DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on April 28, 2026 have been entered. Claims 1-7 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochiai et al (US 2022/0204739 A1).
Regarding Claims 1 and 5: Ochiai teaches a molded article (para. 0162) formed from a composition containing a natural fiber and a base resin (para. 0049, cellulose fibers, recycled resin, and resin powders), wherein the resin is preferably a biodegradable polyester such as a polyhydroxy carboxylic acid-based polymer (para. 0144-0146) and the cellulose fiber has a degree of fibrillation/defibration of 1-30% (para. 0102). Ochiai teaches that the amount of cellulose fibers ranges from 3 parts per 70 parts of the recycled resin to 10 parts per 30 parts of the recycled resin (para. 0155-0156) and the resin powder is present at 0-100 parts by mass based on 50 parts of the recycled resin (para. 0125). Based on calculations, the content of natural fiber in the composition is approximately 1.4-25wt%. Ochiai further teaches embodiments containing 5-10 parts by weight of natural fiber, which results in a high bending strength and tensile elastic modulus of the composition (para. 0156). This overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add an overlapping amount of the natural fiber to the composition and would have been motivated to do so to improve the bending strength and tensile elastic modulus.
Ochiai does not explicitly teach that at least one fiber has a portion exposed on the surface of the article. However, Ochiai teaches all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts made by a substantially similar process. The original specification indicated that the molding conditions and the presence of a defibrated site at the end of the natural fiber result in a portion of the natural fiber being exposed on the surface (para. 0036). Therefore, the claimed effect would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Regarding Claim 2: Not disclosed is the water absorption of the article, as measured by JIS K7209:2000. However, Ochiai teaches all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts made by a substantially similar process. The original specification does not identify a feature that results in the claimed effect or physical property outside of the presence of the claimed components in the claimed amount. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a moisture absorption of at least 5% would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Regarding Claim 3: Ochiai does not teach hydrophobizing the natural fibers.
Regarding Claim 4: Ochiai does not explicitly teach that the concentration of the natural fibers at the surface of the article is higher than a concentration in an inner layer. However, Ochiai teaches all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts made by a substantially similar process. The original specification indicated that the segregation of fibers resulting in a higher concentration at the surface is caused by the molding conditions used (para. 0038). Therefore, the claimed effect of a higher concentration of the natural fibers in a surface layer of the molded article would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients made by the same process. See MPEP § 2112.01(I). If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Regarding Claim 6: Ochiai teaches a method of producing the molded article comprising preparing the base resin and the natural fibers (para. 0049) and melt kneading them (para. 0141).
Regarding Claim 7: Ochiai teaches drying the cellulose fiber (para. 0133-0134) to a moisture content of less than 10% prior to melt-kneading (para. 0139). This overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dry the cellulose fiber to an overlapping moisture content and would have been motivated to do so since Ochiai teaches this moisture content reduces the amount of energy required for kneading the natural fiber with the base resin (para. 0139).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/C.N.I./Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762