DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 6 recite “No. 1 placement opening” and “No. 2 placement opening”. The examiner suggests amending the claims and the written specification to recite --a first placement opening-- and --a second placement opening--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the terms “extension switch interface” and “debugging button” however such terms do not have a clear definition nor are they disclosed in the specification for one of ordinary skill to understand the intended function of said terms. The term “interface” is defined as a point where two things meet and/or connect and a button is very generic thus anything could be an interface or a button. It is unclear to what applicant is intended to claim.
Claim 1 further repeatedly recites the same limitations: “a display screen…a charging port…an extension switch interface…and a debugging button” see lines 2-3 and lines 9-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burke US 5795001 in view of Schmalz et al. US 6817639, Caryl CH 716379 and Pan CN 217322371.
Burke discloses a multifunctional electric suction cup (see Fig. 1), comprising a base (see Fig. 1), a shell (see Fig. 1), a bracket (see Fig. 1), a protective case (see Fig. 1), a display screen (LCD readout, col. 5, line 9), an extension switch interface, and a debugging button (other devices, switches and alarms, col. 5, lines 3-11); a charging port (claim 13), wherein the upper surface of the base is provided with a shell, a bracket, and a protective case that are fixedly connected (see Fig. 1); the protective case is provided with a switch (26), and the top of the shell (fig. 1) is provided with an external outlet (vent 46) connected to the atmosphere; the upper surface of the base is provided with a single-chip microcomputer (44), a power assembly (38), a battery pack (34), a display screen (col. 5, line 9), a charging port (claim 13), an extension switch interface, and a debugging button (other devices, switches and alarms, col. 5, lines 3-11); the bottom of the base is provided with an air intake (48), and the air inlet of the power assembly is connected to the air intake (48) through a conduit; the conduit is provided with a four-way connection (see Fig. 3), and the four-way connection is provided with a pressure sensor (50); the air outlet of the power assembly (38) is provided with a discharge pipe (46); the single-chip microcomputer (44) is electrically connected to the display screen (col. 5, line 9), the the power assembly (38), the battery pack (34), and the pressure sensor (50) respectively.
Burke does not specify wherein the four-way connection is provided with a solenoid valve. However, the use of a four way connection on a suction gripper device wherein the four way connection is provided with a solenoid valve connected to a pressure sensor is well known in the art as evidence by Schmalz. Schmalz teaches a gripper device (10) having a four-way connector (14) provided with a pressure sensor (26) and a solenoid valve (24) to open and close a connection between the under pressure supply and the suction gripper (12) depending on the data of the sensor while also provided with an evaluation electronics (28) for maintenance. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify and/or substitute the four-way connector of Burke with a four-way connector having an solenoid valve and pressure sensor as taught by Schmalz in order to provide a means for controlling the vacuum of the gripper based on the pressure sensor data provided while also provided maintenance information (debugging).
Burke does not further specify wherein the bottom of the base is provided with a plurality of anti-slip bumps. However, the use of anti-slip bumps on a suction gripping device is well known in the art as evidence by Caryl, who teaches a suction gripping device (see Fig. 2a above) wherein the gripping device is provided with a plurality of anti-slip bumps (22) for ensuring sufficient stability of the suction cup. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the suction gripping device of Burke to include anti-slip bumps as taught by Caryl in order to provide sufficient stability of the gripping device.
Burke does not further specify wherein the lower surface of the base is provided with two annular grooves, and the two annular grooves are respectively provided with a first sealing ring and a second sealing ring. However, a suction gripping device provided with two annular grooves and a first and second sealing ring is well known in the art as evidence by Pan who teaches a suction gripping device provided with two annular grooves (22 and 23 formed in base, 2; see Fig. 8 above) with a first sealing ring (10) and a second sealing ring (11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the base of Burke to include two annular grooves provided with a first and a second sealing ring for providing an efficient seal between the workpiece and the suction gripper.
As for claim 3, the modified Burke teaches wherein the protective case (36) is provided with an inner cavity corresponding to the bracket (L-brackets), and the bracket is located in the inner cavity of the protective case (side wall of L-bracket located in 36, see Fig. 3 below). Burke does not specify wherein a warning label (7) is attached to the connection between the two ends of the protective case and the base. However, the suction gripper and the warning label (printed matter) are not in a functional relationship. That is, the gripper does not need the warning label to perform the intended function. A user may properly grip and operate the apparatus without the warning label. The warning label merely serves as an advisory on warning the user while using the tool, similar to written instructions. Additionally, the warning label need not be located on the connection between the two ends of the protective case and the base and could be located on a handle or part of the interface display (thus demonstrating the lack of functional relationship). As such, the recitation of the warning label (printed matter) has not been given patentable weight. SEE MPEP 2111.05.
As for claim 4, the modified Burke teaches wherein the protective case (1) is provided with a switch dustproof plug (outer cover of 26, see Fig. 3) corresponding to the position of the switch (26).
As for claim 5, the modified Burke teaches wherein the external outlet (46) is arranged correspondingly to the discharge pipe (see Fig. 3).
As for claim 7, the modified Burke teaches wherein the air inlet conduit of the power assembly (38) is provided with a one-way valve (check valve, Burke, col. 3, lines 20-25).
As for claim 8, the modified Burke teaches wherein the air intake (48) runs through the base (22).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burke US 5795001 in view of Schmalz et al. US 6817639, Caryl CH 716379 and Pan CN 217322371 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Raab et al. US 2003/0161737.
As for claim 2, the modified Burke does not specify wherein the base (1) is made of high-strength alloy material. However, the use of high-strength alloy materials is well known in the suction gripper art as evidence by Raab who teaches a vacuum gripper plate (16) formed from a high tensile-strength aluminum alloy (¶0015). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the material of Burke to a high strength alloy material as taught by Raab in order to provide a device composed of a material with a high strength, while being low weight, and anti-corrosive.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burke US 5795001 in view of Schmalz et al. US 6817639, Caryl CH 716379 and Pan CN 217322371 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kuo US 2019/0375604 and Gressbach DE 102010016244 B4.
As for claim 6, Burke discloses the shell provided with openings (not labeled formed around 66) for the charging port (66) as well as other additional buttons. Burke does not specify wherein the openings are provided with outer covers. However, the use of multiple ports having openings and covers for providing a means for charging or electrical power to a suction gripper is well known in the art as evidence by Kuo and Gressbach.
Kuo teaches a suction gripper (see Fig. 1 picture above) provided with a shell (10) having a charging port (80) mounted in an opening (71).
Gressbach teaches a suction gripper (10) provided with an opening (26) having a charging port (41), a connector (42), and an extension (90) provided with a cover (33). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the shell of Burke to include a first and second opening for the charging port and additional switches/buttons (debugging button) and extension switch having a cover as taught by Pan and Gressbach in order to provide an easy access and protective means for powering and maintaining the suction gripper. The mere duplication of parts (openings and covers for different connection ports and switches) has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In reHarza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)).
Conclusion
/TYRONE V HALL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723