DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Published Application US20030215709A1, hereafter Hosokawa.
Regarding claim 1, Hosokawa discloses a battery cell ([0087] non-aqueous electrolyte battery 2) comprising:
a battery element ([0088] power generation unit 40);
a lid member (60) covering one end portion of the battery element in a predetermined direction (Fig 6, spacer 60); and
an exterior film ([0088] sealing bag 50) at least partially wrapped around the predetermined direction of the battery element (40) ([0088], Figs 5 & 6 sealing bag 50 wrapped around power generation unit 40), wherein
the exterior film (50) is rounded along the battery element (40) in at least one corner of the battery element (40) around the predetermined direction ([0089] portions of edges of first sheets 51 and second sheet 52 folded to be brought into close contact with side face of sealing bag 50 so as not to protrude from projected area of sealing bag 50; Fig 6 rounded outer edges of sealing bag 50).
Regarding claim 2, Hosokawa discloses wherein a corner of the lid member (60) aligned in the predetermined direction with the at least one corner of the battery element (40) is rounded (Fig 6, rounded corner of spacer 60 aligned with rounded corners of sealing bag 50).
Regarding claim 3, Hosokawa discloses wherein a fold is provided in at least one corner of the exterior film (50) around the predetermined direction of the battery element (40) (Fig 6, edges 51b and 52b folded at corner of sealing bag 50).
Regarding claim 4, Hosokawa discloses another lid member (60) covering another end portion of the battery element (40) in the predetermined direction (Fig 5, spacers 60 at both top and bottom).
Regarding claim 5, Hosokawa discloses a battery cell ([0087] non-aqueous electrolyte battery 2) comprising:
a battery element ([0088] power generation unit 40);
a lid member (60) covering one end portion of the battery element (Fig 6, spacer 60); and
an exterior film ([0088] sealing bag 50) including a wrapped portion wrapped around the battery element (40) ([0088], Figs 5 & 6 sealing bag 50 wrapped around power generation unit 40), and a drawn portion drawn from the wrapped portion ([0089], Fig 6, edges 51B, 52B sealed together), wherein
at least a part of the wrapped portion and at least a part of the drawn portion are bonded to each other (([0089], Fig 6, edges 51B, 52B sealed together)).
Regarding claim 6, Hosokawa discloses wherein a bonding portion between the wrapped portion and the drawn portion overlaps at least a part of a surface of the battery element facing in a predetermined direction (see annotated Fig 6).
Regarding claim 7, Hosokawa discloses wherein the battery element (40) has a length in a predetermined first direction between the end portion and another end portion on a side opposite to the end portion, a width in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, and a thickness, in a third direction orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction, shorter than the width (see annotated Figs 5, 6, first-third directions, length, width, thickness), and
a bonding portion between the wrapped portion and the drawn portion overlaps at least a part of a surface of the battery element substantially perpendicular to the third direction (see annotated Fig 6).
Regarding claim 8, Hosokawa discloses wherein the battery element (40) has a length in a predetermined first direction between the end portion and another end portion on a side opposite to the end portion, a width in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, and a thickness, in a third direction orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction, e shorter than the width (see annotated Figs 5, 6, first-third directions, length, width, thickness), and
a bonding portion between the wrapped portion and the drawn portion overlaps at least a part of a surface of the battery element substantially perpendicular to the second direction (see annotated Fig 6).
Regarding claim 9, Hosokawa discloses wherein a bonding portion between the wrapped portion and the drawn portion is located in any portion other than a lower portion around the battery element (40) (see annotated Fig 6).
Regarding claim 10, Hosokawa discloses a battery cell ([0087] non-aqueous electrolyte battery 2) comprising:
a battery element ([0088] power generation unit 40);
a lid member (60) covering an end portion of the battery element in a longitudinal direction (Fig 6, spacer 60); and
an exterior film ([0088] sealing bag 50) at least partially wrapped around the longitudinal direction of the battery element (40) ([0088], Figs 5 & 6 sealing bag 50 wrapped around power generation unit 40); and
a reinforcing body provided along the longitudinal direction of the battery element (40) (Figs 5 & 6, bonded edges 51B & 52B in longitudinal direction).
Regarding claim 11, Hosokawa discloses wherein one end of the reinforcing body in the longitudinal direction is bonded to the lid member (60) (see annotated Fig 6; [0072] spacers 60 sealed to each of first and second sheet).
Regarding claim 12, Hosokawa discloses wherein at least a part of the reinforcing body includes a drawn portion of the exterior film having a plurality of folds (Figs 5 & 6, edges 51B & 52B are drawn from the wrapping film & both folded together).
Conclusion
/T.G.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754