DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's affidavit filed 5/18/2026 has been fully considered but is not persuasive.
Regarding the arguments in the affidavit directed towards the “receiving” steps in claims 1, 14, and 15, the examiner agrees with the applicant’s assessment that the receiving could not be done in the human mind. The examiner originally classified these “receiving” steps as both an abstract idea in step 2A, prong one and extra solution activity in step 2A, prong two. In response to the applicant’s persuasive argument, the examiner is removing the “receiving steps” from the step 2A, prong one rejection and maintaining the extra solution activity classification in step 2A, prong two. Thus, the receiving steps are now only an extra-solution activity (step 2A, prong two) and not a mental process (step 2A, prong one).
Regarding the arguments in the affidavit directed towards the “determining” and “combining” in the affidavit, the examiner is not persuaded. Once the audio input data and clinical assessment data is obtained, a person could do math on the data (Fourier transforms for example are done by hand) and evaluate it, which qualifies as a mental process.
Regarding the arguments in the affidavit directed to “I. The Invention Cannot be Performed in the Human Mind”. The examiner is not persuaded. The applicant is essentially arguing that a person wouldn’t compute like a model. While this may be true, a physician can listen to a patient and read clinical data, and use both to determine the likelihood the patient has PTSD. The artificial intelligence (“machine learning model” as claimed by the applicant) is doing something that has been done by physicians for decades (diagnosing PTSD based on listening to the patient and reading clinical data).
Regarding the arguments in the affidavit directed to “II. The Invention Improves Machine-Learning Systems for PTSD Assessment Based on Audio and Clinical Data”. The examiner is not persuaded. The improvement argued by the applicant is part of the abstract idea and therefore cannot be the improvement per MPEP 2106.05(a): “It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. The improvement can be provided by one or more additional elements. See the discussion of Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 187 and 191-92, 209 USPQ 1, 10 (1981)) in subsection II, below. In addition, the improvement can be provided by the additional element(s) in combination with the recited judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.04(d) (discussing Finjan, Inc. v. Blue Coat Sys., Inc., 879 F.3d 1299, 1303-04, 125 USPQ2d 1282, 1285-87 (Fed. Cir. 2018)). Thus, it is important for examiners to analyze the claim as a whole when determining whether the claim provides an improvement to the functioning of computers or an improvement to other technology or technical field”.
Applicant’s arguments filed 5/18/2026 with respect to the 101 rejection for claims 1-17 are not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant’s argument “A. The claims are not directed to a mental process”, the examiner is not persuaded. As stated above, once the audio input data and clinical assessment data is obtained, a person could do math on the data (Fourier transforms for example are done by hand) and evaluate it, which qualifies as a mental process.
Regarding the applicant’s argument “B. The claims integrate any alleged abstract idea into a practical application”, the examiner is not persuaded. Practical application in the therapeutic arts requires some sort of treatment step or modification of the sensors to make them non-generic sensors. Mere diagnosis is not considered “a practical application”. Note: The applicant’s claims are very similar to Example 47 claim 2 (which is ineligible per the USPTO) of the July 2024 Subject Matter Eligibility Examples: https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2024-AI-SMEUpdateExamples47-49.pdf
Regarding the applicant’s argument “Claim 1 recites a technical solution to a technical problem”, the examiner is not persuaded. The examiner doesn’t agree that diagnosing PTSD is a technical problem since PTSD is a human condition that has always been around and has always been diagnosed. Training a computer to make a diagnosis that physicians already make does not qualify as a “technical solution to a technical problem”.
Regarding the applicant’s argument “Claim 1 is analogous to claims found allowable in Ex parte Guillaume Desjardins”, the examiner is not persuaded. Desjardins is a case about how the artificial intelligence actually works. The applicant’s application of artificial intelligence appears to be about the application of generic AI rather than a technological improvement of the AI itself. Essentially, the applicant’s use of AI is how to feed the data (a physician would have previously used to diagnose PTSD) into a computer to make a diagnosis like the physician, which isn’t eligible.
Regarding the applicant’s argument “Claim 1 is analogous to claims found allowable in Ex parte Carmody”, the examiner is not persuaded. Similar to Desjardins above, Carmody is also a case about how the artificial intelligence actually works. The applicant’s application of artificial intelligence appears to be about the application of generic AI rather than a technological improvement of the AI itself. Essentially, the applicant’s use of AI is how to feed the data (a physician would have previously used to diagnose PTSD) into a computer to make a diagnosis like the physician, which isn’t eligible.
Regarding the applicant’s argument “C. Claim 16 integrates any alleged abstract idea into a practical application”, the examiner is not persuaded. Practical application in the therapeutic arts requires some sort of treatment step or modification of the sensors to make them non-generic sensors. Mere diagnosis is not considered “a practical application”. Note: The applicant’s claims are very similar to Example 47 claim 2 (which is ineligible per the USPTO) of the July 2024 Subject Matter Eligibility Examples: https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2024-AI-SMEUpdateExamples47-49.pdf
Regarding the applicant’s argument “D. Claim 17 integrates any alleged abstract idea into a practical application”, the examiner is not persuaded. Practical application in the therapeutic arts requires some sort of treatment step or modification of the sensors to make them non-generic sensors. Mere diagnosis is not considered “a practical application”. Note: The applicant’s claims are very similar to Example 47 claim 2 (which is ineligible per the USPTO) of the July 2024 Subject Matter Eligibility Examples: https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2024-AI-SMEUpdateExamples47-49.pdf
Applicant’s arguments filed 5/18/2026 with respect to the prior art rejection for claims 1-15 are not persuasive but are persuasive for new claims 16 and 17.
Regarding the applicant’s arguments towards amended claims 1, 14, and 15, the examiner is interpreting Zhuang prior art in a different manner (as necessitated by the applicant’s amendments) which renders the applicant’s prior art arguments moot. The new interpretation is as follows (Note: This is identical to the 103 rejection below): combining the one or more audio input indicators and the one or more clinical assessment indicators (e.g. see figure 6 step 608. Note: Step 608 will factor in the data from steps 502 and 506) using at least one machine learning model (e.g. see figure 5 step 514) to generate a combined indicator representation (e.g. see figure 6 step 608. Note: Step 608 will factor in the data from steps 502 and 506); and determining, by the at least one machine learning model (e.g. see figure 5 step 514), the PTSD diagnosis likelihood (e.g. see abstract, [0006], [0007]) in the patient based on the combined indicator representation (e.g. see figure 6 step 608).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, the examiner is not applying art for these as Zhuang and Moturu do not disclose the clinician input for weighting in claim 16 or the separate machine learning models for the audio input indicators and clinical assessment data in claim 17. However, claims 16 and 17 are still rejected in view of the 101 rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception, specifically an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
The claimed invention in claims 1-17 are directed to statutory subject matter as the claims recite a method, system, and non-transitory computer readable medium for determining a PTSD likelihood in a patient.
Step 2A, Prong One
Regarding claims 1, 14, and 15, the recited steps are directed to a mathematical concept and mental process of performing concepts in a human mind or by a human using a pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsections (I) and (III)).
Regarding claims 1, 14, and 15, the limitations of “determining one or more audio input indicators based on the audio input data, wherein each audio input indicator of the one or more audio input indicators represents a likelihood of a positive PTSD diagnosis based on the audio input data” and “determining one or more clinical assessment indicators based on the clinical assessment data, wherein each clinical assessment indicator of the one or more clinical assessment indicators represents a likelihood of a positive PTSD diagnosis based on the clinical assessment data” are a process, as drafted, covers performance of the limitation that can be performed by a human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) under the broadest reasonable standard. For example, these limitations are nothing more than a medical professional making a diagnosis of a likelihood of a positive PTSD diagnosis based on evaluations of a patient’s speech content or vocal cues and clinical a assessment report.
Regarding claims 1, 14, and 15, the limitations of “combining the one or more audio input indicators and the one or more clinical assessment indicators using at least one machine learning model; and determining the PTSD diagnosis likelihood in the patient based on the audio input data and the clinical assessment data” is a mental process of combining the two types of data to determine a PTSD diagnosis likelihood.
Step 2A, Prong Two
For claims 1, 14, and 15, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite “a memory” and “one or more processors”. The receiving of the audio input data and clinical assessment data amount to nothing more than pre-solution activity of data gathering. The memory and processor are recited at a high-level of generality and amount to nothing more than parts of a generic computer. Additionally, applicant includes “a machine learning model”, which is nothing more than the computer implementation/automation of an abstract mental process of screening a patient, which is what a physician typically does with a patient in a diagnostic setting. Merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application.
As mentioned in the paragraph above, the limitations of “receiving, at an electronic device, audio input data from a patient” and “receiving, at the electronic device, clinical assessment data from the patient, wherein the clinical assessment data comprises one or more of social support data, suicide ideation and attempts data, depression severity data, or self-assessment data” is mere data gathering recited at a high level of generality, and thus is insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g) (“whether the limitation is significant”). In addition, all uses of the recited judicial exceptions require such data gathering, and, as such, these limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on the claim. These limitations amount to necessary data gathering. See MPEP 2106.05. Further, the “receiving” limitations are recited as being performed by a computer. The computer is recited at a high level of generality. In the “receiving” limitations, the computer is used as a tool to perform the generic computer function of receiving data. See MPEP 2106.05(f). In the “determining” and “combining” limitations, the computer is used to perform an abstract idea, as discussed above in Step 2A, Prong One, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of receiving of the audio input data and clinical assessment data amount to nothing more than mere pre-solution activity of data gathering, which does not amount to an inventive concept. Further, simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)). In this case, elements of general computer are being used to implement the abstract idea of determining a PTSD likelihood in a patient. Dependent claims 2-13 further limit the abstract idea and thus are also directed towards the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2016/0078771 A1); hereinafter referred to as “Zhuang” and further in view of Moturu et al. (Pub. No.: US 2015/0370993 A1); hereinafter referred to as “Moturu”.
Regarding claims 1, 14, and 15, Zhuang discloses a method for determining a PTSD likelihood in a patient (e.g. see abstract, [0006], [0007]) comprising: receiving, at an electronic device, audio input data from a patient (e.g. see figure 5 step 502, [0044], “speech response to open-ended questions”); determining one or more audio input indicators based on the audio input data, wherein each audio input indicator of the one or more audio input indicators represents a likelihood of a positive PTSD diagnosis based on the audio input data (e.g. see figure 5 step 504); receiving, at the electronic device, clinical assessment data from the patient (e.g. see figure 5 step 506, [0044], “neurophysiological signals (e.g., EEG signals) obtained from potentially aversive collection protocols (e.g., responses to negative image stimuli)” will read on “clinical assessment data”); determining one or more clinical assessment indicators based on the clinical assessment data, wherein each clinical assessment indicator of the one or more clinical assessment indicators represents a likelihood of a positive PTSD diagnosis based on the clinical assessment data (e.g. see figure 5 step 508); combining the one or more audio input indicators and the one or more clinical assessment indicators (e.g. see figure 6 step 608. Note: Step 608 will factor in the data from steps 502 and 506) using at least one machine learning model (e.g. see figure 5 step 514) to generate a combined indicator representation (e.g. see figure 6 step 608. Note: Step 608 will factor in the data from steps 502 and 506); and determining, by the at least one machine learning model (e.g. see figure 5 step 514), the PTSD diagnosis likelihood (e.g. see abstract, [0006], [0007]) in the patient based on the combined indicator representation (e.g. see figure 6 step 608).
Zhuang discloses the claimed invention except for the clinical assessment data comprises one or more of social support data, suicide ideation and attempts data, depression severity data, or self-assessment data. Moturu teaches that it is known to use such a modification as set forth in figure 1 elements s120, s130, figures 5 and 6 (this will read on depression severity data and self-assessment data) to provide new and useful method for modeling behavior and states of depression (e.g. see [0006]) that improve upon current standards of detection, diagnosis and treatment of MDD, anxiety, and/or other depressive disorders (e.g. see [0005]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use depression severity data and self-assessment data as taught by Moturu in the system/method of Zhuang, since said modification would provide the predictable results of new and useful method for modeling behavior and states of depression (e.g. see [0006]) that improve upon current standards of detection, diagnosis and treatment of MDD, anxiety, and/or other depressive disorders (e.g. see [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhuang discloses using a machine learning model (e.g. see [0026], [0047]) but is silent as to the at least one machine learning model comprises an ensemble model. Moturu teaches that it is known to use such a modification as set forth in [0046] to provide a variety of suitable machine learning algorithms to improve diagnostic predictions (e.g. see [0046]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use an ensemble model as taught by Moturu in the system/method of Zhuang, since said modification would provide the predictable results of a variety of suitable machine learning algorithms to improve diagnostic predictions (e.g. see [0046]).
Regarding claim 3, Zhuang discloses using a machine learning model (e.g. see [0026], [0047]) but is silent as to the ensemble model determines the PTSD diagnosis likelihood in the patient based on the audio input data and the clinical assessment data using a plurality of machine learning algorithms. Moturu teaches that it is known to use such a modification as set forth in [0046] to provide a variety of suitable machine learning algorithms to improve diagnostic predictions (e.g. see [0046]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use an ensemble model as taught by Moturu in the system/method of Zhuang, since said modification would provide the predictable results of a variety of suitable machine learning algorithms to improve diagnostic predictions (e.g. see [0046]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhuang discloses using a machine learning model (e.g. see [0026], [0047]) but is silent as to the at least one machine learning model comprises any one or more of a regression model, a decision tree model, a neural network model, a support vector machine model, a random forest model, and a weighted ensemble model. Moturu teaches that it is known to use such a modification as set forth in [0046] to provide a variety of suitable machine learning algorithms to improve diagnostic predictions (e.g. see [0046]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the machine learning models disclosed above as taught by Moturu in the system/method of Zhuang, since said modification would provide the predictable results of a variety of suitable machine learning algorithms to improve diagnostic predictions (e.g. see [0046]).
Regarding claim 5, Zhuang discloses each audio input indicator of the one or more audio input indicators represents speech emotion, vocal features, or lexical features of the audio input data from the patient (e.g. see [0044], [0061]).
Regarding claim 6, Zhuang discloses a first audio input indicator of the one or more audio input indicators comprises a speech emotion indicator, wherein the speech emotion indicator represents a likelihood of PTSD based on speech emotion extracted from the audio input data from the patient and compared to speech emotion training data at a machine-learned model trained on speech emotion data consistent with a positive PTSD diagnosis and speech emotion data consistent with a negative PTSD diagnosis (e.g. see [0044], [0061]).
Regarding claim 7, Zhuang discloses a second audio input indicator of the one or more audio input indicators comprises a vocal features indicator, wherein the vocal features indicator represents a likelihood of PTSD based on vocal features extracted from the audio input data from the patient and compared to vocal features training data at a machine-learned model trained on vocal feature data consistent with a positive PTSD diagnosis and vocal feature data consistent with a negative PTSD diagnosis (e.g. see [0044], [0061]. Note: The phrase “vocal feature” may be interpreted broadly. Vocabulary used by a patient will read on vocal feature as the words spoken are a feature of the patient’s voice in any given sentence).
Regarding claim 8, Zhuang discloses a third audio input indicator of the one or more audio input indicators comprises a lexical features indicator, wherein the lexical features indicator represents a likelihood of a positive PTSD diagnosis based on lexical features extracted from the audio input data from the patient and compared to lexical features training data at a machine-learned model trained on lexical feature data consistent with a positive PTSD diagnosis and lexical feature data consistent with a negative PTSD diagnosis (e.g. see [0044], [0061]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhuang discloses the claimed invention except for each clinical assessment indicator of the one or more clinical assessment indicators represents social support, suicide ideation and attempts, depression severity, or self-assessment of the clinical assessment data. Moturu teaches that it is known to use such a modification as set forth in figure 1 elements s120, s130, figures 5 and 6 (this will read on depression severity data and self-assessment data) to provide new and useful method for modeling behavior and states of depression (e.g. see [0006]) that improve upon current standards of detection, diagnosis and treatment of MDD, anxiety, and/or other depressive disorders (e.g. see [0005]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use depression severity data and self-assessment data as taught by Moturu in the system/method of Zhuang, since said modification would provide the predictable results of new and useful method for modeling behavior and states of depression (e.g. see [0006]) that improve upon current standards of detection, diagnosis and treatment of MDD, anxiety, and/or other depressive disorders (e.g. see [0005]).
Regarding claim 10, Zhuang discloses a first clinical assessment indicator of the one or more clinical assessment indicators comprises a social support indicator, wherein the social support indicator represents a likelihood of a positive PTSD diagnosis based on social support features extracted from the audio input data from the patient and compared to social support training data at a machine-learned model trained on social support data consistent with a positive PTSD diagnosis and social support data consistent with a negative PTSD diagnosis (e.g. see [0061]. “social isolation” will read on “social support indicator”).
Regarding claim 11, Zhuang discloses the claimed invention except for a second clinical assessment indicator of the one or more clinical assessment indicators comprises a suicide ideation and attempts indicator, wherein the suicide ideation and attempts indicator represents a likelihood of a positive PTSD diagnosis based on suicide ideation and attempts features extracted from the audio input data from the patient and compared to suicide ideation and attempts training data at a machine-learned model trained on suicide ideation and attempts data consistent with a positive PTSD diagnosis and suicide ideation and attempts data consistent with a negative PTSD diagnosis. Moturu teaches that it is known to use such a modification as set forth in [0105] (“exhibition of suicide or death preoccupation thoughts”) to provide improved patient outcomes in terms of patient function and patient quality of life for PTSD patients (e.g. see [0017]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use depression severity data and self-assessment data as taught by Moturu in the system/method of Zhuang, since said modification would provide the predictable results improved patient outcomes in terms of patient function and patient quality of life for PTSD patients.
Regarding claim 12, Zhuang discloses the claimed invention except for a third clinical assessment indicator of the one or more clinical assessment indicators comprises a depression severity indicator, wherein the depression severity indicator represents a likelihood of a positive PTSD diagnosis based on depression severity features extracted from the audio input data from the patient and compared to depression severity training data at a machine-learned model trained on depression severity data consistent with a positive PTSD diagnosis and depression severity data consistent with a negative PTSD diagnosis. Moturu teaches that it is known to use such a modification as set forth in figure 1 elements s120, s130, figures 5 and 6 (this will read on depression severity data and self-assessment data) to provide new and useful method for modeling behavior and states of depression (e.g. see [0006]) that improve upon current standards of detection, diagnosis and treatment of MDD, anxiety, and/or other depressive disorders (e.g. see [0005]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use depression severity data and self-assessment data as taught by Moturu in the system/method of Zhuang, since said modification would provide the predictable results of new and useful method for modeling behavior and states of depression (e.g. see [0006]) that improve upon current standards of detection, diagnosis and treatment of MDD, anxiety, and/or other depressive disorders (e.g. see [0005]).
Regarding claim 13, Zhuang discloses combining the one or more audio input indicators and the one or more clinical assessment indicators comprises the clinician adjusting the weight of a social support indicator (e.g. see figure 5 steps 510-514, [0061]. Note: Step 510 of learning the relationship between low and high-cost data will “weight” the inputs as learning the relationship will determine how the data will be projected into the matrix and “social isolation” will read on “social support indicator”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.C.E/Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/AMANDA L STEINBERG/Examiner, Art Unit 3792