DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed December 05, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1 and 4-6 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barbre et al. (US 2020/0022606 A1) (“Barbre”) in view of Saini et al. (US 2014/0275934 A1) (“Saini”) in further view of Vice (US 2015/0327808 A1) (“Vice”).
Regarding claim 1, Barbre discloses A myoelectric sensor array, comprising (Abstract and entire document see at least [0042 – 0043], “EMG”):
a plurality of myoelectric sensors (FIG. 2 and [0058], “One illustrative implementation of the neuromuscular (e.g., sEMG) electrode (also referred to herein as a sensor) 504 shown in FIGS. 2, 3, and 9A-B is provided in FIG. 4, according to some embodiments. The neuromuscular recording sensor 504 includes dry electrodes 600, 602 and a housing 510,”); and
a plurality of wiring members each electrically connecting corresponding two adjacent myoelectric sensors among the plurality of myoelectric sensors (FIG. 2 and [0073], “In some embodiments, a rigid PCB is fixed to each of the electrodes, and the flexible PCBs connect the rigid PCBs to one another. In some embodiments, the flexible PCB is also connected to each of the electrodes. The inventors recognize that the use of one or more flexible PCBs in the mechanical assemblies for a wearable neuromuscular recording device as described herein enable movement of electrodes relative to rigid elements and the housing, so that the electrode is able to maintain contact with the skin as the wearable device moves relative to the user's body surface (e.g., skin).” PCB electrically connect each sensor to each other);
wherein each of the plurality of the myoelectric sensors includes: a substrate (FIG. 2 and [0073], “In some embodiments, a rigid PCB is fixed to each of the electrodes,”);
a pair of myoelectric electrodes provided on the substrate (FIG. 2 and [0045], “For example, as shown in FIG. 2, some of the neuromuscular recording sensors 504 include two neuromuscular recording electrodes 600 and 602, whereas others of the neuromuscular recording sensors 504 include three neuromuscular recording electrodes 600, 602, and 604, with the middle of the three electrodes being a ground or reference electrode.”); and
a signal processing circuit electrically connected to the pair of myoelectric electrodes and at least one of the wiring members ([0048], “In some embodiments, the output of one or more of the sensing components can be optionally processed using hardware signal processing circuitry (e.g., to perform amplification, filtering, and/or rectification).” And FIG. 1 showing the sensors connected to a microprocessor.),
Barbre fails to disclose wherein the plurality of myoelectric sensors is arranged in a staggered pattern in a first direction and a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and
wherein the wiring members extend diagonally with respect to the first direction and the second direction, and electrically connect myoelectric sensors diagonally adjacent to each other.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Saini teaches wherein the plurality of myoelectric sensors is arranged in a staggered pattern in a first direction and a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (FIG. 24, [0027], myoelectric and [0067], “FIG. 24 is a top view of a multi-electrode array 100 according to various aspects of the present disclosure. The array 100 may be substantially similar to that disclosed with reference to FIGS. 1-23. In that regard, the array 100 includes a plurality of electrodes 102 arranged on a substrate 500. In the illustrated embodiment, the array 100 includes a hexagonal array of electrodes 102. The rows and columns of electrodes 102 are offset to increase electrode 102 density.”), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the array as taught by Barbre to include wherein the plurality of myoelectric sensors is arranged in a staggered pattern in a first direction and a second direction perpendicular to the first direction as taught by Saini to increase electrode density ([0067]).
Barbre as modified fails to explicitly disclose wherein the wiring members extend diagonally with respect to the first direction and the second direction, and electrically connect myoelectric sensors diagonally adjacent to each other.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Vice teaches wherein the wiring members extend diagonally with respect to the first direction and the second direction, and electrically connect myoelectric sensors diagonally adjacent to each other (FIG. 3 and [0037], “…and bi-directional communication between electrode.sub.3 (330) and electrode.sub.2 (320) is shown at (366). Furthermore, the electrodes shown herein (310), (320), (330), and (340) may be wired, or in one embodiment wireless, while maintaining the switching and communication functions shown herein. Accordingly, bi-directional communication is supported between each pair of electrodes in the array.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the array as taught by Barbre as modified to include wherein the wiring members extend diagonally with respect to the first direction and the second direction, and electrically connect myoelectric sensors diagonally adjacent to each other as taught by Vice to support connection between electrodes in the array ([0037]).
Regarding claims 4-5, Barbre as modified discloses The myoelectric sensor array as claimed in claim 1, Barbre as modified further discloses wherein an angle at which the wiring members extend diagonally with respect to the first direction is between 30 degrees and 60 degrees, inclusive; 40 and 50 degrees, inclusive (Saini As shown in FIG. 24).
Regarding claim 6, Barbre as modified discloses The myoelectric sensor array as claimed in claim 1, Barbre as modified further discloses wherein the wiring members are each a flexible printed circuit board or a cable (Barbre FIG. 2 and [0073], “In some embodiments, a rigid PCB is fixed to each of the electrodes, and the flexible PCBs connect the rigid PCBs to one another. In some embodiments, the flexible PCB is also connected to each of the electrodes. The inventors recognize that the use of one or more flexible PCBs in the mechanical assemblies for a wearable neuromuscular recording device as described herein enable movement of electrodes relative to rigid elements and the housing, so that the electrode is able to maintain contact with the skin as the wearable device moves relative to the user's body surface (e.g., skin).” PCB electrically connect each sensor to each other).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 4-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not solely rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The amendments have changed the scope of the claims and required the new rejections above in view of Saini and Vice.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.A.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/TSE W CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791