DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-17, 20-22, 24-26, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rong et al. (US 2013/0083759 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2021/0160923 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Rong discloses an apparatus comprising: at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: select at least a first network node from a plurality of network nodes, in response to receiving, at a user device, a positioning message from one or more of the plurality of network nodes, wherein the first network node is selected based on determining that highest transmission power (highest transmit power, RSRP/RSRQ) is required for transmission of a channel preamble message to said first network node in comparison with transmission to other ones of the plurality of network nodes (paragraph [0042]-[0058]; [0062]-[0067]; [0075]-[0079]; [0085]-[0101]; [0106]-[0121]; [0140]-[0154]; and so on, illustrating selecting network node based on its highest power or RSRP/RSRQ compared to other network nodes and/or of their positions to transmit a channel preamble message to the selected network node).
Rong doesn’t disclose determine a first group of network nodes from the plurality of network nodes, wherein the first group of network nodes are suitable for receiving a first group channel preamble message from the user device during a same random access channel occasion as that of the first network node; and transmit the first group channel preamble message to the first group of network nodes at a first random access channel occasion.
Zhang teaches determine a first group of network nodes from the plurality of network nodes, wherein the first group of network nodes are suitable for receiving a first group channel preamble message from the user device during a same random access channel occasion as that of the first network node (figs. 9-11; paragraph [0068]-[0070]; [0072]; and so on); and transmit the first group channel preamble message to the first group of network nodes at a first random access channel occasion (figs. 9-11; paragraph [0076]-[0078]; [0068]-[0070]; [0072]; [0007]-[0018]; [0038]-[0039]; [0069]-[0073]; [0114]-[0116]; and etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use determine a first group of network nodes from the plurality of network nodes, wherein the first group of network nodes are suitable for receiving a first group channel preamble message from the user device during a same random access channel occasion as that of the first network node; and transmit the first group channel preamble message to the first group of network nodes at a first random access channel occasion as taught by Zhang into Rong in order to improve reliable low latency and resource utilization.
Regarding claim 25 and 29, the claims include features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 16 above. The claims are mere reformulation to define the corresponding method and non-transitory computer readable medium, respectively, and the rejection to claim 16 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 17 and 26, Rong discloses wherein the positioning message comprises information of a first number of network nodes for transmission of the group channel preamble message (paragraph [0042]-[0058]; [0062]-[0067]; [0075]-[0079]; [0085]-[0101]; [0106]-[0121]; [0140]-[0154]; and so on).
Regarding claim 20, Rong discloses wherein the first group of network nodes is determined based, at least in part, on one or more of the parameters comprised within the location determining information request (paragraph [0007]-[0010]; [0014]-[0017]; [0025]; [0043]-[0051]; [0063]; [0136]-[0143]; [0161]; [0198]-[0200]; and so on).
Regarding claim 21, Rong discloses wherein the first group channel preamble message is transmitted to the first group of network nodes on a single user device panel (paragraph [0063]; [0136]-[0143]; [0161]; [0165]-[0184]; [0198]-[0200]; and so on).
Regarding claim 22, as applied above, Rong discloses configured to: transmit a first message to a positioning module (figs. 3-10).
Rong doesn’t discloses wherein the first message provides indication that the user device supports group channel preamble message transmission.
Zhang teaches wherein the first message provides indication that the user device supports group channel preamble message transmission (figs. 9-11; paragraph [0076]-[0078]; [0068]-[0070]; [0072]; [0007]-[0018]; [0038]-[0039]; [0069]-[0073]; [0114]-[0116]; and etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the first message provides indication that the user device supports group channel preamble message transmission as taught by Zhang into Rong in order to improve reliable low latency and resource utilization.
Regarding claim 24, Rong discloses wherein for selecting the first network node, the apparatus is further configured to measure signal power for the plurality of network nodes for one or more antenna panels of the user device (paragraph [0042]-[0058]; [0062]-[0067]; [0075]-[0079]; [0085]-[0101]; [0106]-[0121]; [0140]-[0154]; and so on).
Claims 23 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rong in view of Zhang, and further in view of Wong et al. (US 2019/0182794 A1).
Regarding claim 23 and 28, as applied above, the modified communication of Rong discloses wherein the apparatus is configured to allow the user device to transmit the first group preamble message. However, the modified communication of Rong does not disclose the message is while the user device is in an idle mode.
Wong teaches the message is while the user device is in an idle mode (paragraph [0052]; [0076]; [0084]-[0086]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the message is while the user device is in an idle mode as taught by Zhang into Rong in order to reduce power consumption.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-19 and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461