DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 8 were rejected in Office Action mailed on 04/29/2026.
Applicant filed a response, amended claim(s) 1 and 3, and canceled claims 2 and 4 on 08/25/2026.
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 5-13 are pending, and claim(s) 6-7 and 9-13 are withdrawn.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5 and 8 are rejected.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 5-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,286,607 B2 (patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reasons set forth below.
The present claims require a composition comprising at least one acido-basic neutralising agent for decontaminating an atmosphere contaminated by a corrosive gas, said at least one acido-basic neutralising agent being an amphoteric agent selected from the group consisting of: an amino acid or a salt of an amino acid, a citric acid salt, a phosphoric acid salt, a pyrophosphoric acid salt, an ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid (EDTA) salt, complexed or free, and a carbonate, and said at least one acido-basic having at least 2 pKa’s, wherein: pKa 1 ≤ pKa 2, pKa 1 > 2, pKa 2 < 12, 4 <½* (pKa 1 + pKa 2) < 10, pKa 1 representing the smallest of the basic pKa’s and pKa 2 represents the largest of the acidic pKa’s. The patent/co-pending claims meet all limitations of the present claims.
Specifically, patent recites a decontamination composition comprising at least one secondary neutralizing agent and water (patent, claim 1) (reading upon said composition being in solution form), wherein said secondary neutralizing agent is such as sodium glutamate (patent, claim 3).
Furthermore, given that the patent does not require that the decontamination composition does not require to be formulated as a foam, it is obvious for the decontamination composition to not formulated as a foam.
Given that patent discloses an identical or essentially identical component, i.e., sodium glutamate, with that of the presently claimed (claims 1 and 6), therefore it is clear that the sodium glutamate of patent would necessarily and inherently meet the claimed limitation of said at least one acido-basic having at least 2 pKa’s, wherein:
pKa 1 ≤ pKa 2,
pKa 1 > 2,
pKa 2 < 12
4 <½*(pKa 1 + pKa 2) < 10, pKa 1 representing the smallest of the basic pKa’s and pKa 2 represents the largest of the acidic pKa’s.
Further regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 1, the recitation in the claims that the composition is sprayed directly into the atmosphere contaminated by corrosive gas, is merely an intended use. Applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the intended use recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. Given that patent recites sodium glutamate, as presently claimed, it is clear that the decontamination composition of patent would be capable of performing the intended use, i.e. sprayed directly into the atmosphere contaminated by corrosive gas, presently claimed as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP, and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. US 6,380,130 B1 (patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reasons set forth below.
The present claims require a composition comprising at least one acido-basic neutralising agent for decontaminating an atmosphere contaminated by a corrosive gas, said at least one acido-basic neutralising agent being an amphoteric agent selected from the group consisting of: an amino acid or a salt of an amino acid, a citric acid salt, a phosphoric acid salt, a pyrophosphoric acid salt, an ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid (EDTA) salt, complexed or free, and a carbonate, and said at least one acido-basic having at least 2 pKa’s, wherein: pKa 1 ≤ pKa 2, pKa 1 > 2, pKa 2 < 12, 4 <½* (pKa 1 + pKa 2) < 10, pKa 1 representing the smallest of the basic pKa’s and pKa 2 represents the largest of the acidic pKa’s. The patent/co-pending claims meet all limitations of the present claims.
Specifically, patent recites A product capable of transforming a toxic, corrosive or environmentally harmful liquid product into a non-aggressive or harmless solid residue, comprising:
at least one amphoteric selected from the group consisting of L-histidylhistidine and arginylarginine, having at least two pK values, pK1 being a pK of the amphoteric when it is basic, pK2 being a pK of the amphoteric when it is acidic, said amphoteric being selected in such a way that:
the pH of the residue obtained is within the range of from 5 to 10,
the lowest of the pK2 values of the amphoteric is within the range of from 5 to 10, and the highest pK1 values of the amphoteric is within the range of from 5 to 10, and
the highest of the pK1 values of the amphoteric is lower than the lowest at the pK2 value, which overlap or encompass with the present claimed.
The patent further recites “The product according to claim 1, being in the form of a power, granules or tablets” (patent, claim 8).
Further regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 1, the recitation in the claims that the composition is sprayed directly into the atmosphere contaminated by corrosive gas, is merely an intended use. Applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the intended use recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. Given that patent recite the composition comprising amphoteric, as presently claimed, it is clear that the composition of patent would be capable of performing the intended use, i.e. sprayed directly into the atmosphere contaminated by corrosive gas, presently claimed as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP, and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 3, 5 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,839,850 B2 (patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reasons set forth below.
The present claims require a composition comprising at least one acido-basic neutralising agent for decontaminating an atmosphere contaminated by a corrosive gas, said at least one acido-basic neutralising agent being an amphoteric agent selected from the group consisting of: an amino acid or a salt of an amino acid, a citric acid salt, a phosphoric acid salt, a pyrophosphoric acid salt, an ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid (EDTA) salt, complexed or free, and a carbonate, and said at least one acido-basic having at least 2 pKa’s, wherein: pKa 1 ≤ pKa 2, pKa 1 > 2, pKa 2 < 12, 4 <½* (pKa 1 + pKa 2) < 10, pKa 1 representing the smallest of the basic pKa’s and pKa 2 represents the largest of the acidic pKa’s. The patent/co-pending claims meet all limitations of the present claims.
Specifically, patent recites a composition comprising at least one acido-basic neutralising agent for decontaminating an atmosphere contaminated by a corrosive gas, said at least one acido-basic neutralising agent being a mixture of at least one conjugate base of an acid and of at least one conjugate acid of a base and having at least 2 pKa's, wherein: pKa 1≤pKa 2, pKa 1>2, pKa 2<12−4<½, and (pKa 1+pKa 2)<10, pKa 1 representing the smallest of the basic pKa's and pKa 2 represents the largest of the acidic pKa's, which overlap or encompass with the present claimed.
The patent further recites “wherein said composition is in solution form or in solid form” (patent, claim 5); wherein said composition in solution form or in solid form is formulated as an aerosol (patent, claim 6).
Further regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 1, the recitation in the claims that the composition is sprayed directly into the atmosphere contaminated by corrosive gas, is merely an intended use. Applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the intended use recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. Given that patent recite sodium glutamate, as presently claimed, it is clear that a composition comprising at least one acido-basic neutralising agent of patent would be capable of performing the intended use, i.e. sprayed directly into the atmosphere contaminated by corrosive gas, presently claimed as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP, and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 5-6 and 9-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,040,328 B2 (patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reasons set forth below.
The present claims require a composition comprising at least one acido-basic neutralising agent for decontaminating an atmosphere contaminated by a corrosive gas, said at least one acido-basic neutralising agent being an amphoteric agent selected from the group consisting of: an amino acid or a salt of an amino acid, a citric acid salt, a phosphoric acid salt, a pyrophosphoric acid salt, an ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid (EDTA) salt, complexed or free, and a carbonate, and said at least one acido-basic having at least 2 pKa’s, wherein: pKa 1 ≤ pKa 2, pKa 1 > 2, pKa 2 < 12, 4 <½* (pKa 1 + pKa 2) < 10, pKa 1 representing the smallest of the basic pKa’s and pKa 2 represents the largest of the acidic pKa’s. The patent/co-pending claims meet all limitations of the present claims.
Specifically, patent recites a solid composition (patent, claim 1), wherein the composition further comprising a neutralizing agent chose from among the group such as sodium bicarbonate and sodium glutamate (patent, claim 8).
Given that patent disclose an identical or essentially identical component, i.e., sodium bicarbonate and sodium glutamate, with that of the presently claimed (claims 1, 6 and 9-10), therefore it is clear that the sodium bicarbonate and sodium glutamate of patent would necessarily and inherently meet the claimed limitation of said at least one acido-basic having at least 2 pKa’s, wherein:
pKa 1 ≤ pKa 2,
pKa 1 > 2,
pKa 2 < 12
4 <½*(pKa 1 + pKa 2) < 10, pKa 1 representing the smallest of the basic pKa’s and pKa 2 represents the largest of the acidic pKa’s.
Further regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 1, the recitation in the claims that the composition is sprayed directly into the atmosphere contaminated by corrosive gas, is merely an intended use. Applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the intended use recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. Given that patent recite sodium bicarbonate and sodium glutamate, as presently claimed, it is clear that the solid composition of patent would be capable of performing the intended use, i.e. sprayed directly into the atmosphere contaminated by corrosive gas, presently claimed as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP, and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 5-6 and 9-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. US 10,316,230 B2 (patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reasons set forth below.
The present claims require a composition comprising at least one acido-basic neutralising agent for decontaminating an atmosphere contaminated by a corrosive gas, said at least one acido-basic neutralising agent being an amphoteric agent selected from the group consisting of: an amino acid or a salt of an amino acid, a citric acid salt, a phosphoric acid salt, a pyrophosphoric acid salt, an ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid (EDTA) salt, complexed or free, and a carbonate, and said at least one acido-basic having at least 2 pKa’s, wherein: pKa 1 ≤ pKa 2, pKa 1 > 2, pKa 2 < 12, 4 <½* (pKa 1 + pKa 2) < 10, pKa 1 representing the smallest of the basic pKa’s and pKa 2 represents the largest of the acidic pKa’s. The patent/co-pending claims meet all limitations of the present claims.
Specifically, patent recites a pollution removal composition, comprising at least one texturing mixture which is a mixture of silica gel (which would necessarily would be a solid form, not formulated as a foam) and of an and of an amphoteric texturing agent whose two pKa values, pKa.sub.1 and pKa.sub.2, meet the following conditions: pKa.sub.1<pKa.sub.2, pKa.sub.1>2, pKa.sub.2<12, and 5<(pKa.sub.1+pKa.sub.2)/2<10 (patent, claim 1), wherein the neutralizing agent is such as amino acids and salts thereof (patent, claim 3), wherein the amino acids and salts thereof are such as sodium glutamine (patent, claim 4); and wherein the amino acids and salts thereof are such as sodium bicarbonate (patent, claim 5).
Given that patent disclose an identical or essentially identical component, i.e., sodium bicarbonate and sodium glutamate, with that of the presently claimed (claims 1, 6 and 9-10), therefore it is clear that the sodium bicarbonate and sodium glutamate of patent would necessarily and inherently meet the claimed limitation of said at least one acido-basic having at least 2 pKa’s, wherein:
pKa 1 ≤ pKa 2,
pKa 1 > 2,
pKa 2 < 12
4 <½*(pKa 1 + pKa 2) < 10, pKa 1 representing the smallest of the basic pKa’s and pKa 2 represents the largest of the acidic pKa’s.
Further regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 1, the recitation in the claims that the composition is sprayed directly into the atmosphere contaminated by corrosive gas, is merely an intended use. Applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the intended use recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. Given that patent recite sodium bicarbonate and sodium glutamate, as presently claimed, it is clear that the pollution removal composition of patent would be capable of performing the intended use, i.e. sprayed directly into the atmosphere contaminated by corrosive gas, presently claimed as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP, and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1, line 14, recites a phrase “said composition being in solution form or in solid form, not formulated as a foam”.
However, the specification only provides support for “the composition is sprayed in the form of a solution, in solid form, for example powder, in powder form, in foam form and/or in aerosol form” (specification, [0098]);
“said composition in the form of a solution is formulated in the form of a foam” (specification, [0070]);
“a second reservoir intended to receive the composition in liquid form, connected to a means able to spray the composition in liquid or foam form” (specification, [0116])”.
Therefore, while the specification provides the support that the composition in liquid form, and the composition is sprayed in liquid form or foam form (emphasis added). The specification does not provide support for the composition not formulated as a foam.
Regarding dependent claims 3, 5 and 8, these claims do not remedy the deficiencies of parent claim 1 noted above and are rejected for the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2)as being anticipated by OH et al., US 2016/0213598A1 (OH).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 5 and 8, OH discloses in Table 26, an aerosol styling mousse, comprising Disodium EDTA, propane/butane and water (reading upon at least one acido-basic neutralizing agent being an amphoteric agent) (OH, page 18, Table 26).
OH discloses the composition is bottled propane/butane 4.8 bar in the ratio of active ingredients in an aerosol can with foaming head (OH, [0184]), i.e., the composition is in pressurized liquid form, which is not formulated as a foam, but can be converted to a foam with a foaming head.
Given that OH discloses an identical or essentially identical component, i.e., disodium EDTA, with that of the presently claimed (claims 1 and 8; specification [0040]), therefore it is clear that the disodium EDTA of OH would necessarily and inherently meet the claimed limitation of said at least one acido-basic having at least 2 pKa’s, wherein:
pKa 1 ≤ pKa 2,
pKa 1 > 2,
pKa 2 < 12
4 <½*(pKa 1 + pKa 2) < 10, pKa 1 representing the smallest of the basic pKa’s and pKa 2 represents the largest of the acidic pKa’s.
Furthermore, the recitation in the claims that the composition is for decontaminating an atmosphere contaminated by a corrosive gas, is merely an intended use. Applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the intended use recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. Given that OH discloses composition including disodium EDTA as presently claimed, it is clear that the aerosol styling mousse of OH would be capable of performing the intended use, i.e. for decontaminating an atmosphere contaminated by a corrosive gas, presently claimed as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP, and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Further regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 1, the recitation in the claims that the composition is sprayed directly into the atmosphere contaminated by corrosive gas, is merely an intended use. Applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the intended use recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. Given that OH discloses composition including disodium EDTA as presently claimed, it is clear that the aerosol styling mousse of OH would be capable of performing the intended use, i.e. sprayed directly into the atmosphere contaminated by corrosive gas, presently claimed as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP, and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
In response to the amended claims, the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections are withdrawn. However, the amended necessitates a new set of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection(s) as set forth above.
Applicant primarily argues:
“Regarding Oh, Oh discloses an aerosol styling mousse, which is in the foam formulation. Oh, thus is not relevant to the scope of the instant claims. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully traverses, and requests reconsideration of, the rejections based on Oh.”
Remarks, p. 7
The Examiner respectfully traverses as follows:
Firstly, the amended limitation in claim 1, “said composition being in solution form or in solid form, not formulated as a foam”, is subjected to 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection, as set forth above.
Secondly, OH discloses in Table 26, an aerosol styling mousse, comprising Disodium EDTA, propane/butane and water (reading upon at least one acido-basic neutralizing agent being an amphoteric agent) (OH, page 18, Table 26).
OH discloses the composition is bottled propane/butane 4.8 bar in the ratio of active ingredients in an aerosol can with foaming head (OH, [0184]), i.e., the composition is in pressurized liquid form, which is not formulated as a foam, but can be converted to a foam with a foaming head, as set forth above on page 16.
Applicant further argues:
“In response to the rejections noted as above, Applicant respectfully traverses each rejection. As discussed above, Applicant submits that the composition recited from amended claim 1 has been limited to a composition in a solution form or a solid form, and that the foam form has been excluded from the scope. This feature is not disclosed by any of the cited references.”
Remarks, p. 8
The Examiner respectfully traverses as follows:
Firstly, the amended limitation in claim 1, “said composition being in solution form or in solid form, not formulated as a foam”, is subjected to 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection, as set forth above.
Secondly, the cited references still meet the amended claim 1, as set forth above on pages 4-13.
Therefore, the Examiner has fully considered Applicant’s arguments, but they are found unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KELING ZHANG/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1732