DETAILED ACTION
The present application and its arguments have been reviewed and currently claims 1-5, 7-10, 12, 14, and 17-24 are rejected and claims 6, 11, 13, 15, and 16 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicants arguments on pages 12-13 that Mallory does not disclose an opening dimensioned to fit over a remaining bolt head, the examiner respectfully disagrees because “an opening dimensioned to fit over the remaining bolt head” is a broad limitation such that there is nothing structural of preventing the “opening” of Mallory of fitting over a bolt head, Mallory explicitly discloses that it is known to modify the device to accommodate the ends of fasteners such that the device comprises depressions used to accommodate rusted fasteners (3:11-15, where stud bolts was an example used which are known to be headless), and Mallory further discloses other types of fasteners exist (1:23-28, where studs or bolts can be used; 3:54-57, where other fasteners can be used) therefore the fasteners are not limited to stud bolts (ex., there is nothing in Mallory that suggest only stud bolts can be used but instead implies stud bolts was used as an example).
In response to applicants arguments on page 13 that Mallory does not teach the claimed arrangement where the ledge is positioned between both flanges, the examiner respectfully disagrees as Mallory shows a ledge (see near 10) positioned directly between both flanges (see annotated figure below).
Applicant’s remaining arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7-10, 12, 14, and 17-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 18, the limitation “the body includes rail members and a plate-like member, the rail members and the plate-like member combining to define the opening” is unclear to the examiner if applicant is further defining the first portion and second portion in claim 1 or if applicant is providing additional features not further defining the first and second portion/ledge of claim 1 (ex., a first portion, a second portion, a ledge, rail members, and plate like member).
It appears applicant is attempting to further define the first and second portion of claim 1 as claim 1 already requires “a first portion that is rectangular” and “a second portion that defines a ledge” and “the first portion has an opening that is configured to fit over a flange associated with a first pipe” as the specification uses “plate-like member 24” and “ledge 24” interchangeably (0017) and also states the “first plane of the rails” (0021).
To proceed with prosecution, the limitation “wherein the body includes rail members and a plate-like member, the rail members and the plate-like member combining to define the opening” will be interpreted as “wherein the body includes the first portion defined by rail members and the ledge defined by a plate-like member, the rail members and the plate-like member combining to define the opening of the first portion”.
It is noted that while the examiner is interpreting the claims to proceed with prosecution, applicant is still required to amend the claims.
In regards to claim 20, the limitation “a threaded closure” of “the clamp further comprises a washer and a threaded closure received on the threaded shaft” is unclear to the examiner if applicant is further defining the closure of claim 1 or if there is an additional closure that is threaded.
It appears applicant is attempting to further define the closure of claim 1 to be threaded.
To proceed with prosecution, the limitation “the clamp further comprises a washer and the closure includes a threaded closure received on the threaded shaft.”
It is noted that while the examiner is interpreting the claims to proceed with prosecution, applicant is still required to amend the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10, 12, 14, 17-19, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mallory (U.S. Patent No. 8,220,845) in view of Jones (U.S. Patent No. 4,109,694) and in further view of PEM (NPL, 2022).
In regards to claim 1, Mallory discloses:
A clamp (see figs. 1A-1C) for joining pipes with flanges of an exhaust pipe (1:15-17), the clamp comprising:
a body with a first portion (see annotated figs. 1A, 1B, 1C below) that is rectangular and lies in a first plane (see annotated fig. 1A) and a second portion (see annotated fig. 1A) that defines a ledge that lies in a second plane (see annotated fig. 1C);
the first portion has an opening (see annotated fig. 1A) that is configured to fit over a flange associated with a first pipe; and
the ledge has a semi-circular groove (see fig. 1B) that is configured to receive a fastener that is dimensioned to pass through an aperture in a second pipe,
whereby the pipes are joined by locating the first portion on the flange associated with the first pipe (ex., see fig. 2),
locating the fastener in the aperture in the second pipe (ex., see fig. 2), and
applying a closure to the fastener (110; ex., see fig. 2, where a nut is place on the threaded fastener),
but does not disclose:
the ledge has a through hole,
the fastener includes a head with serrations on an underside of the head and a shoulder,
the fastener being press-fit into the through hole of the ledge with the head abutting the ledge and with the serrations and the shoulder forming a press fit with the ledge surrounding the through hole; and
a width of the ledge extending in a direction of the second plane is greater than a diameter of the head of the fastener.
In regards to the through hole, Jones discloses a similar device (see figs. 1-2 hereinafter) used to repair a muffler flanged connection (1:5-9 which explains repairs; 2:19-24, where a muffler is used), comprising:
a clamp (11, figs. 1-2) comprising a ledge (16) further comprising a through hole,
wherein the ledge is perpendicular to a hook (14) used to hook onto a flange (24) of an adjacent pipe (see fig. 1),
a bolt (see near 32) comprising a head (34) and threads (32),
wherein the through hole of the ledge retains the head of the bolt permitting the bolt to be used in assembly (2:19-24) such that a nut (36) is screwed onto the threaded end of the bolt to form a tight joint (2:25-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to replace the second portion comprising a semi-circular hole and welded fastener comprising a nut of Mallory with a second portion that is perpendicular to the first portion and comprises a through hole and unwelded fastener comprising a nut such that second portion comprising the ledge of Mallory in view of Jones is comprised of a perpendicular ledge comprising a through hole and unwelded fastener/nut because Mallory explicitly discloses that the fastener may be secured to the frame by other means other than welding and is not limited thereto (3:45-51), Mallory further explicitly discloses other types of fasteners exist such that the fastener may be secured adjacent to the lower end of the depression (3:54-57), the device of Mallory only differs by the replacement of one known configuration of a second portion with semi-circular hole and a welded fastener with another known configuration of a second portion perpendicular to a hook and comprises a through hole and unwelded fastener and nut as shown by Jones, Jones discloses a similar device used in the repair of exhaust pipes (2:19-24) comprising a second portion perpendicular to a hook and comprises a through hole and unwelded fastener and nut (see fig. 2, where the hole and hook are axially spaced), Jones further discloses that providing a through hole to a perpendicular ledge of a clamp retains the head of a bolt such that the through hole permits the bolt to be used in assembly (2:19-24) to form a tight joint via a nut (2:25-26; ex., both Mallory and Jones provide similar outcomes), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have made the replacement because Mallory expressly discloses that other securement and fastener means may be used (3:45-51, 3:54-57) and modifying the securement means of the first portion comprising a semi-circular hole and fastener means of a welded stud bolt of Mallory with another known securement means of a first portion that is perpendicular comprising a through hole and a fastener means of an unwelded fastener comprising a head and nut would not have produced any new or unexpected results.
In regards to the serrations and shoulder, PEM discloses that self-clinching studs are a known studs that is used to replace welded studs (ex., the stud of Mallory) with easier installation at lower costs (see page 7 of NPL provided herein),
wherein the self-clinching studs “are installed by placing them in properly sized holes in the sheets and squeezing into place with any standard press. The squeezing action embeds the head of the stud into the sheet. The metal displaced by the head flows smoothly and evenly around the ribs and into the annular groove – creating a flush head assembly and securely locking the stud into the sheet with high torque-out and pushout resistances”,
wherein self-clinching studs comprise a shoulder that is press-fitted into the hole and serrations under the head (see annotated figure below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the fastener of Mallory in view of Jones such that the fastener is a self-clinching fastener comprising a head with serrations, a shoulder, and threads to meet the limitation of the claim because Mallory explicitly discloses that the fastener may be secured to the frame by other means other than welding and is not limited thereto (3:45-51), Mallory further explicitly discloses other types of fasteners exist such that the fastener may be secured adjacent to the lower end of the depression (3:54-57), Jones discloses that providing a through hole to a perpendicular ledge of a clamp retains the head of a bolt such that the through hole permits the bolt to be used in assembly (2:19-24) to form a tight joint via a nut (2:25-26), and PEM discloses that self-clinching studs are a known stud comprising a head with serrations, a shoulder, and threads that engage a nut and is used to replace welded studs (ex., the stud of Mallory) with easier installation at lower costs and also providing the benefit of securely locking the fastener onto a metal sheet (see page 7 of NPL provided herein).
In regards to the width of the ledge, while Mallory in view of Jones and PEM does not disclose “a width of the ledge extending in a direction of the second plane is greater than a diameter of the head of the fastener”, modifying the size of the “width” of the ledge and/or the “diameter of the head of the fastener” would have been an obvious matter of design choice as modifying the size of the width of the ledge or the diameter of the head of the fastener would not have produced any new or unexpected results.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the device of Mallory in view of Jones and PEM such that the width of the ledge extending in a direction of the second plane is greater than a diameter of the head of the fastener (ex., either reducing size of the head of the fastener or enlarging the width of the ledge) because the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions, changing the dimensions of either the width of the ledge or the diameter of the head to meet the limitations of the claim would not produce any new or unexpected results, and it has been held that if the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See In re Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) in MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Furthermore, applicant's specification does not explain the criticality regarding the width of the ledge being greater than the diameter of the head of the fastener (ex., 0018:2 discloses “The fastener has a head that is dimensioned to rest on member 24” which is the only mention in the specification). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art could have modified the width of the ledge or the diameter of the head of the fastener to meet the limitation of the claim as desired for the intended use.
In regards to claim 2, Mallory in view of Jones and PEM further discloses:
The clamp of claim 1, wherein the first plane and the second plane are non-parallel planes (it is inherent that providing a ledge that is perpendicular with a through-hole, as taught by Jones, would meet the limitations of the claim).
In regards to claim 3, Mallory in view of Jones and PEM further discloses:
The clamp of claim 1, wherein the first plane and the second plane are perpendicular planes (it is inherent that providing a ledge that is perpendicular with a through-hole, as taught by Jones, would meet the limitations of the claim).
In regards to claim 4, Mallory further discloses:
The clamp of claim 1, wherein the opening in the first portion of the body is defined by three rails (see annotated figs. 1A, 1B, 1C above hereinafter).
In regards to claim 5, Mallory further discloses:
The clamp of claim 4, wherein the three rails are linear (see annotated fig. 1A).
In regards to claim 7, Mallory in view of Jones and PEM further discloses:
The clamp of claim 1, wherein the fastener is threaded.
In regards to claim 8, Mallory discloses:
A clamp (see annotated figs. 1A, 1B, 1C above hereinafter) for joining exhaust pipes (1:15-17) with flanges, the clamp comprising:
a body with a first portion (see annotated fig. 1A) that is rectangular and lies in a first plane (see annotated fig. 1C) and a second portion (see annotated figs. 1A and 1B) that defines a ledge that lies in a second plane (see annotated fig. 1C);
the first portion has an opening (see annotated fig. 1A) that is dimensioned to fit over a flange associated with an exhaust manifold pipe (ex., see fig. 2);
the opening being dimensioned to fit over a bolt head with a portion of the flange extending through the opening (structurally, there is nothing preventing the opening from not fitting over a bolt head as described in 3:11-15; ex., see Response to arguments above for further clarification), and
the ledge has a semi-circular hole (see fig. 1B) that is dimensioned to receive a fastener that is sized to pass through an aperture in a pipe associated with an exhaust discharge system (ex., see fig. 2);
wherein, when the pipes are joined, the ledge is positioned between the flange associated with the exhaust manifold pipe and a second flange associated with the pipe associated with the exhaust discharge system (see fig. 2 of Mallory),
whereby the pipes are joined by locating the first portion on a flange associated with the exhaust manifold pipe (ex., see fig. 2), locating the fastener in the aperture in the pipe associated with the exhaust discharge system (ex., see fig. 2), and
applying a closure (110, annotated fig. 1A) to the fastener;
the first portion having a constant thickness from a first end of the first portion to a second end of the first portion (ex., see fig. 1B of Mallory where the thickness appears to be uniform and would therefore meet the limitation of the claim),
but does not disclose:
the flange having a remaining bolt head,
the ledge has a through hole that is dimensioned to receive a fastener that is sized to pass through an aperture in a pipe associated with an exhaust discharge system,
the fastener including a head with serrations on an underside of the head and a shoulder,
the head abutting the ledge, and the serrations and the shoulder forming a press fit with the ledge surrounding the through hole,
wherein the fastener is press-fit into the through hole of the ledge.
In regards to the through hole, Jones discloses a similar device (see figs. 1-2 hereinafter) used to repair a muffler flanged connection (1:5-9 which explains repairs; 2:19-24, where a muffler is used), comprising:
a clamp (11, figs. 1-2) comprising a ledge (16) further comprising a through hole,
wherein the ledge is perpendicular to a hook (14) used to hook onto a flange (24) of an adjacent pipe (see fig. 1),
a bolt (see near 32) comprising a head (34) and threads (32),
wherein the through hole of the ledge retains the head of the bolt permitting the bolt to be used in assembly (2:19-24) such that a nut (36) is screwed onto the threaded end of the bolt to form a tight joint (2:25-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to replace the second portion comprising a semi-circular hole and welded fastener comprising a nut of Mallory with a second portion that is perpendicular to the first portion and comprises a through hole and unwelded fastener comprising a nut such that second portion comprising the ledge of Mallory in view of Jones is comprised of a perpendicular ledge comprising a through hole and unwelded fastener/nut because Mallory explicitly discloses that the fastener may be secured to the frame by other means other than welding and is not limited thereto (3:45-51), Mallory further explicitly discloses other types of fasteners exist such that the fastener may be secured adjacent to the lower end of the depression (3:54-57), the device of Mallory only differs by the replacement of one known configuration of a second portion with semi-circular hole and a welded fastener with another known configuration of a second portion perpendicular to a hook and comprises a through hole and unwelded fastener and nut as shown by Jones, Jones discloses a similar device used in the repair of exhaust pipes (2:19-24) comprising a second portion perpendicular to a hook and comprises a through hole and unwelded fastener and nut (see fig. 2, where the hole and hook are axially spaced), Jones further discloses that providing a through hole to a perpendicular ledge of a clamp retains the head of a bolt such that the through hole permits the bolt to be used in assembly (2:19-24) to form a tight joint via a nut (2:25-26; ex., both Mallory and Jones provide similar outcomes), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have made the replacement because Mallory expressly discloses that other securement and fastener means may be used (3:45-51, 3:54-57) and modifying the securement means of the first portion comprising a semi-circular hole and fastener means of a welded stud bolt of Mallory with another known securement means of a first portion that is perpendicular comprising a through hole and a fastener means of an unwelded fastener comprising a head and nut would not have produced any new or unexpected results.
In regards to the bolt head, Jones discloses a similar device comprising:
a bolt (see near 32) comprising a head (34) and threads (32) to form a tight joint (2:19-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to use a bolt comprising a head on the flange of the exhaust manifold pipe of Mallory in view of Jones because Mallory discloses that exhaust manifold studs (ex., stud bolts) or bolts (ex., variety of bolts) can be used during attachments of flanges (1:23-28), Mallory implies stud bolts are used as an example (3:13-15), Mallory discloses stud bolts are not the only bolts that can be used (3:54-57; ex., the fastener used in the clamp is a stud bolt), Jones discloses that bolts with heads are known and common to be used to connect to flanges to form a tight joint (see fig. 1; 2:19-26), and using a bolt with a head to form a tight joint would not have produced any new or unexpected results.
In regards to the serrations and shoulder, PEM discloses that self-clinching studs are a known studs that is used to replace welded studs (ex., the stud of Mallory) with easier installation at lower costs (see page 7 of NPL provided herein),
wherein the self-clinching studs “are installed by placing them in properly sized holes in the sheets and squeezing into place with any standard press. The squeezing action embeds the head of the stud into the sheet. The metal displaced by the head flows smoothly and evenly around the ribs and into the annular groove – creating a flush head assembly and securely locking the stud into the sheet with high torque-out and pushout resistances”,
wherein self-clinching studs comprise a shoulder that is press-fitted into the hole and serrations under the head (see annotated figure above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the fastener of Mallory in view of Jones such that the fastener is a self-clinching fastener comprising a head with serrations, a shoulder, and threads to meet the limitation of the claim because Mallory explicitly discloses that the fastener may be secured to the frame by other means other than welding and is not limited thereto (3:45-51), Mallory further explicitly discloses other types of fasteners exist such that the fastener may be secured adjacent to the lower end of the depression (3:54-57), Jones discloses that providing a through hole to a perpendicular ledge of a clamp retains the head of a bolt such that the through hole permits the bolt to be used in assembly (2:19-24) to form a tight joint via a nut (2:25-26), and PEM discloses that self-clinching studs are a known stud comprising a head with serrations, a shoulder, and threads that engage a nut and is used to replace welded studs (ex., the stud of Mallory) with easier installation at lower costs and also providing the benefit of securely locking the fastener onto a metal sheet (see page 7 of NPL provided herein).
In regards to claim 9, Mallory in view of Jones and PEM further discloses:
The clamp of claim 8, wherein the first plane and the second plane are non-parallel planes (it is inherent that providing a ledge that is perpendicular with a through-hole, as taught by Jones, would meet the limitations of the claim).
In regards to claim 10, Mallory in view of Jones and PEM further discloses:
The clamp of claim 8, wherein the fastener is threaded (ex., see fig. 1 of Jones).
In regards to claim 12, Mallory discloses:
A clamp (see annotated figs. 1A, 1B, 1C) for joining two pipes with flanges, the clamp comprising:
a stamped body (3:1-2) having a rectangular portion (ex., the first portion in annotated fig. 1A) with an opening (see annotated fig. 1A) that is dimensioned to fit over a flange associated with a first pipe (ex., see fig. 2), and
a ledge (ex., the second portion in annotated fig. 1A) that extends from the rectangular portion,
the opening being defined by three rails and the ledge (ex., see annotated fig. 1A);
wherein the three rails have a constant thickness across an entire length of each of the three rails (ex., see fig. 1B of Mallory where the thickness appears to be uniform and would therefore meet the limitation of the claim), and
a fastener (104, annotated fig. 1A) having a threaded portion (108, annotated fig. 1A) sized to pass through an aperture in a second pipe (ex., see fig. 2),
whereby the pipes are joined by locating the rectangular portion on the flange associated with the first pipe (ex., see fig. 2), locating the fastener in the aperture in the second pipe (ex., see fig. 2), and
applying a closure (110, annotated fig. 1A) to the fastener (ex., see fig. 2),
but does not disclose:
a fastener having a head abutting the ledge,
the fastener including serrations on an underside of the head and a shoulder, and
the fastener being press-fit into an aperture in the ledge with the serrations and the shoulder forming a press fit with the ledge surrounding the aperture.
In regards to the through hole, Jones discloses a similar device (see figs. 1-2 hereinafter) used to repair a muffler flanged connection (1:5-9 which explains repairs; 2:19-24, where a muffler is used), comprising:
a clamp (11, figs. 1-2) comprising a ledge (16) further comprising a through hole,
wherein the ledge is perpendicular to a hook (14) used to hook onto a flange (24) of an adjacent pipe (see fig. 1),
a bolt (see near 32) comprising a head (34) and threads (32),
wherein the through hole of the ledge retains the head of the bolt permitting the bolt to be used in assembly (2:19-24) such that a nut (36) is screwed onto the threaded end of the bolt to form a tight joint (2:25-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to replace the second portion comprising a semi-circular hole and welded fastener comprising a nut of Mallory with a second portion that is perpendicular to the first portion and comprises a through hole and unwelded fastener comprising a nut such that second portion comprising the ledge of Mallory in view of Jones is comprised of a perpendicular ledge comprising a through hole and unwelded fastener/nut because Mallory explicitly discloses that the fastener may be secured to the frame by other means other than welding and is not limited thereto (3:45-51), Mallory further explicitly discloses other types of fasteners exist such that the fastener may be secured adjacent to the lower end of the depression (3:54-57), the device of Mallory only differs by the replacement of one known configuration of a second portion with semi-circular hole and a welded fastener with another known configuration of a second portion perpendicular to a hook and comprises a through hole and unwelded fastener and nut as shown by Jones, Jones discloses a similar device used in the repair of exhaust pipes (2:19-24) comprising a second portion perpendicular to a hook and comprises a through hole and unwelded fastener and nut (see fig. 2, where the hole and hook are axially spaced), Jones further discloses that providing a through hole to a perpendicular ledge of a clamp retains the head of a bolt such that the through hole permits the bolt to be used in assembly (2:19-24) to form a tight joint via a nut (2:25-26; ex., both Mallory and Jones provide similar outcomes), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have made the replacement because Mallory expressly discloses that other securement and fastener means may be used (3:45-51, 3:54-57) and modifying the securement means of the first portion comprising a semi-circular hole and fastener means of a welded stud bolt of Mallory with another known securement means of a first portion that is perpendicular comprising a through hole and a fastener means of an unwelded fastener comprising a head and nut would not have produced any new or unexpected results.
In regards to the serrations and shoulder, PEM discloses that self-clinching studs are a known studs that is used to replace welded studs (ex., the stud of Mallory) with easier installation at lower costs (see page 7 of NPL provided herein),
wherein the self-clinching studs “are installed by placing them in properly sized holes in the sheets and squeezing into place with any standard press. The squeezing action embeds the head of the stud into the sheet. The metal displaced by the head flows smoothly and evenly around the ribs and into the annular groove – creating a flush head assembly and securely locking the stud into the sheet with high torque-out and pushout resistances” (see page 7),
wherein self-clinching studs comprise a shoulder that is press-fitted into the hole and serrations under the head (see annotated figure above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the fastener of Mallory in view of Jones such that the fastener is a self-clinching fastener comprising a head with serrations, a shoulder, and threads to meet the limitation of the claim because Mallory explicitly discloses that the fastener may be secured to the frame by other means other than welding and is not limited thereto (3:45-51), Mallory further explicitly discloses other types of fasteners exist such that the fastener may be secured adjacent to the lower end of the depression (3:54-57), Jones discloses that providing a through hole to a perpendicular ledge of a clamp retains the head of a bolt such that the through hole permits the bolt to be used in assembly (2:19-24) to form a tight joint via a nut (2:25-26), and PEM discloses that self-clinching studs are a known stud comprising a head with serrations, a shoulder, and threads that engage a nut and is used to replace welded studs (ex., the stud of Mallory) with easier installation at lower costs and also providing the benefit of securely locking the fastener onto a metal sheet (see page 7 of NPL provided herein).
In regards to claim 14, Mallory in view of Jones and PEM further discloses:
The clamp of claim 12, wherein the fastener is pre-positioned in the ledge to align with through holes in a pair of flanges (it is inherent that providing the fastener of Mallory in view of Jones and PEM would meet the limitation of the claim).
In regards to claim 17, Mallory in view of Jones and PEM further discloses:
The clamp of claim 12, wherein the opening is defined and oriented within an outer perimeter of the rectangular portion and the ledge (ex., see fig. 2 of Mallory).
In regards to claim 18, as best understood, Mallory in view of Jones and PEM further discloses:
The clamp of claim 1, wherein the body includes rail members and a plate-like member, the rail members and the plate-like member combining to define the opening (ex., see fig. 2 of Mallory).
In regards to claim 19, Mallory in view of Jones and PEM further discloses:
The clamp of claim 1, wherein a longitudinal axis through the fastener is generally perpendicular to the ledge (ex., see fig. 1 of Jones).
In regards to claim 21, Mallory in view of Jones and PEM further discloses:
The clamp of claim 8, wherein the second flange comprises a fixed flange (ex., see fig. 4 of Mallory, where the flange is fixed via the device).
In regards to claim 22, Mallory in view of Jones and PEM further discloses:
The clamp of claim 8, wherein the second flange comprises a slidable collar (ex., see fig. 4 of Mallory).
In regards to claim 23, Mallory in view of Jones and PEM further discloses:
The clamp of claim 8, wherein the second flange includes a through hole configured to receive the fastener (see fig. 4 of Mallory).
In regards to claim 24, Mallory in view of Jones and PEM further discloses:
The clamp of claim 12, wherein the stamped body is formed such that the ledge lies in a second plane generally perpendicular to a first plane of the three rails (ex., see fig. 1 of Jones).
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mallory in view of Jones and PEM as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of MarshFasteners (NPL, 2021).
In regards to claim 20, as best understood, Mallory in view of Jones and PEM discloses:
The clamp of claim 1, wherein the fastener includes a threaded shaft (ex., as disclosed Mallory, Jones, and PEM) and a threaded closure received on the threaded shaft (ex., see fig. 1 of Jones),
but does not disclose:
the clamp further comprises a washer received on the threaded shaft.
In regards to the washer, MarshFasteners (hereinafter as MF) discloses that lock washers provide the benefit of preventing nuts from turning slipping or becoming looses as a result of vibration or torque (see page 1 of the NPL provided herein).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the device of Mallory in view of Jones and PEM with the provision of a lock washer to meet the limitation of the claim because MF discloses that lock washers provide the benefit of preventing nuts from turning slipping or becoming looses as a result of vibration or torque (see page 1 of the NPL provided herein).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.T.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679