DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The official correspondence below is a first action non-final on an RCE.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3, 10, and 19 have been amended.
Claims 21-22 have been introduced.
Claims 8 and 17 have been canceled.
Claims 1-7, 9-16, and 18-22 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 10, 12-16, 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khatwa (US 20090189787 A1) Pearson (US 20190025054 A1) Conroy (US 20070271009 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 1, Khatwa discloses, a control unit (Khatwa: [FIG. 1(12)]) having a user interface (Khatwa: [0003] Current aircraft display systems comprise multiple cockpit displays, including a primary flight display (PFD). A graphical display is generated on the PFD that visually expresses the status of various flight parameters, including airspeed, heading, attitude, vertical speed, roll, altitude, and the like. The PFD thus serves to increase a pilot's situational awareness by visually expressing a relatively large amount of information on a single composite display. One of the various graphical elements produced on the PFD is an altimeter graphic, which visually expresses the aircraft's altitude as estimated by the barometric altimeter. The altimeter graphic may assume the form of, for example, a metered altitude tape graphic that appears to scroll vertically upward or downward as the aircraft's altitude decreases or increases, respectively. The visual display generated on the PFD may also include a graphic (e.g., textual readout) indicating the current value of the reference pressure setting; [0013] A barometric altimeter 14 is operatively coupled to a first input of controller 12. Barometric altimeter 14 estimates the flight altitude of the aircraft on which PFD system 10 is deployed as a function of external air pressure calibrated to a reference pressure. To permit a pilot to adjust the reference pressure), the control unit configured to: compare (Khatwa: [0006] comparing the first estimated altitude to the second estimated altitude) first QNHI data received from a first QNHI data source (Khatwa: [0006] The method includes the steps of providing a first estimated altitude utilizing the barometric altimeter device, providing a second estimated altitude utilizing the secondary altitude-determining device, and comparing the first estimated altitude to the second estimated altitude), second QNHI data received from a second QNHI data source (Khatwa: [0006] The method includes the steps of providing a first estimated altitude utilizing the barometric altimeter device, providing a second estimated altitude utilizing the secondary altitude-determining device, and comparing the first estimated altitude to the second estimated altitude) that differs from the first QNHI data source (Khatwa: [0006] The method includes the steps of providing a first estimated altitude utilizing the barometric altimeter device, providing a second estimated altitude utilizing the secondary altitude-determining device, and comparing the first estimated altitude to the second estimated altitude), and a QNHI input entered into an avionics system of an aircraft (Khatwa: [0002] A pilot or other crew member is able to set the value of the reference pressure utilizing a rotatable knob or other such input device. When the aircraft is located beneath the transition altitude (e.g., 18,000 feet above sea level within the United States), the pilot enters a reference pressure setting corresponding to the aircraft's true height above mean sea level. This pressure setting may be provided by an Air Traffic Control Center, a Terminal Radar Approach Control Facility, a Flight Service Station, a control tower, or other such ground-based navigational facility as a QNH or QFE code. When the aircraft ascends above the transition altitude, the pilot adjusts the reference pressure setting to the globally-fixed pressure datum of 1013.25 mbar or 29.921 inches Hg. This practice ensures that flight systems deployed on aircraft flying above the transition altitude are calibrated to a universal reference pressure setting; [0013] To permit a pilot to adjust the reference pressure, barometric altimeter 14 is equipped with a reference pressure setting input 16, which may assume the form of, for example, a rotatable knob), and output, at the user interface, an alert signal (Khatwa: [0006] A method is also provided for alerting a pilot of an aircraft to the mis-setting of a reference pressure setting associated with a barometric altimeter deployed on the aircraft, which includes a secondary altitude-determining device and a primary flight display (PFD). The method includes the steps of providing a first estimated altitude utilizing the barometric altimeter device, providing a second estimated altitude utilizing the secondary altitude-determining device, and comparing the first estimated altitude to the second estimated altitude. A visual alert is generated on the PFD when the difference between first estimated altitude and the second estimated altitude exceeds a predetermined error threshold) in response to the QNH input differing from one or both of the first QNHI data or the second QNHI data (Khatwa: [0006] A method is also provided for alerting a pilot of an aircraft to the mis-setting of a reference pressure setting associated with a barometric altimeter deployed on the aircraft, which includes a secondary altitude-determining device and a primary flight display (PFD). The method includes the steps of providing a first estimated altitude utilizing the barometric altimeter device, providing a second estimated altitude utilizing the secondary altitude-determining device, and comparing the first estimated altitude to the second estimated altitude. A visual alert is generated on the PFD when the difference between first estimated altitude and the second estimated altitude exceeds a predetermined error threshold; [0020-0022] The visual alert may be produced in a graphical format and/or a textual format. In a basic embodiment, controller 12 identifies the occurrence of a reference pressure mis-set by determining if the difference between the estimated altitude provided by barometric altimeter 14 and that provided by secondary altitude-determining device 22 exceeds a predetermined error threshold).
Khatwa does not explicitly recite the terminology first and second “QNH”. However, Khatwa discloses a first and second altitude determining devices. Which, the examiner respectfully submits, is parallel in service and result for determining aircraft altitude.
Khatwa does not explicitly disclose, the first QNH data, second QNH data, and QNH input are received concurrently.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pearson discloses, the first QNH data, second QNH data, and QNH input are received concurrently (Pearson: [ABS]; [0021] FIG. 2 shows a flowchart of a method of combining two altitude sources 200, in accordance with various embodiments. The method 200 comprises receiving a first input altitude 220, receiving a second input altitude 230, calculating an estimated altitude 240 based on the first input altitude and second input altitude, outputting the calculated altitude 250, transmitting the output altitude 260, and displaying the output altitude 270. The second input altitude 230 may be received before, or concurrently with, the first input altitude 220), for the benefit of combining different altimeter advantages for increased accuracy over a large altitude range.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Khatwa to include combining elements as taught by Pearson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to combining different altimeter advantages for increased accuracy over a large altitude range.
Khatwa, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, automatically operate the aircraft based on a comparison of the first QNH data, the second QNH data, and the QNH input.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Conroy discloses, automatically operate the aircraft based on a comparison of the first QNH data, the second QNH data, and the QNH input (Conroy: [0069] automatically receive and calculate flight parameters, including recognition of oxygen dispensing systems installed in the using aircraft to automatically incorporate the appropriate dispensing system; [0092] a decrease in aircraft altitude, necessitating a connection with the aircraft autopilot; [0107] specifically the aircraft autopilot, such that the aircraft altitude may be reduced to a predetermined level), for the benefit of a logic device calculating a value of further flight parameter and provides the value of the further flight parameter and adjusting aircraft altitude.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Khatwa to include automatic operations as taught by Conroy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to a logic device calculating a value of further flight parameter and provides the value of the further flight parameter and adjusting aircraft altitude.
REGARDING CLAIM 3, Khatwa, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, Khatwa also discloses, the user interface has a display within the aircraft (Khatwa: [0014] A Primary Flight Display (PFD)), wherein the control unit is further configured to show information regarding the alert signal on the display of the user interface (Khatwa: [0016] During flight, EICAS display 20 provides a centralized display area for the generation of various flight deck alerts).
REGARDING CLAIM 4, Khatwa, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 3. Further, Khatwa also discloses, the information includes the first QNH data (Khatwa: [0013] A barometric altimeter 14 is operatively coupled to a first input of controller 12. Barometric altimeter 14 estimates the flight altitude of the aircraft on which PFD system), the second QNH data (Khatwa: [0017] PFD system 10 further includes a secondary altitude-determining device 22. Secondary altitude-determining device 22 can comprise any device capable of providing controller 12 with a second, independent estimation of aircraft altitude), and the QNH input (Khatwa: [0013] To permit a pilot to adjust the reference pressure, barometric altimeter 14 is equipped with a reference pressure setting input).
REGARDING CLAIM 5, Khatwa, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 3, and further, Khatwa also discloses, the information includes a prompt to review and re-enter the QNH input into the avionics system (Khatwa: [0013] a pilot utilizes reference pressure setting input 16 to adjust the reference pressure setting at various intervals during flight (e.g., when the host aircraft ascends above or descends below the transition altitude); [0004] It is thus desirable to provide an aircraft display system that is capable of detecting and alerting a pilot to a potential altimeter mis-set. In particular, it would be desirable for such a display system to produce a visual alert on the aircraft's PFD, preferably proximate the altimeter graphics, so as to provide the pilot with an effective and intuitive notification of the altimeter mis-set).
REGARDING CLAIM 6, Khatwa, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Khatwa also discloses, the aircraft includes the control unit (Khatwa: [FIG. 1(12)]).
REGARDING CLAIM 7, Khatwa, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1,and further, Khatwa also discloses, the first QNH data source is an Automatic Terminal Information Service (ATIS) (Khatwa: [0013] A barometric altimeter 14 is operatively coupled to a first input of controller 12), and wherein the second QNH data source is air traffic control (ATC) (Khatwa: [0002] the pilot enters a reference pressure setting corresponding to the aircraft's true height above mean sea level. This pressure setting may be provided by an Air Traffic Control Center, a Terminal Radar Approach Control Facility, a Flight Service Station, a control tower, or other such ground-based navigational facility as a QNH or QFE code; [0017] altitude-determining device 22 may comprise a wireless receiver configured to estimate aircraft altitude utilizing data provided from a remote (e.g., ground-based) source, such as an Air Traffic Control Center, a Terminal Radar Approach Control Facility, a Flight Service Station, or a control tower).
REGARDING CLAIM 10, Khatwa discloses, comparing, by a control unit, first QNH data received from a first QNH data source (Khatwa: [0006]), second QNH data received from a second QNH data source that differs from the first QNH data source (Khatwa: [0006]), and a QNH input entered into an avionics system of an aircraft (Khatwa: [0002]; [0013]); and outputting, by the control unit at a user interface, an alert signal in response to the QNH input differing from one or both of the first QNH data or the second QNH data (Khatwa: [0006]; [0020-0022]).
Khatwa does not explicitly disclose, the first QNH data, second QNH data, and QNH input are received concurrently.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pearson discloses, the first QNH data, second QNH data, and QNH input are received concurrently (Pearson: [ABS]; [0021]), for the benefit of combining different altimeter advantages for increased accuracy over a large altitude range.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Khatwa to include combining elements as taught by Pearson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to combining different altimeter advantages for increased accuracy over a large altitude range.
Khatwa, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, automatically operate the aircraft based on a comparison of the first QNH data, the second QNH data, and the QNH input.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Conroy discloses, automatically operate the aircraft based on a comparison of the first QNH data, the second QNH data, and the QNH input (Conroy: [0069]; [0092]; [0107]), for the benefit of a logic device calculating a value of further flight parameter and provides the value of the further flight parameter and adjusting aircraft altitude.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Khatwa to include automatic operations as taught by Conroy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to a logic device calculating a value of further flight parameter and provides the value of the further flight parameter and adjusting aircraft altitude.
REGARDING CLAIM 12, Khatwa, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 10, and further, Khatwa also discloses, showing, by the control unit on a display of a user interface within the aircraft, information regarding the alert signal (Khatwa: [0014]; [0016]).
REGARDING CLAIM 13, Khatwa, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 12, and further, Khatwa also discloses, the information includes the first QNH data, the second QNH data, and the QNH input (Khatwa: [0013]; [0017]).
REGARDING CLAIM 14, Khatwa, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 12, and further, Khatwa also discloses, said showing comprises prompting a review and re-entry of the QNH input into the avionics system (Khatwa: [0013]; [0004]).
REGARDING CLAIM 15, Khatwa, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 10, and further, Khatwa also discloses, the aircraft includes the control unit (Khatwa: [FIG. 1(12)]).
REGARDING CLAIM 16, Khatwa, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 10, and further, Khatwa also discloses, the first QNH data source is an Automatic Terminal Information Service (ATIS), and wherein the second QNH data source is air traffic control (ATC) (Khatwa: [0002]; [0013]; [0017]).
REGARDING CLAIM 19, Khatwa discloses, comparing first QNH data received from a first QNH data source (Khatwa: [0006]), second QNH data received from a second QNH data source (Khatwa: [0006]) that differs from the first QNH data source (Khatwa: [0006]), and a QNH input entered into an avionics system of an aircraft (Khatwa: [0002]; [0013]); outputting an alert signal in response to the QNH input differing from one or both of the first QNH data or the second QNH data (Khatwa: [0006]; [0020-0022]).
Khatwa does not explicitly disclose, the first QNH data, second QNH data, and QNH input are received concurrently.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pearson discloses, the first QNH data, second QNH data, and QNH input are received concurrently (Pearson: [ABS]; [0021]), for the benefit of combining different altimeter advantages for increased accuracy over a large altitude range.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Khatwa to include combining elements as taught by Pearson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to combining different altimeter advantages for increased accuracy over a large altitude range.
Khatwa, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, automatically operate the aircraft based on a comparison of the first QNH data, the second QNH data, and the QNH input.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Conroy discloses, automatically operate the aircraft based on a comparison of the first QNH data, the second QNH data, and the QNH input (Conroy: [0069]; [0092]; [0107]), for the benefit of a logic device calculating a value of further flight parameter and provides the value of the further flight parameter and adjusting aircraft altitude.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Khatwa to include automatic operations as taught by Conroy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to a logic device calculating a value of further flight parameter and provides the value of the further flight parameter and adjusting aircraft altitude.
REGARDING CLAIM 20, Khatwa, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 19, and further, Khatwa also discloses, the first QNH data source is an Automatic Terminal Information Service (ATIS), and wherein the second QNH data source is air traffic control (ATC) (Khatwa: [0002]; [0013]; [0017]).
REGARDING CLAIM 21, Khatwa, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 19. Further, Khatwa also discloses, a processor (Khatwa: [0012] controller 12 may include, or cooperate with, any number of software programs (e.g., avionics display programs) or instructions designed to carry out the various methods, process tasks, calculations, and display functions described herein), to further perform operations comprising: prompting a review and re-entry of the QNH input into the avionics system (Khatwa: [ABS] a visual alert on the PFD when the difference between the first estimated altitude and the second estimated altitude exceeds a predetermined error threshold; [0020] the reference pressure setting of barometric altimeter 14 should typically be adjusted at various times during flight (e.g., when the aircraft ascends above or descends below the transition altitude). PFD system 10 helps to ensure that an accurate reference pressure is maintained by altering the pilot, and other crew members, to potential reference pressure mis-sets; [0022]).
Alternatively, and in the same field of endeavor, Conroy discloses, a processor, to further perform operations comprising: prompting a review and re-entry of the QNH input into the avionics system (Conroy: [0069] The device then prompts the user for missing parameters), for the benefit of a logic device calculating a value of further flight parameter and provides the value of the further flight parameter and adjusting aircraft altitude.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Khatwa to include input review as taught by Conroy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to a logic device calculating a value of further flight parameter and provides the value of the further flight parameter and adjusting aircraft altitude.
REGARDING CLAIM 22, Khatwa, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 19. Further, Khatwa also discloses, the first QNH data source is an Automatic Terminal Information Service (ATIS) (Khatwa: [ABS] A primary flight display system is provided for deployment on an aircraft including a barometric altimeter and a secondary altitude-determining device. The barometric altimeter provides a first estimated altitude; [0017] altitude-determining device 22 may comprise a wireless receiver configured to estimate aircraft altitude utilizing data provided from a remote (e.g., ground-based) source, such as an Air Traffic Control Center, a Terminal Radar Approach Control Facility, a Flight Service Station, or a control tower), and wherein the second QNH data source is air traffic control (ATC) (Khatwa: [0002] This pressure setting may be provided by an Air Traffic Control Center, a Terminal Radar Approach Control Facility, a Flight Service Station, a control tower, or other such ground-based navigational facility as a QNH or QFE code).
Claim(s) 2 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khatwa (US 20090189787 A1) in view of Pearson (US 20190025054 A1) in further view of Conroy (US 20070271009 A1)as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Bell (US 8410975 B1).
REGARDING CLAIM 2, Khatwa, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Khatwa discloses a notification when inputs do not match. Which is parallel in service and result (Khatwa: [ABS] a visual alert on the PFD when the difference between the first estimated altitude and the second estimated altitude exceeds a predetermined error threshold).
Further, in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (mpep 2144.01). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation … a change in form, proportions, or degree “will not sustain a patent” … It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions (mpep 2144.05.II.A).
However, in the alternative, and in the same field of endeavor, Bell discloses, output a confirmation signal in response to the QNH input matching both the first QNH data and the second QNH data (Bell: [ABS] a first measurement of aircraft altitude is generated. Then, the processor receives second altitude data representative of a second measurement of aircraft altitude from another source. Validity of the second altitude data may be determined by comparing it with the first data, after which validity advisory data may be generated that, is responsive to the validity determination. Then, the processor may provide the validity advisory data to a presentation system, whereby validity information of the second altitude data is presented to the pilot), for the benefit of validating control data.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Khatwa to include data validation taught by Bell. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to validate control data.
REGARDING CLAIM 11, Khatwa, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1 . Further, Khatwa discloses a notification when inputs do not match. Which is parallel in service and result (Khatwa: [ABS]).
Further, in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (mpep 2144.01). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation … a change in form, proportions, or degree “will not sustain a patent” … It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions (mpep 2144.05.II.A).
However, in the alternative, and in the same field of endeavor, Bell discloses, output a confirmation signal in response to the QNH input matching both the first QNH data and the second QNH data (Bell: [ABS]), for the benefit of validating control data.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Khatwa to include data validation taught by Bell. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to validate control data.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khatwa (US 20090189787 A1) in view of Pearson (US 20190025054 A1) and Conroy (US 20070271009 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 19 above, and further in view of Bosworth (US 20180364707 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 9, Khatwa, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Khatwa, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, the control unit is an artificial intelligence or machine learning system.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Bosworth discloses, the control unit is an artificial intelligence or machine learning system (Bosworth: [0074] The anomaly detection application 218 employs machine learning techniques to monitor aircraft state, cluster, and classify sensor inputs in order to detect the presence of non-normal situations), for the benefit of performing an auto-descent procedure and, once at a predetermined altitude and location, perform an auto-land procedure.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Khatwa to include software/firmware for monitoring an aircraft state taught by Bosworth. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to perform an auto-descent procedure and, once at a predetermined altitude and location, perform an auto-land procedure.
REGARDING CLAIM 18, Khatwa, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 10, and further, Khatwa, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, the control unit is an artificial intelligence or machine learning system.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Bosworth discloses, the control unit is an artificial intelligence or machine learning system (Bosworth: [0074]), for the benefit of performing an auto-descent procedure and, once at a predetermined altitude and location, perform an auto-land procedure.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Khatwa to include software/firmware for monitoring an aircraft state taught by Bosworth. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to perform an auto-descent procedure and, once at a predetermined altitude and location, perform an auto-land procedure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim 19 under 35 USC §101, abstract idea non-eligible subject matter, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of the independent claims under 35 USC §101, abstract idea non-eligible subject matter has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of the independent claims under 35 USC §103, obviousness, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the reference combination applied in the prior rejection of record for matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 04-03-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. To the examiner’s best understanding, the applicant has contended that the prior art of Khatwa (US 20090189787 A1) fails to disclose, “outputting an alert signal in response to the QNH input differing from one or both of the first QNH data or the second QNH data”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
As stated above, Khatwa (US 20090189787 A1) discloses, “[0006] alerting a pilot of an aircraft to the mis-setting of a reference pressure setting associated with a barometric altimeter deployed on the aircraft, which includes a secondary altitude-determining device and a primary flight display (PFD). The method includes the steps of providing a first estimated altitude utilizing the barometric altimeter device, providing a second estimated altitude utilizing the secondary altitude-determining device, and comparing the first estimated altitude to the second estimated altitude. A visual alert is generated on the PFD when the difference between first estimated altitude and the second estimated altitude exceeds a predetermined error threshold”. The examiner respectfully submits, the pilot setting goes into a first altimeter which is a reference setting of where the pilot want to plane to be or stay above. The firs and second altimeters compare the readings to a reference setting and each other, and then provides a notification to a pilot when something seems awry. This, the prior art discloses “outputting an alert signal in response to the QNH input differing from one or both of the first QNH data or the second QNH data”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ben-David (US 4355294 A)
Bell (US 8410975 B1)
Hedrick (US 8364328 B2)
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663