DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/17/2026, 04/29/2026, 07/09/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11, 13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US 20200259180 A1), hereinafter "Shin" in view of Kim et al. (US 20210005877 A1), hereinafter "Kim" and Kim 2 et al. (WO 2022025506 A1 - US 20220359869 A1 referenced for citations), “hereinafter “Kim 2”. Shin, Kim and Kim 2 are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely electrode material layers.
In regard to Claims 1-3, 5-9 and 11 Shin et al. discloses a solvent-free dry electrode which is a free-standing film comprising a dry electrode active material, a dry fibrillized binder comprising a fluorine based PTFE and a carbon based conductive additive (Shin, Abstract, [0045, 0051], Table 4). Shin et al. also discloses wherein the dry electrode active material comprises a first electrode active material and a second electrode active material (Shin, [0006]) and wherein the dry electrode film further comprises a sacrificial electrode material as a dry prelithiating layer comprising lithium (Shin, [0005]). While Shin et al. discloses that certain embodiments provide the first and second active materials with some variation in characteristics between them (Shin, [0007]) as well as lithium metal oxides as a preferred choice of active material for a positive electrode (Shin, [0056]), it is silent as to the ratio of the particle diameter between them.
Kim et al. discloses an electrode film comprising a bimodal lithium transition metal oxide based powder mixture comprising first and second dry powder active materials comprising a bimodal particle diameter distribution wherein the particle diameter of one of the active materials is in a preferred range of 10-40μm and the particle diameter of the other active material is between 2 and 4 μm (Kim, Abstract, [0015]), which overlaps the claimed ranges and a specific example which would have a ratio (d1/d2) of 2.75 (Kim, EX2 Type 1), which anticipates the claimed range. Kim et al. further discloses the weight ratio of the second powder is between 20 and 60 wt% (Kim, Abstract), which overlaps the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference, as overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Lastly, while Shin et al. discloses a “self-supporting” electrode film can have sufficient strength to be rolled, handled, and unrolled within an electrode fabrication process without other supporting elements (Shin, [0044]), it is silent as to the tensile strength of the film.
Kim 2 et al. discloses dry coated electrodes and a free-standing electrode film which has a tensile strength of 9 kgf/cm² to 20 kgf/cm², which is equivalent to 883 kpa to 1961 kpa (Kim 2, Abstract, [0017]), which anticipates the claimed range. Kim 2 also discloses that a tensile strength within this range allows for a high cohesion of the components of the electrode composition, as well as avoiding cracks during charging and discharging (Kim 2, [0039]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a dry electrode with tensile strength within the range taught in Kim 2 as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Kim2 and as doing so would amount to nothing more than providing a known property to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
In regard to Claim 4, Shin in view of Kim and Kim 2 et al. discloses the dry electrode film of claim 1. While Shin et al. discloses that certain embodiments provide the first and second active materials with some variation in characteristics between them (Shin, [0007]) as well as lithium metal oxides as a preferred choice of active material for a positive electrode (Shin, [0056]), it is silent as to the ratio of the particle diameter between them.
Kim et al. discloses an electrode film comprising a bimodal lithium transition metal oxide based powder mixture comprising first and second dry powder active materials comprising a bimodal particle diameter distribution wherein the particle diameter of one of the active materials is in a preferred range of 10-40μm and the particle diameter of the other active material is between 2 and 4 μm (Kim, Abstract, [0015]), which overlaps the claimed ranges and a specific example which would have a ratio (d1/d2) of 2.75 (Kim, EX2 Type 1).
While Shin in view of Kim does not specifically address the limitations in regard to a full width at half maximum (FWHM) of the first particle diameter peak is about 7 μm or less, a full width at half maximum (FWHM) of the second particle diameter peak is about 3 μm or less, and the full width at half maximum (FWHM) of the first particle diameter peak is greater than the full width at half maximum (FWHM) of the second particle diameter peak, Shin in view of Kim teaches the method steps and structure, which are the same as those instantly claimed in claims 1-3, absent any clear and convincing evidence and/or arguments to the contrary.
The examiner notes no special methods are apparent in the instant disclosure that would make any properties of the underlying components and structures unique. As a prima facia case of obviousness has been set forth on the record, and because the USPTO does not possess the laboratory facilities to test and compare the prior art to the claimed invention, the burden shifts to applicant to demonstrate otherwise. Further, PHOSITA at the time of filing would have readily known of the availability and use of FWHM techniques and would have the ability to optimize these values of necessary.
In regard to Claim 13, Shin in view of Kim and Kim 2 et al. discloses the dry electrode film of claim 1. Shin et al. also discloses an electrode comprising: an electrode current collector; and an electrode active material layer on at least one surface of the electrode current collector, wherein the electrode active material layer comprises the dry electrode film according to claim 1 (Shin, ([0009]).
In regard to Claims 15-16, Shin in view of Kim and Kim 2 et al. discloses the dry electrode film of claim 13. Shin et al. also discloses wherein the electrode current collector comprises an interlayer on the at least one surface of the electrode current collector wherein the layer comprises a carbon-based conductive material (Shin, [0076] Carbon-coated current collector) and wherein a conductive binder may be used to provide adhesion of the film to the current collector (Shim, [0009, 0065]) and the binder may include PTFE, PVDF or others well known to the skilled artisan (Shin, [0122]).
In regard to Claims 17-18, Shin in view of Kim and Kim 2 et al. discloses the dry electrode film of claim 13. In regard to the following limitations:
“the electrode active material layer, when measured by using the surface and interfacial measuring analysis system (SAICAS), a rate of change of vertical relative force (FVR) according to a depth, from a first point to a second point is about 300 % or less, and wherein the first point is separated about 5 % from the surface of the electrode active material layer in the direction of the electrode current collector, and the second point is separated about 5 % from the surface of the electrode current collector, with respect to the total thickness of the electrode active material layer and the electrode active material layer, when measured by using the surface and interfacial measuring analysis system (SAICAS), a ratio of a second horizontal force (FH2) at a second point to a first horizontal force (FH1) at a first point is about 50 % or more, and wherein the first point is separated about 10 % from the surface of the electrode active material layer, in the direction of the electrode current collector, and the second point is separated about 10 % from the surface of the electrode current collector, with respect to the total thickness of the electrode active material layer.”
Shin discloses the use of a fibrilized binder including PTFE [0051], lithium transition metal oxides for active materials (Shin, [0051]) with the particle diameter characteristics disclosed in Kim to form a solvent-free positive electrode film which is substantially similar to the current application (Original Specification, Example 1). While Shin in view of Kim does not specifically address the limitations in regard to the SAICAS measured ratios, Shin in view of Kim teaches the method steps and structure, which are the same as those instantly claimed absent any clear and convincing evidence and/or arguments to the contrary. Examiner notes no special methods are apparent in the instant disclosure that would make any properties of the underlying components and structures unique. As a prima facie case of obviousness has been set forth on the record, and because the USPTO does not possess the laboratory facilities to test and compare the prior art to the claimed invention, the burden shifts to applicant to demonstrate otherwise. Therefore, a PHOSITA at the time of filing would have readily known of and could readily envision the use of a dry electrode film that has the same binding force and uniformity behavior.
In regard to Claims 19-20, Shin in view of Kim and Kim 2 et al. discloses the dry electrode film of claim 13. Sin et al. also discloses a lithium battery comprising: a positive electrode; a negative electrode; and an electrolyte arranged between the positive electrode and the negative electrode, and at least one of the positive electrode or the negative electrode is the electrode according to claim 13 wherein the electrolyte is a liquid electrolyte or a solid electrolyte (Shin, [0043, 0060, 0119]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US 20200259180 A1), hereinafter "Shin" in view of Kim et al. (US 20210005877 A1), hereinafter "Kim" and Kim 2 et al. (WO 2022025506 A1 - US 20220359869 A1 referenced for citations), “hereinafter “Kim 2” as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Wang et al.(US 20200227723 A1), hereinafter "Wang" . Shin, Kim, Kim 2 and Wang are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely electrode material layers.
In regard to Claim 12, Shin in view of Kim and Kim 2 et al. discloses the dry electrode film of claim 1. While Shin et al. discloses a sacrificial electrode material wherein the dry electrode film further comprises a dry prelithiating layer comprising lithium (Shin, [0005]) it fails to explicitly disclose wherein the sacrificial electrode material comprises Li2O, Li2O2, Li2S, Li3N, LiN3, LiF, Li5FeO4, Li2NiO2, Li6CO4, Li2MoO, or one or more combinations thereof.
Wang et al. discloses a dry electrode film further comprising a sacrificial electrode material selected from a preferred list comprising Li2O, Li2O2, Li2S, Li3N, LiN3, LiF, Li5FeO4, Li2NiO2, Li6CO4, Li2MoO, or one or more combinations thereof wherein these materials may also produce a beneficial byproduct in addition to lithiating an electrode and wherein lithium ions are then able to be solvated by the electrolyte of the device (Wang, [0062-0063]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a prelithiating material (sacrificial electrode material) to the dry film as disclosed in Shin et al. while utilizing the preferred compounds of Wang et al. as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Wang et al. and as doing so would amount to nothing more than a simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US 20200259180 A1), hereinafter "Shin" in view of Kim et al. (US 20210005877 A1), hereinafter "Kim" and Kim 2 et al. (WO 2022025506 A1 - US 20220359869 A1 referenced for citations), “hereinafter “Kim 2” as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Tikhonov et al. (US 20120121991 A1), hereinafter "Tikhonov". Shin, Kim and Tikhonov are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely electrode material layers.
In regard to Claim 14, Shin in view of Kim and Kim 2 et al. discloses the dry electrode film of claim 13. Shin et al. also discloses wherein the electrode current collector comprises an interlayer on the at least one surface of the electrode current collector wherein the layer comprises a carbon-based conductive material (Shin, [0076] Carbon-coated current collector), however, Shin is silent as to the thickness of the layer based on the thickness of the current collector. The skilled artisan of Shin et al. must provide the current collector and interlayer in some thickness and would reasonably include a layer whose thickness is 30% or less the thickness of the current collector.
Additionally, Tikhonov et al. discloses specific examples of a carbon coated current collector wherein the thickness of the layer is 4.2-4.7% and 8.3-8.9% the thickness of the current collector (Tikhonov, [0125, 0130])), which anticipates the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide an interlayer comprising a carbon coating on a current collector as disclosed in Shin in the thickness taught in Tikhonov as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of success and as doing so would amount to nothing more than a variation of it for use in the same field based on design incentives or other market forces, as the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7, 9 and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 8, and 10 of copending Application No. 17/653739 (reference application 1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims 1-3, 8-10 of the reference application comprise all of the limitations of claims 1, 7, 9 and 14 of the current application and even when the tensile strength of the product is taken into consideration, would result in an obvious variation to the skilled artisan.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7-8, 15-16 and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 11-16 and 18 of copending Application No. 18/477451 (reference application 2). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims 1, 3, 11-12 and 16 of the reference application comprise all of the limitations of claims 1 of the current application, claim 13 of the reference application corresponds to Claims 2 and 5 of the current application, claim 14 to claim 7, claim 15 to claim 8 and claim 18 to claim 14 and would result in an obvious variation to the skilled artisan.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 14-15, 17 and 19 of copending Application No. 18/615928 (reference application 3). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims 1, 14 and 17 of the reference application comprise all of the limitations of claims 1-3 and 5 of the current application, claim 15 of the reference application corresponds to Claims 7 of the current application and claim 19 to claim 14 and would result in an obvious variation to the skilled artisan.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 10 and amended claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the reference (Mitchell) applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In regard to applicants argument against the rejection of claims 4 and 17-18, the product as claimed in amended claim 1 is disclosed in Shin in view of Kim and Kim 2 as discussed in the 35 U.S.C 103 rejection above and the method steps and structure are the same as those instantly claimed absent any clear and convincing evidence and/or arguments to the contrary. The examples and comparative examples presented from the original specification show the difference in the claimed properties when a structure falls outside of the parameters of claim 1, however there is no evidence that the prior art would not possess those properties considering Shin in view of Kim and Kim 2 disclose the product of claim 1, which necessarily possesses the same parameters. These properties would be well known to the skilled artisan and as the result from the product made, amount to nothing more than result effective variables to be optimized by the skilled artisan without undue experimentation.
Conclusion
/K.M.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JONATHAN CREPEAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725