Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akema et al. (US 2002/0021921) in view of Noguchi et al. (US 2009/0026689)
With respect to claim 1, Akema et al. disclose an image forming apparatus (as shown at least by fig. 2) comprising: a transfer unit (e.g., item(s) 6 and/or 7) configured to transfer an image to an object (e.g., “disk D”) by coming into contact with the object (D); a mounting table (e.g., “table 25”) on which the object (D) is to be mounted; a transporting unit (e.g., “disc conveyor 20”) configured to transport the mounting table (25) along a transport path; and a lift (e.g., spring(s) 87a, 87b, 89a and/or 89b) capable of changing a height of the mounting table (25) and configured to adjust the height of the mounting table (25) in a process of image transfer to the object (D) by the transfer unit (6 and/or 7), the lift (87a, 87b, 89a and/or 89b) adjusting the height of the mounting table (25) such that a leading part, in a direction of transport, of the object (D) mounted on the mounting table (25) transported by the transporting unit (20) comes into contact with the transfer unit (6 and/or 7) at a position of the transport path, the position being on an upstream side in the direction of transport relative to a position where any other part of the object (D) comes into contact with the transfer unit (as shown at least by figs. 2 and/or 2-15; and/or as discussed at least in paragraph(s) 78-112).
With respect to claim 14, Akema et al. disclose an image forming apparatus (as shown at least by fig. 2) comprising: transferring means (e.g., item(s) 6 and/or 7) for transferring an image to an object (e.g., “disk D”) by coming into contact with the object (D); a mounting table (e.g., “table 25”) on which the object (D) is to be mounted; transporting means (e.g., “disc conveyor 20”) for transporting the mounting table (25) along a transport path; and lifting means (e.g., item(s) 87a, 87b, 89a and/or 89b) capable of changing a height of the mounting table (25) for adjusting the height of the mounting table (25) in a process of image transfer to the object (D) by the transferring means (6 and/or 7), the lifting means (87a, 87b, 89a and/or 89b) adjusting the height of the mounting table (25) such that a leading part, in a direction of transport, of the object (D) mounted on the mounting table (25) transported by the transporting means (20) comes into contact with the transferring means (6 and/or 7) at a position of the transport path, the position being on an upstream side in the direction of transport relative to a position where any other part of the object (D) comes into contact with the transferring means (as shown at least by figs. 2 and/or 2-15; and/or as discussed at least in paragraph(s) 78-112).
With further respect to claims 1 and 11-14, Akema et al. further disclose the transferring means including an intermediate transfer roll being rotated such that a direction of movement of the roll coincides with the direction of transport of the object at a transfer position (as shown at least by fig. 2), wherein the transporting means (“disc conveyor 20”) transports the mounting table (“table 25”) along the transport path (as shown at least by figs. 2 and/or 3), and the lifting means (item(s) 87a, 87b, 89a and/or 89b) adjusts the height of the mounting table (25), the transporting means (20) and the lifting means (item(s) 87a, 87b, 89a and/or 89b) being configured to cooperate such that, at a position upstream of the transfer position in the direction of movement of the intermediate transfer member (6), the leading edge of the image carried by the intermediate transfer member (6) reaches the transfer position (as shown at least by figs. 2-3 and/or 12-19 and/or as discussed at least in the portion(s) of the specification associated with the previously identified figures).
With further respect to claims 1 and 11-14, Akema et al. do not disclose the intermediate transfer member being a belt and therefore do not disclose the transferring means being an intermediate transfer belt that is stretched over a plurality of rollers and that is to carry an image composed of charged particles, the belt being rotated such that a direction of movement of the belt coincides with the direction of transport of the object at a transfer position; and a transfer roller servicing as one of the plurality of rollers and stretching the belt at the transfer position where the belt is closest to the object.
With further respect to claims 1 and 11-14, Noguchi et al. teach the transferring means can be a roll or a belt (e.g., paragraph 110) and therefore teaches an intermediate transfer belt (e.g., item 13) that is stretched over a plurality of rollers (e.g., rollers 15, 62, 14 and/or 16) and that is to carry an image composed of charged particles, the belt (13) being rotated such that a direction of movement of the belt (13) coincides with the direction of transport of the object (e.g., item 9) at a transfer position (as shown at least by figs. 1, 3 and/or 6); and a transfer roller (e.g., transfer roller 16) servicing as one of the plurality of rollers (rollers 15, 62, 14 and/or 16) and stretching the belt (13) at the transfer position where the belt is closest to the object (as shown at least by figs. 1, 3 and/or 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement an intermediate transfer belt as taught by Noguchi et al. for the intermediate transfer member of Akema et al. at least because there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in achieving image transfer.
With respect to claim 2, Akema et al. further disclose wherein the mounting table (25) includes a seat (e.g., “disk support surface 25h” and/or the surface upon which the disk D is mounted) on which the object (D) is to be mounted and that is configured to change an inclination of the object in accordance with a state of contact between the object (D) and the transfer unit (as shown at least by figs. 2 and/or 2-15; and/or as discussed at least in paragraph(s) 78-112).
With respect to claim 3, Akema et al. further disclose wherein the seat (25h) is configured to change the inclination of the object (D) in accordance with a force of contact of the object (D) with the transfer unit (as shown at least by figs. 2 and/or 2-15; and/or as discussed at least in paragraph(s) 78-112).
With respect to claim 4, Akema et al. further disclose wherein the seat (25h) is supported by the mounting table (25) with an aid of an elastic member (87a, 87b, 89a and/or 89b) provided on a back face of the seat, the back face being opposite a face on which the object (D) is to be mounted (as shown at least by figs. 2 and/or 2-15; and/or as discussed at least in paragraph(s) 78-112).
With respect to claims 5 and 6, Akema et al. further disclose wherein the seat includes: a body (e.g., surface upon which disk D is mounted) on which the object (D) is to be mounted; and a spring (87a, 87b, 89a and/or 89b) provided at each of a plurality of positions on a back face of the body, the back face being opposite a face on which the object (D) is to be mounted (as shown at least by figs. 2 and/or 2-15; and/or as discussed at least in paragraph(s) 78-112).
With respect to claim 7, Akema et al. further disclose wherein the seat (25h and/or the surface upon which the disk D is mounted) is configured to change the inclination of the object in such a manner as to reduce a change in a force of contact between the object (D) and the transfer unit in the process of image transfer (as shown at least by figs. 2 and/or 2-15; and/or as discussed at least in paragraph(s) 78-112).
With respect to claim 8, Akema et al. further disclose wherein the seat includes: a body (25h and/or the surface upon which the disk D is mounted) on which the object (D) is to be mounted; and a support including a height changing mechanism (87a, 87b, 89a and/or 89b) and provided at each of a plurality of positions on a back face of the body, the back face being opposite a face on which the object (D) is to be mounted (as shown at least by figs. 2 and/or 2-15; and/or as discussed at least in paragraph(s) 78-112).
With respect to claim 9, Akema et al. further disclose wherein, with the object (D) being mounted on the seat (25h and/or the surface upon which the disk D is mounted), if a surface of the object (D) to which the image is to be transferred is inclined relative to a surface of the transfer unit (6 and/or 7) at a transfer position, the seat changes the inclination of the object in such a manner as to reduce an inclination of the surface of the object relative to the surface of the transfer unit (as shown at least by figs. 2 and/or 2-15; and/or as discussed at least in paragraph(s) 78-112).
With further respect to claim 11, Akema et al. further disclose wherein the lift (87a, 87b, 89a and/or 89b) is configured to adjust the height of the mounting table (25) such that the leading part of the object (D) comes into contact with the intermediate transfer member in an area where the intermediate transfer member runs along the transfer roller (as shown at least by figs. 2 and/or 2-15; and/or as discussed at least in paragraph(s) 75-112).
With respect to claim 12, Akema et al. further disclose wherein the lift (87a, 87b, 89a and/or 89b) is configured to adjust the height of the mounting table (25) such that the leading part of the object (D) comes into contact with the belt (as shown at least by fig. 2 and/or as discussed at least in paragraph 75)
With further respect to claim 12, Akema et al. does not specifically disclose wherein the transfer unit includes a stretching roller at a position upstream of the transfer roller in the direction of movement of the belt, the stretching roller stretching the belt in cooperation with the transfer roller; and the object comes into contact with the belt in an area between the transfer roller and the stretching roller.
With further respect to claim 12, Noguchi et al. teach wherein the transfer unit includes a stretching roller (e.g., roller 14) at a position upstream of the transfer roller (e.g., roller 16) in the direction of movement of the belt (13), the stretching roller (14) stretching the belt (13) in cooperation with the transfer roller (16); and the object (9) comes into contact with the belt (13) in an area between the transfer roller (16) and the stretching roller (14, as shown at least by figs. 1, 3 and/or 6 and/or as discussed at least in the portion(s) of the specification associated with the previously identified figures) .
With further respect to claim 13, Akema et al. further disclose adjusting height of the mounting table such that the leading part of the object comes into contact with the transfer member at a position higher than the transfer position in the direction of movement of the transfer member (as shown at least by figs. 2-3 and/or 12-19 and/or as discussed at least in the portion(s) of the specification associated with the previously identified figures).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akema et al. (US 2002/0021921) in view of Noguchi et al. (US 2009/0026689) in further view of Mao (US 2010/0054777)
With respect to claim 15, Akema et al. and Noguchi et al. disclose the image forming apparatus of claim 1 as discussed above, and further disclose a fixing unit (e.g., item 8) configured to thermally fix the image to the object with contacting the object, using a heat source (as shown at least by figs. 1-10).
With further respect to claim 15, Akema et al. and Noguchi et al. do not disclose the fixing unit being a non-contact fixing unit.
With further respect to claim 15, Mao teaches a fixing unit (e.g., item 70) configured to thermally fix the image to the object without contacting the object, using a heat source or an infrared laser light (as discussed at least in paragraph 54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the non-contact fixing device of Mao for the fixing device of Akema et al. and Noguchi et al. at least because there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in achieving fixation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments dated 8/13/26 have been fully considered but are now moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Remarks
/JOSEPH S WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
JSW