DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “a surface layer; and an inner layer located on an inner side of the surface layer” in lines 2-3. It is unclear if this is meant to be taken as the molded article being a multi-layer product, or if the molded article is a single-layer product with a concentration gradient of the natural fibers, wherein the “surface layer” refers to the surface of the article and the “inner layer” refers to the central area.
Para. 0038 of the instant specification recites “As described above, natural fiber 2 can be segregated in the vicinity of the surface of the composite resin molded article depending on the molding conditions. As a result, natural fiber 2 is more present in the surface layer than in the inner layer of the composite resin molded article.” This seems to indicate that the molded article is formed as a single component, and that the “layers” refer to a concentration gradient of the natural fibers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rapthel et al (DE 19830774 A1, using the machine translation for the citations below).
Regarding Claims 1 and 5: Rapthel teaches a molded article comprising a biodegradable thermoplastic resin and a partially defibrated plant fiber (para. 0001), wherein the thermoplastic is a modified starch (para. 0009) and the plant fiber is a cellulose fiber (para. 0007) and is present at 10-65 wt% based on the total weight of the composition (paras. 0011).
Based on the similarity of the processing conditions to that of the instant application, it is exceedingly likely that at least one of the partially defibrated natural fibers would have a defibration site at the end of the fiber, and that at least one fiber would have a portion exposed on a surface of the molded article.
Regarding Claim 2: Not disclosed is the water absorption of the article, as measured by JIS K7209:2000. However, Rapthel teaches all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts made by a substantially similar process. The original specification does not identify a feature that results in the claimed effect or physical property outside of the presence of the claimed components in the claimed amount. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a moisture absorption of at least 5% would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Regarding Claim 3: Rapthel does not teach hydrophobizing the natural fibers.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rapthel et al (DE 19830774 A1, using the machine translation for the citations below).
Rapthel teaches a method of producing a molded article comprising preparing a base resin and a natural fiber (para. 0011) and melt kneading the fiber together with the resin (para. 0012 – shear mixing during injection molding; para. 0024 – extrusion in twin-shaft kneader). The natural fiber is partially defibrated (para. 0001). Based on the similarity of the processing conditions to that of the instant application, it is exceedingly likely that at least one of the partially defibrated natural fibers would have a defibration site at the end of the fiber in the length direction.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Rapthel et al (DE 19830774 A1, using the machine translation for the citations below) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Rapthel et al (DE 19830774 A1, using the machine translation for the citations below) in view of Fitzgibbon (EP 0771642 A1).
Rapthel does not explicitly teach that the concentration of the natural fibers at the surface of the article is higher than a concentration in an inner layer. However, Rapthel teaches all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts made by a substantially similar process. The original specification indicated that the segregation of fibers resulting in a higher concentration at the surface is caused by the molding conditions used (para. 0038). Therefore, the claimed effect of a higher concentration of the natural fibers in a surface layer of the molded article would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients made by the same process. See MPEP § 2112.01(I). If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Alternatively: Rapthel teaches the limitations of claim 1, as set forth above. However, Rapthel is silent to a concentration of natural fibers being higher in a surface layer of the article than in an inner layer of the article.
However, Fitzgibbon teaches forming a composite with a higher concentration of fibrous filler in the surface layer than in the interior of the composite (p.3, lines 18-23; p.8, lines 35-39). Rapthel and Fitzgibbon are analogous art because they are directed toward the same field of endeavor, namely composite materials.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare a composite having a larger portion of fibrous filler in the surface layer, and they would have been motivated to do so in order to tailor the surface and mechanical properties while limiting the amount of additive needed (p. 3, lines 26-33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapthel et al (DE 19830774 A1, using the machine translation for the citations below).
Rapthel teaches the limitations of claim 6, as set forth above. Rapthel further teaches that the mixture of the fibers and base resin is dried to about 1% of residual moisture before injection molding (para. 0011).
Rapthel does not teach that the drying process occurs during melt kneading. However, the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(C). Therefore, in the absence of unexpected results, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to perform the drying step at any point before molding the final article, including during the melt kneading.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12410287 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Reference Claim 3 teaches a composite resin molded product comprising a natural fiber that is defibrated at an end portion and is exposed on a surface of the part, and a biodegradable base resin selected from polyhydroxyic acids, polyhydroxyalkanoates, poly(alkylene dicarboxylate)s, and modified starches. This reads on instant claim 1.
Reference Claim 9 teaches a method of producing a molded article comprising a step of preparing a natural fiber and a base resin, and a step of melt kneading the natural fibers with the base resin, wherein the natural fibers are defibrated at an end portion. This reads on instant claim 6.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11660791 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Reference Claim 1 teaches a method of producing a molded article comprising melt kneading a base resin with a natural fiber, wherein the natural fiber is defibrated at an end portion. This reads on instant claim 6.
Claim 6 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of copending Application No. 19/455,058 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Reference Claim 15 teaches a method of producing a molded article comprising providing a composite resin, wherein the composite resin is produced by melt kneading a base resin and a natural fiber, wherein the ends of the natural fiber are defibrated.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Correspondence
/C.N.I./Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767