Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-12, 16-20, and 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Naveh et al. (Naveh) (US 2022/0405194).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Naveh discloses a system comprising:
a memory that stores computer executable components ([0018] a program is stored in memory and executed);
a processor ([0005], a quantum computer) that executes computer executable components stored in the memory ([0018] a program is stored in memory and executed), wherein the computer executable components comprise:
a quantum graph transformer ([0063] a quantum program embodied as a quantum circuit) that learns a quantum encoding of a graph ([0094], [0095], a graph of entanglement properties may be generated in which nodes represent qubits and edges represent entanglement between the qubits), wherein the learning comprises:
generating a quantum graph state from an encoding quantum circuit ([0063], a quantum program embodied as a quantum circuit) based on qubits representing nodes of the graph ([0094], [0095], a graph of entanglement properties may be generated in which nodes represent qubits and edges represent entanglement between the qubits, [0063], [0096] an entanglement graph represents a state of entanglement of qubits),
wherein the quantum graph state serves as quantum representation of the graph ([0094], [0095], a graph of entanglement properties may be generated in which nodes represent qubits and edges represent entanglement between the qubits, [0063], [0096] an entanglement graph represents a state of entanglement of qubits).
Regarding claims 2, 10, and 18, Naveh discloses wherein the learning further comprises:
generating a final quantum state and graph encodings from a variational quantum circuit ([0117], [0118], the quantum circuit is able to be updated (i.e. variable)) based on the quantum graph state ([0095], a full (final) graph is generated, [0040], [0041], [0102], [0063], a final output state is generated using the quantum circuits, [0107], the resulting graph (final graph) is displayed to a user).
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 19, Naveh discloses wherein the encoding quantum circuit comprises Hadamard gates, wherein the Hadamard gates are applied on the qubits ([0063] Hadamard gates are applied to qubits).
Regarding claims 4, 12, and 20, Naveh discloses wherein the encoding quantum circuit further comprises a set of controlled-Z gates ([0063] controlled Z gates are applied to qubits) that are applied on pairs of the qubits representing nodes that are connected in the graph ([0093], [0095] gates are applied to pairs of qubits) and produce the quantum graph state ([0063], [0095], an output state is generated by applying gates to entanglement graphs).
Regarding claims 5, 16, and 23, Naveh discloses wherein different encoding quantum circuits are utilized for different graphs ([0087], [0095], [0106], the quantum circuit and updated quantum circuits is/are able to be applied to different groups of sub graphs).
Regarding claim 17, the limitations of claim 17 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 (See claim 1 above). The examiner notes, in [0077] of the applicant’s filed specification, the applicant explicitly disclaims the use of transitory signals as a form of computer readable storage media.
Regarding claim 24, Naveh discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
building, by a system operatively coupled to a processor, a quantum encoding circuit based on an input graph ([0095], [0107], [0114], a graph is input for synthesizing a quantum program (circuit));
generating, by the system, a quantum graph state from the quantum encoding circuit based on input qubits representing nodes of the input graph ([0094], [0095], a graph of entanglement properties may be generated in which nodes represent qubits and edges represent entanglement between the qubits, [0063], [0096] an entanglement graph represents a state of entanglement of qubits);
generating, by the system, a final quantum state and graph encodings from a variational quantum circuit based on the quantum graph state ([0095], a full (final) graph is generated, [0040], [0041], [0102], [0063], a final output state is generated using the quantum circuits, [0107], the resulting graph (final graph) is displayed to a user); and
updating, by the system, parameters of the variational quantum circuit based on a function of measurements over the final quantum state and a supervisory signal ([0040]-[0042], [0045], [0079], [0089], the quantum circuit is run until a completion criteria is met and is modified to change the zero value of a cubit in a final or intermediate state based on a difference between a target value (supervisory signal) and a the existing value of the cubit (measurements over a final quantum state).
Regarding claim 25, the limitations of claim 25 are rejected in the analysis of claims 1 and 24 (See claims 1 and 24 above). The examiner notes, in [0077] of the applicant’s filed specification, the applicant explicitly disclaims the use of transitory signals as a form of computer readable storage media.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8, 13-15, 21, and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Denchev et al. (Denchev) (US 2019/0164059) ([0050], a quantum graph is generated).
Cowtan et al. (Cowtan) (US 2023/0237361) ([0005], a quantum circuit is updated to reduce a difference between a ground reference state and a current state of qubits in the system).
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488