DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 were subject to restriction requirement mailed on 01/02/2026.
Applicant filed a response, and elected Group I, species (a) and (e), claims 1-3, 5 and 8, and withdrew claims 4, 6-7 and 9-13, without traverse on 03/02/2026.
Claims 1-13 are pending, and claims 4, 6-7 and 9-13 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-3, 5 and 8 are rejected.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in FR2000212 on 01/10/2020. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the FR2000212 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,286,607 B2 (patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reasons set forth below.
The present claims require a composition comprising at least one acido-basic neutralising agent for decontaminating an atmosphere contaminated by a corrosive gas, said at least one acido-basic neutralising agent being an amphoteric agent selected from the group consisting of: an amino acid or a salt of an amino acid, a citric acid salt, a phosphoric acid salt, a pyrophosphoric acid salt, an ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid (EDTA) salt, complexed or free, and a carbonate, and said at least one acido-basic having at least 2 pKa’s, wherein: pKa 1 ≤ pKa 2, pKa 1 > 2, pKa 2 < 12, 4 <½* (pKa 1 + pKa 2) < 10, pKa 1 representing the smallest of the basic pKa’s and pKa 2 represents the largest of the acidic pKa’s. The patent/co-pending claims meet all limitations of the present claims.
Specifically, patent recites a decontamination composition comprising at least one secondary neutralizing agent (patent, claim 1), wherein said secondary neutralizing agent is such as sodium glutamate (patent, claim 3).
Given that patent disclose an identical or essentially identical component, i.e., sodium glutamate, with that of the presently claimed (claims 1 and 6), therefore it is clear that the sodium glutamate of patent would necessarily and inherently meet the claimed limitation of said at least one acido-basic having at least 2 pKa’s, wherein:
pKa 1 ≤ pKa 2,
pKa 1 > 2,
pKa 2 < 12
4 <½*(pKa 1 + pKa 2) < 10, pKa 1 representing the smallest of the basic pKa’s and pKa 2 represents the largest of the acidic pKa’s.
Further regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 1, the recitation in the claims that the composition is sprayed directly into the atmosphere contaminated by corrosive gas, is merely an intended use. Applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the intended use recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. Given that patent recites sodium glutamate, as presently claimed, it is clear that the decontamination composition of patent would be capable of performing the intended use, i.e. sprayed directly into the atmosphere contaminated by corrosive gas, presently claimed as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP, and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. US 6,380,130 B1 (patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reasons set forth below.
The present claims require a composition comprising at least one acido-basic neutralising agent for decontaminating an atmosphere contaminated by a corrosive gas, said at least one acido-basic neutralising agent being an amphoteric agent selected from the group consisting of: an amino acid or a salt of an amino acid, a citric acid salt, a phosphoric acid salt, a pyrophosphoric acid salt, an ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid (EDTA) salt, complexed or free, and a carbonate, and said at least one acido-basic having at least 2 pKa’s, wherein: pKa 1 ≤ pKa 2, pKa 1 > 2, pKa 2 < 12, 4 <½* (pKa 1 + pKa 2) < 10, pKa 1 representing the smallest of the basic pKa’s and pKa 2 represents the largest of the acidic pKa’s. The patent/co-pending claims meet all limitations of the present claims.
Specifically, patent recites A product capable of transforming a toxic, corrosive or environmentally harmful liquid product into a non-aggressive or harmless solid residue, comprising:
at least one amphoteric selected from the group consisting of L-histidylhistidine and arginylarginine, having at least two pK values, pK1 being a pK of the amphoteric when it is basic, pK2 being a pK of the amphoteric when it is acidic, said amphoteric being selected in such a way that:
the pH of the residue obtained is within the range of from 5 to 10,
the lowest of the pK2 values of the amphoteric is within the range of from 5 to 10, and the highest pK1 values of the amphoteric is within the range of from 5 to 10, and
the highest of the pK1 values of the amphoteric is lower than the lowest at the pK2 value, which overlap or encompass with the present claimed.
Further regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 1, the recitation in the claims that the composition is sprayed directly into the atmosphere contaminated by corrosive gas, is merely an intended use. Applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the intended use recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. Given that patent recite the composition comprising amphoteric, as presently claimed, it is clear that the composition of patent would be capable of performing the intended use, i.e. sprayed directly into the atmosphere contaminated by corrosive gas, presently claimed as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP, and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Claims 1-5 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,839,850 B2 (patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reasons set forth below.
The present claims require a composition comprising at least one acido-basic neutralising agent for decontaminating an atmosphere contaminated by a corrosive gas, said at least one acido-basic neutralising agent being an amphoteric agent selected from the group consisting of: an amino acid or a salt of an amino acid, a citric acid salt, a phosphoric acid salt, a pyrophosphoric acid salt, an ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid (EDTA) salt, complexed or free, and a carbonate, and said at least one acido-basic having at least 2 pKa’s, wherein: pKa 1 ≤ pKa 2, pKa 1 > 2, pKa 2 < 12, 4 <½* (pKa 1 + pKa 2) < 10, pKa 1 representing the smallest of the basic pKa’s and pKa 2 represents the largest of the acidic pKa’s. The patent/co-pending claims meet all limitations of the present claims.
Specifically, patent recites a composition comprising at least one acido-basic neutralising agent for decontaminating an atmosphere contaminated by a corrosive gas, said at least one acido-basic neutralising agent being a mixture of at least one conjugate base of an acid and of at least one conjugate acid of a base and having at least 2 pKa's, wherein: pKa 1≤pKa 2, pKa 1>2, pKa 2<12−4<½, and (pKa 1+pKa 2)<10, pKa 1 representing the smallest of the basic pKa's and pKa 2 represents the largest of the acidic pKa's, which overlap or encompass with the present claimed.
Further regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 1, the recitation in the claims that the composition is sprayed directly into the atmosphere contaminated by corrosive gas, is merely an intended use. Applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the intended use recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. Given that patent recite sodium glutamate, as presently claimed, it is clear that a composition comprising at least one acido-basic neutralising agent of patent would be capable of performing the intended use, i.e. sprayed directly into the atmosphere contaminated by corrosive gas, presently claimed as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP, and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Claims 1-2, 5-6 and 9-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,040,328 B2 (patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reasons set forth below.
The present claims require a composition comprising at least one acido-basic neutralising agent for decontaminating an atmosphere contaminated by a corrosive gas, said at least one acido-basic neutralising agent being an amphoteric agent selected from the group consisting of: an amino acid or a salt of an amino acid, a citric acid salt, a phosphoric acid salt, a pyrophosphoric acid salt, an ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid (EDTA) salt, complexed or free, and a carbonate, and said at least one acido-basic having at least 2 pKa’s, wherein: pKa 1 ≤ pKa 2, pKa 1 > 2, pKa 2 < 12, 4 <½* (pKa 1 + pKa 2) < 10, pKa 1 representing the smallest of the basic pKa’s and pKa 2 represents the largest of the acidic pKa’s. The patent/co-pending claims meet all limitations of the present claims.
Specifically, patent recites a solid composition (patent, claim 1), wherein the composition further comprising a neutralizing agent chose from among the group such as sodium bicarbonate and sodium glutamate (patent, claim 8).
Given that patent disclose an identical or essentially identical component, i.e., sodium bicarbonate and sodium glutamate, with that of the presently claimed (claims 1, 6 and 9-10), therefore it is clear that the sodium bicarbonate and sodium glutamate of patent would necessarily and inherently meet the claimed limitation of said at least one acido-basic having at least 2 pKa’s, wherein:
pKa 1 ≤ pKa 2,
pKa 1 > 2,
pKa 2 < 12
4 <½*(pKa 1 + pKa 2) < 10, pKa 1 representing the smallest of the basic pKa’s and pKa 2 represents the largest of the acidic pKa’s.
Further regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 1, the recitation in the claims that the composition is sprayed directly into the atmosphere contaminated by corrosive gas, is merely an intended use. Applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the intended use recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. Given that patent recite sodium bicarbonate and sodium glutamate, as presently claimed, it is clear that the solid composition of patent would be capable of performing the intended use, i.e. sprayed directly into the atmosphere contaminated by corrosive gas, presently claimed as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP, and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Claims 1-2, 5-6 and 9-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. US 10,316,230 B2 (patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reasons set forth below.
The present claims require a composition comprising at least one acido-basic neutralising agent for decontaminating an atmosphere contaminated by a corrosive gas, said at least one acido-basic neutralising agent being an amphoteric agent selected from the group consisting of: an amino acid or a salt of an amino acid, a citric acid salt, a phosphoric acid salt, a pyrophosphoric acid salt, an ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid (EDTA) salt, complexed or free, and a carbonate, and said at least one acido-basic having at least 2 pKa’s, wherein: pKa 1 ≤ pKa 2, pKa 1 > 2, pKa 2 < 12, 4 <½* (pKa 1 + pKa 2) < 10, pKa 1 representing the smallest of the basic pKa’s and pKa 2 represents the largest of the acidic pKa’s. The patent/co-pending claims meet all limitations of the present claims.
Specifically, patent recites a pollution removal composition, comprising at least one texturing mixture which is a mixture of silica gel and of an and of an amphoteric texturing agent whose two pKa values, pKa.sub.1 and pKa.sub.2, meet the following conditions: pKa.sub.1<pKa.sub.2, pKa.sub.1>2, pKa.sub.2<12, and 5<(pKa.sub.1+pKa.sub.2)/2<10 (patent, claim 1), wherein the neutralizing agent is such as amino acids and salts thereof (patent, claim 3), wherein the amino acids and salts thereof are such as sodium glutamine (patent, claim 4); and wherein the amino acids and salts thereof are such as sodium bicarbonate (patent, claim 5).
Given that patent disclose an identical or essentially identical component, i.e., sodium bicarbonate and sodium glutamate, with that of the presently claimed (claims 1, 6 and 9-10), therefore it is clear that the sodium bicarbonate and sodium glutamate of patent would necessarily and inherently meet the claimed limitation of said at least one acido-basic having at least 2 pKa’s, wherein:
pKa 1 ≤ pKa 2,
pKa 1 > 2,
pKa 2 < 12
4 <½*(pKa 1 + pKa 2) < 10, pKa 1 representing the smallest of the basic pKa’s and pKa 2 represents the largest of the acidic pKa’s.
Further regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 1, the recitation in the claims that the composition is sprayed directly into the atmosphere contaminated by corrosive gas, is merely an intended use. Applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the intended use recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. Given that patent recite sodium bicarbonate and sodium glutamate, as presently claimed, it is clear that the pollution removal composition of patent would be capable of performing the intended use, i.e. sprayed directly into the atmosphere contaminated by corrosive gas, presently claimed as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP, and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, species (a) and (e), claims 1-3, 5 and 8, in the reply filed on 03/02/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4, 6-7 and 9-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/02/2026.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 8, line 2, recites a phrase “EDTA disodium”. The examiner interprets that the phrase refers to EDTA disodium, complexed or free, i.e., EDTA disodium also includes EDTA-aluminium disodium complex, according to specification [0045], [0049], Example 1, Example 3 and Example 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 10-11, recites “pKa 2<12-4<1/2, and (pKa 1+pKa 2)<10”. However, it is unclear what the phrase refers to. The examiner interprets that the phrase refers to “pKa 2<12, 4<1/2* (pKa 1+pKa 2)<10” according to specification [0033]). Interpretation is speculative. Clarification is requested.
Regarding dependent claims 2-3, 5 and 8, these claims does not remedy the deficiencies of parent claim 1 noted above, and are rejected for the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2)as being anticipated by OH et al., US 2016/0213598A1 (OH).
Regarding claims 1-3, 5 and 8, OH discloses in Table 26, an aerosol styling mousse, comprising Disodium EDTA (reading upon at least one acido-basic neutralizing agent being an amphoteric agent) (OH, page 18, Table 26).
Given that OH disclose an identical or essentially identical component, i.e., disodium EDTA, with that of the presently claimed (claims 1 and 8; specification [0040]), therefore it is clear that the disodium EDTA of OH would necessarily and inherently meet the claimed limitation of said at least one acido-basic having at least 2 pKa’s, wherein:
pKa 1 ≤ pKa 2,
pKa 1 > 2,
pKa 2 < 12
4 <½*(pKa 1 + pKa 2) < 10, pKa 1 representing the smallest of the basic pKa’s and pKa 2 represents the largest of the acidic pKa’s.
Furthermore, the recitation in the claims that the composition is for decontaminating an atmosphere contaminated by a corrosive gas, is merely an intended use. Applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the intended use recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. Given that OH discloses composition including disodium EDTA as presently claimed, it is clear that the aerosol styling mousse of OH would be capable of performing the intended use, i.e. for decontaminating an atmosphere contaminated by a corrosive gas, presently claimed as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP, and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Further regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 1, the recitation in the claims that the composition is sprayed directly into the atmosphere contaminated by corrosive gas, is merely an intended use. Applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the intended use recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. Given that OH discloses composition including disodium EDTA as presently claimed, it is clear that the aerosol styling mousse of OH would be capable of performing the intended use, i.e. sprayed directly into the atmosphere contaminated by corrosive gas, presently claimed as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP, and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/KELING ZHANG/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1732