DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received on 7/22/2026:
Claims 1-4, 6-9, and 11-20 are pending in the current application. Claims 1, 7, and 8 are amended and Claims 5 and 10 are canceled.
The cores of the previous 102 prior art-based rejections have been overcome in light of the amendment. All changes made to the rejection are necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Interpretation
All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered. The arguments are based on the claims as amended and addressed in the new rejection below.
Arguments directed at improved ionic conductivity
Applicant argues that a skilled artisan would not have arrived at incorporating element Z at a composition ratio of 0<p≤0.3 because improved ionic conductivity occurs when p is in the claimed range.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. There is not enough data to demonstrate unexpected ionic conductivity at the claimed range of p. Comparative Example 7 in Table 1 of the instant application has an ionic conductivity of 2.5x10-4, which is a similar value to Examples 13 and 14, where p is in the range. Further, Example 7 is the only example comprising a Z group outside of the claimed range and the subscripts on the other species in the solid ion conductor compound are also different. So, the improved ionic conductivity cannot be clearly attributed to the subscript range of the Z group.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 11, 14-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. WO-2021261558-A1 (US-20230253614-A1 used as translation and cited in PTO-892) (hereinafter “Suzuki”).
Regarding Claims 1-4 and 6, Suzuki discloses a solid ion conductor compound (solid electrolyte) according to formula (1) (see abstract and paragraphs [0030]-[0044]) (see comparison of formulas below).
Figure 1. Formula 1 of Suzuki
Figure 2. Formula 1 of Instant Application
Suzuki’s formula overlaps the claimed formula with M being at least one alkali metal (Suzuki discloses A may be Li or Cs (meeting Claim 2), which are alkali metals), M’ being at least one of a divalent metal, a trivalent metal, a tetravalent metal, a pentavalent metal, or a hexavalent metal (Suzuki discloses E may be Al, Sc, Y, Zr, Hf and lanthanoids (meeting Claim 3), which are metals of varying valences), Z is at least one of the claimed trivalent ions (Suzuki discloses G may be PO43-), and X being at least one halogen (Suzuki discloses X may be F, Cl, or Br (meeting Claim 4), which are halogens). Claim 6 further limits the T species but this claim is met by Suzuki because when o=0 in Claim 1 no T species is required. Regardless, Suzuki discloses the compound may contain SO42- (see formula of Suzuki above).
Further, Suzuki’s ranges overlap with the claimed ranges with the subscript on the alkali metal M ranging from greater than 0 to about 6.6 in the instant application (Suzuki does not require a T species so o=0 in the instant application) (Suzuki discloses a ranges from 0.5 to 6), the subscript on the metal M’ ranging from 0 to 1 in the instant application (Suzuki discloses b ranges from 0 to 2), the subscript on the trivalent anion Z ranging from 0 to 0.3 in the instant application (Suzuki discloses c ranges from 0.1 to 6), and the subscript on the halogen X ranging from greater than 0 to about 10 (Suzuki discloses d ranges from 0 to 6.1). So, the formula of Suzuki overlaps and renders obvious the claimed formula.
Suzuki further discloses a solid ion conductor compound with the formula Li2ZrPO4Cl3 (when compared with the claimed genus formula, k=4, m=-3, n=1, o=0, p=1, and q=2) and further examples where PO4 ranges from 0.37-1.0 (see paragraphs [0096]-[0100] and Table 10 Examples 52-57). Additionally, based on the previously discussed general formula of Suzuki, the subscript on PO4 (subscript c on the G species of Suzuki) may range from 0.1 to 6 so a skilled artisan is capable of arriving at a subscript on PO4 of greater than 0 and less than or equal to 0.3. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the solid ion conductor compound of Suzuki to arrive the claimed genus formula as the species and ranges overlap to render to the claimed genus formula obvious.
Regarding Claim 7, Suzuki discloses the solid ion conductor compound of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Suzuki’s formula as discussed above renders the claimed genus formula obvious in the same way as Claim 1 (Formula 2 simplifies to Formula 1 of Claim 1 when h=0 and i=0).
Figure 3. Formula 2 of Instant Application
Regarding Claim 8, Suzuki discloses the solid ion conductor compound of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Suzuki’s formula as discussed above renders the claimed genus formula obvious in the same way as Claim 1 (Formula 3 simplifies to Formula 1 of Claim 1 when h=0, i=0, and j=0).
Figure 4. Formula 3 of Instant Application
Regarding Claim 11, Suzuki discloses the solid ion conductor compound of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Suzuki further discloses the solid electrolyte has a crystalline phase (see paragraph [0048]). It is also noted that the solid ion conductor compound would necessarily have at least one of a crystalline and a non-crystalline phase.
Regarding Claim 14, Suzuki discloses the solid ion conductor compound of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Formula (1) of Suzuki can simplify to the claimed formulas when A is Li, E is at least one of Y and Zr, G is PO4, and X is Cl as the range of subscripts of Formula (1) of Suzuki overlap with the subscripts of the claimed formulas (see paragraphs [0030]-[0044]). As such, Formula (1) of Suzuki overlaps and renders obvious the claimed formulas.
Regarding Claims 15-16, Suzuki discloses the solid ion conductor compound of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Suzuki further discloses a method of preparing the aforementioned solid ion conductor compound of claim 1, the method comprising:
providing a mixture comprising a halide compound comprising an M element, a halide compound comprising an M′ element, and a compound comprising a Z anion, wherein the M element is at least one alkali metal, the M′ element is at least one of a divalent metal, a trivalent metal, a tetravalent metal, a pentavalent metal, or a hexavalent metal, and the Z anion is at least one of a trivalent anion (see paragraphs [0045]-[0048] and [0096]-[0099] and Tables 1-6); and
treating the mixture in a solid phase (powder) to prepare the solid ion conductor compound (see paragraphs [0045]-[0048] and [0096]-[0099]),
wherein the treating of the mixture in a solid phase to prepare the solid ion conductor compound comprises ball milling the mixture in a dry and inert (argon) atmosphere (see paragraphs [0045]-[0048] and [0096]-[0099]).
Regarding Claim 18, Suzuki discloses the solid ion conductor compound of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Suzuki further discloses an electrochemical cell (solid electrolyte battery) (see paragraphs [0052]-[0056]) comprising:
a positive electrode layer comprising a positive active material layer comprising a positive active material (see paragraphs [0059]-[0063]);
a negative electrode layer comprising a negative active material layer comprising a negative active material (see paragraphs [0072]-[0074]); and
a solid electrolyte layer between the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer and comprising a solid electrolyte (see paragraphs [0052]-[0055]),
wherein at least one of the positive electrode layer, or the solid electrolyte layer comprises the solid ion conductor compound of the aforementioned claim 1 (see paragraphs [0052]-[0055] and [0059]).
Regarding Claim 20, Suzuki discloses the electrochemical cell of claim 18 (see rejection of claim 18 above). The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus. The Courts have held that a statement of intended use in an apparatus claim fails to distinguish over a prior art apparatus. See In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). As such, the electrochemical cell of Suzuki is capable of having a discharge capacity is maintained at about 93 percent or greater for 20 cycles, as compared with an initial discharge capacity, when charging and discharging at 0.1 C in a range of about 2.5 volts to about 4.2 volts.
Claims 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sakai et al. US-20200328457-A1 (hereinafter “Sakai”) and Asano et al. US-20190088995-A1 (hereinafter “Asano”).
Regarding Claim 9, Suzuki discloses the solid ion conductor compound of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Suzuki is silent on wherein the solid ion conductor compound has diffraction peaks at diffraction angles of 16°2θ±0.5°2θ, 30°2θ±0.5°2θ, 32°2θ±0.5°2θ, 42°2θ±0.5°2θ, and 50°2θ±0.5°2θ, when analyzed by an X-ray diffraction using CuKα radiation.
However, in the same field of endeavor of solid ion conductors (solid electrolytes) (see abstract), Sakai discloses a halide solid ion conductor compound having diffraction angles 2θ of 15.1° to 15.8°, 27.3° to 29.5°, 30.1° to 31.1°, 32.0° to 33.7°, 39.0° to 40.6°, and 47.0° to 48.5° to achieve a high lithium ion conductivity (see paragraphs [0020]-[0021] and [0028]-[0031]).
Additionally, in the same field of endeavor of solid ion conductors (solid electrolytes) (see abstract), Asano discloses a solid ion conductor compound with diffraction angle 2θ values of 25° to 28°, 29° to 32°, 41° to 46°, 49° to 55°, and 51° to 58° to achieve a higher lithium ion conductivity (see paragraphs [0032]-[0036]).
The teachings of Sakai and Asano overlap and render obvious the claimed diffraction peaks at diffraction angles of 16°2θ±0.5°2θ, 30°2θ±0.5°2θ, 32°2θ±0.5°2θ, 42°2θ±0.5°2θ, and 50°2θ±0.5°2θ.
Further, based on the teachings of Sakai and Asano, the diffraction angles are viewed as result effective variables to achieve a higher lithium ion conductivity. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the solid ion conductor compound of Suzuki wherein the solid ion conductor compound has diffraction peaks at diffraction angles of 16°2θ±0.5°2θ, 30°2θ±0.5°2θ, 32°2θ±0.5°2θ, 42°2θ±0.5°2θ, and 50°2θ±0.5°2θ, when analyzed by an X-ray diffraction using CuKα radiation, as disclosed by Sakai and Asano, in order to achieve a higher lithium ion conductivity.
Regarding Claim 13, Suzuki discloses the solid ion conductor compound of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Suzuki is silent on wherein the solid ion conductor compound has a and c lattice constants, which are greater than a and c lattice constants of a solid ion conductor compound not comprising the trivalent anion represented by Z.
However, Sakai discloses appropriate lattice constants of solid ion conductor compounds can achieve high Li ion conductivity and can realize a high-performance battery when anions are introduced in Fig. 2 (see paragraph [0024]).
Additionally, Asano discloses improved lithium ion conductivity can be achieved by appropriate lattice constants (see paragraphs [0031] and [0043]-[0044]).
As such, a skilled artisan would be motivated to achieve a higher lattice constant when including an anion in the solid ion conductor compound of Suzuki.
It is also noted that the published instant specification discloses that the inclusion of a trivalent anion such as PO4 increases the a and c lattice constants (see paragraphs [0104]-[0105] and [0216] and of the published instant specification), and as such including a trivalent anion such as PO4 in the solid ion conductor compound as taught by Suzuki would necessarily increase the a and c lattice constants.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the solid ion conductor compound of Suzuki wherein the solid ion conductor compound has a and c lattice constants, which are greater than a and c lattice constants of a solid ion conductor compound not comprising the trivalent anion represented by Z, as disclosed by Sakai and Asano, in order to achieve high Li ion conductivity and realize a high-performance battery.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sakai.
Regarding Claim 12, Suzuki discloses the solid ion conductor compound of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Suzuki is silent on wherein the solid ion conductor compound comprises a crystal belonging to a P3-m1 space group.
However, Sakai discloses using a solid ion conductor with a crystal structure represented by a space group P3-m1 so that a solid ion conductor having higher lithium ion conductivity may be realized (see paragraphs [0024] and [0034]-[0035]). As such, a skilled artisan would recognize that a crystal structure belonging to a P3-m1 space group is an appropriate and known crystal structure for use in solid ion conductors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the solid ion conductor compound of Suzuki wherein the solid ion conductor compound comprises a crystal belonging to a P3-m1 space group, as disclosed by Sakai, as it is an appropriate and known crystal structure for use in solid ion conductors to realize a higher lithium ion conductivity.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki, as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Nose et al. US-20190051890-A1 (hereinafter “Nose”).
Regarding Claim 17, Suzuki discloses the method of claim 16 (see rejection of claim 16 above). Suzuki further discloses wherein the ball milling is performed for a first period of time (see paragraphs [0096] and [0098]).
Suzuki is silent on wherein the ball milling further comprises a rest period of time after the first period of time, wherein the first period of time and the rest period of time are repeated.
However, in the same field of endeavor of mechanical milling (see abstract), Nose discloses a cycle of mechanical milling for 1 hour at weighing table rotation speed of 500 rpm and 15 minutes at rest was repeated to obtain a solid electrolyte (see paragraphs [0083], [0090], [0092], and [0113]). A skilled artisan would recognize this as a known and effective method to crush/blend materials.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of Suzuki wherein the ball milling further comprises a rest period of time after the first period of time, wherein the first period of time and the rest period of time are repeated, as disclosed by Nose, as it is a known and effective method to crush/blend materials.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki as applied to claim 18 above and further in view of Jordy et al. WO-2021255111-A1 (US-20230275222-A1 used as translation and cited in PTO-892) (hereinafter “Jordy”).
Regarding Claim 19, Suzuki discloses the electrochemical cell of claim 18 (see rejection of claim 18 above). Suzuki further discloses the positive active material layer comprises a positive active material represented by LiNix′Coy′Mnz′O2 wherein 0<x′<1, 0<y′<1, 0<z′<1, and x′+y′+z′=1, and the negative active material layer comprises a lithium metal (metallic lithium) (see paragraphs [0060]-[0061] and [0073]-[0074]). Suzuki also discloses solid ion conductor may be coating film (see paragraph [0032]).
Suzuki is silent on wherein the solid electrolyte layer comprises a sulfide solid electrolyte.
However, in the same field of endeavor of solid ion conductor compounds (solid electrolytes) (see abstract), Jordy discloses sulfide solid electrolytes can be appropriately used with halogenated solid ion conductor compound coatings (see paragraphs [0016], [0292], [0299]-[0300], [0304]-[0324], and [0336]-[0344]).
Jordy additionally discloses high ionic conductivity values combined with the ductility and the limited density of solid sulfide electrolytes make solid sulfide electrolytes candidates for the first generations of all-solid batteries which can compete with the energy densities of current Li-ion batteries with liquid electrolytes (see paragraph [0292]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrochemical cell of Suzuki wherein the solid electrolyte layer comprises a sulfide solid electrolyte, as disclosed by Jordy, in order to achieve a high energy density.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729