DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-12 in the reply filed on May 19, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 19, 2026.
Claim Interpretation
The instant claims utilize the terms “assembly-type” particles and “single-type” particles. This is understood to mean secondary particles (for “assembly-type”) and primary particles (for “single-type”), as secondary particles are agglomerations of (or “assemblies” of) primary/individual/single particles. If this is incorrect, then Applicant should consider the instant claims indefinite for lack of clarity as to the meanings of both “single-type” and “assembly-type.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al (WO 2022077370; references made herein are with respect to the English translation, of record in the IDS filed February 21, 2024).
Regarding claims 1, 2, and 12, Li teaches an anode for secondary battery comprising an anode current collector, an anode active material comprising graphite (abstract), and a cathode (par. 42). Li teaches that the anode active material graphite includes secondary particles and may optionally include primary particles (par. 116), and Li further teaches that the powder OI value of the anode active material is less than or equal to 14, preferably 5-14 or 6-11 (pars. 120 and 141).
Regarding claim 9, it is expected that the secondary particles would exhibit a larger average particle size than the primary particles, as the secondary particles are agglomerations of the primary particles.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Li teaches that the petroleum coke raw material may include one or more of petroleum-based non-needle coke and petroleum based needle coke (par. 199), noting that needle cokes are anisotropic.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (WO 2022077370; references made herein are with respect to the English translation, of record in the IDS filed February 21, 2024) as applied to claim 1 above.
Li teaches an anode according to instant claim 1, as shown above.
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches that the graphite may optionally include primary particles, such as in a quantity of greater than or equal to 50% (par. 116). As Li teaches an effective range inclusive of 0% primary particles, the overlapping ranges constitute prima facie obviousness.
Regarding claims 6-8, Li teaches a tap density (tapped) of the anode active material of 0.8-1.2 g/cm (par. 122) and a compacted density (pellet) of the anode active material of 1.75-1.82 g/cm (par. 123). The overlapping ranges constitute prima facie obviousness.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Li et al (WO 2022077370) is considered to represent the closest related prior art to the claimed invention, as shown above. Li does not teach or suggest the pore resistance of the anode. Choi et al (WO 2022010225), in a similar invention, teaches that the anode may preferably exhibit a pore resistance of 6-9 Ohm (par. 62), which is distinctly outside the claimed ranges. Although Choi shows pore resistances of up to 21 Ohm, this is essentially taught away from as being only included in the comparative examples (Table 2). As such, the prior art fails to teach or suggest an anode exhibiting the claimed pore resistances.
Conclusion
/Colin W. Slifka/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732