Detailed Action
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 24th, 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9-14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takeuchi (US 2021/0181013).
Regarding claim 1, Takeuchi discloses a two-way optical path system (Figs. 1-3, element 10) comprising:
a metasurface lens (23, [0058], “first intermediate layer 23 includes … a meta surface”) configured to deflect first incident light (d2) incident on a first surface of the metasurface lens as first outgoing light (d3) and second incident light (d6) incident on a second surface of the metasurface lens as second outgoing light (d7), wherein:
the first outgoing light and the second outgoing light are received by a first image sensor (19) and a second image sensor for imaging (20), respectively (as shown in Fig. 2, d3 is received by 19 and d7 is received by 20); or
the first incident light and the second incident light are from a first light emitter (12) and a second light emitter (16), respectively (examiner interprets the radiation 12 to be the first emitter and the propagation unit 16 to be the second emitter as both emit light).
Regarding claim 9, Takeuchi further discloses wherein:
the two-way optical path system (10) includes the first image sensor (19) and the second image sensor (20), and an angle not equaling 180° exists between an incident surface of the first image sensor and an incident surface of the second image sensor (as shown in Fig. 2, the angle between incident surfaces of 19 and 20 are not 180 degress); or
the two-way optical path system includes the first light emitter and the second light emitter, and an angle not equaling 180° exists between an emission surface of the first light emitter and an emission surface of the second light emitter (the first condition is met and thus the second condition is not required).
Regarding claim 10, Takeuchi further discloses wherein:
the two-way optical path system includes the first image sensor and the second image sensor, and an incident surface of the first image sensor and an incident surface of the second image sensor are parallel to each other or are arranged on a same plane (the second condition is met and thus the first condition is not required); or
the two-way optical path system includes the first light emitter (12) and the second light emitter (16), and an emission surface of the first light emitter and an emission surface of the second light emitter are parallel to each other or are arranged on a same plane (as shown in Fig. 2, the incoming light d1 from 12 and light from 16 d6 are from parallel emission surfaces).
Regarding claim 11, Takeuchi further discloses wherein
the two-way optical path system includes the first image sensor (19) and the second image sensor (20), and the first image sensor and the second image sensor are symmetrically arranged on two sides of the metasurface lens (as shown in Fig. 2, 19 and 20 are symmetrically placed from 23); or
the two-way optical path system includes the first light emitter and the second light emitter, and the first light emitter and the second light emitter are symmetrically arranged on two sides of the metasurface lens (the first condition is met and thus the second condition is not required).
Regarding claim 12, Takeuchi discloses an optical assembly (Figs. 1-3) comprising:
a housing (11) including a plurality of light-passing windows ([0077], “waves that are emitted from the radiation unit 12 and reflected by the scanner 13 is included in a detection region of electromagnetic waves in the electromagnetic wave detection apparatus 10”, examiner interprets this to mean multiple windows to allow for the waves to enter and leave); and
a two-way optical path system (10) arranged in the housing and including:
a metasurface lens (23, [0058], “first intermediate layer 23 includes … a meta surface”) configured to deflect first incident light (d2) incident on a first surface of the metasurface lens as first outgoing light (d3) and second incident light (d6) incident on a second surface of the metasurface lens as second outgoing light (d7), wherein:
the first outgoing light and the second outgoing light are received by a first image sensor (19) and a second image sensor (20) for imaging, respectively (as shown in Fig. 2, d3 is received by 19 and d7 is received by 20); or
the first incident light and the second incident light are from a first light emitter (12) and a second light emitter (16), respectively (examiner interprets the radiation 12 to be the first emitter and the propagation unit 16 to be the second emitter as both emit light).
Regarding claim 13, Takeuchi further discloses wherein:
the plurality of light-passing windows include a first light-passing window (s2) and a second light-passing window (s5) facing the first surface and the second surface of the metasurface lens (as shown in Fig. 2, s2 and s5 face 23) in a one-to-one correspondence, wherein the first light-passing window and the second light-passing window are arranged in parallel to each other (s2 and s5 are parallel to one another as shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Takeuchi further discloses wherein:
the plurality of light-passing windows include a first light-passing window (s3) and a second light-passing window (s6) facing the first surface and the second surface of the metasurface lens (as shown in Fig. 2, s3 and s6 face 23) in a one-to-one correspondence, wherein an angle not equaling 180° exists between the first light-passing window and the second light-passing window (as shown in Fig. 2, s3 and s6 are not parallel to one another).
Regarding claim 19, Takeuchi discloses an optical apparatus comprising an optical assembly (Figs. 1-3) including:
a housing (11) including a plurality of light-passing windows ([0077], “waves that are emitted from the radiation unit 12 and reflected by the scanner 13 is included in a detection region of electromagnetic waves in the electromagnetic wave detection apparatus 10”, examiner interprets this to mean multiple windows to allow for the waves to enter and leave); and
a two-way optical path system (10) arranged in the housing and including:
a metasurface lens (23, [0058], “first intermediate layer 23 includes … a meta surface”) configured to deflect first incident light (d2) incident on a first surface of the metasurface lens as first outgoing light (d3) and second incident light (d6) incident on a second surface of the metasurface lens as second outgoing light (d7), wherein:
the first outgoing light and the second outgoing light are received by a first image sensor (19) and a second image sensor (20) for imaging, respectively (as shown in Fig. 2, d3 is received by 19 and d7 is received by 20); or
the first incident light and the second incident light are from a first light emitter (12) and a second light emitter (16), respectively (examiner interprets the radiation 12 to be the first emitter and the propagation unit 16 to be the second emitter as both emit light).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi (US 2021/0181013) in view of Noudo (US 2025/0120205).
Regarding claim 2, Takeuchi further discloses wherein: the first outgoing light (d3) and the second outgoing light (d7) are transmitted light (d3 and d7 are transmitted light as shown in Fig. 2).
Takeuchi does not specifically disclose the metasurface lens includes a substrate, a nanostructure layer, and a cover layer stacked one over another, wherein refractive indexes, materials, and thicknesses of the substrate and the cover layer are same.
However Noudo, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a metasurface lens, teaches wherein: the metasurface lens (Fig. 13F) includes a substrate (51), a nanostructure layer (54), and a cover layer (53) stacked one over another (as shown in Fig. 13F, 51, 54, and 53 are stacked on one another), wherein refractive indexes, materials, and thicknesses of the substrate and the cover layer are same ([0278], “reflection preventing film 51 is formed by forming a silicon nitride film with a film thickness of approximately 125 nm by a CVD method”, [0284], “reflection preventing film 53 is formed by forming a silicon nitride film with a film thickness of approximately 125 nm by a CVD method”, as disclosed, the substrate and cover layer 51 and 53 have the same thickness and composition).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical path system of Takeuchi with the metasurface lens includes a substrate, a nanostructure layer, and a cover layer stacked one over another, wherein refractive indexes, materials, and thicknesses of the substrate and the cover layer are same as taught by Noudo, for the purpose of preventing the collapse of the nanostructure layer ([0271-0273]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi (US 2021/0181013) in view of Yang (US 2024/0061148).
Regarding claim 3, Takeuchi further discloses wherein: the first outgoing light (d3) and the second outgoing light (d7) are transmitted light (d3 and d7 are transmitted light as shown in Fig. 2).
Takeuchi does not specifically disclose the metasurface lens includes a substrate, a nanostructure layer, and a cover layer stacked one over another, wherein the cover layer differs from the substrate in at least one of refractive index, material, or thickness.
However Yang, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a metasurface lens, teaches the metasurface lens (Fig. 6, element 600) includes a substrate (101), a nanostructure layer (10), and a cover layer stacked one over another (110), wherein the cover layer differs from the substrate in at least one of refractive index, material, or thickness (as shown in Fig. 6, 10 and 110 differ in thickness).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical path system of Takeuchi with the metasurface lens includes a substrate, a nanostructure layer, and a cover layer stacked one over another, wherein the cover layer differs from the substrate in at least one of refractive index, material, or thickness as taught by Yang, for the purpose of enhancing a coating film on metasurfaces ([0005]).
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi (US 2021/0181013) in view of Noudo (US 2025/0120205), further in view of Ahmed (US 2018/0261785).
Regarding claim 4, Takeuchi further discloses wherein: the first outgoing light (d3) and the second outgoing light (d7) are transmitted light (d3 and d7 are transmitted light as shown in Fig. 2).
Takeuchi does not specifically disclose the metasurface lens includes a substrate, a nanostructure layer, a cover layer, and a bonding wafer layer stacked one over another, wherein refractive indexes, materials, and thicknesses of the substrate and the bonding wafer layer are same.
However Noudo, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a metasurface lens, teaches the metasurface lens includes a substrate (Fig. 13F, element 51), a nanostructure layer (54), a cover layer (55), and a bonding wafer layer (53) stacked one over another, wherein refractive indexes, materials, and thicknesses of the substrate and the bonding wafer layer are same ([0278], “reflection preventing film 51 is formed by forming a silicon nitride film with a film thickness of approximately 125 nm by a CVD method”, [0284], “reflection preventing film 53 is formed by forming a silicon nitride film with a film thickness of approximately 125 nm by a CVD method”, as disclosed, the substrate and bonding layer 51 and 53 have the same thickness and composition).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical path system of Takeuchi with the metasurface lens includes a substrate, a nanostructure layer, a cover layer, and a bonding wafer layer stacked one over another, wherein refractive indexes, materials, and thicknesses of the substrate and the bonding wafer layer are same as taught by Noudo, for the purpose of preventing the collapse of the nanostructure layer ([0271-0273]).
Modified Takeuchi does not specifically disclose a support formed between the substrate and the bonding wafer layer and around the nanostructure layer.
However Ahmed, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a metasurface lens, teaches a support (Fig. 14H, element 906) formed between the substrate (902) and the bonding wafer layer (909) and around the nanostructure layer (910).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical path system of Takeuchi in view of Noudo with the support formed between the substrate and the bonding wafer layer and around the nanostructure layer as taught by Ahmed, for the purpose of increasing emitted surface area between adjacent layers ([0032]).
Regarding claim 6, Takeuchi further discloses wherein: the first outgoing light (d3) and the second outgoing light (d7) are transmitted light (d3 and d7 are transmitted light as shown in Fig. 2).
Takeuchi does not specifically disclose the metasurface lens includes a substrate, a nanostructure layer, and a bonding wafer layer stacked one over another, and wherein refractive indexes, materials, and thicknesses of the substrate and the bonding wafer layer are same.
However Noudo, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a metasurface lens, teaches the metasurface lens includes a substrate (Fig. 13F, element 51), a nanostructure layer (54), and a bonding wafer layer (53) stacked one over another, and wherein refractive indexes, materials, and thicknesses of the substrate and the bonding wafer layer are same ([0278], “reflection preventing film 51 is formed by forming a silicon nitride film with a film thickness of approximately 125 nm by a CVD method”, [0284], “reflection preventing film 53 is formed by forming a silicon nitride film with a film thickness of approximately 125 nm by a CVD method”, as disclosed, the substrate and bonding layer 51 and 53 have the same thickness and composition).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical path system of Takeuchi with the metasurface lens includes a substrate, a nanostructure layer, and a bonding wafer layer stacked one over another, and wherein refractive indexes, materials, and thicknesses of the substrate and the bonding wafer layer are same as taught by Noudo, for the purpose of preventing the collapse of the nanostructure layer ([0271-0273]).
Modified Takeuchi does not specifically disclose a support formed between the substrate and the bonding wafer layer and around the nanostructure layer.
However Ahmed, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a metasurface lens, teaches a support (Fig. 14H, element 906) formed between the substrate (902) and the bonding wafer layer (909) and around the nanostructure layer (910).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical path system of Takeuchi in view of Noudo with the support formed between the substrate and the bonding wafer layer and around the nanostructure layer as taught by Ahmed, for the purpose of increasing emitted surface area between adjacent layers ([0032]).
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi (US 2021/0181013) in view of Yang (US 2024/0061148), further in view of Ahmed (US 2018/0261785).
Regarding claim 5, Takeuchi further discloses wherein: the first outgoing light (d3) and the second outgoing light (d7) are transmitted light (d3 and d7 are transmitted light as shown in Fig. 2).
Takeuchi does not specifically disclose the metasurface lens includes a substrate, a nanostructure layer, a cover layer, and a bonding wafer layer stacked one over another, wherein the bonding wafer differs from the substrate in at least one of refractive index, material, or thickness.
However Yang, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a metasurface lens, teaches the metasurface lens (Fig. 6, element 600) includes a substrate (101), a nanostructure layer (10), a cover layer (110), and a bonding wafer layer (16) stacked one over another, wherein the bonding wafer differs from the substrate in at least one of refractive index, material, or thickness (as shown in Fig. 6, 16 and 101 differ in thickness).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical path system of Takeuchi with the metasurface lens includes a substrate, a nanostructure layer, a cover layer, and a bonding wafer layer stacked one over another, wherein the bonding wafer differs from the substrate in at least one of refractive index, material, or thickness as taught by Yang, for the purpose of enhancing a coating film on metasurfaces ([0005]).
Modified Takeuchi does not specifically disclose a support formed between the substrate and the bonding wafer layer and around the nanostructure layer.
However Ahmed, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a metasurface lens, teaches a support (Fig. 14H, element 906) formed between the substrate (902) and the bonding wafer layer (909) and around the nanostructure layer (910).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical path system of Takeuchi in view of Noudo with the support formed between the substrate and the bonding wafer layer and around the nanostructure layer as taught by Ahmed, for the purpose of increasing emitted surface area between adjacent layers ([0032]).
Regarding claim 7, Takeuchi further discloses wherein: the first outgoing light (d3) and the second outgoing light (d7) are transmitted light (d3 and d7 are transmitted light as shown in Fig. 2).
Takeuchi does not specifically disclose the metasurface lens includes a substrate, a nanostructure layer, and a bonding wafer layer stacked one over another, wherein the bonding wafer differs from the substrate in at least one of refractive index, material, or thickness.
However Yang, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a metasurface lens, teaches the metasurface lens (Fig. 6, element 600) includes a substrate (101), a nanostructure layer (10), and a bonding wafer layer (16) stacked one over another, wherein the bonding wafer differs from the substrate in at least one of refractive index, material, or thickness (as shown in Fig. 6, 16 and 101 differ in thickness).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical path system of Takeuchi with the metasurface lens includes a substrate, a nanostructure layer, and a bonding wafer layer stacked one over another, wherein the bonding wafer differs from the substrate in at least one of refractive index, material, or thickness as taught by Yang, for the purpose of enhancing a coating film on metasurfaces ([0005]).
Modified Takeuchi does not specifically disclose a support formed between the substrate and the bonding wafer layer and around the nanostructure layer.
However Ahmed, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a metasurface lens, teaches a support (Fig. 14H, element 906) formed between the substrate (902) and the bonding wafer layer (909) and around the nanostructure layer (910).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical path system of Takeuchi in view of Noudo with the support formed between the substrate and the bonding wafer layer and around the nanostructure layer as taught by Ahmed, for the purpose of increasing emitted surface area between adjacent layers ([0032]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi (US 2021/0181013) in view of Carminati (US 2022/0011567).
Regarding claim 8, Takeuchi further discloses wherein: the first outgoing light (d3) and the second outgoing light (d7) are reflected light (as shown in Fig. 2. D3 and d7 are reflected by 23).
Takeuchi does not specifically disclose the metasurface lens includes a first nanostructure layer, a reflection layer, and a second nanostructure layer that are arranged in sequence.
However Carminati, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a metasurface lens, teaches the metasurface lens includes a first nanostructure layer (Fig. 3, upper elements 35), a reflection layer (26), and a second nanostructure layer (lower elements 35) that are arranged in sequence (as shown in Fig. 3, the upper elements 35, layer 26, and lower elements 35 are arranged in sequence).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical path system of Takeuchi with the metasurface lens includes a first nanostructure layer, a reflection layer, and a second nanostructure layer that are arranged in sequence as taught by Carminati, for the purpose of reducing undesired reflected radiation at low costs ([0118]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi (US 2021/0181013) in view of Dehkordi (US 2024/0004195).
Regarding claim 18, Takeuchi discloses as is set forth in claim 12 rejection above but does not specifically disclose further comprising: a shading member arranged in the housing and corresponding to at least one of the plurality of light-passing windows to block stray light.
However Dehkordi, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a metasurface lens, teaches further comprising: a shading member (Figs. 3A-6A, element 28) arranged in the housing and corresponding to at least one of the plurality of light-passing windows to block stray light ([0096], “Stray light is absorbed by an absorptive layer (28) at the bottom of the cavity”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical path system of Takeuchi with the further comprising: a shading member arranged in the housing and corresponding to at least one of the plurality of light-passing windows to block stray light as taught by Dehkordi, for the purpose of absorbing unwanted stray light ([0096]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to the allowable subject matter, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103.
Specifically, with respect to claim 15, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or suggest wherein the two-way optical path system is a first two-way optical path system; the optical assembly further comprising: a second two-way optical path system arranged in the housing; wherein: the metasurface lens of the first two-way optical path system and the metasurface lens of the second two-way optical path system are arranged orthogonal to each other; and the light-passing windows include: a first light-passing window and a second light-passing window facing the first surface and the second surface of the metasurface lens of the first two-way optical path system in a one-to-one correspondence, wherein the first light-passing window and the second light-passing window are parallel to the metasurface lens of the first two-way optical path system; and a third light-passing window and a fourth light-passing window facing the first surface and the second surface of the metasurface lens of the second two-way optical path system in a one-to-one correspondence, wherein the third light-passing window and the fourth light-passing window are parallel to the metasurface lens of the second two-way optical path system.
Specifically, with respect to claim 16, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or suggest wherein the two-way optical path system is a first two-way optical system; the optical assembly further comprising: a second two-way optical path system arranged in the housing; wherein: the metasurface lens of the first two-way optical path system and the metasurface lens of the second two-way optical path system are arranged side by side in a tiled manner; and the light-passing windows include: a first light-passing window and a second light-passing window facing the first surface and the second surface of the metasurface lens of the first two-way optical path system in a one-to-one correspondence, wherein the first light-passing window and the second light-passing window have an angle therebetween; and a third light-passing window and a fourth light-passing window facing the first surface and the second surface of the metasurface lens of the second two-way optical path system in a one-to-one correspondence, wherein the third light-passing window and the fourth light-passing window have an angle therebetween.
Specifically, with respect to claim 17, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or suggest wherein the two-way optical path system is a first two-way optical path system; the optical assembly further comprising: a second two-way optical path system and a third two-way optical path system arranged in the housing; wherein: the metasurface lens of the first two-way optical path system and the metasurface lens of the second two-way optical path system are arranged orthogonal to each other, and the metasurface lens of the second two-way optical path system and the metasurface lens of the third two-way optical path system are arranged orthogonal to each other; and the light-passing windows include: a first light-passing window and a second light-passing window facing the first surface and the second surface of the metasurface lens of the first two-way optical path system in a one-to-one correspondence, wherein the first light-passing window and the second light-passing window are parallel to the metasurface lens of the first two-way optical path system; a third light-passing window and a fourth light-passing window facing the first surface and the second surface of the metasurface lens of the second two-way optical path system in a one-to-one correspondence, wherein the third light-passing window and the fourth light-passing window are parallel to the metasurface lens of the second two-way optical path system; and a fifth light-passing window and a sixth light-passing window facing the first surface and the second surface of the metasurface lens of the third two-way optical path system in a one-to-one correspondence, wherein the fifth light-passing window and the sixth light-passing window are parallel to the metasurface lens of the third two-way optical path system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Oh (US 12,411,263), Hao (US 2024/0230953), Lemoff (US 2022/0050308), Uchida (US 2020/0174101), You (US 2020/0081100), teach a two-way optical path system comprising:
a metasurface lens configured to deflect first incident light incident on a first surface of the metasurface lens as first outgoing light and second incident light incident on a second surface of the metasurface lens as second outgoing light.
/MATTHEW Y LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 8 December 2025