DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 2, FIG. 5B, Claims 1-6 and 13-16 in the reply filed on 07/15/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/15/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSUSHIMA et al. (US PG Pub 2015/0249312 A1, 07/24/23 IDS) in view of JP2005172056A (hereafter JP’056).
Regarding claim 1, TSUSHIMA discloses a bearing apparatus (FIGS. 3-4) for use in an environment where a fluorine gas exists ([0032]), comprising:
a magnetic bearing (100, FIG. 3, [0072]) comprising a magnetic member (100a, FIG. 3, [0072]) and an electromagnetic coil (100b, FIG. 3, [0072]); and
a touchdown bearing (110, FIG. 3, [0072]) for protecting the magnetic bearing, wherein the touchdown bearing comprises an inner ring (113, FIG. 4, [0077]), an outer ring (114, FIG. 4, [0077]), and plural rolling members (116, FIG. 4, [0077]) arranged between the inner ring and the outer ring.
TSUSHIMA does not disclose the inner ring and the outer ring in the touchdown bearing are constructed by using a NiCrAl alloy.
JP’056 discloses a non-magnetic rolling bearing (FIG. 1) comprising an inner ring (1, FIG. 1) and an outer ring (2, FIG. 1), wherein each of the inner and outer rings are formed of a Ni-Cr-Al alloy in order to obtain sufficient durability life and low dusting characteristics with low cost (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inner ring and the outer ring of TSUSHIMA with being made of a NiCrAl alloy as taught by JP’056 in order to obtain sufficient durability life and low dusting characteristics with low cost.
Regarding claim 3, TSUSHIMA discloses the plural rolling members are constructed by using ceramic material ([0083]).
Regarding claim 4, TSUSHIMA, as modified, discloses the content of Ni in the NiCrAl alloy is equal to or greater than 50 weight percent (Due to Cr at 30% to 45% and Al at 1.5% to 5%, Ni is at 50% to 68.5%, see abstract of JP’056).
Regarding claim 5, TSUSHIMA, as modified, discloses the content of Cr in the NiCrAl alloy is equal to or greater than 30 weight percent (Cr at 30% to 45%, see abstract of JP’056).
Regarding claim 6, TSUSHIMA, as modified, discloses the content of Al in the NiCrAl alloy is equal to or greater than 3 weight percent (Al at 1.5% to 5%, see abstract of JP’056).
Regarding claim 13, TSUSHIMA discloses a laser apparatus (260, FIG. 1, [0044]) comprising:
a chamber (10, FIG. 1, [0044]) in which a laser gas including a fluorine gas is enclosed ([0032]), wherein the chamber comprises
a fan (80, FIG. 1, [0046]) for circulating the laser gas,
a pair of discharge electrodes (20/21, FIG. 1, [0045]) for making the laser gas discharge, and windows (60/61, FIG. 1, [0045]) arranged to allow laser light to pass through them; and
a bearing apparatus (FIGS. 3-4) configured to support the fan, wherein the bearing apparatus comprises
a magnetic bearing (100, FIG. 3, [0072]) comprising a magnetic member (100a, FIG. 3, [0072]) and an electromagnetic coil (100b, FIG. 3, [0072]), and
a touchdown bearing (110, FIG. 3, [0072]) for protecting the magnetic bearing, wherein the touchdown bearing comprises an inner ring (113, FIG. 4, [0077]), an outer ring (114, FIG. 4, [0077]), and plural rolling members (116, FIG. 4, [0077]) arranged between the inner ring and the outer ring, wherein
the inner ring and the outer ring are plated by Ni or coated by ceramic material (115, FIG. 4, [0077]-[0078]).
TSUSHIMA does not disclose the inner ring and the outer ring in the touchdown bearing are constructed by using a NiCrAl alloy.
JP’056 discloses a non-magnetic rolling bearing (FIG. 1) comprising an inner ring (1, FIG. 1) and an outer ring (2, FIG. 1), wherein each of the inner and outer rings are formed of a Ni-Cr-Al alloy in order to obtain sufficient durability life and low dusting characteristics with low cost (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inner ring and the outer ring of TSUSHIMA with being made of a NiCrAl alloy as taught by JP’056 in order to obtain sufficient durability life and low dusting characteristics with low cost.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSUSHIMA et al. and JP’056 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP2005214254A (hereafter JP’254).
Regarding claim 2, the combination has disclosed the plural rolling members outlined in the rejection to claim 1 above except the plural rolling members are constructed by using a NiCrAl alloy. JP’254 discloses a rolling bearing comprising an inner ring, an outer ring, and balls that are made of an alloy of chromium, aluminum and nickel in order to obtain an outstanding durability and corrosion resistance effectively (see abstract). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plural rolling members of the combination with being made of a NiCrAl alloy as taught by JP’254 in order to obtain an outstanding durability and corrosion resistance effectively.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSUSHIMA et al. and JP’056 as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of JP H07301241A (hereafter JP’241).
Regarding claim 14, the combination has disclosed rolling contact surfaces of the inner ring and the outer ring being plated by Ni outlined in the rejection to claim 13 above except surfaces other than rolling contact surfaces of the inner ring and the outer ring are plated by Ni or coated by ceramic material. JP’241 discloses a bearing (FIG. 1) comprising an inner wheel (1, FIG. 1), an outer wheel (2, FIG. 1), and a roller (3, FIG. 1), wherein all surfaces of the inner wheel, the outer wheel, and the roller are plated by Ni (5, FIG. 1, see abstract) in order to improve the anticorrosive property of the bearing. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the touchdown bearing with plating non rolling contact surfaces of the inner ring and the outer ring with Ni as taught by JP’241 in order to improve the anticorrosive property of the bearing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is allowed.
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nara et al. (US Patent 6,577,664 B1, 07/24/23 IDS) discloses an excimer laser comprising a bearing apparatus similar to the claimed invention (see FIGS. 1-3).
/YUANDA ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828