DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on a European application filed on August 3, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3 and 6 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Anderson et al. (U.S. PG Pub. No. 20220248655), herein “Anderson.”
Regarding claim 1,
Anderson teaches an agricultural machine comprising: (Par. 0033: “The farming machine 100 may also include a coupling mechanism 142, such as a hitch, that functions to removably or statically couple to a drive mechanism, such as a tractor, more to the rear of the drive mechanism (such that the farming machine 100 is dragged behind the drive mechanism), but can alternatively be attached to the front of the drive mechanism or to the side of the drive mechanism. Alternatively, the farming machine 100 can include the drive mechanism (e.g., a motor and drive train coupled to the first and/or second set of wheels). In other example systems, the system may have any other means of traversing through the field.” See figure 1C.)
a chassis; (Par. 0032: “The mounting mechanism 140 is a chassis or frame but can alternatively be any other suitable mounting mechanism.”)
a liquid tank; (reservoir 220, See figure 2 and Par. 0037.)
a spray boom (Mounting Mechanism item 140; See figure 1C that shows a spray boom.) assembly with a center frame and laterally extendable right and left booms; (See figures 1A and 4A and Par. 0032.)
a conduit located on the spray boom assembly and defining a liquid flow; (intake 280 and outtakes 250 and 260, figure 2 and 0037 and 0042.)
a nozzle body located at a bottom side of the boom, in fluid communication with the liquid tank via the conduit, and including a plurality of nozzles, a stationary portion, and a nozzle turret, (nozzle holder 350) wherein the nozzle turret is rotatable, the plurality of nozzles are mounted to the nozzle turret, and each nozzle of the plurality of nozzles is configured to be placed into an active position by rotation of the nozzle turret, (Par. 0050: “In the illustrated embodiment, the plurality of nozzles 355 are arranged in rows (in the y-direction) and columns (in the x-direction). The movement mechanism 330 may receive instructions to rotate the nozzle holder 350 relative to an axis parallel to the field and perpendicular to the direction of travel across the field (e.g., the nozzle holder 350 can rotate around an axis substantially parallel to the y axis). During the rotation of the nozzle holder 350 by the movement mechanism 330, a new row of nozzles 355 may be aligned below the valves 340. In alternative embodiments, the rotation mechanism 330 may translate the nozzle holder 355 relative to an axis parallel to the field and perpendicular to the direction of travel across the field (e.g., the nozzle holder 350 moves in the positive or negative y-direction). Par. 0038, 0046, 0049, 0052, 0053, 0054, 0057, 0060 – 0070.” )
a transponder tag (RFID) for each nozzle of the plurality of nozzles, wherein each transponder tag includes specific information corresponding to characteristics of each respective nozzle of the plurality of nozzles; (Par. 0066: “In alternative embodiments of a distribution manifold with sensors, the nozzle holder may comprise a plurality of unique radio frequency identification (RFID) tags. A unique RFID tag may be positioned adjacent to each nozzle. A sensor (e.g., a stationary RFID reader) may read the unique RFID tags. The sensor may be positioned adjacent to the value. The sensor may be communicatively coupled to the control system 130 and provide the unique RFID to the control system 130 for further analysis. The control system 130 can determine a current position of the nozzle holder and the nozzles based on the RFID received from the sensor and determine to adjust the nozzle holder based on the determined position.”)
and a reader assembly including an antenna and a controller, wherein the reader assembly is configured to emit electromagnetic waves through the antenna to receive information from a particular transponder tag, (Par. 0066, line 3: “A sensor (e.g., a stationary RFID reader) may read the unique RFID tags.”)
wherein, each transponder tag is configured to receive the electromagnetic waves and generate a signal back to the reader assembly with the specific information for the respective nozzle of the plurality of nozzles, (Par. 0066. Examiner’s Note – the element above describes the way a transponder tag and reader communicates by electromagnetic waves. Anderson teaches this element in paragraph 0066 as an RFID and reader. Instant application specification paragraph 0022 teaches: “In various implementations, the transponder tag 30 is a passive radio frequency identification (RFID) tag.”)
wherein the reader assembly is located on the agricultural machine in a location such that each transponder tag is in communication range with the reader assembly when the respective nozzle of the plurality of nozzles is placed into the active position, and (Par. 0066: “The control system 130 can determine a current position of the nozzle holder and the nozzles based on the RFID received from the sensor and determine to adjust the nozzle holder based on the determined position.” Par. 0069. See also Par. 0061 (that teaches that the nozzle holder rotates); Par. 0064 (the system can sense the position of the nozzle holder); and Par. 0066 (that the position may be determined by an RFID); Par. 0074, (the position may be an active position where the nozzle is coupled to a valve). See also Krueger cited in the conclusion section that teaches using an RFID to determine the position of the rotating turret nozzle (Par. 0026); and that one of the nozzles may be positioned in an active position (Par. 0016, 0017, 0022, 0024, and claims 9 and 11.) )
wherein the controller is configured to receive the specific information from the particular transponder tag and identify characteristics of the respective nozzle of the plurality of nozzles. (Par. 0069: “In alternative embodiments of a distribution manifold with sensors, the nozzle holder may comprise electrically conductive sections. For example, a surface of the nozzle holder adjacent to each nozzle may include a unique pattern of electrically conductive material. A probe (sensor) may be positioned adjacent to the valve such that contact with electrically conductive material closes a circuit. The control system 130 can determine a current position of the nozzle holder and the nozzles based on an evaluation of which circuit is closed. In some embodiments, ferrous materials may be incorporated into the nozzle holder at various known locations ( e.g., adjacent to each nozzle) and may be sensed by the probe or another type of electromagnetic sensor.” Examiner’s Note - Par. 0066 teaches that this position of the nozzle holder and the nozzles is determined by an RFID and proximate reader. See also Par. 0073 and 0043.)
Regarding claim 2,
The previously cited references teach the limitations of claim 1 which claim 2 depends. Anderson also teaches that the transponder tag is a passive radio frequency identification tag. (Par. 0022: “In various implementations, the transponder tag 30 is a passive radio frequency identification (RFID) tag.”)
Regarding claim 3,
The previously cited references teach the limitations of claim 1 which claim 3 depends. Anderson also teaches that the controller is configured to store and retrieve data related to specific spraying requirements. (Par. 0006: “The control system is further configured to actuate, based on the plant treatment instruction, the treatment mechanism such that the plants are treated via a nozzle while the nozzle holder is in the treatment position as the farming machine moves past the plants in the field.” Par. 0083: “The control system 130 receives 810 a plant treatment instruction for treating a plant. The plant treatment instruction may include a treatment position for a nozzle holder. The treatment position allows a nozzle of a plurality of nozzles included in the nozzle holder to apply a treatment to the plant. The plant treatment instruction may further include a type of application of treatment fluid, what treatment fluid to apply, and a flow rate for dispensing the treatment fluid.” Par. 0091: “The storage unit 916 includes a machine-readable medium 922 on which is stored instructions 924 (e.g., software) embodying any one or more of the methodologies or functions described herein. For example, the instructions 924 may include the functionalities of modules of the control system 130 described in FIGS. lA-lC, 7 and 8. The instructions 924 may also reside, completely or at least partially, within the main memory 904 or within the processor 902 (e.g., within a processor's cache memory) during execution thereof by the computer system 900.”)
Regarding claim 6,
The previously cited references teach the limitations of claim 1 which claim 6 depends. Anderson also teaches that the specific information includes a nozzle type, a nozzle size, or a spray angle. (Par. 0066: “In alternative embodiments of a distribution manifold with sensors, the nozzle holder may comprise a plurality of unique radio frequency identification (RFID) tags. A unique RFID tag may be positioned adjacent to each nozzle. A sensor (e.g., a stationary RFID reader) may read the unique RFID tags. The sensor may be positioned adjacent to the valve. The sensor may be communicatively coupled to the control system 130 and provide the unique RFID to the control system 130 for further analysis. The control system 130 can determine a current position of the nozzle holder and the nozzles based on the RFID received from the sensor and determine to adjust the nozzle holder based on the determined position.” See also Anderson claim 17 that teaches determine the size of nozzle (nozzle orifice). See also Par. 0075 and 0076 (determine angle and position of nozzle). )
Regarding claim 7,
The previously cited references teach the limitations of claim 1 which claim 7 depends. Anderson also teaches that the reader assembly is located on the stationary portion of the nozzle body and the transponder tag is located on the rotatable nozzle turret. (Par. 0066: “In alternative embodiments of a distribution manifold with sensors, the nozzle holder may comprise a plurality of unique radio frequency identification (RFID) tags. A unique RFID tag may be positioned adjacent to each nozzle. A sensor (e.g., a stationary RFID reader) may read the unique RFID tags. The sensor may be positioned adjacent to the valve.”)
Regarding claim 8,
The previously cited references teach the limitations of claim 1 which claim 8 depends. Anderson also teaches wherein the chassis is configured to be towed. (Par. 0022: “A farming machine that identifies and treats plants may have a variety of configurations, some of which are described in greater detail below. For example, FIG. 1A is an isometric view of a farming machine and FIG. 1B is a top view of the farming machine of FIG. 1A. FIG. 1C is a second embodiment of a farming machine. Other embodiments of a farming machine are also possible. The farming machine 100, illustrated in FIGS. 1A-1C, includes a detection mechanism 110, a treatment mechanism 120, and a control system 130. The farming machine 100 can additionally include a mounting mechanism 140, a verification mechanism 150, a power source, digital memory, communication apparatus, or any other suitable component. The farming machine 100 can include additional or fewer components than described herein. Furthermore, the components of the farming machine 100 can have different or additional functions than described below.” See figure 1C that shows the spray mechanism being towed by a tractor.)
Regarding claims 9 and 10, they are directed to a method of steps to implement the system or apparatuses set forth in claim 1 and 3, respectively. Anderson teaches the claimed system or apparatuses in claims 1 and 3. Therefore, Anderson teaches the method of steps in claims 9 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson in view of Gutsmann et al. (US Patent No. 10,940,497), herein “Gutsmann.”
Regarding claim 4,
The previously cited references teach the limitations of claim 1 which claim 4 depends. Anderson may implicitly teach, but does not explicitly teach adjusting spray settings based on the nozzle being used. However, Gutsmann explicitly teaches that the controller is configured to vary spray settings of the agricultural machine based on the identified nozzle in the active position and the characteristics of identified nozzle, and the specific spraying requirements. (Col. 5, lines 7 – 23: “In one preferred embodiment, the replaceable spray nozzle and the control unit have means which allow the control unit to detect the presence of a spray nozzle and/or the kind of spray nozzle present. For example, it is conceivable that the control unit will only initiate the delivery of the liquids from their containers in the direction of the spray nozzle if a spray nozzle has also been attached. If no spray nozzle is attached, no delivery will occur, e.g. for safety reasons. Furthermore, it is conceivable that the control unit adapts the parameters for the delivery of the liquids to the type of spray nozzle which is present, in order to make possible an optimal spraying outcome. It is conceivable that a spray nozzle requires a minimum pressure of the incoming liquid in order to generate a desired spatial distribution of the spraying liquid. This minimum pressure could be encoded on the spray nozzle in such a way as to be read by the control unit, so that the user need not set such parameters manually.” See also Gutsmann claim 1 (RFID) and
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the agriculture spray system that uses a boom and multiple spray nozzles, wherein the system uses an RFID to identify the nozzle position among the plurality of nozzles as in Anderson with having a mobile spray apparatus wherein a control unit adapts spray parameters based on the detected type of spray nozzle as in Gutsmann in order to have a control unit to detect the kind of spray nozzle and to have “a better grasp of the application” to be more efficient. ( Col. 5, lines 7 – 23 and Col. 2, lines 11 – 16)
Regarding claim 5,
The previously cited references teach the limitations of claim 4 which claim 5 depends. Gutsmann also teaches that the spray settings include one or more of boom height, spray pressure, sprayer speed, and spray drift. (Col. 5, lines 18 – 23: “It is conceivable that a spray nozzle requires a minimum pressure of the incoming liquid in order to generate a desired spatial distribution of the spraying liquid. This minimum pressure could be encoded on the spray nozzle in such a way as to be read by the control unit, so that the user need not set such parameters manually.”)
Regarding claim 11, they are directed to a method of steps to implement the system or apparatuses set forth in claim 4. Anderson and Gutsmann teach the claimed system or apparatuses in claim 4. Therefore, Anderson and Gutsmann teach the method of steps in claim 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kruger et al. (US PG Pub. No. 20170203309) teaches agricultural sprayers can be mounted to a motorized vehicle, such as a farm tractor. (Par. 0003) The system uses RFID chips associated with the spray tip position and properties and this information is input to the controller. (Par. 0026) The controlled requires information of the spray tip may also include the relative starting position (Par. 0025) which is on point with the instant application active position.
Funseth et al. (US PG Pub. No. 20150375247) also teaches a spray system with a boom (figure 1) with multiple nozzles; wherein the system uses an RFID to sense the nozzles spray tip brand and model number. (Par. 0113: “In some embodiments, automation of some of the operational parameters of a nozzle 100 or 300 is possible through, for example, sensing the position of the turret (that is rotated into position either manually or automatically). RFID or other sensing methods are used to sense the nozzle 100 spray tip brand, model number, and other information that are useful for setup. Pulling data about the spray nozzle tips and configurations is also available from a cloud server, wireless transfer, wire transfer, data cards, hand-held devices, or programmed in the equipment itself. User setups could come from “Apps” that are configured for a favorite sequence or use modes. In addition there are Help pages that pull data for advice on use or agronomic recommendations for use in an agricultural or forestry setting.”)
/CHAD G ERDMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116