the ventilation gap by the fan of the recirculating air flow system while the door assembly is in the closed position (¶ 25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the door of Contarini with the door venting of Kehl to allow for ventilation to occur when the door is closed and in a more compact position.
Contarini is silent with respect to a vent tube having a first end fluidly coupled to a pressure side of the fan; wherein a second end of the vent tube is in fluid communication with an external atmosphere.
However, LV teaches a laundry appliance that discloses a vent tube having a first end (Figures 1, 3, and 4 with vent tube 4 and first end at 42); wherein a second end of the vent tube is in fluid communication with an external atmosphere (Second end 41 in Figure 4). The resultant combination would be such that the first end of the vent would be fluidly coupled to a pressure side of the fan (The vent 4 of LV is placed on the door side of the laundry appliance would be on the door side of the appliance of Contarini at fan 250 and on a pressure side of the fan).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the recirculation path of Contarini with the vent of LV to allow for the laundry chamber to be vented and prevent odor from forming.
Regarding claim 13, Contarini’s modified teachings are described above in claim 12 where the combination of Contarini, Masters, Kehl, and LV would further disclose that the second end of the vent tube is disposed in the recessed portion (Recessed portion for the door to mate with the cabinet front face as seen in Figures 1-4 of Kehl and Figures 1 and 4 of LV).
Regarding claim 14, Contarini’s modified teachings are described above in claim 12 where the combination of Contarini, Masters, Kehl, and LV would further disclose that wherein, in the closed position, the second end of the vent tube is covered by a portion of the door assembly (Kehl ¶ 26 and LV’s Gap from 41 through 61 in Figure 4 of LV per “Further, the first control switch 6 is disposed on the door body 5, and mainly includes a shutter 61 and a solenoid valve 62 connected to the shutter 61. Specifically, the shutter 61 is pivotally or slidably disposed in the door body 5, and the solenoid valve 62 can drive the shutter 61 to rotate or slide, so that the shutter 61 is in the closed position (the position of the shutter 61 in FIG. 4)
Regarding claim 15, Contarini’s modified teachings are described above in claim 14 where the combination of Contarini, Masters, Kehl, and LV would further disclose that the ventilation gap facilitates a flow of air from the vent tube into the external atmosphere away from the cabinet (LV teaches the airflow through 61 in the cited portion of LV in the rejection of claim 14 above).
Regarding claim 16, Contarini’s modified teachings are described above in claim 12 where the combination of Contarini, Masters, Kehl, and LV would further disclose the recirculating air flow system further comprises a heat exchanger having an evaporator and a condenser (Figure 2 of Contarini with evaporator 215 and condenser 220).
Regarding claim 17, Contarini’s modified teachings are described above in claim 16 where the combination of Contarini, Masters, Kehl, and LV would further disclose that the tub and the recirculating air flow system cooperate to provide an air flow path including the basket, the heat exchanger, the fan, and the basket (Evident from Figure 2 of Contarini along 245).
Regarding claim 18, Contarini’s modified teachings are described above in claim 16 where the combination of Contarini, Masters, Kehl, and LV would further disclose a flow of recirculating process air follows the air flow path through the evaporator, the condenser, the fan, and the basket (Evident form Figure 2 of LV); and the evaporator extracts heat energy and moisture from the flow of recirculating process air (Inherent operation of the evaporator of Contarini), the condenser adds heat energy to the flow of recirculating process air, and the fan urges the flow of recirculating process air (Inherent of the condenser of Contarini).
Regarding claim 19, Contarini’s modified teachings are described above in claim 18 where the combination of Contarini, Masters, Kehl, and LV would further disclose a portion of the flow of recirculating process air flows through the vent tube to the external atmosphere (Vent 4 of LV as seen in Figure 4 of LV as modifying Contarini).
Regarding claim 20, Contarini’s modified teachings are described above in claim 12 where the combination of Contarini, Masters, Kehl, and LV would further disclose that the first end of the vent tube is fluidly coupled to the pressure side of the fan at a fan housing (The vent 4 of LV is placed on the door side of the laundry appliance would be on the door side of the appliance of Contarini at fan 250 and on a pressure side of the fan).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CONNOR J TREMARCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762