DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-3, 5-7, 10, 12-13, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mukherjee et al (11,641,579).
Regarding claim 1. Mukherjee teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing one or more computer programs for performing intelligent subscriber identity module (SIM) switching for a user equipment (UE) device using a current SIM or SIM profile, the one or more computer programs configured to cause at least one processor to (figure 1, col. 6 line 46 – col. 7 line 48 wherein UE comprises processor, memory and program):
receive instructions from a rules engine of the UE device, or from a home
network and/or intelligent subscriber management server of the UE device, to switch from the current SIM or SIM profile to a different SIM or SIM profile, the rules engine configured to determine which SIM or SIM profile from a plurality of SIMs or SIM profiles that the UE device should switch to in accordance with a policy (figure 1, col. 2 lines 42-67 wherein UE processor receives instructions from selector which includes ML model (e.g., rules engine) to determine which SIM card (mobile network provider) has cheaper voice rates and/or provides the best quality of experience (QoE) and/or select SIM based on a particular location and/or availability and switch the UE to the mobile network service provider OR col. 7 line 49 – col. 8 line 12 – wherein server uses ML to determine which SIM card provides the best quality of experience at the lowest cost and instructs the UE to switch a mobile network component, such as a SIM card, col. 15 lines 44-49 – the user selects/launches an App (e.g., makes a call) and the user agent (e.g., processor receives an instruction from ML model/rules engine) instantaneously selects one of, say, k SIMs or eSIMs and enables the selected SIM/eSIM if it was not enabled already);
responsive to the instructions from the rules engine, configure the UE device for the different SIM or SIM profile and an associated carrier (figure 1, col. 2 lines 42-67 wherein UE processor receives instructions from selector which includes ML model (e.g., rules engine) to determine which SIM card (mobile network provider) has cheaper voice rates and/or provides the best quality of experience (QoE) and/or select SIM based on a particular location and/or availability and switch the UE to the mobile network service provider OR col. 7 line 49 – col. 8 line 12 – wherein server uses ML to determine which SIM card provides the best quality of experience at the lowest cost and instructs the UE to switch a mobile network component, such as a SIM card, col. 15 lines 44-49 – the user selects/launches an App (e.g., makes a call) and the user agent (e.g., processor receives an instruction from ML model/rules engine) instantaneously selects one of, say, k SIMs or eSIMs and enables the selected SIM/eSIM if it was not enabled already); and
switch the UE device to the other SIM or SIM profile for communications
services provided by the associated carrier (figure 1, col. 2 lines 42-67 wherein UE processor receives instructions from selector which includes ML model (e.g., rules engine) to determine which SIM card (mobile network provider) has cheaper voice rates and/or provides the best quality of experience (QoE) and/or select SIM based on a particular location and/or availability and switch the UE to the mobile network service provider OR col. 7 line 49 – col. 8 line 12 – wherein server uses ML to determine which SIM card provides the best quality of experience at the lowest cost and instructs the UE to switch a mobile network component, such as a SIM card, col. 15 lines 44-49 – the user selects/launches an App (e.g., makes a call) and the user agent (e.g., processor receives an instruction from ML model/rules engine) instantaneously selects one of, say, k SIMs or eSIMs and enables the selected SIM/eSIM if it was not enabled already).
Regarding claim 12. Mukherjee teaches a computer-implemented method for performing intelligent subscriber identity module (SIM) switching for a user equipment (UE) device using a current SIM or SIM profile (figure 1, col. 6 line 46 – col. 7 line 48 wherein UE comprises processor, memory and program), comprising:
receiving, by the UE device, instructions from a rules engine of the UE device, or from a home network and/or intelligent subscriber management server of the UE device, to switch from the current SIM or SIM profile to a different SIM or SIM profile, the rules engine configured to determine which SIM or SIM profile from a plurality of SIMs that the UE device should switch to in accordance with a policy (figure 1, col. 2 lines 42-67 wherein UE processor receives instructions from selector which includes ML model (e.g., rules engine) to determine which SIM card (mobile network provider) has cheaper voice rates and/or provides the best quality of experience (QoE) and/or select SIM based on a particular location and/or availability and switch the UE to the mobile network service provider OR col. 7 line 49 – col. 8 line 12 – wherein server uses ML to determine which SIM card provides the best quality of experience at the lowest cost and instructs the UE to switch a mobile network component, such as a SIM card, col. 15 lines 44-49 – the user selects/launches an App (e.g., makes a call) and the user agent (e.g., processor receives an instruction from ML model/rules engine) instantaneously selects one of, say, k SIMs or eSIMs and enables the selected SIM/eSIM if it was not enabled already);
responsive to the instructions from the rules engine, configuring the UE device for the different SIM or SIM profile and an associated carrier, by the UE device (figure 1, col. 2 lines 42-67 wherein UE processor receives instructions from selector which includes ML model (e.g., rules engine) to determine which SIM card (mobile network provider) has cheaper voice rates and/or provides the best quality of experience (QoE) and/or select SIM based on a particular location and/or availability and switch the UE to the mobile network service provider OR col. 7 line 49 – col. 8 line 12 – wherein server uses ML to determine which SIM card provides the best quality of experience at the lowest cost and instructs the UE to switch a mobile network component, such as a SIM card, col. 15 lines 44-49 – the user selects/launches an App (e.g., makes a call) and the user agent (e.g., processor receives an instruction from ML model/rules engine) instantaneously selects one of, say, k SIMs or eSIMs and enables the selected SIM/eSIM if it was not enabled already); and
switching the UE device to the other SIM or SIM profile for communications services provided by the associated carrier, by the UE device (figure 1, col. 2 lines 42-67 wherein UE processor receives instructions from selector which includes ML model (e.g., rules engine) to determine which SIM card (mobile network provider) has cheaper voice rates and/or provides the best quality of experience (QoE) and/or select SIM based on a particular location and/or availability and switch the UE to the mobile network service provider OR col. 7 line 49 – col. 8 line 12 – wherein server uses ML to determine which SIM card provides the best quality of experience at the lowest cost and instructs the UE to switch a mobile network component, such as a SIM card, col. 15 lines 44-49 – the user selects/launches an App (e.g., makes a call) and the user agent (e.g., processor receives an instruction from ML model/rules engine) instantaneously selects one of, say, k SIMs or eSIMs and enables the selected SIM/eSIM if it was not enabled already),
wherein the policy is predictive and uses deterministic logic based on observations over time, probabilistic logic of one or more artificial intelligence (AI) / machine learning (ML) models, or both (abstract – ML aided autonomous control of mobile network access, col. 2 lines 1-12 – ML used to improve performance in mobile networks by predicting future signal strengths, figure 1, col. 2 lines 42-67 wherein UE processor receives instructions from selector which includes ML model (e.g., rules engine) to determine which SIM card (mobile network provider) has cheaper voice rates and/or provides the best quality of experience (QoE) and/or select SIM based on a particular location and/or availability and switch the UE to the mobile network service provider, col. 3 lines 5 – predicts which one of the plurality of resource packages meets the resource requirement and optimizes a reward function using a ML trained on previously implemented resource packages associated and associated QoE metrics OR col. 7 line 49 – col. 8 line 12 – wherein server uses ML to determine which SIM card provides the best quality of experience at the lowest cost and instructs the UE to switch a mobile network component, such as a SIM card, col. 15 lines 44-49 – the user selects/launches an App (e.g., makes a call) and the user agent (e.g., processor receives an instruction from ML model/rules engine) instantaneously selects one of, say, k SIMs or eSIMs and enables the selected SIM/eSIM if it was not enabled already).
Regarding claims 2 and13. Mukherjee teaches wherein the rules engine is configured to take into account a location of the UE device, hardware capabilities of the UE device, compatibility of the UE device with carrier networks associated with the plurality of SIMs or SIM profiles, services that the UE device is configured to use, carrier networks that are available in a location of the UE device, network quality criteria, subscription criteria, cost criteria, or any combination thereof, when determining which SIM or SIM profile from the plurality of SIMs or SIM profiles to switch to (abstract – ML aided autonomous control of mobile network access, col. 2 lines 1-12 – ML used to improve performance in mobile networks by predicting future signal strengths, figure 1, col. 2 lines 42-67 wherein UE processor receives instructions from selector which includes ML model (e.g., rules engine) to determine which SIM card (mobile network provider) has cheaper voice rates and/or provides the best quality of experience (QoE) and/or select SIM based on a particular location and/or availability and switch the UE to the mobile network service provider, col. 3 lines 5 – predicts which one of the plurality of resource packages meets the resource requirement and optimizes a reward function using a ML trained on previously implemented resource packages associated and associated QoE metrics OR col. 7 line 49 – col. 8 line 12 – wherein server uses ML to determine which SIM card provides the best quality of experience at the lowest cost and instructs the UE to switch a mobile network component, such as a SIM card, col. 15 lines 44-49 – the user selects/launches an App (e.g., makes a call) and the user agent (e.g., processor receives an instruction from ML model/rules engine) instantaneously selects one of, say, k SIMs or eSIMs and enables the selected SIM/eSIM if it was not enabled already).
Regarding claims 3. Mukherjee teaches wherein the rules engine selects a SIM or SIM profile of the plurality of SIMs or SIM profiles with a lowest cost available carrier network that meets minimum quality criteria or a highest quality according to quality criteria (abstract – ML aided autonomous control of mobile network access, col. 2 lines 1-12 – ML used to improve performance in mobile networks by predicting future signal strengths, figure 1, col. 2 lines 42-67 wherein UE processor receives instructions from selector which includes ML model (e.g., rules engine) to determine which SIM card (mobile network provider) has cheaper voice rates and/or provides the best quality of experience (QoE) and/or select SIM based on a particular location and/or availability and switch the UE to the mobile network service provider, col. 3 lines 5 – predicts which one of the plurality of resource packages meets the resource requirement and optimizes a reward function using a ML trained on previously implemented resource packages associated and associated QoE metrics OR col. 7 line 49 – col. 8 line 12 – wherein server uses ML to determine which SIM card provides the best quality of experience at the lowest cost and instructs the UE to switch a mobile network component, such as a SIM card, col. 15 lines 44-49 – the user selects/launches an App (e.g., makes a call) and the user agent (e.g., processor receives an instruction from ML model/rules engine) instantaneously selects one of, say, k SIMs or eSIMs and enables the selected SIM/eSIM if it was not enabled already).
Regarding claims 5 and 15. Mukherjee teaches wherein the policy is reactive and the rules engine is configured to cause the UE to switch to the different SIM or SIM profile based on a drop in signal strength below a minimum threshold, detection that a radio access network (RAN) for a carrier of the current SIM or SIM profile has gone down, a change in a location of the UE, detection that an antenna of the UE is no longer working such that a band can no longer be used, or any combination thereof (abstract – ML aided autonomous control of mobile network access, col. 2 lines 1-12 – ML used to improve performance in mobile networks by predicting future signal strengths, figure 1, col. 2 lines 42-67 wherein UE processor receives instructions from selector which includes ML model (e.g., rules engine) to determine which SIM card (mobile network provider) has cheaper voice rates and/or provides the best quality of experience (QoE) and/or select SIM based on a particular location and/or availability and switch the UE to the mobile network service provider, col. 3 lines 5 – predicts which one of the plurality of resource packages meets the resource requirement and optimizes a reward function using a ML trained on previously implemented resource packages associated and associated QoE metrics OR col. 7 line 49 – col. 8 line 12 – wherein server uses ML to determine which SIM card provides the best quality of experience at the lowest cost and instructs the UE to switch a mobile network component, such as a SIM card, col. 15 lines 44-49 – the user selects/launches an App (e.g., makes a call) and the user agent (e.g., processor receives an instruction from ML model/rules engine) instantaneously selects one of, say, k SIMs or eSIMs and enables the selected SIM/eSIM if it was not enabled already).
Regarding claim 6. Mukherjee teaches wherein the policy is predictive and uses deterministic logic based on observations over time, probabilistic logic of one or more artificial intelligence (AI) / machine learning (ML) models, or both (abstract – ML aided autonomous control of mobile network access, col. 2 lines 1-12 – ML used to improve performance in mobile networks by predicting future signal strengths, figure 1, col. 2 lines 42-67 wherein UE processor receives instructions from selector which includes ML model (e.g., rules engine) to determine which SIM card (mobile network provider) has cheaper voice rates and/or provides the best quality of experience (QoE) and/or select SIM based on a particular location and/or availability and switch the UE to the mobile network service provider, col. 3 lines 5 – predicts which one of the plurality of resource packages meets the resource requirement and optimizes a reward function using a ML trained on previously implemented resource packages associated and associated QoE metrics OR col. 7 line 49 – col. 8 line 12 – wherein server uses ML to determine which SIM card provides the best quality of experience at the lowest cost and instructs the UE to switch a mobile network component, such as a SIM card, col. 15 lines 44-49 – the user selects/launches an App (e.g., makes a call) and the user agent (e.g., processor receives an instruction from ML model/rules engine) instantaneously selects one of, say, k SIMs or eSIMs and enables the selected SIM/eSIM if it was not enabled already).
Regarding claim 7. Mukherjee teaches wherein the rules engine is configured to determine the policy based on one or more artificial intelligence (AI) / machine learning (ML) models (abstract – ML aided autonomous control of mobile network access, col. 2 lines 1-12 – ML used to improve performance in mobile networks by predicting future signal strengths, figure 1, col. 2 lines 42-67 wherein UE processor receives instructions from selector which includes ML model (e.g., rules engine) to determine which SIM card (mobile network provider) has cheaper voice rates and/or provides the best quality of experience (QoE) and/or select SIM based on a particular location and/or availability and switch the UE to the mobile network service provider, col. 3 lines 5 – predicts which one of the plurality of resource packages meets the resource requirement and optimizes a reward function using a ML trained on previously implemented resource packages associated and associated QoE metrics OR col. 7 line 49 – col. 8 line 12 – wherein server uses ML to determine which SIM card provides the best quality of experience at the lowest cost and instructs the UE to switch a mobile network component, such as a SIM card, col. 15 lines 44-49 – the user selects/launches an App (e.g., makes a call) and the user agent (e.g., processor receives an instruction from ML model/rules engine) instantaneously selects one of, say, k SIMs or eSIMs and enables the selected SIM/eSIM if it was not enabled already).
Regarding claim 10. Mukherjee teaches wherein the different SIM or SIM profile is for a first service, the instructions from the rules engine comprise selection of another different SIM or SIM profile for a second service, and the one or more computer programs are further configured to cause the at least one processor to: responsive to the instructions from the rules engine, configure the UE device for the other different SIM or SIM profile and an associated carrier for the second service; and switch the UE device to the other SIM or SIM profile to use the second service provided by the associated carrier for the second service, wherein the first service comprises voice and short message service (SMS) and the second service comprises data, or vice versa (col. 1 line 64-66 – switch between SIMS wherein different SIM/carrier for phone calls and messages (e.g., SMS) and data, col. 2 line 42-54 – agent detects when user opens an application to make a phone call, determine which SIM card (mobile network operator) has cheaper voice rates, avoids roaming charges and/or has the most voice minutes available, and switch the UE to the mobile network service prover that optimizes utilization of the UE’s pre-purchased resources, col. 7 line 49 – col. 8 line 12 – user selects an application requiring resources (e.g., voice or data to run) … the selector then instructs a component of the UE to implement the selected resource package, e.g., by switching a mobile network component, such as a SIM card, col. 15 lines 44-49 – we simplify the provider selection problem by stipulating that as soon as the user launches an app (for brevity, making a call will also be considered “launching an app” in what follows), the user agent instantaneously selects one of, say k SIMs or eSIMs, and enables the selected SIM/eSIM if it was not enabled already, col. 38 lines 25-50 – it is a common usage scenario in many countries for a single user to carry two pre-paid SIM cards (corresponding to two providers) in a single dual-SIM device and manually enable a SIM (and associated voice and data plan) before making a call or launching an app … let us design a user agent to perform this task automatically).
Regarding claim 17. Mukherjee teaches wherein the different SIM or SIM profile is for a first service, the instructions from the rules engine comprise selection of another different SIM or SIM profile for a second service, and the method further comprises: responsive to the instructions from the rules engine, configuring the UE device for the other different SIM or SIM profile and an associated carrier for the second service, by the UE device; and switching the UE device to the other SIM or SIM profile to use the second service provided by the associated carrier for the second service, by the UE device, wherein the first service comprises voice and short message service (SMS) and the second service comprises data, or vice versa (col. 1 line 64-66 – switch between SIMS wherein different SIM/carrier for phone calls and messages (e.g., SMS) and data, col. 2 line 42-54 – agent detects when user opens an application to make a phone call, determine which SIM card (mobile network operator) has cheaper voice rates, avoids roaming charges and/or has the most voice minutes available, and switch the UE to the mobile network service prover that optimizes utilization of the UE’s pre-purchased resources, col. 7 line 49 – col. 8 line 12 – user selects an application requiring resources (e.g., voice or data to run) … the selector then instructs a component of the UE to implement the selected resource package, e.g., by switching a mobile network component, such as a SIM card, col. 15 lines 44-49 – we simplify the provider selection problem by stipulating that as soon as the user launches an app (for brevity, making a call will also be considered “launching an app” in what follows), the user agent instantaneously selects one of, say k SIMs or eSIMs, and enables the selected SIM/eSIM if it was not enabled already, col. 38 lines 25-50 – it is a common usage scenario in many countries for a single user to carry two pre-paid SIM cards (corresponding to two providers) in a single dual-SIM device and manually enable a SIM (and associated voice and data plan) before making a call or launching an app … let us design a user agent to perform this task automatically).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukherjee in view of Kojima et al (2021/0195392).
Regarding claims 4 and 14. Mukherjee does not teach wherein the policy is a tiered policy comprising a carrier network preference order based on location or a preference for different carrier networks for different services.
Kojima teaches storing switching conditions for switching SIMs and communication carrier in association with each SIM (abstract, figure 3, 0040) which enables proper control in switching of communication by treating the set of the SIM and the communication carrier as one unit (0006). Different priority level(s) for home SIM(s) and roaming SIM(s) in conjunction with communication quality are provided (0032-0033, 0041, 0043, 0048) which enables the UE to quickly switch to the higher priority SIM when roaming.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Mukherjee to associate a priority to each SIM and corresponding carrier as taught by Kojima thereby enabling the UE to quickly switch to the best SIM and corresponding carrier that provides the best communication quality when the UE roams.
3. Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukherjee in view of Rice et al (2022/0053607).
Regarding claims 8 and 16. Mukherjee does not teach wherein the one or more computer programs are further configured to cause the at least one processor to:
send information pertaining to conditions detected by the UE device to the home network and/or the intelligent subscriber management server of the UE device,
wherein the rules engine is configured to use the information pertaining to the conditions detected by the UE device to determine which SIM or SIM profile from the plurality of SIMs or SIM profiles to switch to.
Rice teaches training ML for switching SIMs (0063, 0112 – select SIM1/SIM2 based on signal strengths of cellular networks, based on available bandwidth, quality of service of the connection, stability of the connection, cost associated with the cellular network or any other characteristic). The UE and/or other UEs feedback real-time signal strength measurements to the network which is then used by the network to switch SIMs (0170).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Mukherjee to consider feedback from the UE and/or other UEs as taught by Rice thereby enabling the network to use real-time feedback regarding signal strengths of the network to select the best network/SIM that provides the highest quality of service and lowest cost.
4. Claims 9, 11 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukherjee in view of Pefkianakis et al (2022/0295343).
Regarding claim 9. Mukherjee does not teach wherein the rules engine is configured to analyze network loading and congestion, subscription information, carrier contract information, or any combination thereof, to determine which SIM or SIM profile from the plurality of SIMs or SIM profiles to switch to.
Pefkianakis teaches using ML (0038-0039, 0127) trained using congestion information (0006, 0023, 0025) to switch between SIMs (0135) thereby increasing bandwidth available for communication by the UE and increases the reliability of data transfer (0004).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Mukherjee to consider network congestion as taught by Pefkianakis thereby increasing bandwidth available for communication by the UE and increases the reliability of data transfer (0004).
Regarding claims 11 and 18. Mukherjee teaches wherein the computer program instructions are further configured to cause the at least one processor to: use a trained AI/ML model for intelligent SIM switching to assist in determining the SIM or SIM profile of the plurality of SIMs or SIM profiles to switch to, by the rules engine (abstract – ML aided autonomous control of mobile network access, col. 2 lines 1-12 – ML used to improve performance in mobile networks by predicting future signal strengths, figure 1, col. 2 lines 42-67 wherein UE processor receives instructions from selector which includes ML model (e.g., rules engine) to determine which SIM card (mobile network provider) has cheaper voice rates and/or provides the best quality of experience (QoE) and/or select SIM based on a particular location and/or availability and switch the UE to the mobile network service provider, col. 3 lines 5 – predicts which one of the plurality of resource packages meets the resource requirement and optimizes a reward function using a ML trained on previously implemented resource packages associated and associated QoE metrics OR col. 7 line 49 – col. 8 line 12 – wherein server uses ML to determine which SIM card provides the best quality of experience at the lowest cost and instructs the UE to switch a mobile network component, such as a SIM card, col. 15 lines 44-49 – the user selects/launches an App (e.g., makes a call) and the user agent (e.g., processor receives an instruction from ML model/rules engine) instantaneously selects one of, say, k SIMs or eSIMs and enables the selected SIM/eSIM if it was not enabled already),
Mukherjee does not explicitly teach wherein the trained AI/ML model is trained using hardware information from a plurality of UE devices, connection information from the plurality of UE devices, network congestion information, information pertaining to upcoming events, or any combination thereof.
Pefkianakis teaches using ML (0038-0039, 0127) trained using congestion information (0006, 0023, 0025) to switch between SIMs (0135) thereby increasing bandwidth available for communication by the UE and increases the reliability of data transfer (0004).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Mukherjee to consider network congestion as taught by Pefkianakis thereby increasing bandwidth available for communication by the UE and increases the reliability of data transfer (0004).
Regarding claim 19. Mukherjee teaches a computing system, comprising: memory storing computer program instructions for performing intelligent subscriber identity module (SIM) switching for a user equipment (UE) device using a current SIM or SIM profile; and at least one processor configured to execute the computer program instructions (figure 1, col. 6 line 46 – col. 7 line 48 wherein UE comprises processor, memory and program), wherein the computer program instructions are configured to cause the at least one processor to:
use a trained artificial intelligence (AI) / machine learning (ML) model for intelligent SIM switching to assist in determining a SIM or SIM profile of a plurality of SIMs or SIM profiles to switch to, by a rules engine of a home network, an intelligent subscriber management server, or the UE device, the rules engine configured to determine which SIM or SIM profile from the plurality of SIMs or SIM profiles that the UE device should switch to in accordance with a policy, receive instructions from the rules engine to switch from the current SIM or SIM profile to a different SIM or SIM profile (abstract – ML aided autonomous control of mobile network access, col. 2 lines 1-12 – ML used to improve performance in mobile networks by predicting future signal strengths, figure 1, col. 2 lines 42-67 wherein UE processor receives instructions from selector which includes ML model (e.g., rules engine) to determine which SIM card (mobile network provider) has cheaper voice rates and/or provides the best quality of experience (QoE) and/or select SIM based on a particular location and/or availability and switch the UE to the mobile network service provider, col. 3 lines 5 – predicts which one of the plurality of resource packages meets the resource requirement and optimizes a reward function using a ML trained on previously implemented resource packages associated and associated QoE metrics OR col. 7 line 49 – col. 8 line 12 – wherein server uses ML to determine which SIM card provides the best quality of experience at the lowest cost and instructs the UE to switch a mobile network component, such as a SIM card, col. 15 lines 44-49 – the user selects/launches an App (e.g., makes a call) and the user agent (e.g., processor receives an instruction from ML model/rules engine) instantaneously selects one of, say, k SIMs or eSIMs and enables the selected SIM/eSIM if it was not enabled already),
responsive to the instructions from the rules engine, configure the UE device for the different SIM or SIM profile and an associated carrier (figure 1, col. 2 lines 42-67 wherein UE processor receives instructions from selector which includes ML model (e.g., rules engine) to determine which SIM card (mobile network provider) has cheaper voice rates and/or provides the best quality of experience (QoE) and/or select SIM based on a particular location and/or availability and switch the UE to the mobile network service provider OR col. 7 line 49 – col. 8 line 12 – wherein server uses ML to determine which SIM card provides the best quality of experience at the lowest cost and instructs the UE to switch a mobile network component, such as a SIM card, col. 15 lines 44-49 – the user selects/launches an App (e.g., makes a call) and the user agent (e.g., processor receives an instruction from ML model/rules engine) instantaneously selects one of, say, k SIMs or eSIMs and enables the selected SIM/eSIM if it was not enabled already), and
switch the UE device to the other SIM or SIM profile for communications services provided by the associated carrier (figure 1, col. 2 lines 42-67 wherein UE processor receives instructions from selector which includes ML model (e.g., rules engine) to determine which SIM card (mobile network provider) has cheaper voice rates and/or provides the best quality of experience (QoE) and/or select SIM based on a particular location and/or availability and switch the UE to the mobile network service provider OR col. 7 line 49 – col. 8 line 12 – wherein server uses ML to determine which SIM card provides the best quality of experience at the lowest cost and instructs the UE to switch a mobile network component, such as a SIM card, col. 15 lines 44-49 – the user selects/launches an App (e.g., makes a call) and the user agent (e.g., processor receives an instruction from ML model/rules engine) instantaneously selects one of, say, k SIMs or eSIMs and enables the selected SIM/eSIM if it was not enabled already),
Mukherjee does not explicitly teach wherein the trained AI/ML model is trained using hardware information from a plurality of UE devices, connection information from the plurality of UE devices, network congestion information, information pertaining to upcoming events, or any combination thereof.
Pefkianakis teaches using ML (0038-0039, 0127) trained using congestion information (0006, 0023, 0025) to switch between SIMs (0135) thereby increasing bandwidth available for communication by the UE and increases the reliability of data transfer (0004).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Mukherjee to consider network congestion as taught by Pefkianakis thereby increasing bandwidth available for communication by the UE and increases the reliability of data transfer (0004).
Regarding claim 20. Mukherjee teaches wherein the different SIM or SIM 20. profile is for a first service, the instructions from the rules engine comprise selection of another different SIM or SIM profile for a second service, and the computer program instructions are further configured to cause the at least one processor to: responsive to the instructions from the rules engine, configure the UE device for the other different SIM or SIM profile and an associated carrier for the second service; and switch the UE device to the other SIM or SIM profile to use the second service provided by the associated carrier for the second service, wherein the first service comprises voice and short message service (SMS) and the second service comprises data, or vice versa (col. 1 line 64-66 – switch between SIMS wherein different SIM/carrier for phone calls and messages (e.g., SMS) and data, col. 2 line 42-54 – agent detects when user opens an application to make a phone call, determine which SIM card (mobile network operator) has cheaper voice rates, avoids roaming charges and/or has the most voice minutes available, and switch the UE to the mobile network service prover that optimizes utilization of the UE’s pre-purchased resources, col. 7 line 49 – col. 8 line 12 – user selects an application requiring resources (e.g., voice or data to run) … the selector then instructs a component of the UE to implement the selected resource package, e.g., by switching a mobile network component, such as a SIM card, col. 15 lines 44-49 – we simplify the provider selection problem by stipulating that as soon as the user launches an app (for brevity, making a call will also be considered “launching an app” in what follows), the user agent instantaneously selects one of, say k SIMs or eSIMs, and enables the selected SIM/eSIM if it was not enabled already, col. 38 lines 25-50 – it is a common usage scenario in many countries for a single user to carry two pre-paid SIM cards (corresponding to two providers) in a single dual-SIM device and manually enable a SIM (and associated voice and data plan) before making a call or launching an app … let us design a user agent to perform this task automatically).
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
---(2024/0098504) Demonget et al teaches switching SIMs/carrier(s) (0050) using ML trained (0028 – ML trained over time) with data regarding voice service, content streaming, gaming service, etc. (0023, 0029), location based criteria (00024, 0038-0039, 0056), event-based criteria (0024, 0056), load-based criteria (0024, 0056), device type (0056)
/BARRY W TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646