DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control nodes for controlling a magnetic bearing”, “control node controlling at least one different servo axis…”, and “synchronization module…generating…” in Claim 1; “clocking…using one of the two control nodes…” in Claim 2; and “synchronization module configured to generate…” in Claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As indicated above, the claim limitation “control nodes for controlling a magnetic bearing” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Applicant’s drawings do not show, nor does the specification recite, any particular structure for performing the claimed function. Rather, the language of the claims is simply repeated with no further description. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
As indicated above, the claim limitation “control node controlling at least one different servo axis…” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Applicant’s drawings do not show, nor does the specification recite, any particular structure for performing the claimed function. Rather, the language of the claims is simply repeated with no further description. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
As indicated above, the claim limitation “synchronization module…generating…” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Applicant’s drawings do not show, nor does the specification recite, any particular structure for performing the claimed function. Rather, the language of the claims is simply repeated with no further description. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
As indicated above, the claim limitation “clocking…using one of the two control nodes…” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Applicant’s drawings do not show, nor does the specification recite, any particular structure for performing the claimed function. Rather, the language of the claims is simply repeated with no further description. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
As indicated above, the claim limitation “synchronization module configured to generate…” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Applicant’s drawings do not show, nor does the specification recite, any particular structure for performing the claimed function. Rather, the language of the claims is simply repeated with no further description. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Dependent claims inherit the indefiniteness of their parent claims and are rejected under the same reasoning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Number 6,351,048 to Schob et al. (“Schob”).
In reference to Claim 1, Schob discloses a method for synchronizing (See Column 16 Lines 12-19) at least two identical control nodes (See Figure 11 Numbers 5A and 5B) for controlling a magnetic bearing (See Figure 11 Number 3, Column 1 Lines 20-46, and Column 6 Line 55 – Column 7 Line 10) connected by a two-way serial data bus (See Figure 1 ‘BUS’ and Column 16 Lines 8-19), with each control node controlling at least one different servo axis of the magnetic bearing (See Column 15 Lines 1-4 and 28-59), the method comprising: generating synchronization information (See Figure 13 5MHz_A and 5MHz_B, Column 16 Lines 12-19, and Column 17 Lines 63-67); a synchronization module (See Figure 13 sens_sync and Column 17 Lines 63-67) of each control node generating a synchronization signal upon receipt of the synchronization information (See Figure 13 5MHz_sens and Column 17 Lines 63-67); synchronizing at least one internal clock of each control node with the synchronization signal so that the control of all the axes by said control nodes is synchronous (See Figure 13 312kHz and Column 17 Line 63 - Column 18 Line 15).
In reference to Claim 2, Schob discloses the limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Schob further discloses clocking the two-way serial data bus using one of the two control nodes (See Figure 11 Number 5a and Column 18 Lines 2-5), with the internal clock comprising a communication clock, the bus being clocked by the communication clock of the said one control node (See Column 18 Lines 2-18).
In reference to Claim 3, Schob discloses the limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Schob further discloses that the internal clock comprises a control clock (See Figure 13 ‘5MHz_A’ and Column 18 Lines 10-15), a power clock (See Figure 13 ‘10MHz_A’ and Column 18 Lines 19-24), a measurement clock (See Figure 13 ‘312kHz’ and Column 17 Line 67 – Column 18 Line 2), each control node comprises a control module comprising the control clock (See Figure 13 ‘5MHz_A’ and Column 18 Lines 10-15), the power clock (See Figure 13 ‘10MHz_A’ and Column 18 Lines 19-24), the measurement clock (See Figure 13 ‘312kHz’ and Column 17 Line 67 – Column 18 Line 2), and a power converter (See Figure 1 Number 41, Figure 11 Number 4a and Column 15 Lines 36-46) connected to a set of coils of the servo axis (See Figure 1 Numbers 6 and 7 and Column 7 Lines 21-27), the method comprising synchronizing the control clock, the power clock and the measurement clock with the synchronization signal (See Column 16 Lines 12-19, Column 17 Lines 63-67, and Column 18 Lines 2-15 and 30-33 [all of the clocks are divided versions of the same input clock, and are thus synchronized with each other]), controlling the power converter on the basis of data exchanged on the two-way serial data bus and of measurements taken by at least one sensor of the magnetic bearing (See Column 15 Lines 28-59 and Column 16 Lines 12-19), the control module being clocked by the control clock (See Column 18 Lines 10-15), the power converter and the sensor being clocked by the power clock (See Column 18 Lines 19-24) and the measurement clock (See Column 17 Line 67 – Column 18 Line 2), respectively.
In reference to Claim 4, Schob discloses the limitations as applied to Claim 3 above. Schob further discloses that the frequencies of the control clock signal delivered by the control clock, of the power clock signal delivered by the power clock and of the measurement clock signal delivered by the measurement clock are each a multiple of the synchronization signal (See Column 17 Line 63 – Column 18 Line 15).
In reference to Claim 5, Schob discloses the limitations as applied to Claim 2 above. Schob further discloses that the internal clock comprises a control clock (See Figure 13 ‘5MHz_A’ and Column 18 Lines 10-15), a power clock (See Figure 13 ‘10MHz_A’ and Column 18 Lines 19-24), a measurement clock (See Figure 13 ‘312kHz’ and Column 17 Line 67 – Column 18 Line 2), each control node comprises a control module comprising the control clock (See Figure 13 ‘5MHz_A’ and Column 18 Lines 10-15), the power clock (See Figure 13 ‘10MHz_A’ and Column 18 Lines 19-24), the measurement clock (See Figure 13 ‘312kHz’ and Column 17 Line 67 – Column 18 Line 2), and a power converter (See Figure 1 Number 41, Figure 11 Number 4a and Column 15 Lines 36-46) connected to a set of coils of the servo axis (See Figure 1 Numbers 6 and 7 and Column 7 Lines 21-27), the method comprising synchronizing the control clock, the power clock and the measurement clock with the synchronization signal (See Column 16 Lines 12-19, Column 17 Lines 63-67, and Column 18 Lines 2-15 and 30-33 [all of the clocks are divided versions of the same input clock, and are thus synchronized with each other]), controlling the power converter on the basis of data exchanged on the two-way serial data bus and of measurements taken by at least one sensor of the magnetic bearing (See Column 15 Lines 28-59 and Column 16 Lines 12-19), the control module being clocked by the control clock (See Column 18 Lines 10-15), the power converter and the sensor being clocked by the power clock (See Column 18 Lines 19-24) and the measurement clock (See Column 17 Line 67 – Column 18 Line 2), respectively.
In reference to Claim 6, Schob discloses the limitations as applied to Claim 5 above. Schob further discloses that the frequencies of the control clock signal delivered by the control clock, of the power clock signal delivered by the power clock and of the measurement clock signal delivered by the measurement clock are each a multiple of the synchronization signal (See Column 17 Line 63 – Column 18 Line 15).
In reference to Claim 7, Schob discloses a control node (See Figure 11 Numbers 5a or 5b) for controlling a magnetic bearing (See Figure 11 Number 3, Column 1 Lines 20-46, and Column 6 Line 55 – Column 7 Line 10) configured to control a servo axis of the bearing (See Column 15 Lines 1-4 and 28-59), the control node comprising: a synchronization module configured to generate a synchronization signal (See Figure 13 5MHz_sens and Column 17 Lines 63-67) upon receipt of synchronization information (See Figure 13 5MHz_A and 5MHz_B, Column 16 Lines 12-19, and Column 17 Lines 63-67); and at least one internal clock configured to be synchronized with the synchronization signal (See Figure 13 312kHz Column 17 Line 63 - Column 18 Line 15).
In reference to Claim 8, Schob discloses the limitations as applied to Claim 7 above. Schob further discloses that the internal clock comprises a control clock (See Figure 13 ‘5MHz_A’ and Column 18 Lines 10-15), a measurement clock (See Figure 13 ‘312kHz’ and Column 17 Line 67 – Column 18 Line 2), and a power clock (See Figure 13 ‘10MHz_A’ and Column 18 Lines 19-24), the control node further comprising a control module comprising the control clock (See Figure 13 ‘5MHz_A’ and Column 18 Lines 10-15), the power clock (See Figure 13 ‘10MHz_A’ and Column 18 Lines 19-24), and the measurement clock (See Figure 13 ‘312kHz’ and Column 17 Line 67 – Column 18 Line 2) configured to be synchronized with the synchronization signal (See Column 16 Lines 12-19, Column 17 Lines 63-67, and Column 18 Lines 2-15 and 30-33 [all of the clocks are divided versions of the same input clock, and are thus synchronized with each other]), and comprising a power converter (See Figure 1 Number 41, Figure 11 Number 4a and Column 15 Lines 36-46) configured to control a set of coils of the servo axis (See Figure 1 Numbers 6 and 7 and Column 7 Lines 21-27) on the basis of data exchanged on a two-way serial data bus (See Figure 1 ‘BUS’ and Column 16 Lines 8-19) and of measurements taken by at least one sensor of the magnetic bearing (See Column 15 Lines 28-59 and Column 16 Lines 12-19), the control clock, the power clock, and the measurement clock being respectively configured to clock the control module (See Column 18 Lines 10-15), the converter (See Column 18 Lines 19-24), and the sensor (See Column 17 Line 67 – Column 18 Line 2).
In reference to Claim 9, Schob discloses the limitations as applied to Claim 8 above. Schob further discloses that the internal clock comprises a communication clock configured to clock the two-way serial data bus intended to connect said control node to another identical control node (See Column 18 Lines 2-18).
In reference to Claim 10, Schob discloses the limitations as applied to Claim 9 above. Schob further discloses a control system for a magnetic bearing (See Figure 11 Number 3, Column 1 Lines 20-46, and Column 6 Line 55 – Column 7 Line 10) comprising at least one servo axis (See Column 15 Lines 1-4 and 28-59) comprising a set of coils (See Figure 1 Numbers 6 and 7 and Column 7 Lines 21-27), a sensor of the magnetic bearing (See Column 15 Lines 28-59 and Column 16 Lines 12-19), and at least a first control node according to claim 8 (See Figure 11 Number 5a) connected to a two-way serial data bus (See Figure 1 ‘BUS’ and Column 16 Lines 8-19), the power converter of the control module being connected to the set of coils (See Column 15 Lines 36-46 and Column 7 Lines 21-27), and the sensor of the magnetic bearing being connected to the control module (See Column 15 Lines 28-59 and Column 16 Lines 12-19).
In reference to Claim 11, Schob discloses the limitations as applied to Claim 10 above. Schob further discloses a second servo axis (See Column 15 Lines 1-4 and 28-59) comprising a second set of coils (See Figure 1 Numbers 6 and 7 and Column 7 Lines 21-27), a second sensor of the magnetic bearing (See Column 15 Lines 28-59 and Column 16 Lines 12-19), and a second control node according to claim 8 (See Figure 11 Number 5b) connected to the two-way serial data bus (See Figure 1 ‘BUS’ and Column 16 Lines 8-19), the power converter of the control module of the second control node being connected to the second set of coils (See Column 15 Lines 36-46 and Column 7 Lines 21-27), and the second sensor of the magnetic bearing being connected to the control module of the second control node (See Column 15 Lines 28-59 and Column 16 Lines 12-19).
In reference to Claim 12, Schob discloses the limitations as applied to Claim 9 above. Schob further discloses a control system for a magnetic bearing (See Figure 11 Number 3, Column 1 Lines 20-46, and Column 6 Line 55 – Column 7 Line 10) comprising at least one servo axis (See Column 15 Lines 1-4 and 28-59) comprising a set of coils (See Figure 1 Numbers 6 and 7 and Column 7 Lines 21-27), a sensor of the magnetic bearing (See Column 15 Lines 28-59 and Column 16 Lines 12-19), and at least a first control node according to claim 9 (See Figure 11 Number 5a) connected to a two-way serial data bus (See Figure 1 ‘BUS’ and Column 16 Lines 8-19), the power converter of the control module being connected to the set of coils (See Column 15 Lines 36-46 and Column 7 Lines 21-27), and the sensor of the magnetic bearing being connected to the control module (See Column 15 Lines 28-59 and Column 16 Lines 12-19).
In reference to Claim 13, Schob discloses the limitations as applied to Claim 12 above. Schob further discloses a second servo axis (See Column 15 Lines 1-4 and 28-59) comprising a second set of coils (See Figure 1 Numbers 6 and 7 and Column 7 Lines 21-27), a second sensor of the magnetic bearing (See Column 15 Lines 28-59 and Column 16 Lines 12-19), and a second control node according to claim 9 (See Figure 11 Number 5b) connected to the two-way serial data bus (See Figure 1 ‘BUS’ and Column 16 Lines 8-19), the power converter of the control module of the second node being connected to the second set of coils (See Column 15 Lines 36-46 and Column 7 Lines 21-27), and the second sensor of the magnetic bearing being connected to the control module of the second control node (See Column 15 Lines 28-59 and Column 16 Lines 12-19).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication Number 2014/0212312 to Kozaki et al. (“Kozaki”).
In reference to Claim 7, Kozaki discloses a control node (See Figure 2 Number 44) for controlling a magnetic bearing (See Figure 2 Number 45 and Paragraph 38) configured to control a servo axis of the bearing (See Paragraphs 37-40), the control node comprising: a synchronization module (See Figure 11 Frequency Divider Circuit 1 PWM Frequency and Paragraph 83) configured to generate a synchronization signal (See Figure 11 Output of Frequency Divider Circuit 1 PWM Frequency and Paragraph 83) upon receipt of synchronization information (See Figure 11 Output of Oscillating Clock for PWM Duty and Paragraph 83); and at least one internal clock configured to be synchronized with the synchronization signal (See Figure 1 fs and fc and Paragraph 83).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0324043 to Wang et al. (“Wang”) and US Patent Number 5,760,510 to Nomura et al. (“Nomura”).
In reference to Claim 1, Wang discloses a method for synchronizing (See Paragraph 131) at least two identical nodes (See Paragraph 128 [station for each motion axis]) connected by a two-way serial data bus (See Paragraph 127 [listed bus protocols are all two-way serial data buses]), with each node controlling at least one different servo axis (See Paragraph 128), the method comprising: generating synchronization information (See Paragraph 128 [distribution clock]); a synchronization module of each control node generating a synchronization signal upon receipt of the synchronization information (See Paragraph 129); synchronizing at least one internal clock of each node with the synchronization signal so that the control of all the axes by said nodes is synchronous (See Paragraphs 129 and 131). However, Wang does not explicitly disclose that the nodes are for controlling a magnetic bearing. Nomura discloses at least two identical nodes (See Figure 2 Number 30 and Column 6 Lines 12-19) for controlling a magnetic bearing (See Figure 1 Numbers 3a-3d, Figure 2 Numbers 3a-3b, Column 3 Line 52 – Column 4 Line 10, and Column 4 Lines 39-45) connected by a two-way data bus (See Figure 2 Number 22, Column 5 Lines 28-30, and Column 6 Lines 12-19), with each node controlling at least one different servo axis of the magnetic bearing (See Column 6 Lines 12-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the magnetic bearing control system of Nomura using the node synchronization of Wang, resulting in the invention of Claim 1, in order to yield the predictable result of ensuring that each axis control node is highly synchronized with each other by enabling each to obtain absolute system time with tiny phase difference (See Paragraphs 128 and 131 of Wang), and thus allowing for the multiple axes to synchronously update without taking the complexity of the clock for the actual servo system on the axis into consideration (See Paragraph 130 of Wang).
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the synchronization system of Wang using the magnetic bearing of Nomura as the controlled device, resulting in the invention of Claim 1, in order to yield the predictable result of inhibiting displacement of a rotor during rotation by magnetically levitating it to support it without contact (See Column 1 Lines 5-12 of Nomura).
In reference to Claim 2, Wang and Nomura disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Wang further discloses clocking the two-way serial data bus using a master node formed by one of the two nodes (See Paragraph 128), with the internal clock comprising a communication clock, the bus being clocked by the communication clock of the master node (See Paragraphs 127 and 129).
In reference to Claim 7, Wang discloses a control node (See Paragraph 128 [station for each motion axis]) configured to control a servo axis (See Paragraph 128), the control node comprising: a synchronization module configured to generate a synchronization signal upon receipt of synchronization information (See Paragraph 128); and at least one internal clock configured to be synchronized with the synchronization signal (See Paragraphs 129 and 131).
In reference to Claim 14, Wang and Nomura disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Wang further discloses that the synchronization information is native to an intrinsic communication protocol of the two-way serial data bus, and wherein periodic exchanges on the two-way serial data bus are the source of the synchronization information (See Paragraphs 129 and 131).
In reference to Claim 15, Wang and Nomura disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Wang further discloses that the synchronization information is native to an intrinsic communication protocol of a two-way serial data bus, and wherein periodic exchanges on the two-way serial data bus are the source of the synchronization information (See Paragraph 127 [listed bus protocols are all two-way serial data buses] and Paragraphs 129 and 131).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has argued that the term “control node” is a commonly used term in the art as a name for structure (See Pages 6-7). However, the single reference provided by Applicant is not sufficient to show that the term is commonly used as a name for structure. As indicated above, the three-prong test is used to determine whether a claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Because the term “control node” uses the nonce term “node” as a generic placeholder for performing the claimed control function (Prong A), is modified by the functional language “control” (Prong B), and is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C), it meets the three-prong test and is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
The Examiner notes that amending the claims to recite a “controller” instead of a “control node” would likely be sufficient to avoid an interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
.
Applicant has argued that the term “synchronization module” is a commonly used term in the art as a name for structure (See Pages 6-7). However, the single reference provided by Applicant is not sufficient to show that the term is commonly used as a name for structure. As indicated above, the three-prong test is used to determine whether a claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Because the term “synchronization module” uses the nonce term “module” as a generic placeholder for performing the claimed control function (Prong A), is modified by the functional language “synchronization” (Prong B), and is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C), it meets the three-prong test and is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
The Examiner notes that amending the claims to recite a “synchronizer” instead of a “synchronization module” would likely be sufficient to avoid an interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Applicant has argued that Schob does not disclose synchronizing at least one internal clock of each node with the synchronization signal, or at least one internal clock configured to be synchronized with the synchronization signal (See Page 8). In response, the Examiner notes that Schob discloses generating synchronization information (See Figure 13 5MHz_A and 5MHz_B), generating a synchronization signal upon receipt of the synchronization information (See Figure 13 5MHz_sens and Column 17 Lines 63-67), and synchronizing at least one internal clock of each control node with the synchronization signal s (See Figure 13 312kHz and Column 17 Line 63 - Column 18 Line 15). The 312kHz clock signal of Schob is an internal clock. Thus, Schob discloses the aforementioned limitations.
Applicant has argued that Kozaki does not disclose a synchronization module configured to generate a synchronization signal (See Page 9). In response, the Examiner notes that Kozaki discloses a synchronization module (See Figure 11 Frequency Divider Circuit 1 PWM Frequency and Paragraph 83) configured to generate a synchronization signal (See Figure 11 Output of Frequency Divider Circuit 1 PWM Frequency and Paragraph 83) upon receipt of synchronization information (See Figure 11 Output of Oscillating Clock for PWM Duty and Paragraph 83); and at least one internal clock configured to be synchronized with the synchronization signal (See Figure 1 fs and fc and Paragraph 83). As admitted by Applicant, the clocks in Kozaki are all inherently synchronized (See Page 9). Thus, the action of dividing the synchronization signal by elements 4202 and 4203 necessarily synchronizes the internal clocks fs and fc with the synchronization signal.
Applicant has argued that there would be no motivation to add Wang’s synchronization to a system that already has synchronization (See Pages 9-10). In response, the Examiner notes that the combination does not rely on simply adding synchronization to Nomura’s system that already has synchronization. Rather, as indicated in the above rejections, the combination is based upon adding the improved node synchronization of Wang to the system of Nomura, and doing so would yield the predictable result of ensuring that each axis control node is highly synchronized with each other by enabling each to obtain absolute system time with tiny phase difference (See Paragraphs 128 and 131 of Wang).
Applicant has argued that Wang is directed to controlling servo motors for machine tools and does not have or need magnetic bearings such as those of Nomura (See Pages 9-10). In response, the Examiner notes that Wang is not limited as to the particular devices being controlled (See Paragraph 170), and the use of the magnetic bearings of Nomura would have yielded the predictable result of inhibiting displacement of a rotor during rotation by magnetically levitating it to support it without contact (See Column 1 Lines 5-12 of Nomura). The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Number 11,962,258 to Turpault and US Patent Number 7,561,698 to Stratton were referenced by Applicant in the arguments filed 14 April 2026 (See Pages 6-7), but were not submitted. It is noted that US Patent Number 7,561,698 does not have Stratton as an inventor, and does not appear to disclose the information referenced by Applicant. The Examiner believes that the intended citation was US Patent Number 7,561,598. As a courtesy to Applicant, the Examiner has cited these references on the attached PTO-892 to make them of record.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS J. CLEARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175