DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-17 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 1, line 1, the phrase -- steps of -- should be inserted after the word “comprising” to provide proper antecedent basis for the later in the claims. In line 3, what is the word “its” referring to? Please clarify. In line 6, what is the word “its” referring to? Please clarify.
In claim 2, line 1, the word -- the -- should be inserted before the phrase “permanent magnet”.
In claim 3, line 1, the word -- the -- should be inserted before the phrase “permanent magnet”.
In claim 6, line 1, the phrase -- steps of -- should be inserted after the word “comprising” to provide proper antecedent basis for the later in the claims. In line 4, what is the word “its” referring to? Please clarify. In line 6, the word -- the -- should be inserted before the word “sensors”. In line 7, what is the word “its” referring to? Please clarify.
In claim 11, line 1, the phrase -- steps of -- should be inserted after the word “comprising” to provide proper antecedent basis for the later in the claims. In line 5, what is the word “their” referring to? Please clarify. In line 7, what is the word “their” referring to? Please clarify.
In claim 14, line 6, what is the word “its” referring to? Please clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, line 3, the phrase “the strip” is vague. Is this referring to the magnetostrictive strip or the coil-wrapped strip. Please clarify. In line 5, the phrase “the strip” is vague. Is this referring to the magnetostrictive strip or the coil-wrapped strip. Please clarify. In line 6, the phrase “the strip” is vague. Is this referring to the magnetostrictive strip or the coil-wrapped strip. Please clarify. In line 10, the phrase “the strip” is vague. Is this referring to the magnetostrictive strip or the coil-wrapped strip. Please clarify. In line 12, the phrase “the strip” is vague. Is this referring to the magnetostrictive strip or the coil-wrapped strip. Please clarify. In line 14, the phrase “the strip” is vague. Is this referring to the magnetostrictive strip or the coil-wrapped strip. Please clarify. In line 15, the phrase “analyzing the response signals to detect” is not clearly understood and is vague. Is one just analyzing the response signals in line 10 only or is analyzing the response signals and the additional signals in lines 10 and 12 or all response signals? Please clarify.
In claim 5, line 2, the phrase “the strip” is vague. Is this referring to the magnetostrictive strip or the coil-wrapped strip. Please clarify.
In claim 6, lines 3, 4 and 5, the phrases “the strip” and “the strips” in these lines need to be better clarified and provide the proper antecedent basis. In line 16, the phrase “analyzing the response signals to detect” is not clearly understood and is vague. Is one just analyzing the response signals in line 11 only or is analyzing the response signals and the additional signals in lines 11 and 13 or all response signals? Please clarify.
In claim 10, line 1, the phrase “the magnetostrictive strip” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 11, lines 5, 6, 7, 11, 14 and 16, the phrase “the strips” is vague. Please clarity. In line 17, the phrase “analyzing the response signals to detect” is not clearly understood and is vague. Is one just analyzing the response signals in line 11 only or is analyzing the response signals and the additional signals in lines 11 and 14 or all response signals? Please clarify.
In claim 13, line 2, the phrase “the strips” is vague. Please clarify.
In clam 14, line 3, the phrase “the strip” is vague. Is this referring to the magnetostrictive strip or the coil-wrapped strip. Please clarify. In line 7, the phrase “the strip” is vague. Is this referring to the magnetostrictive strip or the coil-wrapped strip. Please clarify.
In claim 15, line 2, the phrase “the strip” is vague. Is this referring to the magnetostrictive strip or the coil-wrapped strip. Please clarify.
In claim 16, line 2, the phrase “the strip” is vague. Is this referring to the magnetostrictive strip or the coil-wrapped strip. Please clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0164256 (Vinogradov et al.).
With regards to claim 1, Vinogradov et al. discloses a non-destructive magnetostrictive testing system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-16, a pulse-echo method of magnetostrictive guided wave testing of a structure 34 (e.g. plate structure; paragraph [0030]) comprising acoustically coupling a magnetostrictive strip 31 (e.g. ferromagnetic strip; paragraph [0031]) to a surface (e.g. top surface; Figure 3) of the structure; the magnetostrictive strip 31 having a coil-wrapped strip of ferromagnetic material 32 (e.g. AC electric coil; paragraph [0032]) such that the strip having a width thinner than its length (e.g. observed in Figure 3); placing a permanent magnet 33 (e.g. permanent magnet; paragraph [0033]) over a portion (e.g. right-side portion; Figure 3) of the strip such that the permanent magnet covers all or most of the width of the strip but only a portion of its length (e.g. observed in Figure 3; paragraph [0041]); using a pulsed alternating current source 35 (e.g. pulse generator; paragraph [0035]) to activate the magnetostrictive strip thereby producing time-varying magnetic fields and magnetostrictive vibrations in the magnetostrictive strip, and thereby resulting in guided waves in the structure (e.g. paragraph [0032],[0035]-[0043]); receiving response signals from the strip (e.g. detected signal; paragraph [0035]); moving the permanent magnet to a next position along the length of the magnetostrictive strip (e.g. shifting the permanent magnet from edge A to edge B; paragraphs [0038]-[0040],[0048]-[0052]; Figures 3-4,6-9); receiving additional response signals from the strip (e.g. paragraph [0032],[0035]-[0043]); repeating the steps of moving and receiving additional response signals until a desired portion of the structure under the strip is tested (e.g. a preference based on the operator); analyzing the response signals to detect any anomalies 34a (e.g. anomaly; paragraph [0036]) in the structure (e.g. paragraphs [0035]-[0043]). (See, paragraphs [0021] to [0064]).
With regards to claim 2, Vinogradov et al. further discloses the magnetostrictive strip 31 and permanent magnet 33 are configured to generate shear horizontal guided waves (e.g. shear guided waves; paragraph [0003]).
With regards to claim 3, Vinogradov et al. further discloses the magnetostrictive strip 31 and permanent magnet 33 are configured to generate compressional guided waves (e.g. longitudinal guided waves; paragraph [0003]).
With regards to claim 4, Vinogradov et al. does not explicitly disclose the moving step is performed with a motor; however, a motor or a type of driving member would inherently be needed to perform the step of moving the permanent magnet to a next position.
With regards to claim 5, Vinogradov et al. further discloses the magnetostrictive strip 151 is made from a flexible material such that the acoustically coupling step is performed by conforming the strip to the surface (e.g. paragraph [0060]; Figure 15).
With regards to claim 6, Vinogradov et al. discloses a non-destructive magnetostrictive testing system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-16, a pitch-catch method of magnetostrictive guided wave testing of a structure comprising acoustically coupling two magnetostrictive sensors 30 (e.g. sensor; paragraphs [0030],[0057]; Figure 13) to a surface of the structure 34 (e.g. plate structure; paragraph [0030]); the magnetostrictive sensors having a coil-wrapped strip of ferromagnetic material 31,32 (e.g. ferromagnetic strip with AC electric coil; paragraphs [0030]-[0032]) such that the strips having a width thinner than its length (e.g. observed in Figure 3) and having a permanent magnet 33 (e.g. permanent magnet; paragraph [0033]) on the strip; strips are separated for pitch-catch operation (e.g. since there are at least two sensors in Figure 13, one of the sensors can be the pitch for the guided wave and the other can be the catch for the guided wave since the sensors has the ability as a combined actuator/sensor probes - paragraph [0004]. Furthermore, the concept of pitch-catch technique is a very well-known concept in the art to a skilled artisan in the art); the permanent magnet of a first of sensors covers all or most of the width of the strip but only a portion of its length (e.g. observed in Figure 3; paragraph [0041]); using a pulsed alternating current source 35 (e.g. pulse generator; paragraph [0035]) to activate the first of the sensors thereby producing time-varying magnetic fields and magnetostrictive vibrations in that sensor, and thereby resulting in guided waves in the structure (e.g. paragraph [0032],[0035]-[0043]); receiving response signals from a second of the sensors (e.g. detected signal; paragraph [0035]); moving the permanent magnet to a next position along the length of the first of the sensors (e.g. shifting the permanent magnet from edge A to edge B; paragraphs [0038]-[0040],[0048]-[0052]; Figures 3-4,6-9); receiving additional response signals from the second of the sensors (e.g. paragraph [0032],[0035]-[0043]); repeating the steps of moving and receiving additional response signals until a desired portion of the structure under the first of the sensors is tested (e.g. a preference based on the operator); analyzing the response signals to detect any anomalies 34a (e.g. anomaly; paragraph [0036]) in the structure (e.g. paragraphs [0035]-[0043]). (See, paragraphs [0021] to [0064]).
With regards to claim 7, Vinogradov et al. further discloses the sensors are configured to generate shear horizontal guided waves (e.g. shear guided waves; paragraph [0003]).
With regards to claim 8, Vinogradov et al. further discloses the sensors are configured to generate compressional guided waves (e.g. longitudinal guided waves; paragraph [0003]).
With regards to claim 9, Vinogradov et al. does not explicitly disclose the moving step is performed with a motor; however, a motor or a type of driving member would inherently be needed to perform the step of moving the permanent magnet to a next position.
With regards to claim 10, Vinogradov et al. further discloses the magnetostrictive strip 151 is made from a flexible material such that the acoustically coupling step is performed by conforming the strip to the surface (e.g. paragraph [0060]; Figure 15).
With regards to claim 11, Vinogradov et al. discloses a non-destructive magnetostrictive testing system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-16, a method of magnetostrictive guided wave testing of a structure comprising acoustically coupling a pair of magnetostrictive strips 31 (e.g. ferromagnetic strip; paragraph [0031]; Figure 13) to a surface of the structure 34 (e.g. plate structure; paragraph [0030]) such that each magnetostrictive strip having a coil-wrapped strip of ferromagnetic material 32 (e.g. AC electric coil; paragraph [0032]) where the pair of magnetostrictive strips being separated by one-quarter wavelength of a preferred wave mode (e.g. paragraphs [0026],[0027],[0043]); the strips have a width thinner than their length (e.g. observed in Figure 3); placing a permanent magnet 33 (e.g. permanent magnet; paragraph [0033]) over a portion of the strips such that the permanent magnet covers all or most of the width of the strips but only a portion of their length (e.g. observed in Figure 3; paragraph [0041]); using a pulsed alternating current source 35 (e.g. pulse generator; paragraph [0035]) to activate the magnetostrictive strips thereby producing time-varying magnetic fields and magnetostrictive vibrations in the magnetostrictive strips, and thereby resulting in guided waves in the structure (e.g. paragraph [0032],[0035]-[0043]); receiving response signals from the strips (e.g. detected signal; paragraph [0035]); moving the permanent magnet to a next position along the length of the magnetostrictive strips (e.g. shifting the permanent magnet from edge A to edge B; paragraphs [0038]-[0040],[0048]-[0052]; Figures 3-4,6-9); receiving additional response signals from the strips (e.g. paragraph [0032],[0035]-[0043]); repeating the steps of moving and receiving additional response signals until a desired portion of the structure under the strips is tested (e.g. a preference based on the operator); analyzing the response signals to detect any anomalies 34a (e.g. anomaly; paragraph [0036]) in the structure (e.g. paragraphs [0035]-[0043]). (See, paragraphs [0021] to [0064]).
With regards to claim 12, Vinogradov et al. does not explicitly disclose the moving step is performed with a motor; however, a motor or a type of driving member would inherently be needed to perform the step of moving the permanent magnet to a next position.
With regards to claim 13, Vinogradov et al. further discloses the magnetostrictive strips 151 are made from a flexible material such that the acoustically coupling step is performed by conforming the strips to the surface (e.g. paragraph [0060]; Figure 15).
With regards to claim 14, Vinogradov et al. discloses a non-destructive magnetostrictive testing system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-16,a magnetostrictive guided wave test system for nondestructive testing of a structure 34 (e.g. plate structure; paragraph [0030]) for defects 34a (e.g. anomaly; paragraph [0036]) comprising a magnetostrictive strip 31 (e.g. ferromagnetic strip; paragraph [0031]) having a coil-wrapped strip of ferromagnetic material 32 (e.g. AC electric coil; paragraph [0032]) such that the strip having a length and a width; a permanent magnet 33 (e.g. permanent magnet; paragraph [0033]) sized to cover all or most of the width of the magnetostrictive strip but only a portion of its length (e.g. observed in Figure 3; paragraph [0041]); a motor (e.g. not explicitly disclose the moving step is performed with a motor; however, a motor or a type of driving member would inherently be needed to perform the step of moving the permanent magnet to a next position) operable to move the permanent magnet along the length of the strip; a signal generator 35 (e.g. pulse generator; paragraph [0035]) operable to apply a pulsed alternating current source to activate the magnetostrictive strip, thereby producing time-varying magnetic fields and magnetostrictive vibrations in the magnetostrictive strip, thereby resulting in guided waves in the structure (e.g. paragraph [0032],[0035]-[0043]). (See, paragraphs [0021] to [0064]).
With regards to claim 15, Vinogradov et al. further discloses the magnetostrictive strip 31 and the permanent magnet 33 are configured to generate shear horizontal waves (e.g. shear guided waves; paragraph [0003]) when the strip is activated by a pulsed alternating current source 35 (e.g. pulse generator; paragraph [0035]).
With regards to claim 16, Vinogradov et al. further discloses the magnetostrictive strip 31 and the permanent magnet 35 are configured to generate compressional waves (e.g. longitudinal guided waves; paragraph [0003]) when the strip is activated by a pulsed alternating current source 35 (e.g. pulse generator; paragraph [0035]).
With regards to claim 17, Vinogradov et al. further discloses the magnetostrictive strip 151 is made from a flexible material (e.g. paragraph [0060]; Figure 15).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The references cited, particularly Balasubramanian, Cobb, Borigo, Lopez, Ren Owens, Cho, Kwun and Light, are related to detection systems comprising magnetostrictive strip, a coil-wrapped strip, a permanent magnet for detecting anomalies in a structure.
866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HELEN C KWOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855