Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, Specification section, filed 4/16/2026, with respect to the specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the specification has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, 35 U.S.C. §112(a) Rejection section, filed 4/16/2026, with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. §112(a) rejection of claims 1, 8, and 15 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 8-9, and 15-16, regarding the 35 U.S.C.§103 Rejections, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 22-23 objected to because of the following informalities:
The claims do not end with a period (.). Claims must conclude with a period.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-9, 14-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAYAK et al. (US 20200383046 A1, hereinafter, "NAYAK") in view of KUMAR et al. (US 20180309618 A1, hereinafter, "KUMAR").
Regarding claim 1, NAYAK teaches a system configured for managing network resources
(paragraph 0064; figure 4, system: 400), the system comprising:
one or more hardware processors configured by machine-readable instructions (paragraph
0067-0068; figure 4, processor(s): 410, CRM:414) to:
set a connection threshold for a local router, the local router being connected to a network
and a mobile device;
NAYAK writes, “With reference to FIG. 1, the UE device 102 can communicate via the wireless network
104 through a connection 112 with the base station 106, a connection 114 with the base station 108, or
with a connection 116 with the base station 110, which may be implemented as any suitable type or
combination of wireless links” (paragraph 0026). NAYAK adds, “In some aspects, the network connection
parameters 316 are predefined or configured by a wireless network provider to specify or indicate one
or more parameters or thresholds useful by user equipment to acquire a connection with a network cell
or base station of a wireless network” (paragraph 0062). NAYAK notes, “In other cases, a number of
radio link failures is compared with a radio link failure threshold to determine that the connection is
marginal” (paragraph 0076). Illustrated in figure 1, NAYAK provides a glimpse of the wireless network,
including a UE device and a base station. NAYAK explains the network connection parameters are
predefined or configured by a wireless network provider, in certain aspects, that specify one or more
parameters or thresholds used by the UE to acquire a connection with a network cell or base station.
NAYAK mentions that radio link failures[(RLFs)] may be compared to an RLF threshold to determine the
connection, in this instance marginal.
monitor one or more connection parameters for the local router;
NAYAK writes, “The signal detection algorithms 232 can also be directed to radio link failures (RFL)
associated with a connection, network cell, or access point of the network cell. For example, a signal
detection algorithm 232 can monitor a number of RFLs for a connection and compare the number of the
RFLs with a threshold or limit” (e.g., a default value of 3 RFLs) (paragraph 0043). NAYAK indicates a
number of RFLs for a connection can be monitored.
NAYAK fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “in response to a determination that a first connection parameter of the one or more connection parameters satisfies the connection threshold, cause the local router to switch from communicating with the network using a first communication technology to communicate with the network using a second communication technology, wherein the first connection parameter comprises one of data stalls of the local router, disconnection of the local router to an access node, or transmission control protocol (TCP) impairment of the local router;” and “and in response to a determination that a second connection parameter of the one or more connection parameters satisfies the connection threshold, cause the mobile device to switch from connecting to the network using the first communication technology with the local router to connecting to the network using the second communication technology, wherein the second connection parameter comprises one of domain name service (DNS) impairment of the mobile device or disconnection event between the mobile device and the local router.”
However, in analogous art, KUMAR teaches in response to a determination that a first connection parameter of the one or more connection parameters satisfies the connection threshold, cause the local router to switch from communicating with the network using a first communication technology to communicate with the network using a second communication technology, wherein the first connection parameter comprises one of data stalls of the local router, disconnection of the local router to an access node, or transmission control protocol (TCP) impairment of the local router;
KUMAR writes, “The router 114 provides Internet access to the UEs by connecting to the Internet 116 via the primary data connection, such as the primary Internet connection 118, provided by a primary ISP 120, which provides a broadband service such as a cable or DSL connection to the router 114... As more UEs simultaneously access the Internet through the routers 114, 122, and 124, data traffic through the primary ISP 120 may become congested, and the some or all of UEs, connected to the routers 114, 122, and 124, may experience delays in data exchange. If the delays become significant enough, some of services UEs are currently accessing may time out, and some of data may be lost. To avoid such data traffic congestions and delays, the router 114 may also be wirelessly connected to a secondary ISP 126 via a mobile network connection 128 as a secondary data, or Internet, connection. The mobile network connection 128 may be provided by a 4G telecommunication network, a wireless local area network (WLAN) using the Wi-Fi, for example a Wi-Fi hotspot, or any other telecommunication network, capable of supporting data traffic of the router 114” (paragraph 0013). KUMAR adds, “In block 212, the router 114 may determine whether the access to the Internet 116 via the primary ISP 120 has become available, or recovered sufficiently, based on the primary data traffic throughput reaching above a predetermined switch-back threshold. The primary data traffic throughput may be evaluated based on uplink/downlink traffic volume, packet length, a number of remission/retransmission and duration, a number of outstanding transmission control protocol (TCP) handshake sessions, a number of attempts by a network time protocol (NTP) task, and the like. If the router 114 determines that the primary data traffic throughput has not reached the predetermine switch-back threshold, then the router 114 may continue to connect to the Internet 116 via the secondary Internet connection of the mobile network connection 128 provided by the secondary ISP 126, and continue to monitor the accessibility to the Internet 116 via the primary ISP 118 in block 210 by evaluating the primary data traffic throughput via the primary ISP 118” (paragraph 0019). KUMAR indicates the router provides internet access to the UE via a primary ISP connection. If the primary ISP connection becomes congested causing the UEs to experience delays in data exchange, the router may switch to a secondary ISP connection. KUMAR states that “data traffic throughput may be evaluated based on uplink/downlink traffic volume, packet length, a number of remission/retransmission and duration, a number of outstanding transmission control protocol (TCP) handshake sessions, a number of attempts by a network time protocol (NTP) task, and the like. If the router 114 determines that the primary data traffic throughput has not reached the predetermine switch-back threshold, then the router 114 may continue to connect to the Internet 116 via the secondary Internet connection”.
and in response to a determination that a second connection parameter of the one or more connection parameters satisfies the connection threshold, cause the mobile device to switch from connecting to the network using the first communication technology with the local router to connecting to the network using the second communication technology, wherein the second connection parameter comprises one of domain name service (DNS) impairment of the mobile device or disconnection event between the mobile device and the local router.
KUMAR writes, “When the router 114 determines that the access, or connection, to the Internet 116 through the primary ISP 120 is no longer available based on one or more factors, the router 114 may switch over its access to the Internet 116 from the primary ISP 120 to the secondary ISP 126. The one or more factors may include a level of service, or accessibility of the Internet 116, via the primary ISP 120 falling below a predetermined level, which may be evaluated based on a service degradation, such as data traffic congestions, data response delay, and a loss of service” (paragraph 0014). KUMAR indicates that when the router determines that access to the internet through the primary ISP is no longer available based on one or more factors, the router may switch from the primary ISP to the secondary ISP. KUMAR states, “The one or more factors may include a level of service, or accessibility of the Internet 116, via the primary ISP 120 falling below a predetermined level, which may be evaluated based on a service degradation, such as data traffic congestions, data response delay, and a loss of service”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of NAYAK to include aspects described by KUMAR that “are directed to continuously providing Internet connection for user equipment (UE) connected to a router by monitoring availability of a primary data, or Internet, connection provided by a primary Internet service provider (ISP) for the router, upon determining that the primary data connection has become unavailable, switching to a secondary data, or Internet, connection established using a mobile network of a secondary ISP, and upon determining that the primary data connection has become available, switching back to the primary data connection.” KUMAR provides the motivation for modification by providing a solution to re-establish a connection to the internet when "network traffic congestions reach a certain level" to avoid services timing out, and some devices, currently connected or trying to connect, being denied access to the Internet (paragraph 0002).
Regarding claim 2, NAYAK and KUMAR teach the system of claim 1,
Additionally, KUMAR teaches wherein cause the mobile device to switch further comprises causing the mobile device to switch to connecting directly to the network using the second communication technology or to using the second communication technology with the local router to connect with the network.
KUMAR writes, “The router 114 provides Internet access to the UEs by connecting to the Internet 116 via the primary data connection, such as the primary Internet connection 118, provided by a primary ISP 120, which provides a broadband service such as a cable or DSL connection to the router 114... As more UEs simultaneously access the Internet through the routers 114, 122, and 124, data traffic through the primary ISP 120 may become congested, and the some or all of UEs, connected to the routers 114, 122, and 124, may experience delays in data exchange. If the delays become significant enough, some of services UEs are currently accessing may time out, and some of data may be lost. To avoid such data traffic congestions and delays, the router 114 may also be wirelessly connected to a secondary ISP 126 via a mobile network connection 128 as a secondary data, or Internet, connection. The mobile network connection 128 may be provided by a 4G telecommunication network, a wireless local area network (WLAN) using the Wi-Fi, for example a Wi-Fi hotspot, or any other telecommunication network, capable of supporting data traffic of the router 114” (paragraph 0013). KUMAR indicates the router provides internet access to the UE via a primary ISP connection. If the primary ISP connection becomes congested causing the UEs to experience delays in data exchange, the router may switch to a secondary ISP connection.
Claims 8-9 and 14-16 are method and memory claims corresponding to apparatus claims 1-2
that have already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1-
2. Claims 8-9 and 14-16 are rejected under the same rational as claims 1-2.
Regarding claim 18, NAYAK and KUMAR teach the computer-readable storage medium of claim 15,
Additionally, NAYAK teaches wherein the first connection parameter comprises one data stalls of the local router when connected to the network, reconnection of the local router to an access node or transmission control protocol impairment of the local router.
NAYAK writes, “The signal detection algorithms 232 can also be directed to radio link failures (RFL)
associated with a connection, network cell, or access point of the network cell. For example, a signal
detection algorithm 232 can monitor a number of RFLs for a connection and compare the number of the
RFLs with a threshold or limit” (e.g., a default value of 3 RFLs) (paragraph 0043). NAYAK indicates a
number of RFLs for a connection can be monitored. RFLs may include connection drops leading to data
stalls.
Claim(s) 3, 6, 10, 13, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAYAK and KUMAR as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of JEON et al. (US 20200221373 A1, hereinafter, "JEON").
Regarding claim 3, NAYAK and KUMAR teach the system of claim 1,
NAYAK and KUMAR fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the first
communication technology is 5G standalone and the second communication technology is 5G non -
standalone.”
However, in analogous art, JEON teaches wherein the first communication technology is 5G
standalone and the second communication technology is 5G non-standalone.
JEON writes, “Depending on the network type, the term “base station” or “BS” can refer to any
component (or collection of components) configured to provide wireless access to a network, such as
transmit point (TP), transmit-receive point (TRP), an enhanced base station (eNodeB or eNB), a 5G base
station (gNB), a macrocell, a femtocell, a WiFi access point (AP), or other wirelessly enabled devices.
Base stations may provide wireless access in accordance with one or more wireless communication
protocols, e.g., 5G 3GPP new radio interface/access (NR), long term evolution (LTE), LTE advanced (LTE-
A), high speed packet access (HSPA), Wi-Fi 802.11a/b/g/n/ac, etc” (paragraph 0047). JEON adds,
“Hardware capability information field may include information regarding the hardware capabilities of
the mesh BS, such as support for multi-band transmission, for e.g., support of sub 6 GHz frequencies for
a mesh network operating at mm-wave/THz frequencies or vice-versa (e.g., standalone, non-standalone
mode of operation), transmission power of the BS, BS antenna height, number of spatial streams
supported/available, or remaining battery life for the transmitting BS for the case of a battery operated
mesh BSs” (paragraph 0119). JEON defines the term base station (BS) may refer to a transmit point (TP),
transmit-receive point (TRP), an enhanced base station (eNodeB or eNB), a 5G base station (gNB), a
macrocell, a femtocell, a WiFi access point (AP), or other wirelessly enabled devices. The base stations,
JEON informs the reader, may provide wireless access in accordance with one or more wireless
communication protocols, e.g., 5G 3GPP new radio interface/access (NR), long term evolution (LTE), LTE
advanced (LTE-A), high speed packet access (HSPA), Wi-Fi 802.11a/b/g/n/ac, etc. JEON expounds that
regarding the hardware capabilities of the mesh BS, such as support for multi-band transmission
including standalone and non-standalone mode of operation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of NAYAK and KUMAR to include aspects
described by JEON that “relates generally to wireless communication systems, more specifically, the
present disclosure relates to neighbor discovery and wireless inter-connection in an advanced wireless
communication system.” JEON provides the motivation for modification stating, “Increasing the
deployment density of BSs is a way to increase data throughputs, via spatial reuse of frequencies. In
fact, such spatial reuse has been one of the main contributors for increase in system throughput since
the early days of cellular communication. While improving spatial reuse, a dense BS deployment may be
inevitable at millimeter wave (mm-wave) and terahertz (THz) frequencies to improve coverage, by
compensating for the pathloss and blockage” (paragraph 0087). JEON notes, “An effective way to
“unleash” the BS deployment from fiber and provide improved coverage and better deployment density
without additional expensive fiber deployment, is by using wireless backhaul for the BSs. To be most
effective, such BSs may be capable of establishing one or more backhaul paths to the fiber network,
with each path encompassing one or more wireless links...” (paragraphs 0090).
Regarding claim 6, NAYAK and KUMAR teach the system of claim 1,
NAYAK and KUMAR fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the first
communication technology is Wi-Fi and the second communication technology is 5G non-standalone
or 5G standalone.”
However, in analogous art, JEON teaches wherein the first communication technology is Wi-Fi
and the second communication technology is 5G non-standalone or 5G standalone.
JEON writes, “Depending on the network type, the term “base station” or “BS” can refer to any
component (or collection of components) configured to provide wireless access to a network, such as
transmit point (TP), transmit-receive point (TRP), an enhanced base station (eNodeB or eNB), a 5G base
station (gNB), a macrocell, a femtocell, a WiFi access point (AP), or other wirelessly enabled devices.
Base stations may provide wireless access in accordance with one or more wireless communication
protocols, e.g., 5G 3GPP new radio interface/access (NR), long term evolution (LTE), LTE advanced (LTE-
A), high speed packet access (HSPA), Wi-Fi 802.11a/b/g/n/ac, etc” (paragraph 0047). JEON adds,
“Hardware capability information field may include information regarding the hardware capabilities of
the mesh BS, such as support for multi-band transmission, for e.g., support of sub 6 GHz frequencies for
a mesh network operating at mm-wave/THz frequencies or vice-versa (e.g., standalone, non-standalone
mode of operation), transmission power of the BS, BS antenna height, number of spatial streams
supported/available, or remaining battery life for the transmitting BS for the case of a battery operated
mesh BSs” (paragraph 0119). JEON defines the term base station (BS) may refer to a transmit point (TP),
transmit-receive point (TRP), an enhanced base station (eNodeB or eNB), a 5G base station (gNB), a
macrocell, a femtocell, a WiFi access point (AP), or other wirelessly enabled devices. The base stations,
JEON informs the reader, may provide wireless access in accordance with one or more wireless
communication protocols, e.g., 5G 3GPP new radio interface/access (NR), long term evolution (LTE), LTE
advanced (LTE-A), high speed packet access (HSPA), Wi-Fi 802.11a/b/g/n/ac, etc. JEON expounds that
regarding the hardware capabilities of the mesh BS, such as support for multi-band transmission
including standalone and non-standalone mode of operation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of NAYAK and KUMAR to include aspects
described by JEON that “relates generally to wireless communication systems, more specifically, the
present disclosure relates to neighbor discovery and wireless inter-connection in an advanced wireless
communication system.” JEON provides the motivation for modification stating, “Increasing the
deployment density of BSs is a way to increase data throughputs, via spatial reuse of frequencies. In
fact, such spatial reuse has been one of the main contributors for increase in system throughput since
the early days of cellular communication. While improving spatial reuse, a dense BS deployment may be
inevitable at millimeter wave (mm-wave) and terahertz (THz) frequencies to improve coverage, by
compensating for the pathloss and blockage” (paragraph 0087). JEON notes, “An effective way to
“unleash” the BS deployment from fiber and provide improved coverage and better deployment density
without additional expensive fiber deployment, is by using wireless backhaul for the BSs. To be most
effective, such BSs may be capable of establishing one or more backhaul paths to the fiber network,
with each path encompassing one or more wireless links...” (paragraphs 0090).
Claims 10, 13, 17, and 20 are method and memory claims corresponding to apparatus claims 3 and 6 that have already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 3 and 6. Claims 10, 13, 17, and 20 are rejected under the same rational as claims 3 and 6.
Claim(s) 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAYAK and KUMAR as applied to claims 1, 9, and 15 above, and further in view of TANG et al. (US 20100098034 A1, hereinafter, "TANG").
Regarding claim 21, NAYAK and KUMAR teach the system of claim 1,
NAYAK and KUMAR fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the local router is a fixed wireless access (FWA) home internet (HINT) router.”
However, in analogous art, TANG teaches wherein the local router is a fixed wireless access (FWA) home internet (HINT) router.
TANG writes, “An illustrative communication system 100 is shown in FIG. 1. The communication system 100 supports Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN) communications within one or more WLAN service areas. In this example two broadband wireless routers 102 and 104 are provided, each of which supplies WLAN communications for a different WLAN service area” (paragraph 0024; figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of NAYAK and KUMAR to include aspects described by TANG that “relates generally to wireless communications and more particularly to a wireless router that processes traffic in a wireless local area network (WLAN).” TANG provides the motivation for modification stating, “Increasing the deployment density of BSs is a way to increase data throughputs, via spatial reuse of frequencies. In fact, such spatial reuse has been one of the main contributors for increase in system throughput since the early days of cellular communication. While improving spatial reuse, a dense BS deployment may be inevitable at millimeter wave (mm-wave) and terahertz (THz) frequencies to improve coverage, by compensating for the pathloss and blockage” (paragraph 0087). JEON notes, “An effective way to “unleash” the BS deployment from fiber and provide improved coverage and better deployment density without additional expensive fiber deployment, is by using wireless backhaul for the BSs. To be most effective, such BSs may be capable of establishing one or more backhaul paths to the fiber network, with each path encompassing one or more wireless links...” (paragraphs 0090).
Claims 22-23 are method and memory claims corresponding to apparatus claim 21 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 21. Claims 22-23 are rejected under the same rational as claim 21.
Claims 4-5, 7, 11-12, and 19 have been cancelled by the applicant, respectfully.
Conclusion
/Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2475 9/11/2026
/ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2475