DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the mechanical stop" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 is rejected due to its dependence upon claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GB 1595398.
Re-claim 1, GB ‘398 discloses an externally adjustable pressure modulating valve, comprising: a valve body extending along a valve axis, the valve body is provided with a pressure port (as part of chambers 11/31), an output port (as part of chambers 16/23), a tank port (such as any of ports 21 or pressure ports, as a tank port is not defined by the specification and is thus broadly interpreted to include any type of port), and a plunger cavity; a valve spool 6 (as elements actuated by 6) is retained in the valve body and moves along the valve axis; an input plunger 3 in the plunger cavity and moves along the valve axis between a resting position and a fully actuated position; one or more modulation springs (see figure) are located in a modulation spring cavity between the input plunger and the valve spool; and an adjustment mechanism (such as 3’) is operable from an outside of the valve to change a force of the one or more modulation springs when the input plunger is in the fully actuated position. Element 3’ is adjustable relative to the valve body and is used to adjust a position of spring support 4 as well as a mechanical stop.
Re-claims 2 and 3, the adjustment mechanism is a threaded sleeve 3’, rotation of the threaded sleeve changes a mechanical stop of the input plunger. Sleeve 3’ is provided with a shoulder that will act as a stop for the plunger 3.
Re-claim 4, the mechanical stop comprises a retaining ring (see figure and note the ring located therein) received in a circumferential recess inside of the threaded sleeve 3’.
Re-claims 5 and 6, a locking structure, or lock screw locks in position the threaded sleeve 3’.
Re-claim 7, the adjustment mechanism adjusts an axial dimension of the modulation spring cavity, such as changing the position of at least spring support 4.
Re-claim 9, the valve body comprises a first valve portion (i.e. sleeve 3’) and a second valve portion (i.e. the valve body), the first valve portion 3’ has a threaded sleeve received in a threaded recess (see figure) in the second valve portion, rotating the first valve portion with respect to the second valve portion changes an axial dimension of the modulation spring cavity.
Re-claim 10, a locking nut on the threaded sleeve is located between the first valve portion and the second valve portion, see figure and note the lock nut on sleeve 3’.
Re-claim 11, an actuation surface of plunger 3 (i.e. recess) is varied by movement of sleeve 3’.
Re-claim 12, the axially adjustable engagement surface comprises a threaded cap 3’ on an end of the input plunger.
Re-claim 13, the valve includes an inner modulation spring and an outer modulation spring 5.
Re-claim 14, spring 5 is at least a plunger return spring arranged to bias the input plunger 3 toward the resting position.
Re-claim 15, GB ‘398 is part of a brake pedal assembly, comprising: a base plate (i.e. support structure); the externally adjustable pressure modulating valve is mounted to the base plate; and a brake pedal is pivotably mounted to the base plate and having an actuator configured and arranged to actuate the input plunger of the pressure modulating valve.
Re-claim 16, an adjustment mechanism comprises a threaded sleeve 3’ in the plunger cavity, rotation of the threaded sleeve changes a mechanical stop of the input plunger.
Re-claim 17, the adjustment mechanism adjusts an axial dimension of the modulation spring cavity. Movement of sleeve 3’ results in movement of spring support plate 4 and thus varying the spring cavity.
Re-claim 18, movement of sleeve 3’ will result in movement of plunger 3 and thus an axially adjustable actuation surface on the input plunger. The recess of plunger 3 is interpreted as actuation surface.
Re-claim 19, GB ‘398 discloses a method of adjusting a pressure modulating valve, comprising: providing a pressure modulating valve having an input plunger 3, the pressure modulating valve configured to be externally adjustable to adjust a spring force of a modulation spring when the input plunger is fully actuated (such as movement of sleeve 3’); determining an output pressure at a given supply pressure when the input plunger is fully actuated; and adjusting an axial position of an mechanical stop and/or an axial dimension of a modulation spring cavity. Both a stop and axial dimension of the spring cavity are adjusted by rotation of sleeve 3’ relative to the valve body.
Re-claim 20, adjusting the axial position of the mechanical stop and/or the axial dimension of the modulation spring cavity includes rotating a threaded sleeve 3’ in the valve body, the input plunger 3 is at least partially received in the threaded sleeve, see figure.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-8, 11-17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GB 1592937.
Re-claim 1, GB ‘937 discloses an externally adjustable pressure modulating valve, comprising: a valve body 1 extending along a valve axis, the valve body is provided with a pressure port (such as 3 and 4), an output port (such as 5 and 6), a tank port (such as either port 3, 4 or exhaust), a plunger cavity; a valve spool 18 is retained in the valve body and moves along the valve axis; an input plunger 16 in the plunger cavity and moves along the valve axis between a resting position and a fully actuated position; one or more modulation springs 22/24 (see figure 1) are located in a modulation spring cavity between the input plunger and the valve spool; an adjustment mechanism 40 is operable from an outside of the valve to change a force of the one or more modulation springs when the input plunger is in the fully actuated position. Adjusting the position of guide 40 moves at least plate 30 and mechanical stop 36.
Re-claim 2, the adjustment mechanism is a threaded sleeve 40, rotation of the threaded sleeve changes a mechanical stop 36 of the input plunger. Adjustment of sleeve 40 will move shoulder 36. Shoulder 36 acts as a stop for at least spring plate 32.
Re-claims 5 and 6, a locking structure, or lock screw locks in position the threaded sleeve 40.
Re-claim 7, the adjustment mechanism adjusts an axial dimension of the modulation spring cavity, such as changing the position of at least spring support 30.
Re-claim 8, the modulation spring cavity is defined at least in part by a hollow region in the input plunger 16, the adjustment mechanism comprises a threaded cap 40 on the input plunger, the threaded cap rotatable to change the axial dimension of the modulation spring cavity.
Re-claim 11, an actuation surface of plunger 16 is varied by movement of sleeve 40. The actuation surface may include the threads, which are varied by rotation of sleeve 40, thus changing the thread surface that carries out the actuation force.
Re-claim 12, the axially adjustable engagement surface comprises a threaded cap (such as the nut) on an end of the input plunger.
Re-claim 13, the valve includes an inner modulation spring 24 and an outer modulation spring 22.
Re-claim 14, a plunger return spring 17 is arranged to bias the input plunger 16 toward the resting position.
Re-claim 15, GB ‘937 is part of a brake pedal assembly, comprising: a base plate (i.e. support structure); the externally adjustable pressure modulating valve is mounted to the base plate; and a brake pedal is pivotably mounted to the base plate and having an actuator configured and arranged to actuate the input plunger of the pressure modulating valve, see page 2 lines 90-100.
Re-claim 16, an adjustment mechanism comprises a threaded sleeve 40 in the plunger cavity, rotation of the threaded sleeve changes a mechanical stop (such as 36) of the input plunger. Adjustment of sleeve 40 will move shoulder 36. Shoulder 36 acts as a stop for at least spring plate 32.
Re-claim 17, the adjustment mechanism adjusts an axial dimension of the modulation spring cavity. Movement of sleeve 40 results in movement of spring support plate 30 and thus varying the spring cavity.
Re-claim 19, GB ‘937 discloses a method of adjusting a pressure modulating valve, comprising: providing a pressure modulating valve having an input plunger 16, the pressure modulating valve configured to be externally adjustable to adjust a spring force of a modulation spring when the input plunger is fully actuated (such as movement of sleeve 40); determining an output pressure at a given supply pressure when the input plunger is fully actuated; and adjusting an axial position of an mechanical stop and/or an axial dimension of a modulation spring cavity. Both a stop 36 and axial dimension of the spring cavity are adjusted by rotation of sleeve 40 relative to the valve body 1.
Re-claim 20, adjusting the axial position of the mechanical stop and/or the axial dimension of the modulation spring cavity includes rotating a threaded sleeve 40 in the valve body, the input plunger 16 is at least partially received in the threaded sleeve.
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GB 184,088.
Re-claim 1, GB ‘088 an externally adjustable pressure modulating valve, comprising: a valve body 1 extending along a valve axis, the valve body is provided with a pressure port (such as 6), an output port 12, a tank port (such as 7, as a tank port is not defined), and a plunger cavity; a valve spool 11 (which includes 22 and 23) is retained in the valve body and moves along the valve axis; an input plunger 20 in the plunger cavity and moves along the valve axis between a resting position and a fully actuated position; a modulation spring 21 (spring 17 is present as well) is located in a modulation spring cavity between the input plunger and the valve spool; and an adjustment mechanism 15 is operable from an outside of the valve to change a force of the one or more modulation springs when the input plunger is in the fully actuated position (see page 2 lines 5-7).
Re-claims 2 and 3, the adjustment mechanism is a threaded sleeve 15, rotation of the threaded sleeve changes a mechanical stop of the input plunger. The interior surface of the sleeve 15 will serve as a mechanical stop when cooperating with a shoulder of plunger 20.
Re-claim 7, the adjustment mechanism adjusts an axial dimension of the modulation spring cavity, such as changing an axial length of the cavity holding at least spring 17. It is noted that a spring length of 21 is further disclosed as being adjustable, such as adjusting a threaded connection between 18 and 20, see page 2 lines 56-60. This is carried out by rotation of screw end 24, such as by releasing a lock nut 28.
Re-claim 8, the modulation spring cavity is defined at least in part by a hollow region in the input plunger 20, the adjustment mechanism comprises a threaded cap (such as 28 or 15) on the input plunger 20, the threaded cap rotatable to change the axial dimension of the modulation spring cavity.
Re-claim 9, the valve body comprises a first valve portion 15 and a second valve portion (a wall portion of 1), the first valve portion is a threaded sleeve received in a threaded recess in the second valve portion, rotating the first valve portion with respect to the second valve portion changes an axial dimension of the modulation spring cavity (holding spring 17).
Re-claims 11 and 12, movement of threaded cap 28 varies the engagement surface, such as moving element 25 to various positions.
.
Re-claim 13, the valve includes an inner modulation spring 21 and an outer modulation spring 17.
Re-claim 14, spring 17 is at least a plunger return spring arranged to bias the input plunger 20 toward the resting position.
Re-claim 15, GB ‘088 is capable of being part of a brake pedal assembly, comprising: a base plate 35; the externally adjustable pressure modulating valve is mounted to the base plate; and a brake pedal 29 is pivotably mounted to the base plate and having an actuator configured and arranged to actuate the input plunger of the pressure modulating valve. The device of GB ‘088 can control the flow of a fluid and is capable of use with pressurized gas.
Re-claim 16, an adjustment mechanism comprises a threaded sleeve 15 in the plunger cavity, rotation of the threaded sleeve changes a mechanical stop (i.e. interior end surface) of the input plunger.
Re-claim 17, the adjustment mechanism adjusts an axial dimension of the modulation spring cavity (holding at least spring 17).
Re-claim 18, movement of sleeve 15 will result in movement of plunger 20 and thus an axially adjustable actuation surface on the input plunger.
Re-claim 19, GB ‘088 discloses a method of adjusting a pressure modulating valve, comprising: providing a pressure modulating valve having an input plunger 20, the pressure modulating valve configured to be externally adjustable to adjust a spring force of a modulation spring when the input plunger is fully actuated; determining an output pressure at a given supply pressure when the input plunger is fully actuated; and adjusting an axial position of an mechanical stop and/or an axial dimension of a modulation spring cavity. Both a stop and axial dimension of the spring cavity are adjusted by rotation of sleeve 15 relative to the valve body 1.
Re-claim 20, adjusting the axial position of the mechanical stop and/or the axial dimension of the modulation spring cavity includes rotating a threaded sleeve 15 in the valve body 1, the input plunger 20 is at least partially received in the threaded sleeve
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB 184,088.
Re-claims 5, 6 and 10, GB ‘088 fail to show or teach a locking structure, such as a locking nut for locking in place the sleeve 15. GB ‘088 does show the use of locking nuts 28 for locking in place an element, as known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the threaded sleeve 15 of GB ‘088 with a locking nut as further shown in use with element 25, as this is known in the art as one manner by which one could lock in place a threaded structure.
Conclusion
Any inquiries concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Thomas Williams whose telephone number is 571-272-7128. The examiner can normally be reached on Tuesday-Friday from 6:00 AM to 4:00 PM.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-6584.
TJW
November 20, 2025
/THOMAS J WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616