DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 30, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicants’ assertion-“Liu, therefore, does not disclose "sending first information to a network device, wherein the first information includes or indicates a power index corresponding to the second power," as recited in claim 1” (See Page 8, Paragraph 7 in Applicants’ remarks)- Liu teaches sending first information to a network device (the SRS, which is power controlled (See Section 0026, formula 00004), is transmitted to the eNB). Nam teaches the at least one parameter is the index of the power (Section 0126, SRS offset power index), and wherein the first information comprises or indicates a power index corresponding to the second power (Section 0126, SRS offset power index, which is corresponds to or is associated with the SRS power). The combination of Liu and Nam teaches sending first information to a network device, wherein the first information includes or indicates a power index corresponding to the second power.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 6 – 8, 11 – 13, 16 – 18, 21 – 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2018/0376430) in view of Nam et al. (US 2013/0077569).
Regarding Claim 1, Liu teaches a power control method performed by a terminal device or a chip in a terminal device, comprising: determining a second power from at least one power based on a first power of a first reference signal (power of SRS (PsubSRSc) (See Sections 0025, 0026, formula 00004) is the second power, max power PsubcMAXc is the at least one power based on a first power of the SRS (see Section 0026, formula 00004)), wherein there is a correspondence between the at least one power and at least one parameter (the SRS, which is power controlled (See Section 0026, formula 00004), is transmitted using PRBs (Section 0012), which are the parameters thus there will be a correspondence between the power of the SRS and said PRB); and sending the first reference signal based on the second power (the SRS is power controlled (Sections 0025, 0026, formula 00004)); sending first information to a network device (the SRS, which is power controlled (See Section 0026, formula 00004), is transmitted to the eNB).
Liu does not teach wherein there is a correspondence between the at least one power and at least one power index; sending first information to a network device, wherein the first information includes or indicates a power index corresponding to the second power.
Nam, which also teaches the use of SRSs, teaches wherein there is a correspondence between the at least one power and at least one power index (Section 0126, SRS offset power index, which is corresponds to or is associated with the SRS power), the first information includes or indicates a power index corresponding to the second power (Section 0126, SRS offset power index, which is corresponds to or is associated with the SRS power).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu with the above features of Nam for the purpose of providing enhanced coverage for cell edge users, which is a benefit of a cooperative multi-point (CoMP) system (google search string “benefits of a coordinated multi-point system”). The combination of Liu and Nam teaches sending/send first information to a network device, wherein the first information comprises or indicates a power index corresponding to the second power.
Regarding Claim 6, Liu teaches a power control method performed by a network device or a chip in a network device, comprising: receiving a first reference signal (the SRS is power controlled and is transmitted on the uplink by the UE to a network entity such as a base station or eNB (Section 0025, 0026, formula 00004)); receiving first information from a terminal device (the SRS, which is power controlled (See Section 0026, formula 00004), is transmitted to the eNB); determining the second power of the first reference signal, wherein the second power is one of at least one power (power of SRS (PsubSRSc) (See Sections 0025, 0026, formula 00004) is the second power, max power PsubcMAXc is the at least one power based on a first power of the SRS (see Section 0026, formula 00004), when the eNB receives the SRS at a particular power on the uplink said particular power will be detected or determined by said eNB), and there is a correspondence between the at least one power and at least one parameter (the SRS, which is power controlled (See Section 0026, formula 00004), is transmitted using PRBs (Section 0012), which are the parameters thus there will be a correspondence between the power of the SRS and said PRB).
Liu does not teach wherein the first information includes or indicates a power index corresponding to a second power, determining the second power of the first reference signal based on the power index corresponding to the second power, and there is a correspondence between the at least one power and at least one power index.
Nam, which also teaches the use of SRSs, teaches wherein the first information includes or indicates a power index corresponding to a second power (Section 0126, SRS offset power index, which corresponds to or is associated with the SRS power), and there is a correspondence between the at least one power and at least one power index (Section 0126, SRS offset power index, which is corresponds to or is associated with the SRS power).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu with the above features of Nam for the purpose of providing enhanced coverage for cell edge users, which is a benefit of a cooperative multi-point (CoMP) system (google search string “benefits of a coordinated multi-point system”). The combination of Liu and Nam teaches receiving first information from a terminal device wherein the first information includes or indicates a power index corresponding to a second power and determining the second power of the first reference signal based on the power index corresponding to the second power.
Regarding Claim 11, Liu teaches a power control apparatus being a terminal device or a chip in a terminal device, comprising: one or more processors; and a memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured cause the power control apparatus to: determine a second power from at least one power based on a first power of a first reference signal (power of SRS (PsubSRSc) (See Sections 0025, 0026, formula 00004) is the second power, max power PsubcMAXc is the at least one power based on a first power of the SRS (see Section 0026, formula 00004), typical UEs comprise memory that stores executable code run by processors of said UEs), wherein there is a correspondence between the at least one power and at least one parameter (the SRS, which is power controlled (See Section 0026, formula 00004), is transmitted using PRBs (Section 0012), which are the parameters thus there will be a correspondence between the power of the SRS and said PRB); and send the first reference signal based on the second power (the SRS is power controlled (Sections 0025, 0026, formula 00004)); and send first information to a network device (the SRS, which is power controlled (See Section 0026, formula 00004), is transmitted to the eNB).
Liu does not teach wherein there is a correspondence between the at least one power and at least one power index; sending first information to a network device, wherein the first information includes or indicates a power index corresponding to the second power.
Nam, which also teaches the use of SRSs, teaches wherein there is a correspondence between the at least one power and at least one power index (Section 0126, SRS offset power index, which is corresponds to or is associated with the SRS power), the first information includes or indicates a power index corresponding to the second power (Section 0126, SRS offset power index, which is corresponds to or is associated with the SRS power).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu with the above features of Nam for the purpose of providing enhanced coverage for cell edge users, which is a benefit of a cooperative multi-point (CoMP) system (google search string “benefits of a coordinated multi-point system”). The combination of Liu and Nam teaches sending/send first information to a network device, wherein the first information comprises or indicates a power index corresponding to the second power.
Regarding Claim 16, Liu teaches a power control apparatus being a network device or a chip in a network device comprising: one or more processors; and a memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured cause the power control apparatus to: receive a first reference signal (the SRS is power controlled and is transmitted on the uplink by the UE to a network entity such as a base station or eNB (Section 0025, 0026, formula 00004), typical base stations comprise memory that stores executable code run by processors of said base stations); receiving first information from a terminal device (the SRS, which is power controlled (See Section 0026, formula 00004), is transmitted to the eNB) and determine the second power of the first reference signal, wherein the second power is one of at least one power (power of SRS (PsubSRSc) (See Sections 0025, 0026, formula 00004) is the second power, max power PsubcMAXc is the at least one power based on a first power of the SRS (see Section 0026, formula 00004), when the eNB receives the SRS at a particular power on the uplink said particular power will be detected or determined by said eNB), and there is a correspondence between the at least one power and at least one parameter (the SRS, which is power controlled (See Section 0026, formula 00004), is transmitted using PRBs (Section 0012), which are the parameters thus there will be a correspondence between the power of the SRS and said PRB).
Liu does not teach wherein the first information includes or indicates a power index corresponding to a second power, determining the second power of the first reference signal based on the power index corresponding to the second power, and there is a correspondence between the at least one power and at least one power index.
Nam, which also teaches the use of SRSs, teaches wherein the first information includes or indicates a power index corresponding to a second power (Section 0126, SRS offset power index, which corresponds to or is associated with the SRS power), and there is a correspondence between the at least one power and at least one power index (Section 0126, SRS offset power index, which is corresponds to or is associated with the SRS power).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu with the above features of Nam for the purpose of providing enhanced coverage for cell edge users, which is a benefit of a cooperative multi-point (CoMP) system (google search string “benefits of a coordinated multi-point system”). The combination of Liu and Nam teaches receiving first information from a terminal device wherein the first information includes or indicates a power index corresponding to a second power and determining the second power of the first reference signal based on the power index corresponding to the second power.
Regarding Claims 2, 7, 12, 17, Liu combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 6, 11, 16. Liu further teaches wherein there is a correspondence between the at least one power and at least one of at least one reference signal time-frequency resource and at least one reference signal sequence (Section 0012, PRB is a time-frequency resource, PLEASE NOTE: Examiner has interpreted this claims as disjunctive based on Section 0016 of Applicants’ specification).
Regarding Claims 3, 8, 13, 18, Liu combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 2, 7, 12, 17. Liu further teaches the sending the first reference signal based on the second power comprises: sending, based on the second power, the first reference signal on a time-frequency resource corresponding to the second power (the SRS, which is power controlled (See Section 0026, formula 00004), is transmitted using PRBs (Section 0012))/the determining a second power of the first reference signal comprises/the power control apparatus is further caused to: determining/determine a power corresponding to a time-frequency resource of the first reference signal as the second power (the SRS, which is power controlled (See Section 0026, formula 00004), is transmitted using PRBs (Section 0012)).
Regarding Claims 21, 24, 25, 28, Liu combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 23, 11, 27. Liu further teaches wherein the first power is a power determined based on a first power control parameter (max power PsubcMAXc (see Section 0026, formula 00004) is the first power control parameter).
Regarding Claims 22, 23, 26, 27, Liu combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 6, 11, 16. Liu further teaches wherein the second power is a minimum power of one or more powers that are greater than or equal to the first power and that are of the at least one power; the second power is a maximum power of one or more powers that are less than or equal to the first power and that are of the at least one power; or the second power is a power that has a smallest deviation from the first power and that is of the at least one power (power of SRS (PsubSRSc) (See Sections 0025, 0026, formula 00004) is the second power, said second power can be a variety of values thus rendering a scenario wherein said second power is a power that has a smallest deviation from the first power and that is of the at least one power) 23. (New) The power control method according to claim 6, wherein the second power is a minimum power of one or more powers that are greater than or equal to a first power and that are of the at least one power; the second power is a maximum power of one or more powers that are less than or equal to a first power and that are of the at least one power; or the second power is a power that has a smallest deviation from a first power and that is of the at least one power. 24. (New) The power control method according to claim 23, wherein the first power is a power determined based on a first power control parameter.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAYMOND S DEAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 Raymond S. Dean
January 13, 2026