DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/23/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of over Loprieno (Pub No 20190097748) in view of newly cited Yi (Pub No 20060153375).
Regarding claim 1,
The applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the amended limitation.
The examiner relies on newly cited Yi to teach the amended limitation since Yi teaches using an initialization vector for encryption algorithm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loprieno (Pub No 20190097748) in view of Yi (Pub No 20060153375)
Regarding claim 1 and 16,
Loprieno teaches a communication method, wherein the method comprises:
At least one processor; (see processor and memory para [0041]-[0043])
At least one memory, coupled with the at least one processor, storing a computer program or instructions, and (see processor and memory para [0041]-[0043])
Wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the program or the instructions stored in the at least one memory, to cause the communication apparatus to: (see processor and memory para [0041]-[0043])
obtaining a data stream, wherein the data stream comprises an alignment marker (AM) group, the AM group comprises a plurality of AMs, (interpreted as To generate the PCS signal, the method converts the data stream to a sequence of bit blocks, and periodically inserts into the sequence of bit blocks an alignment marker (AM) group including multiple individual alignment markers for respective ones of the multiple lanes, see para [0018]) the plurality of AMs comprise a first AM, the first AM comprises a first boundary part (interpreted as Each (individual) AM includes a portion that is common across all alignment markers (the common portion is designated as CM0-CM5, see para [0036]) and a first padding part, the first padding part comprises a part or all of a first information that indicates a specified function, (interpreted as Security operation 318 may also modify the AM group to include key exchange information of a KA-CC in the pad bits PB of the AM group, see para [0038]). Also see In an embodiment in which operation 330 acquires the one or more encryption keys via a key agreement protocol, operation 332 may also modify a part of each of at least some of the AM groups to transport a communication channel for the key agreement protocol (i.e., to implement an in-band key agreement communication channel (KA-CC), see para [0024]) and the first boundary part determines a location of the first AM in the data stream; (see fig. 9 Cm0-CM5 are all the same bit patterns which is used to determine the location of the AM) and sending the data stream. (interpreted as Process 302 transmits the multiple PCS lanes of transmit signal 106 over optical link 102, see para [0026])
However Loprieno does not teach wherein the first information includes one or more of an initialization vector of a physical layer encryption algorithm, port management information, and time synchronization information, and wherein the specified function includes one more of a physical layer encryption function indicated by the initialization vector, a port management function indicated by the port management information, and a time synchronization function indicated by the time synchronization information;
Yi teaches wherein the first information includes one or more of an initialization vector of a physical layer encryption algorithm, (see physical layer encryption para [0023], also see encryption algorithm para [0031]) port management information, and time synchronization information, (rejected as being alternative limitation) and wherein the specified function includes one more of a physical layer encryption function indicated by the initialization vector, a port management function indicated by the port management information, and a time synchronization function indicated by the time synchronization information; (interpreted as encryptor adapted to encrypt the frame with the encryption/decryption key information according to the encryption algorithm, and the initialization vector generator adapted to generate an initialization vector, see para [0031])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the encryption key as taught by Loprieno to additionally include the encryption key with a initialization vector and encryption algorithm as taught by Yi with the motivation being to encrypt data thereby providing data security.
Regarding claim 9 and 19,
Loprieno teaches A communication method, wherein the method comprises:
At least one processor; (see processor and memory para [0041]-[0043])
At least one memory, coupled with the at least one processor, storing a computer program or instructions, and (see processor and memory para [0041]-[0043])
Wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the program or the instructions stored in the at least one memory, to cause the communication apparatus to: (see processor and memory para [0041]-[0043])
receiving a data stream that comprises an alignment marker (AM) group, the AM group comprises a plurality of AMs, the plurality of AMs comprise a first AM, (interpreted as Receive process 304 is now described. Process 304 is, for the most part, the reverse of transmit process 302. Process 304 receives multiple PCS lanes transmitted by a corresponding PCS transmit process 302 via receive signal 108. At 350, process 304 forms individual PCS lanes from the multiple (receive) PCS lanes, and obtains lock on the individual AMs in each PCS lane, see para [0027]) the first AM comprises a first boundary part and a first padding part, the first padding part comprises a part or all of a first information that indicates a specified function, and the first boundary part determines a location of the first AM in the data stream; and obtaining the first information in the AM group. (interpreted as At 360, process 304 removes the security protection added to the PCS lanes by transmit process 302, according to the embodiments presented herein. Operation 360 includes sub-operations 362 and 364. At 362, process 304 retrieves/accesses the security information/parameters made available by operation 358. At 364, process 302 removes the security protection (e.g., encryption and/or authentication) from the sequence of decoded bit blocks using the retrieved security information/parameters in accordance with the security protocol, to produce a sequence of bit blocks from which the protection is removed, see para [0028])
However Loprieno does not teach wherein the first information includes one or more of an initialization vector of a physical layer encryption algorithm, port management information, and time synchronization information, and wherein the specified function includes one more of a physical layer encryption function indicated by the initialization vector, a port management function indicated by the port management information, and a time synchronization function indicated by the time synchronization information;
Yi teaches wherein the first information includes one or more of an initialization vector of a physical layer encryption algorithm, (see physical layer encryption para [0023], also see encryption algorithm para [0031]) port management information, and time synchronization information, (rejected as being alternative limitation) and wherein the specified function includes one more of a physical layer encryption function indicated by the initialization vector, a port management function indicated by the port management information, and a time synchronization function indicated by the time synchronization information; (interpreted as encryptor adapted to encrypt the frame with the encryption/decryption key information according to the encryption algorithm, and the initialization vector generator adapted to generate an initialization vector, see para [0031])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the encryption key as taught by Loprieno to additionally include the encryption key with a initialization vector and encryption algorithm as taught by Yi with the motivation being to encrypt data thereby providing data security.
Regarding claim 2 and 10 and 17 and 20,
Loprieno teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein there are a plurality of obtained data streams, each of the plurality of obtained data streams corresponds to one or more AMs in the AM group, and each of the plurality of obtained data streams comprises one or more AMs corresponding to each of the plurality of obtained data streams. (interpreted as Each AM group includes individual AMs for respective ones of the multiple lanes, i.e., the AM group includes an individual AM for each lane. The individual AMs support deskew and reordering of the individual PCS lanes in receive process 304, see para [0022] Also see The implementations result in multiple PCS lanes (or encoded bit streams), see para [0002])
Regarding claim 3 and 11 and 18,
Loprieno teaches The method according to claim 2, wherein the first information is associated with a first data stream, the plurality of obtained data streams comprise the first data stream, an AM in the first data stream comprises the first information, and the first AM is an AM in the first data stream. (interpreted as Each AM group includes individual AMs for respective ones of the multiple lanes, i.e., the AM group includes an individual AM for each lane. The individual AMs support deskew and reordering of the individual PCS lanes in receive process 304, see para [0022] Also see The implementations result in multiple PCS lanes (or encoded bit streams), see para [0002])
Regarding claim 4 and 12,
Loprieno teaches The method according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of obtained data streams comprise M data streams, (see PCS lanes 0-15 fig. 7) an AM in the M data streams comprises the first information, the first AM is an AM in the M data streams, and M is an integer greater than 0. (see Some of the pad bits of each AM group convey a KA-CC, see para [0032])
Regarding claim 5 and 13,
Loprieno teaches The method according to claim 4, wherein a padding part of each AM in the M data streams comprises m fields, m is an integer greater than 0, and the first information comprises at least one piece of sub-information; and m first fields comprise m pieces of first sub-information, m second fields comprise m pieces of second sub-information, the m first fields are fields comprised in a j.sup.th AM in an i.sup.th data stream, and the m second fields are fields comprised in a j.sup.th AM in an (i+1)th data stream, wherein i=1, 2, . . . , or M−1, j=1, 2, . . . , or N, N is a quantity of AMs in the ith data stream, and the m pieces of first sub-information and the m pieces of second sub-information are 2m continuous pieces of sub-information comprised in the first information; or M fields comprise M continuous pieces of sub-information, and the M fields comprise an n.sup.th field in a jth AM in each data stream in the M data streams, wherein n=1, 2, . . . , or m, and the first information comprises the M pieces of sub-information. (interpreted as unique pad fields UP0-UP2, see para [0036]) Also see The individual AMs are each formed from a known pattern or sequence of data octets {CM0, CM1, CM2, UP0, CM3, CM4, CM5, UP1, UM0, UM1, UM2, UP2, UM3, UM4, UM5}. Each (individual) AM includes a portion that is common across all alignment markers (the common portion is designated as CM0-CM5, indicated at column blocks 902 and 904 in FIG. 9), a unique portion per PCS lane (the unique portion is designated as UM0-UM5), and finally a unique pad per PCS lane (the pad portion is designated as UP0-UP2), see para [0036])
Regarding claim 6 and 14,
Loprieno teaches The method according to claim 5, wherein the m fields in the padding part of each of the AMs comprise a unique pad (UP) and/or a pad. (interpreted as unique pad fields UP0-UP2, see para [0036]) Also see The individual AMs are each formed from a known pattern or sequence of data octets {CM0, CM1, CM2, UP0, CM3, CM4, CM5, UP1, UM0, UM1, UM2, UP2, UM3, UM4, UM5}. Each (individual) AM includes a portion that is common across all alignment markers (the common portion is designated as CM0-CM5, indicated at column blocks 902 and 904 in FIG. 9), a unique portion per PCS lane (the unique portion is designated as UM0-UM5), and finally a unique pad per PCS lane (the pad portion is designated as UP0-UP2), see para [0036])
Regarding claim 7,
Loprieno teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining the data stream comprises: obtaining the AM group, wherein the AM group comprises the first AM, and the first padding part of the first AM comprises the first information or the part of the first information; and inserting the AM group into a second data stream to obtain the data stream; or when the AM group is inserted into the data stream, and the inserted AM group comprises the first AM, replacing, in the data stream, content carried in the first padding part of the first AM with the first information or the part of the first information. (interpreted as Security operation 318 may also modify the AM group to include key exchange information of a KA-CC in the pad bits PB of the AM group. For example, security operation 318 may replace some, but not all, of the pad bits in the AM group with the key exchange information. With reference to FIG. 10B, there is an illustration in which some of the pad bits PB of the modified AM group have been replaced with the key exchange information of the KA-CC, see para [0038])
Regarding claim 15,
Loprieno teaches The method according to claim 9, wherein there are a plurality of received data streams, and the obtaining the first information in the AM group comprises: after the plurality of received data streams are sorted, obtaining the first information in the AM group in a plurality of sorted data streams; obtaining the first information in at least one first data block and at least one second data block when the at least one first data block and the at least one second data block are obtained by decoding the plurality of sorted data streams, wherein the at least one first data block and the at least one second data block jointly comprise the first information; or obtaining the first information in an AM group in one data stream when the at least one first data block and the at least one second data block are interleaved to obtain the data stream. (interpreted as Receive process 304 is now described. Process 304 is, for the most part, the reverse of transmit process 302. Process 304 receives multiple PCS lanes transmitted by a corresponding PCS transmit process 302 via receive signal 108. At 350, process 304 forms individual PCS lanes from the multiple (receive) PCS lanes, and obtains lock on the individual AMs in each PCS lane. Once lock is achieved, process 302 removes inter-lane skew, i.e., deskews the PCS lanes. At 352, the PCS lanes, including the FEC codewords, are reordered and deinterleaved. At 354, process 304 FEC decodes the FEC codewords, to produce decoded data. At 356, process 304 interleaves the decoded data to produce a sequence of decoded bit blocks punctuated by the modified AMs as created by transmit process 302, i.e., to recreate the corresponding sequence generated by the transmit process, see para [0027])
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loprieno (Pub No 20190097748) in view of Yi (Pub No 20060153375) and Caggioni (Pub No 20150078406)
Regarding claim 8,
Loprieno teaches The method according to claim 1, however does not teach wherein the first AM further comprises a first identification part that indicates a first data stream corresponding to the first AM.
Caggioni teaches wherein the first AM further comprises a first identification part that indicates a first data stream corresponding to the first AM. (interpreted as The AM field 804 can be implemented for lane identification and/or de-skewing purposes. In one example, the AM field 804 can be a 1-byte data field… In one example, a value (e.g., a modulo operation on the value) included in the AM field 804 can specify a virtual lane identification (ID). For example, a virtual lane ID can be specified for each of the plurality of virtual lanes of the combined signal, see para [0073])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system taught by Loprieno with the identification as taught by Caggioni with the motivation being to uniquely identify the different communication sources.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461