DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Following response to arguments is based on Applicant’s arguments filed on 05 November 2025.
Regarding Previous Rejection Under 35 USC § 102
Applicant’s arguments [Pages 1-2] with respect to rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art reference(s).
Regarding claim 1, on page 2, Applicant argues that prior art of record fails to teach “select a SIM or SIM profile with a lowest cost available carrier network, from among a plurality of carrier networks, that meets minimum quality criteria or a highest quality according to quality criteria, wherein the quality criteria are related to one or more of: a minimum signal strength, signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) and signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR)”.
Newly found reference Zheng discloses a system (Fig. 2) where several UEs 202 switch (203) among several SIMs (205) served by corresponding carrier network, by selecting a SIM with the lowest price based on quality of service [Paragraphs 11, 48, 50-51, 65, 67-68, 82]. Hence, a person having ordinary skills in the art would recognize that the system in Demonget select best SIM based on cost and quality of service.
Applicant’s arguments [Pages 2-3] with respect to rejection of claims 12 and 19 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 12, on pages 2-3, Applicant argues that Demonget fails to teach “determining, by the intelligent subscriber management server, that a UE device of the plurality of UE devices should switch from a current SIM or SIM profile to a different SIM or SIM profile in accordance with a policy”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s arguments and submits as follows.
Demonget illustrates a system (Fig. 1) where a policy enforcement system 107 is the one who commands policy enforcement clients 109-115 to enforce SIM switching for UEs 113 based on policies [Paragraphs 15, 50].
Regarding claim 19, on page 3, Applicant argues that this claim is not only equivalent to claims 1-2, as it further recites “the policy is predictive and uses deterministic logic based on observations over time, probabilistic logic of one or more artificial intelligence (AI) / machine learning (ML) models, or both, and/or the computer program is configured to determine the policy based on the one or more AI/ML models”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s arguments and submits as follows.
Claim 19 is equivalent to former claims [1, 2, 6 and 7] or [12-13, 15]. Hence, this claim is rejected under similar reasoning.
Therefore, in view of the above reasons, the Examiner maintains the rejections.
Claim Status
Claims 1, 12, 19 have been amended. Claim 3 has been canceled. Thus, claims 1-2 and 4-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 – Second Paragraph
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-2 and 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
For claim 1:
At line 11, it is unclear whether “according to quality criteria” should be “according to the quality criteria”, as, at line 10, it was previously introduced “quality criteria”.
Additionally, at same line 11, the claim further recites “wherein the quality criteria are related…”. Hence, it is unclear which “quality criteria” it would be referring.
For claims 2 and 4-11:
These claims are also rejected as they depend upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Demonget et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0098504) in view of Zheng et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0100097).
Regarding claim 1, Demonget teaches an intelligent subscriber management server (Figs. 1, 6), comprising:
memory storing computer program instructions (memory 930) configured to facilitate roaming intelligent subscriber identity module (SIM) (instructions are stored for switching from a SIM and network to another SIM and network [Paragraphs 17, 50]) switching for a plurality of user equipment (UE) devices (UE selected among plurality of UEs ID_1, ID_N [Paragraphs 17, 50]); and
at least one processor configured to execute the computer program instructions (processor 920), wherein the computer program instructions are configured to cause the at least one processor to:
monitor traffic from the plurality of UE devices (step 602 monitors the traffic of the UE devices) routed through home network infrastructure via a radio access network (RAN) of the home network infrastructure ([Paragraphs 60, 63]), or routed through the home network infrastructure from carrier network infrastructure of another carrier (routed through networks 103-N);
[
determine that a UE device of the plurality of UE devices should switch from a current SIM or SIM profile to a different SIM or SIM profile in accordance with a policy (UE, from the plurality of UEs, is determined to be switching from SIM [Paragraphs 17, 50]) [
instruct the UE device of the plurality of UE devices to switch to the different SIM or SIM profile ([step 608]).
However, Demonget does not explicitly mention: select a SIM or SIM profile with a lowest cost available carrier network, from among a plurality of carrier networks, that meets minimum quality criteria or a highest quality according to quality criteria, wherein the quality criteria are related to one or more of: a minimum signal strength, signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) and signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR)… based on the selection.
Zheng teaches, in a similar field of endeavor of communication systems, the following:
select a SIM or SIM profile with a lowest cost available carrier network, from among a plurality of carrier networks, that meets minimum quality criteria or a highest quality according to quality criteria, wherein the quality criteria are related to one or more of: a minimum signal strength, signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) and signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR)… based on the selection (Zheng discloses a system (Fig. 2) where several UEs 202 switch (203) among several SIMs (205) served by corresponding carrier network, by selecting a SIM with the lowest price based on quality of service [Paragraphs 11, 48, 50-51, 65, 67-68, 82]. Hence, a person having ordinary skills in the art would recognize that the system in Demonget select best SIM based on cost and quality of service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system (as taught by Demonget) by switching SIMs based on quality of service (as taught by Zheng) for the purpose of improving productivity of the service (Zheng – Paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 2, Demonget further teaches the intelligent subscriber management server of claim 1, wherein the computer program instructions are configured to take into account locations of the plurality of UE devices, hardware capabilities of the plurality of UE devices, compatibility of the plurality of UE devices with carrier networks associated with a plurality of SIMs or SIM profiles, services that the plurality of UE devices are configured to use, carrier networks that are available in respective locations of the plurality of UE devices, network quality criteria, subscription criteria, cost criteria, or any combination thereof, when determining which SIM or SIM profile to switch to ([Paragraphs 24, 32, 35]).
Regarding claim 4, Demonget further teaches intelligent subscriber management server of claim 1, wherein the policy is a tiered policy comprising a carrier network preference order based on location or a preference for different carrier networks for different services (policy enforcement system 107 generates the policy requirements [Paragraphs 38, 46-47, 58]).
Regarding claim 5, Demonget further teaches the intelligent subscriber management server of claim 1, wherein the policy is reactive and the computer program instructions are configured to cause the UE device of the plurality of UE devices to switch to the different SIM or SIM profile based on a drop in signal strength below a minimum threshold, detection that a RAN for a carrier of the current SIM or SIM profile has gone down, a change in a location of the UE device, detection that an antenna of the UE device is no longer working such that a band can no longer be used, or any combination thereof ([Paragraphs 47, 51]).
Regarding claim 6, Demonget further teaches the intelligent subscriber management server of claim 1, wherein the policy is predictive and uses deterministic logic based on observations over time, probabilistic logic of one or more artificial intelligence (AI) / machine learning (ML) models, or both ([Paragraph 22]).
Regarding claim 7, Demonget further teaches the intelligent subscriber management server of claim 1, wherein the computer program instructions are configured to determine the policy based on one or more artificial intelligence (AI) / machine learning (ML) models ([Paragraph 22]).
Regarding claim 8, Demonget further teaches the intelligent subscriber management server of claim 1, wherein the computer program instructions are further configured to cause the at least one processor to: receive information pertaining to conditions detected by the plurality of UE devices ([Paragraph 26]); and use the received information at least in part for determining that the UE device should switch to the different SIM or SIM profile ([Paragraph 56]).
Regarding claim 9, Demonget further teaches the intelligent subscriber management server of claim 1, wherein the computer program instructions are configured to analyze network loading and congestion, subscription information, carrier contract information, or any combination thereof, to determine which SIM or SIM profile to switch to ([Paragraph 18, 70]).
Regarding claim 10, Demonget further teaches the intelligent subscriber management server of claim 1, wherein the different SIM or SIM profile is for a first service ([Paragraph 16]), the instructions to switch to the different SIM or SIM profile comprise selection of another different SIM or SIM profile for a second service ([Paragraph 23]), and the first service comprises voice and short message service (SMS) ([Paragraph 41]) and the second service comprises data, or vice versa ([Paragraph 18]).
Regarding claim 11, Demonget further teaches the intelligent subscriber management server of claim 1, wherein the computer program instructions are further configured to cause the at least one processor to: use a trained AI/ML model for intelligent SIM switching to assist in determining the SIM or SIM profile to switch to, wherein the trained AI/ML model is trained using hardware information from UE devices, connection information from the UE devices, network congestion information, information pertaining to upcoming events, or any combination thereof ([Paragraphs 28, 24, 47, 91]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)-(a)(2) as being anticipated by Demonget et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0098504).
Regarding claim 12, Demonget teaches a computer-implemented method (Figs. 1, 6) for facilitating roaming intelligent subscriber identity module (SIM) switching for a plurality of user equipment (UE) devices (instructions are stored for switching from a SIM and network to another SIM and network [Paragraphs 17, 50]), comprising:
monitoring, by an intelligent subscriber management server, traffic from the plurality of UE devices (step 602 monitors the traffic of the UE devices) routed through home network infrastructure via a radio access network (RAN) of the home network infrastructure ([Paragraphs 60, 63]), or routed through the home network infrastructure from carrier network infrastructure of another carrier (routed through networks 103-N);
determining, by the intelligent subscriber management server, that a UE device of the plurality of UE devices should switch from a current SIM or SIM profile to a different SIM or SIM profile in accordance with a policy (UE, from the plurality of UEs, is determined to be switching from SIM. Additionally, as illustrated in Fig. 1, a policy enforcement system 107 is the one who commands policy enforcement clients 109-115 to enforce SIM switching for UEs 113 based on policies [Paragraphs 15, 50] [Paragraphs 17, 50]); and
instructing the UE device of the plurality of UE devices to switch to the different SIM or SIM profile, by the intelligent subscriber management server ([step 608]).
Regarding claims 13-18, these claims are rejected as applied to claims 2, 5-10.
Regarding claims 19-20, these claims are rejected as applied to claims 12-13, 15 (for claim 19), and claim 16 (for claim 20).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
February 13, 2026
/FABRICIO R MURILLO GARCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633