DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a final action in reply to the response filed on June 23, 2026.
Claims 2-4, 6-9 and 17-20 have been amended.
Claims 2-9 and 17-20 have been examined.
Response to Amendments
The rejection of claims 17-20 under 35 USC § 112(b) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s argument and amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection, in regard to claim 2, “Applicant submits that the Office Action does not show how Trimboli and Lowenthal, either individually or in any combination thereof, explicitly disclose, implicitly teach, or otherwise suggest each and every element and limitation of independent Claim 2.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Trimboli as explained below teaches a system for optimizing charging for a vehicle (Abstract) and Lowenthal teaches a system for managing a plurality of electric vehicles with a fleet management portal (Abstract). As explained below Trimboli in view of Lowenthal teaches the limitations of claim 2. In a broadest reasonable interpretation and to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would understand that Trimboli’s one vehicle optimization can be applied to a vehicle of the fleet of multiple vehicles. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Lowenthal would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Please see the rejection below.
With regard to the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection, in regard to claim 17, “Applicant submits that Hancock does not disclose each and every element of independent Claim 17.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Hancock teaches detect a trigger event that affects one or more charging characteristics of at least one vehicle in a fleet of multiple vehicles; provide, via an interface, a prompt regarding the trigger event in ¶ 0119: “ GUI of FIG. 24 , an asset management predictor of the system may provide digital alerts to the user. For example, the GUI may provide the alert 2402 that, without attention, a demand penalty is expected for the following day without if no intervention in taken.” See also the Abstract: “directing energy use within a facility comprising charging stations for charging a fleet of electric vehicles,” Directing energy affects the one or more charging characteristics. Hancock also teaches provide, via the interface, decisions related to the trigger event, the decisions comprising selectable options to remedy one or more causes of the trigger event; provide, via the interface, consequences of the decisions to charging characteristics of other vehicles in the fleet of multiple vehicles(¶ 0119: “Similarly presented to the user is the notification 2404 as to a potential solution to energy management that may reduce or mitigate any potential energy issues. In this example, the alert 2404 relates to the operation of facility asset, namely the HVAC system of the facility, which, in this case, is indicated in association with the provision of two suggestions that may mitigate the predicted overage (i.e. to shut down the facility asset at a certain time or discharge unused energy stored in EVs to mitigate energy use from the grid during EV charge-ups). Similarly, the GUI alerts 2406 the user as to the excess charge needed at the end of the shift, and thus suggests re-allocation of charging times for those EVs. […] the alert 2406 is provided with the user-selectable option to enable the optimised charging plan via the GUI, wherein charging will automatically be digitally directed via the system upon user selection.” The suggestions are related to energy distribution for charging EVs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trimboli et al., (US 11,913,798 A1) hereinafter “Trimboli” in view of Lowenthal et al., (US 11,341,785 B2) hereinafter “Lowenthal”.
Claim 2:
Trimboli as shown discloses a method for electric vehicle fleet management, the method comprising:
providing an interface to display charging session characteristics of a fleet of multiple vehicles; (col. 4, lines 20-22: “The user is presented (e.g., via the communications interface 30 or the mobile application 32) a set of goals 50 and asked for input, i.e., select one or more session goals.” Col. 1, lines 43-44: “The predefined set of goals may include charging time minimization and cost minimization”);
receiving, via the interface, an alternative configuration to one mor more charging session characteristics of a vehicle of the fleet of multiple a vehicles; (col. 4, lines 24-27: “the set of goals 50 may include a first session goal 52 of minimizing cost, a second session goal 54 of minimizing charging time to full and a third session goal 56 of the maximum range added within a specific time limit.” Col. 3, lines 3-4: “The system 10 provides the opportunity to optimize each charge session individually based on a selected goal”);
calculating one or more fleet effects, caused by the alternative configuration, to the charging session characteristics of a vehicle of the fleet of multiple vehicles; displaying, via the interface, the one or more fleet effects; and based on receipt of acceptance of the alternative configuration (col. 4, lines 41-51: “generating a recommended charging profile respectively for one or more stops along the route 16, based in part on the session goal(s) (selected in block 106) and the respective station parameters (obtained in block 104). The recommended charging profile is chosen from a plurality of charging profiles. For example, the controller C may recommend a first stop (a ten-minute charging session in a first charging location) with a corresponding recommended charging profile and a second stop (thirty-minute charging session in a second charging location) with a corresponding recommended charging profile.” Col. 6, lines 26-28: “the system 10 (via execution of method 100) provides multiple charging profiles optimized for different goals, such as charge time available, desired range to be added and/or cost minimization.” And col. 4, lines 34-36: “the session goal/scenario selections may be made by the controller C to notify the user of the recommendation and seek acceptance or acknowledgment”);
providing one or more first instructions, to one or more charging stations associated with the fleet of multiple vehicles, to implement the alternative configuration (col. 5, lines 42-50: “The recommended charging profile may include predefined location-based settings. In one example, a fixed setting is placed to charge for 10 minutes at a charging station 42 on the way home from work for a user. In another example, a fixed setting is placed to add 150 miles at a specific charging station 42 to complete a trip to a weekend cottage. Each of the charging profiles may be separately calibrated in order to optimize the energy demand for the selected session goal.”);
Trimboli is silent with regard to a fleet of multiple vehicles management. However, Lowenthal in an analogous art of electric vehicle management for the purpose of providing a fleet of multiple vehicles management as shown does in col. 10 lines 56-67: “FIG. 6 illustrates an exemplary electric vehicle status user interface of a software program for managing electric vehicles. […] The status information 600 as discussed in block 408 includes summary information 610 having the charging status of the plurality of electric vehicles. The status information also includes vehicle status information 620 for each electric vehicle that includes a license plate identifier, a charging status, a charging station, a power delivered to each battery in unit of kW, an energy delivered to each battery in units of kWh, a charging session time, and a time period until a battery is fully charged.” See also the Abstract.
Both Trimboli and Lowenthal teach electric vehicle management. Trimboli teaches in the Abstract: “optimizing charging for a vehicle having a rechargeable energy storage unit and travelling on a route includes a controller.” Lowenthal teaches in the Abstract “managing a plurality of electric vehicles with a fleet management portal.” Thus, they are deemed to be analogous references as they are reasonably pertinent to each other and are directed towards solving similar problems within the same environment. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Lowenthal would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Lowenthal to the teaching of Trimboli would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such as the vehicle fleet management into similar systems. Further, as noted by Lowenthal “managing one or more fleets of electric vehicles includes monitoring one or more fleets of electric vehicles using a fleet management portal associated with a server.” (Lowenthal, Abstract).
Claim 3:
Trimboli as shown discloses the following limitations:
determining one or more suggested changes to the charging session characteristics of the fleet of multiple vehicles, the one or more suggested changes being based on the one or more fleet effects; displaying, via the interface, the one or more suggested changes; and based on the receipt of the acceptance of the alternative configuration, (col. 4, lines 41-51: “generating a recommended charging profile respectively for one or more stops along the route 16, based in part on the session goal(s) (selected in block 106) and the respective station parameters (obtained in block 104). The recommended charging profile is chosen from a plurality of charging profiles. For example, the controller C may recommend a first stop (a ten-minute charging session in a first charging location) with a corresponding recommended charging profile and a second stop (thirty-minute charging session in a second charging location) with a corresponding recommended charging profile.” Col. 6, lines 26-28: “the system 10 (via execution of method 100) provides multiple charging profiles optimized for different goals, such as charge time available, desired range to be added and/or cost minimization.” And col. 4, lines 34-36: “the session goal/scenario selections may be made by the controller C to notify the user of the recommendation and seek acceptance or acknowledgment”);
providing one or more second instructions, to the one or more charging stations associated with the fleet of multiple vehicles, to implement the one or more suggested changes (col. 5, lines 5-25: “Based on Table 1 above, if a vehicle 12 was charging for ten minutes, the controller C may select the fifth charging profile (which has the highest energy value in the ten-minute category) to maximize the energy gained. If the vehicle 12 was charging for a total of twenty minutes, the controller C may select the third charging profile (which has the highest energy value in the twenty-minute category) to maximize the energy gained. Similarly, if the vehicle 12 was charging for a total of thirty minutes, the controller C may select the second charging profile (which has the highest energy value in the thirty-minute category) to maximize the energy gained.”):
Claim 4:
Trimboli as shown discloses the following limitations:
wherein the one or more suggested changes include at least one of an optimization of an aggregate cost, an aggregate real cost, or aggregate emissions of a charging site (col. 6, lines 26-28: “the system 10 (via execution of method 100) provides multiple charging profiles optimized for different goals, such as charge time available, desired range to be added and/or cost minimization.”);
Claim 5:
Trimboli teaches as explained above the one or more effects of the charging session characteristics. Trimboli is silent with regard to the following limitations. However, Lowenthal in an analogous art of electric vehicle management for the purpose of providing the following limitations as shown does:
wherein calculating the one or more fleet effects to the charging session characteristics includes maintaining a relative prioritization of charging sessions (col. 7, lines 36-43: “determine availability of charge transfer devices for recharging their electric vehicles 150. A user profile contains financial account information—details required for payment—and may also include information such as whether the vehicle operator wants to: charge the electric vehicle only during periods of lower power rates; not charge the vehicle during periods of high power grid load; and sell power to the local grid.”);
Both Trimboli and Lowenthal teach electric vehicle management. Trimboli teaches in the Abstract: “optimizing charging for a vehicle having a rechargeable energy storage unit and travelling on a route includes a controller.” Lowenthal teaches in the Abstract “managing a plurality of electric vehicles with a fleet management portal.” Thus, they are deemed to be analogous references as they are reasonably pertinent to each other and are directed towards solving similar problems within the same environment. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Lowenthal would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Lowenthal to the teaching of Trimboli would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such as maintaining a relative prioritization of charging sessions into similar systems. Further, as noted by Lowenthal “managing one or more fleets of electric vehicles includes monitoring one or more fleets of electric vehicles using a fleet management portal associated with a server.” (Lowenthal, Abstract).
Claim 8:
Trimboli as shown discloses the following limitations:
wherein the charging session characteristics include one or more of: a finished charging time of a charging session; energy delivered during the charging session; cost of the charging session; maximum charging rate during the charging session; energy losses during the charging session; or greenhouse gas emissions during the charging session (col. 1, lines 43-44: “The predefined set of goals may include charging time minimization and cost minimization.” See also col. 5, lines 3: “Each of the charging profiles may be separately calibrated in order to optimize the energy demand for the selected session goal”);
Claim 9:
Trimboli as shown discloses the following limitations:
wherein the alternative configuration to the one or more charging session characteristics is a change [in a relative prioritization of charging sessions] (col. 6, lines 26-28: “the system 10 (via execution of method 100) provides multiple charging profiles optimized for different goals, such as charge time available, desired range to be added and/or cost minimization.”);
Trimboli as explained above teaches the change by providing alternative configuration of the charging session characteristics. Trimboli is silent with regard to the following limitations. However, Lowenthal in an analogous art of electric vehicle management for the purpose of providing the following limitations as shown does:
in a relative prioritization of charging sessions (col. 7, lines 36-43: “determine availability of charge transfer devices for recharging their electric vehicles 150. A user profile contains financial account information—details required for payment—and may also include information such as whether the vehicle operator wants to: charge the electric vehicle only during periods of lower power rates; not charge the vehicle during periods of high power grid load; and sell power to the local grid.”);
Both Trimboli and Lowenthal teach electric vehicle management. Trimboli teaches in the Abstract: “optimizing charging for a vehicle having a rechargeable energy storage unit and travelling on a route includes a controller.” Lowenthal teaches in the Abstract “managing a plurality of electric vehicles with a fleet management portal.” Thus, they are deemed to be analogous references as they are reasonably pertinent to each other and are directed towards solving similar problems within the same environment. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Lowenthal would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Lowenthal to the teaching of Trimboli would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such as a relative prioritization of charging sessions into similar systems. Further, as noted by Lowenthal “managing one or more fleets of electric vehicles includes monitoring one or more fleets of electric vehicles using a fleet management portal associated with a server.” (Lowenthal, Abstract).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trimboli et al., (US 11,913,798 A1) hereinafter “Trimboli” and Lowenthal et al., (US 11,341,785 B2) hereinafter “Lowenthal” as applied to claims 2 and 18 above, further in view of Moura et al., (US 2022/0188946 A1) hereinafter “Moura”.
Claim 6:
Trimboli teaches in col. 4, lines 9-17: “The respective station parameters may include the presence of brown-out conditions (a reduction in or restriction on the availability of electrical power in a particular area) at the charging stations 42. The respective station parameters may include other infrastructure-based settings, such as a limitation to 30 minutes of charging based on a high volume of station need imposed by the charging stations 42, or other high use grid-based adjustments.” Lowenthal teaches a fleet of multiple vehicles management as shown does in col. 10 lines 56-67 as explained above. Trimboli in view of Lowenthal is silent with regard to the following limitations. However, Moura in an analogous art of electric vehicle management for the purpose of providing the following limitations as shown does:
determining and displaying one or more external effects, cause by the one ore more external sources to the charging session characteristics of the fleet of multiple vehicles; displaying, via the interface, the one or more external effects; (¶ 0038: “Upon accessing a native application or a website, charging session options are presented to each customer. Pricing and/or carbon intensity of each option is updated in real time based on the time-varying cost of energy for both the site host and the electricity provider, maximum power constraints and/or demand charges, greenhouse gas emissions associated with electricity production, and charge point demand, with the objective of maximizing financial value for the charge point operator while meeting customer expectations for quality of service.”);
and based on the receipt of the acceptance of the alternative configuration, providing one or more second instructions to the one or more charging stations associated with the fleet of multiple vehicles, to implement changes related to the one or more external effects (¶ 0038: “Customers may choose a “regular” charging session, in which the vehicle starts charging immediately and continues at full power until the vehicle is charged or the customer ends the charging session, or a “scheduled” option with a reserved session duration and guaranteed energy delivery.”);
Both Trimboli and Moura teach electric vehicle management. Trimboli teaches in the Abstract: “optimizing charging for a vehicle having a rechargeable energy storage unit and travelling on a route includes a controller.” Moura teaches in the Abstract “user is presented with menu of price-differentiated charging services, which differ in per-unit price and the energy delivery schedule.” Thus, they are deemed to be analogous references as they are reasonably pertinent to each other and are directed towards solving similar problems within the same environment. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Moura would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Moura to the teaching of Trimboli in view of Lowenthal would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such as determining and displaying one or more external effects, caused by one or more external sources, to the charging session characteristics of the fleet of multiple vehicles; displaying, via the interface, the one or more external effects; and based on the receipt of the acceptance of the alternative configuration, providing one or more second instructions to the one or more charging stations associated with the fleet of multiple vehicles to implement changes related to the one or more external effects into similar systems. Further, as noted by Moura “The pricing control policy realizes benefits in three aspects: (i) net profits gain, (ii) overstay reduction, and (iii) increased quality-of-service.” (Moura, Abstract).
Claim 7:
Trimboli teaches in col. 4, lines 9-17: “The respective station parameters may include the presence of brown-out conditions (a reduction in or restriction on the availability of electrical power in a particular area) at the charging stations 42. The respective station parameters may include other infrastructure-based settings, such as a limitation to 30 minutes of charging based on a high volume of station need imposed by the charging stations 42, or other high use grid-based adjustments.” Lowenthal teaches a fleet of multiple vehicles management as shown does in col. 10 lines 56-67 as explained above. Trimboli in view of Lowenthal is silent with regard to the following limitations. However, Moura in an analogous art of electric vehicle management for the purpose of providing the following limitations as shown does:
wherein the one or more external sources include: power availability (¶ 0038: “Upon accessing a native application or a website, charging session options are presented to each customer. Pricing and/or carbon intensity of each option is updated in real time based on the time-varying cost of energy for both the site host and the electricity provider, maximum power constraints and/or demand charges, greenhouse gas emissions associated with electricity production, and charge point demand, with the objective of maximizing financial value for the charge point operator while meeting customer expectations for quality of service.”);
Both Trimboli and Moura teach electric vehicle management. Trimboli teaches in the Abstract: “optimizing charging for a vehicle having a rechargeable energy storage unit and travelling on a route includes a controller.” Moura teaches in the Abstract “user is presented with menu of price-differentiated charging services, which differ in per-unit price and the energy delivery schedule.” Thus, they are deemed to be analogous references as they are reasonably pertinent to each other and are directed towards solving similar problems within the same environment. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Moura would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Moura to the teaching of Trimboli in view of Lowenthal would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such as wherein the one or more external sources include: power availability into similar systems. Further, as noted by Moura “The pricing control policy realizes benefits in three aspects: (i) net profits gain, (ii) overstay reduction, and (iii) increased quality-of-service.” (Moura, Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hancock et al., (US 2025/0033517 A1) hereinafter “Hancock”.
Claim 17:
Hancock as shown discloses a processing system, the system comprising:
a memory comprising computer-executable instructions; and a processor configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the processing system (¶ 0124: “a system, method, or computer-readable medium having digital instructions stored thereon for execution by a digital processor”);
detect a trigger event that affects one or more charging characteristics of at least one vehicle in a fleet of multiple vehicles; provide, via an interface, a prompt regarding the trigger event (¶ 0119: “ GUI of FIG. 24 , an asset management predictor of the system may provide digital alerts to the user. For example, the GUI may provide the alert 2402 that, without attention, a demand penalty is expected for the following day without if no intervention in taken.” See also the Abstract: “directing energy use within a facility comprising charging stations for charging a fleet of electric vehicles,”);
provide, via the interface, decisions related to the trigger event, the decisions comprising selectable options to remedy one or more causes of the trigger event; provide, via the interface, consequences of the decisions to charging characteristics of other vehicles in the fleet of multiple vehicles(¶ 0119: “Similarly presented to the user is the notification 2404 as to a potential solution to energy management that may reduce or mitigate any potential energy issues. In this example, the alert 2404 relates to the operation of facility asset, namely the HVAC system of the facility, which, in this case, is indicated in association with the provision of two suggestions that may mitigate the predicted overage (i.e. to shut down the facility asset at a certain time or discharge unused energy stored in EVs to mitigate energy use from the grid during EV charge-ups). Similarly, the GUI alerts 2406 the user as to the excess charge needed at the end of the shift, and thus suggests re-allocation of charging times for those EVs. […] the alert 2406 is provided with the user-selectable option to enable the optimised charging plan via the GUI, wherein charging will automatically be digitally directed via the system upon user selection.”);
receive, via the interface, an input accepting a decision of the decisions; provide an indication related to the decision to at least one of a fleet management system or a charge management system; and provide, to the at least one of the fleet management system or the charge management system and based on the decision, one or more first instructions that affect an operation of at least one charging station (¶ 0118: “a designated energy management regime, and/or suggestions related thereto, may be output to a user, such as a facility manager and/or fleet operator, for evaluation and/or implementation. For example, and in accordance with various embodiments, FIG. 24 is a schematic of an exemplary graphical user interface (GUI) via which a user may interact with an energy management system. In this example, the system, or a method executing the same, received as input energy management data and computed an energy management regime that addressed several deficiencies with respect to historical energy management in view of upcoming operational conditions. The system then digitally directs operation of assets in the facility (e.g. EV charging stations and/or other energy consumption assets in the facility) via the GUI for instance though the provision of indicators and/or controls that the user may review and/or select to realise the improved management of energy in associate with the facility.” See also ¶ 0119: “As noted above, in this latter example, the alert 2406 is provided with the user-selectable option to enable the optimised charging plan via the GUI, wherein charging will automatically be digitally directed via the system upon user selection.”);
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hancock et al., (US 2025/0033517 A1) hereinafter “Hancock” in view of Trimboli et al., (US 11,913,798 A1) hereinafter “Trimboli”.
Claim 18:
Hancock as shown discloses the following limitations:
the interface is configured to display charging session characteristics of fleet of multiple vehicles (¶ 0026: “the energy optimisation engine is configured to digitally direct operation of said one or more of the charge stations or said energy assets via a graphical user interface (GUI) displaying to a user data related to said energy distribution instructions.” See also ¶ 0090: “the provision to a user via a graphical user interface (GUI) a report descriptive of the designated or prescribed energy distribution regime, or the direct or user-selectable operation of one or more energy assets and/or charging stations in accordance with the energy distribution regime”);
Hancock is silent with regard to the following limitations. However, Trimboli in an analogous art of electric vehicle management for the purpose of providing the following limitations as shown does:
the processor (Figure 1) is further configured to cause the processing system to: receive, via the interface, an alternative configuration to one or more charging session characteristics of a vehicle of the fleet of multiple vehicles; (col. 4, lines 24-27: “the set of goals 50 may include a first session goal 52 of minimizing cost, a second session goal 54 of minimizing charging time to full and a third session goal 56 of the maximum range added within a specific time limit.” Col. 3, lines 3-4: “The system 10 provides the opportunity to optimize each charge session individually based on a selected goal”);
calculate one or more fleet effects, caused by the alternative configuration, to the charging session characteristics of the fleet of multiple ; display, via the interface, the one or more fleet effects; and based on the receipt of acceptance of the alternative configuration (col. 4, lines 41-51: “generating a recommended charging profile respectively for one or more stops along the route 16, based in part on the session goal(s) (selected in block 106) and the respective station parameters (obtained in block 104). The recommended charging profile is chosen from a plurality of charging profiles. For example, the controller C may recommend a first stop (a ten-minute charging session in a first charging location) with a corresponding recommended charging profile and a second stop (thirty-minute charging session in a second charging location) with a corresponding recommended charging profile.” Col. 6, lines 26-28: “the system 10 (via execution of method 100) provides multiple charging profiles optimized for different goals, such as charge time available, desired range to be added and/or cost minimization.” And col. 4, lines 34-36: “the session goal/scenario selections may be made by the controller C to notify the user of the recommendation and seek acceptance or acknowledgment”);
provide one or more second instructions, to one or more charging stations associated with the fleet of multiple vehicles to implement the alternative configuration; based on the alternative configuration (col. 5, lines 42-50: “The recommended charging profile may include predefined location-based settings. In one example, a fixed setting is placed to charge for 10 minutes at a charging station 42 on the way home from work for a user. In another example, a fixed setting is placed to add 150 miles at a specific charging station 42 to complete a trip to a weekend cottage. Each of the charging profiles may be separately calibrated in order to optimize the energy demand for the selected session goal.”);
Both Hancock and Trimboli teach electric vehicle management. Hancock teaches in the Abstract “directing energy use within a facility comprising charging stations for charging a fleet of electric vehicles, using an energy optimisation engine.” Trimboli teaches in the Abstract: “optimizing charging for a vehicle having a rechargeable energy storage unit and travelling on a route includes a controller.” Thus, they are deemed to be analogous references as they are reasonably pertinent to each other and are directed towards solving similar problems within the same environment. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Trimboli would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Trimboli to the teaching of Hancock would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such as receive, via the interface, an alternative configuration to one or more charging session characteristics of a vehicle of the fleet of multiple vehicles; calculate one or more fleet effects, caused by the alternative configuration to the charging session characteristics of the fleet of multiple vehicles; display, via the interface, the one or more fleet effects; and based on receipt of acceptance of the alternative configuration, provide one or more second instructions, to one or more charging stations associated with the fleet of multiple vehicles, to implement the alternative configuration; based on the alternative configuration into similar systems. Further, as noted by Trimboli “the system 10 (via execution of method 100) provides multiple charging profiles optimized for different goals, such as charge time available, desired range to be added and/or cost minimization.” (Trimboli, col. 6, lines 25-28).
In addition, Hancock teaches:
and to cause the processing system to detect the trigger event, the processor is configured to cause the processing system to detect the trigger event (¶ 0119: “ GUI of FIG. 24 , an asset management predictor of the system may provide digital alerts to the user. For example, the GUI may provide the alert 2402 that, without attention, a demand penalty is expected for the following day without if no intervention in taken.” See also the Abstract: “directing energy use within a facility comprising charging stations for charging a fleet of electric vehicles,”);
Claim 19:
Hancock is silent with regard to the following limitations. However, Trimboli in an analogous art of electric vehicle management for the purpose of providing the following limitations as shown does:
determine one or more suggested changes to the charging session characteristics of the fleet of multiple vehicles, the one or more suggested changes being based on the one or more fleet effects; display, via the interface, the one or more suggested changes; and based on the receipt of the acceptance of the alternative configuration, (col. 4, lines 41-51: “generating a recommended charging profile respectively for one or more stops along the route 16, based in part on the session goal(s) (selected in block 106) and the respective station parameters (obtained in block 104). The recommended charging profile is chosen from a plurality of charging profiles. For example, the controller C may recommend a first stop (a ten-minute charging session in a first charging location) with a corresponding recommended charging profile and a second stop (thirty-minute charging session in a second charging location) with a corresponding recommended charging profile.” Col. 6, lines 26-28: “the system 10 (via execution of method 100) provides multiple charging profiles optimized for different goals, such as charge time available, desired range to be added and/or cost minimization.” And col. 4, lines 34-36: “the session goal/scenario selections may be made by the controller C to notify the user of the recommendation and seek acceptance or acknowledgment”);
provide one or more second instructions to the one or more charging stations associated with the fleet of multiple vehicles to implement the one or more suggested changes (col. 5, lines 5-25: “Based on Table 1 above, if a vehicle 12 was charging for ten minutes, the controller C may select the fifth charging profile (which has the highest energy value in the ten-minute category) to maximize the energy gained. If the vehicle 12 was charging for a total of twenty minutes, the controller C may select the third charging profile (which has the highest energy value in the twenty-minute category) to maximize the energy gained. Similarly, if the vehicle 12 was charging for a total of thirty minutes, the controller C may select the second charging profile (which has the highest energy value in the thirty-minute category) to maximize the energy gained.”);
Both Hancock and Trimboli teach electric vehicle management. Hancock teaches in the Abstract “directing energy use within a facility comprising charging stations for charging a fleet of electric vehicles, using an energy optimisation engine.” Trimboli teaches in the Abstract: “optimizing charging for a vehicle having a rechargeable energy storage unit and travelling on a route includes a controller.” Thus, they are deemed to be analogous references as they are reasonably pertinent to each other and are directed towards solving similar problems within the same environment. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Trimboli would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Trimboli to the teaching of Hancock would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such as determine one or more suggested changes to the charging session characteristics of the fleet of multiple vehicles, the one or more suggested changes being based on the one or more fleet effects; display, via the interface, the one or more suggested changes; and based on the receipt of the acceptance of the alternative configuration, provide one or more second instructions to the one or more charging stations associated with the fleet of multiple vehicles to implement the one or more suggested changes into similar systems. Further, as noted by Trimboli “the system 10 (via execution of method 100) provides multiple charging profiles optimized for different goals, such as charge time available, desired range to be added and/or cost minimization.” (Trimboli, col. 6, lines 25-28).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hancock et al., (US 2025/0033517 A1) hereinafter “Hancock” and Trimboli et al., (US 11,913,798 A1) hereinafter “Trimboli” as applied to claim 18 above, further in view of Moura et al., (US 2022/0188946 A1) hereinafter “Moura”.
Claim 20:
Hancock teaches in ¶ 0097: “to draw on EV battery charge, for instance during peak energy cost times when there is available excess EV battery charge, or instructions to operate directly from the grid but in accordance with a schedule and power use that is defined in accordance with energy supply data and one or more conditions associated therewith”. Trimboli teaches in col. 4, lines 9-17: “The respective station parameters may include the presence of brown-out conditions (a reduction in or restriction on the availability of electrical power in a particular area) at the charging stations 42. The respective station parameters may include other infrastructure-based settings, such as a limitation to 30 minutes of charging based on a high volume of station need imposed by the charging stations 42, or other high use grid-based adjustments. Hancock in view of Trimboli in is silent with regard to the following limitations. However, Moura in an analogous art of electric vehicle management for the purpose of providing the following limitations as shown does:
determine and display one or more external effects caused by one or more external sources, to the charging session characteristics of the fleet of multiple vehicles; display, via the interface, the one or more external effects; (¶ 0038: “Upon accessing a native application or a website, charging session options are presented to each customer. Pricing and/or carbon intensity of each option is updated in real time based on the time-varying cost of energy for both the site host and the electricity provider, maximum power constraints and/or demand charges, greenhouse gas emissions associated with electricity production, and charge point demand, with the objective of maximizing financial value for the charge point operator while meeting customer expectations for quality of service.”);
and based on the receipt of the acceptance of the alternative configuration, provide one or more second instructions to the one or more charging stations associated with the fleet of multiple vehicles, to implement changes related to the one or more external effects (¶ 0038: “Customers may choose a “regular” charging session, in which the vehicle starts charging immediately and continues at full power until the vehicle is charged or the customer ends the charging session, or a “scheduled” option with a reserved session duration and guaranteed energy delivery.”);
Both Hancock and Moura teach electric vehicle management. Hancock teaches in the Abstract “directing energy use within a facility comprising charging stations for charging a fleet of electric vehicles, using an energy optimisation engine.” Moura teaches in the Abstract “user is presented with menu of price-differentiated charging services, which differ in per-unit price and the energy delivery schedule.” Thus, they are deemed to be analogous references as they are reasonably pertinent to each other and are directed towards solving similar problems within the same environment. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Moura would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Moura to the teaching of Hancock in view Trimboli would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such as determine and display one or more external effects caused by one or more external sources to the charging session characteristics of the fleet of multiple vehicles; display, via the interface, the one or more external effects; and based on the receipt of the acceptance of the alternative configuration, provide one or more second instructions to the one or more charging stations associated with the fleet of multiple vehicles, to implement changes related to the one or more external effects into similar systems. Further, as noted by Moura “The pricing control policy realizes benefits in three aspects: (i) net profits gain, (ii) overstay reduction, and (iii) increased quality-of-service.” (Moura, Abstract).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NADJA CHONG whose telephone number is (571)270-3939. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 8:00 am - 2:00 pm ET, Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, RUTAO WU can be reached on 571.272.6045. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/NADJA N CHONG CRUZ/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3623