DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 07/15/2026 have been considered but are moot because of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 21, 28 and 35 each recite receiving an indication that an internet protocol (IP) multimedia core network subsystem (IMS) voice is unsupported over a 3G network or a 3G access, but is supported over a non-3G network or a non-3G access in a first communication system, registering to an IMS server or an IMS via the non-3G network or the non-3G access in the first communication system, and performing the IMS voice over the non-3G network or the non-3G access in the first communication system.
The specification as filed is directed to a co-existence mechanism for an Over-The-Top (OTT) downloadable voice application client and a native embedded Voice over LTE (VolTE) client or Voice over WiFi (VoWiFi) client, in which the handset determines whether to maintain, register or de-register the OTT client based on whether a native voice client is registered and whether that native voice client is using LTE access or WiFi access (0004; 0033-0035; Figures 2-6). The specification does not describe an indication that IMS voice is unsupported over a 3G network but supported over a non-3G network, does not describe a first communication system or a second communication system, does not describe registering to an IMS server via a non-3G network, and does not describe performing IMS voice over a non-3G network. The only recitation of the term 3G in the specification is that the system can be implemented in accordance with the 2G/3G/4G cellular network, a WiFi data network or other suitable networks (0022).
Claims 27, 34 and 39 further recite selecting a WiFi calling when a management is set to WiFi and selecting a circuit switched fallback for a circuit switched voice call when the management is set to cellular. The specification does not describe a management, a selection made according to a management, or a circuit switched fallback.
Provisional Application No. 62/266,325, filed December 11, 2015, contains the same disclosure and likewise does not describe the above subject matter, the only recitation of the term 3G being that the underlying infrastructure is either 2G/3G/4G cellular or WiFi data network (0012 of the provisional).
Because claims 21-39 are not supported under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) by the disclosure of Provisional Application No. 62/266,325, filed December 11, 2015, by the disclosure of Application No. 15/374,909, filed December 9, 2016, or by the disclosure of Application No. 16/277,159, filed February 15, 2019, each of which contains the same disclosure, claims 21-39 are not entitled to the benefit of those earlier filing dates under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or 35 U.S.C. 120. The effective filing date of claims 21-39 is July 24, 2023, the actual filing date of the instant application.
Claims 22-27, 29-34 and 36-39 are rejected as depending from a rejected claim and for reciting the same subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 28 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2010/0329244 A1 herein Buckley.
Claim 21, Buckley discloses User equipment (Abstract, User equipment), the user equipment comprising:
a processor that is configured to execute one or more lines of code that cause the processor to (0219, the DSP executes applications stored in the memory, the application software comprising a compiled set of machine-readable instructions that configure the DSP):
receive an indication that an internet protocol (IP) multimedia core network subsystem (IMS) voice is unsupported over a 3G network, but is supported over a non-3G network in a first communication system (0151, the MME sets the VolMS Indicator for the TA to supported or not supported, and the SGSN sets the VolMS Indicator for the RA to supported or not supported; 0204, the VolMS Indicator is given to the UE by the MME or SGSN during initial attach, TAU, Combined TAU or RA update; 0013, a combined Attach procedure attaches the UE to the PS core network over LTE and to the CS domain over GERAN or UTRAN, thus the RA is served by a 3G network and the TA by a non-3G network in the same system);
register to an IMS server via the non-3G network in the first communication system (0012, the UA is IMS registered with a REGISTRAR function on an IMS node, the S-CSCF performing the role of REGISTRAR in IMS; 0019, a UE may be registered with IMS over LTE or using E-UTRAN); and
perform the IMS voice over the non-3G network in the first communication system (0065, the UE checks for an IMS voice support indication from the network, and if supported, the UE uses IMS voice).
Claim 28, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 21.
Buckley discloses A method of voice domain selection (Title, Method), receiving,
by a processing circuitry of a user equipment (UE) (0219, the DSP or some other form of controller or central processing unit operates to control the various components of the UE).
Claim 35, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 21.
Buckley discloses A non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the steps (0050, computer readable media include magnetic storage devices, optical disks, smart cards, and flash memory devices; 0230, the processor executes instructions, codes, computer programs, or scripts).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22-27, 29-34 and 36-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buckley in view of US 2015/0282013 A1 herein Samsung.
Claim 22, Buckley discloses the user equipment of claim 21.
Buckley discloses register to the IMS server via the non-3G network in the first communication system (0012, the S-CSCF performs the role of REGISTRAR in IMS; 0019, a UE may be registered with IMS over LTE or using E-UTRAN).
Buckley may not explicitly disclose switch to a second communication system when a voice over long term evolution (VolTE) is set to the second communication system; and switch to the first communication system from the second communication system.
Samsung discloses switch to a second communication system when a voice over long term evolution (VolTE) is set to the second communication system (0085, the terminal, upon departing from the WiFi network while providing the voice call based on the VoWiFi service, performs handover for switching to the VoLTE service); and
switch to the first communication system from the second communication system (0084, the terminal starts a voice call in the LTE network based on a VoLTE service, enters the WiFi network, and performs handover for switching to the VoWiFi service). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Buckley to include handover between a VoLTE service and a VoWiFi service, as taught by Samsung, so as to provide compatibility between a Vol TE service and a VoWiFi service, further satisfying a user of a voice service (0019).
Claim 23, Buckley in view of Samsung discloses the user equipment of claim 22.
Buckley may not explicitly disclose wherein the first communication system is a WiFi system and the second communication system is one of: a fourth generation (4G) system; a third generation (3G) system; or a second generation (2G) system.
Samsung discloses wherein the first communication system is a WiFi system and the second communication system is one of: a fourth generation (4G) system; a third generation (3G) system; or a second generation (2G) system (0086, the terminal is supportive of both a cellular network-based Vol TE service and a WiFi network-based VoWiFi service, and the cellular network includes a 2G network or 3G network, as well as the LTE network). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Buckley to include handover between a Vol TE service and a VoWiFi service, as taught by Samsung, so as to provide compatibility between a Vol TE service and a VoWiFi service, further satisfying a user of a voice service (0019).
Claim 24, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 23.
Claim 25, Buckley discloses the user equipment of claim 21.
Buckley discloses register to the IMS server over the non-3G network (0012, the S-CSCF performs the role of REGISTRAR in IMS; 0019, a UE may be registered with IMS over LTE or using E-UTRAN).
Buckley may not explicitly disclose wherein when the first communication system is a WiFi system, the user equipment is further configured to: remain in the WiFi system; register to the IMS server over the non-3G network in the WiFi system; and perform an IMS voice over packet switch session over the non-3G network in the WiFi system.
Samsung discloses remain in the WiFi system (0042, in the WiFi preferred mode the terminal would support a VoWiFi service in case the WiFi network is available); register to the IMS server over the non-3G network in the WiFi system (0093, the AP processes data communicated through a WiFi network using an IP multimedia subsystem, and establishes or releases a path for a VoWiFi service); and perform an IMS voice over packet switch session over the non-3G network in the Wifi system (0193, the terminal conducts the VoWiFi service-based voice call through the voice service path established). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Buckley to include handover between a Vol TE service and a VoWiFi service, as taught by Samsung, so as to provide compatibility between a Vol TE service and a VoWiFi service, further satisfying a user of a voice service (0019).
Claim 26, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 25.
Claim 27, Buckley in view of Samsung discloses the user equipment of claim 26.
Buckley discloses select a circuit switched tailback for a circuit switched voice call when the management is set to cellular (0069, in the CS Voice only setting the UE initiates a combined EPS/IMSI attach procedure, and if successful, the UE uses CS fallback).
Buckley may not explicitly disclose select a WiFi calling for the IMS voice call when a management is set to WiFi.
Samsung discloses select a WiFi calling for the IMS voice call when a management is set to WiFi (0044, the WiFi only mode enables a voice service to be provided through only the WiFi network, and the terminal with the operation mode set to the WiFi only mode would support a VoWiFi service). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Buckley to include handover between a Vol TE service and a VoWiFi service, as taught by Samsung, so as to provide compatibility between a Vol TE service and a VoWiFi service, further satisfying a user of a voice service (0019).
Claim 29, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 22.
Claim 30, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 23.
Claim 31, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 23.
Claim 32, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 25.
Claim 33, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 25.
Claim 34, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 27.
Claim 36, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 22.
Claim 37, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 25.
Claim 38, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 25.
Claim 39, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 27.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20160226922 A1 – A method for operating a UE is provided. The method comprises retrieving, by the UE, an IMS transport policy comprising a set of service transport rules. The set of service transport rules may include an indication of at least one IMS service and an indication of a policy for at least one access technology associated with the at least one IMS service. The indication of the policy may indicate whether the access technology can or cannot be used to transmit data between a network element and the UE when a first IP flow for a first IMS service associated with the UE has at least one IP flow characteristic in common with a second IP flow for a second IMS service associated with the UE, or whether the access technology is preferred over another access technology for transmitting data between the network element and the UE in such circumstances.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Mehmood B. Khan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463