DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species AII, BI, CI & DII (Claim(s) 1 – 4 & 9 – 16 & 18) in the reply filed on (5 – 26 – 2026) is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). It should be noted that applicant made a typo in their remarks on (Pg. 6), with electing DII claim 18 is being elected resulting in claim 17 not being elected. Consequently, (Claim(s) 5 – 8 & 17) is / are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the same reply filed on (5 – 26 – 2026).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1 – 4 & 9 – 16 & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.Claim(s) 1 recites the limitation "the discrete sections" twice. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Highlighting, applicant does have sufficient antecedent basis for “the plurality of discrete sections” for the purposes of examination it will be understood to be the plurality of discrete sections. Claims 2-4, 9-16, and 18 which depend from claim 1 are similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A.) Claim(s) 1 – 2 & 13 – 16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Travis Busbee et al. (US 20210039399 A1, hereinafter Busbee) in view of Andreatta et al. (US 20210238748 A1, hereinafter Andreatta) Regarding claim 1,
A method of forming a shaft for an air cycle machine (ACM), the method comprising:
forming a shaft base of one of:
a thrust shaft having a plurality of discrete sections including:
a first section that connects with a tie rod when installed in the ACM;
a second section that connects with a motor rotor when installed in the ACM;
a third section that forms a shaft joint that connects adjacent portions of the thrust shaft; and
a compressor rotor shaft having a plurality of discrete sections including:
a fourth section that connects with a tie rod support when installed in the ACM; and
fifth section that connects with the motor rotor when installed in the ACM;
wherein forming the shaft base includes:
printing, layer by layer, the shaft base, by printing first and second thermoplastic polymer surfaces, respectively from first and second thermoplastic polymers, that are disposed against each other,
the first thermoplastic polymer surface having a first coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE), and
the second thermoplastic polymer surface having a second CTE;
forming a lower support section on the shaft base by printing, layer by layer, along the plurality of discrete sections of the shaft base a mixture of a third thermoplastic polymer and a catalyst formed with metal; and
forming an upper support section on the shaft by depositing on the lower support section, along each of the discrete sections, via electrolysis deposition, a metallic coating, to thereby control thermal expansion and contraction of the shaft along the discrete sections, to thereby make the shaft.
Busbee teaches the following:
– h.) it should be noted that (a) – (h) are understood to be structural details regarding the shaft for an air cycle machine (ACM), while applicant’s claims are directed towards a method for fabricating a shaft for an air cycle machine (ACM) by additive manufacturing. With ([0142]) teaches that that fabrication of a object by additive manufacturing comprises a computer program that may be configured to receive object information, such as a design file for a 3D object (e.g., from a computer-aided design (CAD) program) and/or a print path for printing a 3D object (e.g., from a slicer application) with information indicative of target material properties at various points along the print path. As such, the fabrication of any object including a thrust shaft, tie rod, tie rod support, motor rotor, shaft joint and compressor rotor shaft, etc. is understood to be disclosed. Accordingly, the case law for structural limitation within a method claim may be recited. Where, it has been held that to be entitled to weight in method claims, the recited structure limitations therein must affect the method in a manipulative sense, and not to amount to the mere claiming of a use of a particular structure. Ex parte Pfeifer, 1962 C.D. 408 (1961).
(Abstract) teaches that the present invention generally relates to the printing of materials, using 3-dimensional printing and other printing techniques including the use of one or more mixing nozzles. As such, the use of more than one nozzle is understood to be disclosed. ([0145]) teaches that the system may identify a target material to be printed based on the object information. For example, the object information may comprise information regarding the target material (e.g., in metadata) and the system may directly identify the target material from the received object information. ([0146]) adds that the system may identify input material(s) to create the target material. For example, the 3D printer may print the target material in the object by mixing a first material with a second material. In this example, the system may identify the first and second materials. ([0011]) notes that the article includes a 3D-printed article having a gradient in a property between a first portion and a second portion, wherein the 3D-printed article is a single integrated material. As such, the printing of target materials, using a plurality of nozzles that employ mixing components to form said target materials is understood to be disclosed, noting that the target materials are understood to be deposited such that they are disposed against each other (as a single integrated material) having a gradient in a property. ([0101]) teaches that one or more material inputs may comprise a thermoplastic polymer (also referred to herein as a thermoplastic), or a polymer that can be melted into a liquid, and then re-solidified after cooling. In a non-limiting example, the thermoplastic polymer could be selected from a group consisting of: a thermoplastic polyurethane, a thermoplastic elastomer, a thermoplastic polyolefin elastomer, a polyolefin, a polyester, a polyester terephthalate, a polyamide, an acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene copolymer, a nylon, a polyethylene, a block copolymer of polyamide and polyether, a thermoplastic copolyester, an ethylene vinyl acetate polymer. As such, the deposited materials are understood to comprise a variety of thermoplastic materials including polyolefin elastomer, a polyolefin, a polyester, a polyester terephthalate, a polyamide, an acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene copolymer, a nylon, a polyethylene.
& k.) ([0011]) teaches includes a 3D-printed article having a gradient in a property between a first portion and a second portion, wherein the 3D-printed article is a single integrated material, and wherein the property is selected from the group consisting of coefficient of thermal expansion amongst others. ([0086]) notes that the gradient may vary relatively smoothly or sharp change in properties at the boundary. ([0101]) teaches that one or more material inputs may comprise a thermoplastic polymer (also referred to herein as a thermoplastic), or a polymer that can be melted into a liquid, and then re-solidified after cooling. In a non-limiting example, the thermoplastic polymer could be selected from a group consisting of: a thermoplastic polyurethane, a thermoplastic elastomer, a thermoplastic polyolefin elastomer, a polyolefin, a polyester, a polyester terephthalate, a polyamide, an acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene copolymer, a nylon, a polyethylene, a block copolymer of polyamide and polyether, a thermoplastic copolyester, an ethylene vinyl acetate polymer.Where the variety of polymers, i.e., polyethylene (PE), polyamide (PA / Nylon), thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU), are all understood to be thermoplastics, with CTEs values of Polyethylene (PE) ≈ 100 – 200 x 10-6 K-1 , Polyamide (PA / Nylon) ≈ 80 – 120 x 10-6 K-1, and Thermoplastic Polyurethane (TPU) ≈ 100 – 160 x 10-6 K-1. Thus, the variety of thermoplastic polymers which are found to comprise different CTEs.
As noted above, (Abstract), ([0011]), ([0145]) and ([0146]) summarized discloses a 3D printing systems that utilizes one or more mixing nozzles to create integrated, single-material articles with varying property gradients. The system enables the production of complex, multi-material objects (in particular thermoplastics) by identifying specific input materials from object information and mixing them during the printing process. As such, the use of a third polymer is already disclosed. With ([0189]) adding that additives are introduced into the mixture. They may be introduced at any suitable point, for example, directly into a nozzle or mixing chamber. ([0189]) adding that additives include, catalysts, surfactants (e.g., silicone surfactants), nucleation promotors, fillers for better abrasion resistance, chemical foaming agents, etc. As such, the use of catalysts is understood to be disclosed.
([0205]) teaches that it can be useful deposit material onto surfaces by spraying rather than by extrusion alone through a nozzle. Advantages of spraying relative to extrusion alone may include but are not limited to deposition of thinner films with no extrusion lines. ([0205]) adding that coatings made by spraying can be applied conformally to three-dimensional (3D) surfaces without precise alignment or 3D tool-pathing.
Regarding Claim 1, Busbee is silent on forming an upper support section on the shaft by depositing on the lower support section, along each of the discrete sections, via electrolysis deposition, a metallic coating, to thereby control thermal expansion and contraction of the shaft along the discrete sections. In analogous art for the printing of materials, using 3-dimensional printing and other printing techniques, ([0011]), Andreatta suggests details regarding the additive manufacturing being such that printing first and second thermoplastic polymer surfaces, respectively from first and second thermoplastic polymers, that are disposed against each other, and in this regard, Andreatta teaches the following:
([0035]) teaches that in step 101, a substrate 1 is provided. This substrate 1 comprises a polymer intended to receive a metallic plating on at least one surface thereof. ([0036}) teaches that the substrate may for instance be produced by moulding, 3D printing (additive manufacture), amongst other techniques. ([0038]) teaches that in step 102, the substrate 1 is treated with a primer compound 3 so as to form a coating thereupon. ([0042]) teaches in step 103, a layer of pre-synthesized chelating polymer 5 is coated directly on the primer layer 3. ([0048]) teaches that in step 104, a plating catalyst 7 is distributed throughout the polymer 5. This catalyst, which is chosen for its promotion of electroless plating and/or electroplating, may be formed of metallic ions.([0055]) notes, steps 103 and 104 as illustrated in (Fig. 1) may be combined in a single step 106, in which a mixture of polymer 5 and plating catalyst 7 in an appropriate solvent is deposited. ([0043]) notes that type of polymers that the synthesized chelating polymer 5 may comprise, in particular, the polymers include polyacrylic acid, nitrogen-bearing polymers such as polyethyleneimine, polyvinyl pyridine, polyvinylpyrrolidone, polyacrylic acid, polyethylamine, poly(2-vinyl pyridine) (P2VP), poly(4-vinyl pyridine) (P4VP), polyamino phenylene (PAP) and so on. Where, polyethyleneimine, polyvinyl pyridine, polyvinylpyrrolidone and polyacrylic acid, are understood to be thermoplastic polymers, with a variety of CTEs. As such, the deposition of a thermoplastic polymer 5 with a plating catalyst 7 is distributed throughout the thermoplastic polymer 5 in single step is understood to be disclosed.
([0068]) teaches that in step 105, the coated substrate 1 was placed in an electroless copper bath from Dow (Circuposit™ 3350) at a temperature of 45° C. for 10 minutes in order to form the metallic plating 9. This particular bath is a copper chloride bath containing EDTA as a stabilizer, formaldehyde as a reducing agent, organic stabilizers and a high pH of 12-14. (Claim 1) notes that forming said metallic plating on said pre-synthesized polymer by means of electroless plating or electroplating. ([0016]) teaches that the metal in question may comprise copper, nickel, Ni—P, Ni—B, silver, palladium or other suitable metal or mixture (alloy) of metals and may be applied in a plating bath containing a solution of an appropriate metal salt, with or without application of electrical current as appropriate. As such, the deposition via electrolysis of a metallic coating on a third thermoplastic polymer and a catalyst formed with metal is understood to be disclosed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing of an object by the printing of materials, using 3-dimensional printing and other printing techniques, including the use of one or more mixing nozzles, the object comprising a gradient in a property such as its CTE of Busbee. By modifying the printed object to comprise a coating that comprises the deposition of a thermoplastic polymer 5 with a plating catalyst 7, as taught by Andreatta. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a coating that comprises a deposition of a thermoplastic polymer 5 with a plating catalyst 7, as it provides for tailoring the conductive of the object. Highlighting, that each of copper, nickel, Ni—P, Ni—B, silver, palladium are known to have different levels of conductivity, ([0016]). Accordingly, the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way and/or the application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results provides for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143. Additionally, the use of a known material, namely a metallic coating, for its intended use i.e, on a third thermoplastic polymer and a catalyst formed with metal, in a known environment, explicitly deposition via electrolysis, provides for the recitation of known material in the art case law. Where, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the first and second CTEs differ from each other.
Andreatta teaches the following:
([0011]) teaches includes a 3D-printed article having a gradient in a property between a first portion and a second portion, wherein the 3D-printed article is a single integrated material, and wherein the property is selected from the group consisting of coefficient of thermal expansion amongst others. ([0086]) notes that the gradient may vary relatively smoothly or sharp change in properties at the boundary. ([0101]) teaches that one or more material inputs may comprise a thermoplastic polymer (also referred to herein as a thermoplastic), or a polymer that can be melted into a liquid, and then re-solidified after cooling. In a non-limiting example, the thermoplastic polymer could be selected from a group consisting of: a thermoplastic polyurethane, a thermoplastic elastomer, a thermoplastic polyolefin elastomer, a polyolefin, a polyester, a polyester terephthalate, a polyamide, an acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene copolymer, a nylon, a polyethylene, a block copolymer of polyamide and polyether, a thermoplastic copolyester, an ethylene vinyl acetate polymer.Where the variety of polymers, i.e., polyethylene (PE), polyamide (PA / Nylon), thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU), are all understood to be thermoplastics, with CTEs values of Polyethylene (PE) ≈ 100 – 200 x 10-6 K-1 , Polyamide (PA / Nylon) ≈ 80 – 120 x 10-6 K-1, and Thermoplastic Polyurethane (TPU) ≈ 100 – 160 x 10-6 K-1. Thus, the variety of thermoplastic polymers which are found to comprise different CTEs.
Regarding claim 13 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the first and second thermoplastic polymer surfaces are the same as each other.
Busbee teaches the following:
([0145]) teaches that the object information may comprise a print path comprising a plurality of points and metadata associated with one or more (or all of) the plurality of points indicative of a desired material property at the point (e.g., color, stiffness, Shore A hardness, average pore size, density, nanoindentation hardness, etc.). ([0178]) teaches that two or more fluids may be mixed prior to delivery, e.g., as discussed in detail herein. However, in some cases, two or more fluids may not be mixed prior to delivery. For instance, two or more inlets into the nozzle or mixing chamber may be used to introduce two or more separate fluids. These fluids can then be mixed in the nozzle or mixing chamber. As such, the mixing of the first and second thermoplastic polymer is understood to be disclosed. Highlighting, printing a mixture of the first and second thermoplastic polymer is understood to provide for a first and second thermoplastic polymer surfaces are the same as each other.
Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the first thermoplastic polymer surface is Acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS).
Busbee teaches the following:
([0101]) teaches that one or more material inputs may comprise a thermoplastic polymer (also referred to herein as a thermoplastic), or a polymer that can be melted into a liquid, and then re-solidified after cooling. In a non-limiting example, the thermoplastic polymer could be selected from a group consisting of: an acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene copolymer, amongst others. As such, the use of the first thermoplastic polymer surface is Acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS) being the first polymer is disclosed.
Regarding claim 15 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the catalyst is palladium(II) chloride (PdCl2).
Regarding Claim 15, Busbee is silent on the catalyst is palladium(II) chloride (PdCl2). In analogous art as applied above, Andreatta suggests details regarding that the catalyst is palladium(II) chloride (PdCl2), and in this regard, Andreatta teaches the following:
([0068]) teaches that in step 105, the coated substrate 1 was placed in an electroless copper bath from Dow (Circuposit™ 3350) at a temperature of 45° C. for 10 minutes in order to form the metallic plating 9. This particular bath is a copper chloride bath containing EDTA as a stabilizer, formaldehyde as a reducing agent, organic stabilizers and a high pH of 12-14. (Claim 1) notes that forming said metallic plating on said pre-synthesized polymer by means of electroless plating or electroplating. ([0016]) teaches that the metal in question may comprise copper, nickel, Ni—P, Ni—B, silver, palladium or other suitable metal or mixture (alloy) of metals and may be applied in a plating bath containing a solution of an appropriate metal salt, with or without application of electrical current as appropriate. ([0085]) teaches that the substrate was placed in a 5 mM solution of tetraamine palladium (II) chloride monohydrate in water for 5 minutes.As such, the deposition via electrolysis of a metallic coating on a third thermoplastic polymer and a catalyst formed with metal, in particular the catalyst being palladium(II) chloride (PdCl2) is understood to be disclosed.
The same rejection rationale, and analysis that was used previously for claim 1, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.
Regarding claim 16 as applied to claim 1,
Including utilizing stereolithography (SLA)
Busbee teaches the following:
([0080]) teaches that a variety of 3D-printing techniques are known to those of ordinary skill in the art, and include, but are not limited to, additive manufacturing techniques such as direct ink writing (DIW), stereolithography (SLA), fused deposition modeling (FDM), laser sintering, laminated object manufacturing (LOM), doctor blading, material spraying, and material jetting.
B.) Claim(s) 3 – 4 & 10 – 13, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Busbee in view of Andreatta and in further view of Hougham et al. (US 20090214780 A1, hereinafter Hougham).
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein: forming the shaft base includes printing, layer by layer, a lattice of beads,
wherein each of the beads has an outer surface formed by the first thermoplastic polymer surface and
an inner surface formed by the second thermoplastic polymer surface, and
wherein a void is formed in a center of each of the beads.
Busbee teaches the following:
& c.) ([0007]) teaches that the printing nozzle can be used to melt and extrude thermoplastic raw materials and deposit them onto a substrate. In some embodiments, multiple different thermoplastic raw materials may be melted in separate melting zones and pumped into a mixing chamber in varying ratios to create polymer mixtures with varying properties. As such, printing a first and second thermoplastic polymer is understood to be disclosed.
Regarding Claim 3, Busbee as modified by Andreatta is silent on the additive manufacturing being such that printing first and second thermoplastic polymer surfaces, respectively from first and second thermoplastic polymers, that are disposed against each other. In analogous art for a plurality of thermoplastic polymeric materials comprising different CTE utilized to fabricate circuit boards, ([0041]), Hougham suggests details regarding the additive manufacturing being such that printing first and second thermoplastic polymer surfaces, respectively from first and second thermoplastic polymers, that are disposed against each other, and in this regard, Hougham teaches the following:
– d.) ([0027]) teaches that (Fig. 1) is a cross-sectional view of a negative CTE particle 1 according to an exemplary embodiment of the invention. The negative CTE particle 1 includes a first bilayer 10 having an inner layer 12 and an outer layer 14, and a second bilayer 16 having an inner layer 18 and an outer layer 20. The inner layer 12 of the first bilayer 10 faces the inner layer 18 of the second bilayer 16. The inner layers 12 and 18 have a higher CTE than that of the outer layers 14 and 20. ([0027]) notes that the bilayers 10 and 16 can be formed of any suitable materials, such as, for example, metals, glass, polymers, metal oxides, carbides, nitrides, and alloys. Accordingly, the use of two bilayers 10 and 16 formed from polymer surfaces, that are disposed against each other with the two polymer surfaces having a first coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE), and a second coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing of an object by the printing of materials, using 3-dimensional printing and other printing techniques, including the use of one or more mixing nozzles, the object comprising a gradient in a property such as its CTE of Busbee as modified by Andreatta. By further modifying the method to include printing lattice of beads that comprise a two bilayers 10 and 16 structure formed from polymer surfaces, that are disposed against each other with the two polymer surfaces having a first coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE), and a second coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE), as taught by Hougham. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement the bilayer structure 10 and 16 a first coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE), and a second coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) as it provides for having adequate strength and flexibility such that they will bend elastically in response to temperature induced stress, ([0027]). Additionally, the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way and/or the application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results provides for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 3,
Wherein: the outer surface has first thickness and
the inner surface has a second thickness that is greater than the first thickness.
Regarding Claim 4, Busbee as modified by Andreatta is silent on the thickness of the layers in the bilayer structure. In analogous art as applied above, Hougham suggests details regarding the thickness of the layers in the bilayer structure, and in this regard, Hougham teaches the following:
As illustrated in (Fig. 1, 2a & 2b) provided are cross sectional views of a negative coefficient of thermal expansion particle according to an exemplary embodiment of the invention at different temperatures. As shown the various embodiments have different thickness for the two bilayers 10 and 16. Where the two bilayers 10 and 16 are shown in (Fig. 1) to have the different thickness and in (Fig. 2a and 2b) are shown to have the same thickness. As such, providing for a inner surface has a second thickness that is greater than the first thickness. Is understood to be choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, namely amongst the permeations of inner surface having thickness that is the same, less or more. Additionally, changing the thickness of the two bilayers 10 and 16 is understood to be a change in size / dimensions.
The same rejection rationale, and analysis that was used previously for claim 3, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well. Additionally, choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, namely amongst the permeations of inner surface having thickness that is the same, less or more provides for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143. Additionally, the case law for the change in size may be recited. Where, the mere scaling up or down of a prior art process capable of being scaled up or down would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled, In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976), MPEP 2144.
Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 3,
Wherein forming the shaft base includes:
printing the first thermoplastic polymer surface to provide a first CTE gradient; and
printing the second thermoplastic polymer surface to provide a second CTE gradient.
Busbee teaches the following:
& b.) ([0087]) teaches that in some embodiments, at least two of the inputs are thermoplastics. In some embodiments, at least two of the inputs are thermoplastics with the same general composition, but with at least one physical property difference that varies. ([0086]) teaches that an article comprising a composite that is printed (e.g., 3D-printed) may comprise two or more portions, wherein one or more properties (e.g., average largest dimension of particles (e.g., reinforcing particles), average concentration of particles (e.g., reinforcing particles) e.g. weight percent of particles (e.g., reinforcing particles), surface roughness, compression strength, slip resistance, abrasion resistance, density, stiffness, heat deflection temperature, pore concentration, pore size, and coefficient of thermal expansion) of a first portion may differ from one or more properties of a second portion. In some embodiments, the difference in properties between the first portion and the second portion may comprise a gradient of the one or more properties (e.g., the property or properties may vary relatively smoothly from a first value in the first portion to a second value in the second portion). In some embodiments, the difference in properties between the first portion and the second portion may comprise a gradient of the one or more properties (e.g., the property or properties may vary relatively smoothly from a first value in the first portion to a second value in the second portion). (Fig. 4) shows one such non-limiting example of a polymer with a gradient in both color and shore A hardness. In other embodiments, there may be a sharp change in one or more of the properties at a boundary of one or more of the first portion and the second portion. In some embodiments, the article may be adhered to a textile. In some embodiments, the article may comprise a polymer. In some embodiments, the article may be a component of a shoe upper. Examples of methods of producing such particles, e.g., having differences between a first portion and a second portion, are discussed in more detail below. As such, printing of the first thermoplastic polymer surface to provide a first CTE gradient and printing of the second thermoplastic polymer surface to provide a second CTE gradient is understood to be disclosed.
Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 10,
Wherein:
the first and second gradients change in a circumferential direction, and
at the interface between the first and second thermoplastic polymer surfaces, the CTEs differ from each other.
Busbee teaches the following:
& c.) ([0144]) teaches that the system may receive object information associated with a 3D object. The object information may be, for example, a design file for a 3D object to be printed. For example, the object information may comprise a print path comprising a plurality of points and metadata associated with one or more (or all of) the plurality of points indicative of a desired material property at the point (e.g., color, stiffness, Shore A hardness, average pore size, density, nanoindentation hardness, etc.). In some implementations, the metadata may be directly associated with one or more points in the plurality of points. In other implementations, the metadata may be stored in another format and overlaid onto the print path to determine the material properties at a given point. For example, the metadata may be desired color information stored in an image comprising a plurality of pixel values that may be overlaid onto the print path. In this example, the pixel value that aligns with a given point in the print path may be the metadata associated with the respective point.
& d.) ([0193]) teaches that a first portion may differ from one or more properties of a second portion. In some embodiments, the difference in properties between the first portion and the second portion may comprise a gradient of the one or more properties (e.g., the property or properties may vary relatively smoothly from a first value in the first portion to a second value in the second portion). In other embodiments, there may be a sharp change in one or more of the properties at a boundary of one or more of the first portion and the second portion. As such, it is understood that at an interface between the first and second thermoplastic polymer surfaces, the CTEs are the same as each other, i.e a smooth change, and provides for at an interface between the first and second thermoplastic polymer surfaces, the CTEs are the same as each other, i.e, a sharp change.
Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein: forming the shaft base includes printing, layer by layer, a continuous structure having voids,
where the continuous structure is formed by the first thermoplastic polymer surface, and
each of the voids is lined with the second thermoplastic polymer surface.
Busbee teaches the following:
([0197]) teaches that one or more portions may together form an 3D-printed article with one or more of the following features: macro voids embedded within the article (e.g., a midsole) without an intersecting interface from overmolding, lamination, or ultrasonic welding; one or more open cell lattices.
Regarding Claim 12, Busbee as modified by Andreatta is silent on the thickness of the layers in the bilayer structure. In analogous art as applied above, Hougham suggests details regarding the thickness of the layers in the bilayer structure, and in this regard, Hougham teaches the following:
([0035]) teaches that the hollowed shell 34 forms the inner layers 12 and 18 of the negative CTE particle 1. As illustrated in (Figs. 1, 2a – 2b) the inner layers 12 and 18 of the interior bilayer is found to form a void.
([0027]) teaches that the bilayers 10 and 16 can be formed of any suitable materials, such as, for example, metals, glass, polymers, metal oxides, carbides, nitrides, and alloys.
([0036]) teaches that the hollow shell 34 forming the outer layers 14 and 20 is coated with a second material 36 having a lower CTE than the material forming the hollow shell 34. As such, each of the voids formed from the holloed shell 34 formed by the inner layers 12 and 18 is lined with the second thermoplastic polymer surface.
The same rejection rationale, and analysis that was used previously for claim 3, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.
Regarding claim 13 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the first and second thermoplastic polymer surfaces are the same as each other.
Busbee teaches the following:
([0145]) teaches that the object information may comprise a print path comprising a plurality of points and metadata associated with one or more (or all of) the plurality of points indicative of a desired material property at the point (e.g., color, stiffness, Shore A hardness, average pore size, density, nanoindentation hardness, etc.). ([0178]) teaches that two or more fluids may be mixed prior to delivery, e.g., as discussed in detail herein. However, in some cases, two or more fluids may not be mixed prior to delivery. For instance, two or more inlets into the nozzle or mixing chamber may be used to introduce two or more separate fluids. These fluids can then be mixed in the nozzle or mixing chamber. As such, the mixing of the first and second thermoplastic polymer is understood to be disclosed.
Regarding Claim 13, Busbee as modified by Andreatta is silent on the thickness of the layers in the bilayer structure. In analogous art as applied above, Hougham suggests details regarding the thickness of the layers in the bilayer structure, and in this regard, Hougham teaches the following:
([0027]) teaches that the inner layer 12 of the first bilayer 10 faces the inner layer 18 of the second bilayer 16. As illustrated in (Fig. 1, 2a – 2b), the first and second thermoplastic polymer surfaces are the shown to be same as each other, namely in shape, follow the same path and in area shared, i.e., they contact each other throughout. As such, the first and second thermoplastic polymer surfaces are the same as each other.
The same rejection rationale, and analysis that was used previously for claim 3, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.
C.) Claim(s) 8 – 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Busbee in view of Andreatta and in further view of Hougham and in further view of Mark et al. (US 20140328964 A1, hereinafter Mark).Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 6,
Wherein the first fiber and the second fiber differ from each other, each being one of metallic, carbon or Kevlar fibers.
Regarding Claim 8, Busbee as modified by Andreatta is silent on the first fiber and the second fiber differ from each other, each being one of metallic, carbon or Kevlar fibers. In analogous for three dimensional printers, and reinforced filaments, and their methods of use are described (Abstract), Mark suggest details regarding the first fiber and the second fiber differ from each other, each being one of metallic, carbon or Kevlar fiber, and in this regard, Mark teaches the following:
([0136]) teaches that printing processes may incorporate any appropriate combination of materials. ([0136]) adds that appropriate resins and polymers include maybe implemented. ([0136]) adds that the core may also be selected to provide any desired property. Appropriate core fiber or strands include those materials which impart a desired property, such as structural, conductive (electrically and/or thermally), insulative (electrically and/or thermally), optical and/or fluidic transport. Such materials include, but are not limited to, carbon fibers, aramid fibers, fiberglass, metals (such as copper, silver, gold, tin, steel), optical fibers, and flexible tubes. It should be understood that the core fiber or strands may be provided in any appropriate size. Further, multiple types of continuous cores may be used in a single continuous core reinforced filament to provide multiple functionalities such as both electrical and optical properties([0184]) teaches that Kevlar is may also be implemented. Noting, that Kevlar is a type of aramid fiber. As such, the use of a first fiber and the second fiber differ from each other, each being one of metallic, carbon or Kevlar fibers is understood to be disclosed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing of an object by the printing of materials, using 3-dimensional printing and other printing techniques, including the use of one or more mixing nozzles, the object comprising a gradient in a property such as its CTE of Busbee. By modifying the printed object to comprise a fillers that comprise a first fiber and the second fiber differ from each other, each being one of metallic, carbon or Kevlar fibers, as taught by Mark. Highlighting, one would be motivated to include a comprise a first fiber and the second fiber differ from each other, each being one of metallic, carbon or Kevlar fibers as it provides for tailoring multiple functionalities such as both electrical and optical properties, ([0136]). Additionally, the use of a known material, i.e., metallic, carbon or Kevlar fibers, in a known environment, namely a 3D printer material filler, for its intended use, explicitly to tailor properties include enhanced part strength, ([0132]) amongst other multiple functionalities such as both electrical and optical properties, ([0136]).
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 3,
Wherein: forming the shaft base includes printing, layer by layer, a reinforcing fibrous string on each bead, wherein the string extends linearly across the bead, over the void of the bead.
Regarding Claim 9, Busbee as modified by Andreatta is silent on the printing, layer by layer, a reinforcing fibrous string on each bead, wherein the string extends linearly across the bead, over the void of the bead. In analogous art for a CNT filled (or coated) polymer composites for enhancing inter-bead diffusive bonding of fused filament fabricated parts, Sweeney suggests details regarding the printing a reinforcing fibrous string on each bead, wherein the string extends linearly across the bead, over the void of the bead, and in this regard, Sweeney teaches the following:
([0132]) teaches that the elimination of voids, provides for an improvements in strength. ([0132]) adding that the direction of reinforcing materials deposited during the printing process within a structure may be controlled within specific layers and portions of layers to control the directional strength of the composite structure both locally and overall. Consequently, the directionality of reinforcement within a structure can provide enhanced part strength in desired locations and directions to meet specific design requirements. The ability to easily tailor the directional strength of the structure in specific locations may enable both lighter and stronger resulting parts. As such, both the elimination / reduction in voids and the position of the fiber relative are understood to impact strength of the composite article fabricated. As such, both the elimination / reduction in voids and the position of the fiber are recognized as result effective variables.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing of an object by the printing of materials, using 3-dimensional printing and other printing techniques, including the use of one or more mixing nozzles, the object comprising a gradient in a property such as its CTE of Busbee. By modifying the printed object to optimize the position of the reinforcing fibrous string on each bead and optimize the elimination of voids, as taught by Sweeney. Highlighting, one would be motivated to optimize the position of the reinforcing fibrous string on each bead and optimize the elimination of voids as it provides for tailoring the strength of the composite article fabricated, ([0132]). Highlighting, due to the position of the reinforcing fibrous string on each bead and the elimination of voids impacting the strength of the composite article fabricated the case law for result effective variables may be recited. Where, it is well settled that determination of optimum values of cause effective variables such as these process parameters is within the skill of one practicing in the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), MPEP 2143 II (B).
D.) Claim(s) 9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Busbee in view of Andreatta and in further view of Hougham and in further view of Sweeney et al. (US 20160325491 A1, hereainafter Sweeney)
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 3,
Wherein: forming the shaft base includes printing, layer by layer, a reinforcing fibrous string on each bead, wherein the string extends linearly across the bead, over the void of the bead.
Regarding Claim 9, Busbee as modified by Andreatta is silent on the printing, layer by layer, a reinforcing fibrous string on each bead, wherein the string extends linearly across the bead, over the void of the bead. In analogous art for a CNT filled (or coated) polymer composites for enhancing inter-bead diffusive bonding of fused filament fabricated parts, Sweeney suggests details regarding the printing a reinforcing fibrous string on each bead, wherein the string extends linearly across the bead, over the void of the bead, and in this regard, Sweeney teaches the following:
(Abstract teaches a CNT filled polymer composites for enhancing inter-bead diffusive bonding of fused filament fabricated parts. ([0088]) teaches that nanotube deposition is applied to polymer filament 103 to form a coating 105 upon the polymer filament 103. FIG. 1B is a photograph showing the spray deposition process illustrated in FIG. 1A. ([0089]) teaches that Alternative processes to coat the exterior of polymer filament 103 with a coating 105 include dip coating the bare filament in a bath of the CNT dispersion (such as shown in FIG. 2), simultaneous co-extrusion of a CNT polymer masterbatch sheath and pure polymer core coaxial filament, and combinations thereof. As such, the coating of the polymer filament with the fiber (CNT) is understood to provide for reinforcement fiber to extends linearly across the bead and over the void of the bead.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing of an object by the printing of materials, using 3-dimensional printing and other printing techniques, including the use of one or more mixing nozzles, the object comprising a gradient in a property such as its CTE of Busbee. By modifying the printed object to comprise a coating of the exterior of polymer filament, as taught by Sweeney. Highlighting, one would be motivated to include a coating of the exterior of polymer filament as it provides for improve the polymer welds in 3-D printed parts, ([0108]). Additionally, applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way provides for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143.
E.) Claim(s) 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Busbee in view of Andreatta and in further view of Hougham and in further view of Mariotti et al. (US 20160130947 A1, hereinafter Mariotti)
Regarding claim 18,
An air cycle machine of an aircraft, comprising:
a compressor rotor shaft manufactured from the method of claim 1;
the tie rod support that connects with the fourth section of the shaft; and
the motor rotor that connects with the fifth section of the shaft.
Busbee teaches the following:
([00142]) teaches that The computer program may be configured to receive object information, such as a design file for a 3D object (e.g., from a computer-aided design (CAD) program) and/or a print path for printing a 3D object (e.g., from a slicer application) with information indicative of target material properties at various points along the print path, and output print instructions that may be provided to a 3D printer to accurately create the 3D object. As such, the fabrication of any object including a compressor rotor shaft, tie rod support and the motor rotor is understood to be disclosed. Additionally, the case law for product by process claims may be recited. Where, with regard to the claim recitations regarding the method of forming the apparatus, such relate only to the method of producing the claimed apparatus, which does not impart patentability to the apparatus claims. Note that determination of patentability is based on the product apparatus itself, In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685, 688, and the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production, In re Pilkington, 162 USPQ 145, 147; see also In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964 (CAFC 1985). Note also that it is Applicant's burden to prove that an unobvious difference exists, In re Marosi, 218 USPQ 289, 292-293 (CAFC 1983), and Applicant must show that different methods of manufacture produce articles having inherently different characteristics, Ex: parte Skinner, 2 USPQ2d 1788. See MPEP § 2113. Additionally, the case law for the change in shape may be recited. Where, the court held that the configuration of the claimed container was found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant, In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669,149 USPQ47 (CCPA 1966), MPEP 2143.
Regarding Claim 18, Busbee as modified by Andreatta is silent on the structure of an air cycle machine of an aircraft. In analogous art for a connection arrangement comprising a shaft having an axial through hole, a tie rod located inside the axial through hole, an impeller comprising a solid hub, a plurality of blades, (Abstract) Mariotti suggests details regarding the structure of an air cycle machine of an aircraft, and in this regard, Mariotti teaches the following:
([0059]) teaches that (FIG. 5) shows details related to the central portion of the shaft. As such, a compressor rotor shaft is provided.
As illustrated in (Fig. 5), the tie rod 502B (secured via nut 509B) and/or the flange 504B/thrust bearing 507B structure. Provides for a tie rod support that connects with the fourth section of the shaft.
([0065]) teaches that the assembly process provides that initially a first impeller is connected to a first shaft part, then a second impeller is connected to a second shaft part, finally the first shaft part (together with the first impeller or first set of impellers) is connected to the second shaft part (together with the second impeller or second set of impellers). As such providing for a (the) motor rotor that connects with the fifth section of the shaft
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing of an object by the printing of materials, using 3-dimensional printing and other printing techniques, including the use of one or more mixing nozzles, the object comprising a gradient in a property such as its CTE of Busbee. By modifying the printed object to comprise a structure of a of an air cycle machine of an aircraft, as taught by Mariotti. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a structure of a of an air cycle machine of an aircraft as detailed above as it provides for improved solutions for connecting impellers to shafts, ([0007]). Additionally, the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way and/or the application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results provides for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143. Additionally, the use of a known material, namely a metallic coating, for its intended use i.e, on a third thermoplastic polymer and a catalyst formed with metal, in a known environment, explicitly deposition via electrolysis, provides for the recitation of known material in the art case law. Where, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hougham et al. (US 20050100743 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) a negative coefficient of thermal expansion particle includes a first bilayer having a first bilayer inner layer and a first bilayer outer layer, and a second bilayer having a second bilayer inner layer and a second bilayer outer layer.
Sleight et al. (US 5514360 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) a method for making tungstate compounds according to the formula XW2 O8, wherein X is selected from the group consisting of zirconium, hafnium, and combinations thereof, is described. Also described are compositions that include the tungstate compounds, and a method for reducing the positive thermal expansion of a material using such tungstate compounds
Holzer et al. (US 6132676 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) The invention provides techniques for forming composites including XW2 O8, where X=Zr, Hf, or a combination, dispersed within a continuous, metal matrix.
Holzer et al. (US 6132676 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) The invention provides techniques for forming composites including XW2 O8, where X=Zr, Hf, or a combination, dispersed within a continuous, metal matrix.
Zhang et al. (US 20190002283 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) a nanofiber forest on a substrate can be patterned to produce a patterned assembly of nanofibers that can be drawn to form nanofiber sheets, ribbons, or yarn.
Merritt et al. (US 12162606 B1) – teaches in the (Abstract) a component, having: a base having beads formed of with first and second thermoplastic polymers, respectively having first and second coefficients of thermal expansion (CTE), where each of the beads has an outer surface and an inner surface that abut each other;
Beane et al. (US 5601924 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) a plurality of particles include a first material. A coating including a second material is formed on surfaces of the particles, until a selected ratio of the volume of the coating relative to the volume of the particles is achieved. A plurality of particles, including the coated particles, are consolidated in a manner such that the particles are caused to be joined to each other, to form an article
Kilchyk et al. (US 20250089567 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) a locking device having: a composition gradient defining a first coefficient of thermal expansion and a second coefficient of thermal expansion that differs from the first coefficient of thermal expansion; and a thermoelectric junction operationally coupled to the composition gradient, wherein the composition gradient is formed of either of a plurality of dissimilar metals or of plastic with fillings or fibers.
Rowe et al. (US 20210046694 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) An additively manufactured structure and methods for making and using same. In a method for making the structure, the structure can be printed using a single bead, according to a single toolpath, according to an open toolpath, or a combination thereof
Mark Saberton (US 20210154911 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) that the present invention provides a method for altering the bead profile for using 3D printing to improve the shear strength of a so manufactured product by altering the bead height of adjacent beads or in adjacent layers such that either the height or the centers of the beads between adjacent layers are altered.
Martin-Pierre Schmidt (US 20190134915 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) described is a computer-implemented method of additive manufacturing of a three-dimensional (3D) part. The method includes obtaining a surface representation of a 3D part in a 3D scene.
Sneed John (US 1940466 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) that this invention relates to links or tie rods and particularly to an improved bushing or bearing construction for the ends of the rod.
Lugo et al. (US 20120152383 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) thrust bearing shaft has a radially enlarged thrust disk to be mounted between two static housing surfaces in an air cycle machine. A first portion of the thrust bearing shaft extends from a first face of the thrust disk.
Jeffery Wood (US 20090218777 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) that a tie rod assembly includes a composite tie rod shaft having a first end and a second end, a first clevis carried by the first end of the tie rod shaft, a clevis adjustment collar carried by the second end of the tie rod shaft and a second clevis carried by and adjustable along the clevis adjustment collar. A method of connecting a fitting to a shaft is also disclose.
Fabian et al. (US 20040016239 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) that the present invention provides a miniature gas turbine engine for power generation. The engine has a highly integrated unitary rotor shaft where turbine, compressor and shaft are made in one piece in one fabrication process.
Rosen et al. (US 20110192165 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) an air cycle machine includes a shaft formed from end sections attached to a center section. The center section includes a first diameter that is supported on bearings within the air cycle machine and a second diameter that forms a part of an interface with a corresponding end section.
/Andrés E. Behrens Jr./Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/JaMel M Nelson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743