DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 4, the Examiner object to the usage of the abbreviation of LoRa without first defining the abbreviation. The Examiner recommends that the Applicant define the abbreviation in the claim limitations.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 8, 10-12 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Veillette (US 2010/0061272 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Veillette teaches a method for establishing a tree network of devices within a gas detection system (¶ [0016], Advanced Metering Infrastructure (AMI) or Advanced Metering Management (AMM) are systems that measure, collect and analyze utility usage, from advanced devices such as electricity meters, gas meters, and water meters, through a network on request or a pre-defined schedule), the gas detection system comprising one or more broadcasting devices, and a
Gateway (figs. 2-4, ¶ [0152], SM network topology is shown in FIG. 2 and is composed of a coordinator 15, routers 20 and end devices 25 (generically referred to as "nodes"). A SM network may include non routing nodes called end devices which are associated to a preferred parent through which messages are sent and received), the method comprising: initializing, by a computing device associated with the gateway, a root node of a tree network (fig. 2, ¶ [0139], SM Coordinator--Referenced within this document as Coordinator is responsible for initializing the network, accepting association requests and assigning unique short addresses. ¶ [0152], The preferred routes 30 between routers 20 create a tree for which the root is the coordinator 15. ¶ [0166], Tree routing is the preferred routing method when a Node initiates communications that target the Coordinator. Tree routing uses the Neighborhood Table to find a route to the Coordinator as shown in FIG. 7); monitoring, by the computing device, for a beacon request broadcast, wherein the beacon request broadcast is detected by the computing device from a given one of the one or more broadcasting devices (figs. 2, 3, 4, ¶ [0157], Device association is started with the neighbor information request process shown in FIG. 3. Node-A initiates the process with a Neighbor Info Request that is broadcasted on a channel and received by other Nodes in the neighborhood that are listening to that channel. Once the Node has received neighbor(s) information, it can start the association process. ¶ [0158]. ¶ [0302]), the given broadcasting device switching over from a parallel network configuration to join the tree network (¶ [0160], the association process described in this section is also used by a network member to re-evaluate its association status. This action is performed every ASSOCIATION_EVAL_PERIOD and is intended to determine if the network member should remain on the same SM network or if it should migrate to another one. The Node will change its network membership (i.e. complete its association process on another network) only if the resulting Association Ratio represents an improvement compared to its current Association Ratio. Where a node switching over from a different network is interpreted as a given broadcasting device switching over from a parallel network); determining, by the computing device, available capability to support a connection with the broadcasting device (¶ [0303],The Neighbor Info Response message is sent by each neighbor Router when a Neighbor Info Request is broadcast. This message contains the network name and Coordinator load of the responding neighbor, the quality of the requesting Node's signal as received by this neighbor, and the list tree position of this neighbor on different network trees. Table 38); generating, by the computing device, a beacon response based on the determination of available capability (figs. 2-4, 73, ¶ [0303], ¶ [0304], ¶ [0327], ¶ [0328], IF Coordinator Load is 100% Ignore this network ); transmitting, by the computing device, the beacon response to the broadcasting device (figs. 2-4, 73, 74, ¶ [0303], The Neighbor Info Response message is sent by each neighbor Router when a Neighbor Info Request is broadcast. This message contains the network name and Coordinator load of the responding neighbor, ¶ [0327]); establishing, by the computing device, the broadcasting device as a child node device based upon a receipt of a joining request (figs. 52, 53, 70, 71, ¶ [0275], Association request, ¶ [0333]-¶ [0336], ¶ [0155], An Association Request is transmitted to the selected Association Router by the requesting device. When the Association Router is not the Coordinator, the Association Request is repackaged and forwarded in the form of an Association Confirmation Request message to the Coordinator, using tree routing.); and transmitting, by the computing device, a join confirmation to the broadcasting device based on the establishment of the broadcasting device as a child node device (figs. 24, 25, 53, 70, 71, ¶ [0155], If the Association Confirmation Request is received and validated, the Coordinator sends back the assigned short address in an Association Confirmation Response message, which is then repackaged and sent to the device as an Association Response message. Similarly, when the Coordinator receives the Association Request directly, it returns its response directly in an Association Response).
Regarding claim 14, Veillette teaches a method for joining a tree network of devices within a gas detection system (¶ [0016], Advanced Metering Infrastructure (AMI) or Advanced Metering Management (AMM) are systems that measure, collect and analyze utility usage, from advanced devices such as electricity meters, gas meters, and water meters, through a network on request or a pre-defined schedule), the gas detection system comprising one or more broadcasting devices, and one or more broadcast beacon responding devices (figs. 2-4, ¶ [0152]), the method comprising: broadcasting, by a computing device, a beacon request figs. 2, 3, 4, ¶ [0157], Device association is started with the neighbor information request process shown in FIG. 3. Node-A initiates the process with a Neighbor Info Request that is broadcasted on a channel and received by other Nodes in the neighborhood that are listening to that channel. Once the Node has received neighbor(s) information, it can start the association process. ¶ [0158]. ¶ [0302]), upon switching over from a parallel network configuration to join a tree network (¶ [0160], the association process described in this section is also used by a network member to re-evaluate its association status. This action is performed every ASSOCIATION_EVAL_PERIOD and is intended to determine if the network member should remain on the same SM network or if it should migrate to another one. The Node will change its network membership (i.e. complete its association process on another network) only if the resulting Association Ratio represents an improvement compared to its current Association Ratio. Where a node switching over from a different network is interpreted as a given broadcasting device switching over from a parallel network); receiving, by the computing device, one or more beacon responses comprising a message including an indication that a given device in receipt of the beacon request has available capability (figs. 2-4, 73, 74, ¶ [0303],The Neighbor Info Response message is sent by each neighbor Router when a Neighbor Info Request is broadcast. This message contains the network name and Coordinator load of the responding neighbor, the quality of the requesting Node's signal as received by this neighbor, and the list tree position of this neighbor on different network trees. Table 38, ¶ [0155]); determining, by the computing device, which of beacon responding devices, corresponding to the one or more beacon responses, to request joining based on one or more criteria (figs. 24, 25, 52, 70, 71, ¶ [0327], ¶ [0333], End Devices selects a neighboring Router based on the following criteria applied in the order indicated: ¶ [0334] From the list of neighbors with the best LQI class (Class computed only on the link between the RFD and its neighbor) select the Routers with the lowest "Router load" ¶ [0335] From the remaining list, select a Router with the least number of hops. ¶ [0336], ¶ [0155], An Association Request is transmitted to the selected Association Router by the requesting device. When the Association Router is not the Coordinator, the Association Request is repackaged and forwarded in the form of an Association Confirmation Request message to the Coordinator, using tree routing.); transmitting, by the computing device, a joining request to a given beacon responding device based on the determination (figs. 52, 70, 71, ¶ [0155], the Association Confirmation Request is received and validated); receiving, by the computing device, a join confirmation from the given beacon responding device; and recording a media access control (MAC) address and a network address of the given beacon responding device for association as a parent node device based on the join confirmation (figs. 24, 25, 53, 70, 71, ¶ [0155], the Coordinator sends back the assigned short address in an Association Confirmation Response message. ¶ [0276], ¶ [0169], ¶ [0193], ¶ [0266], Each frame described in this document includes MAC layer fields, which are documented within the mesh layer to provide the context on which the mesh layer operates. The MAC and mesh layers are tightly coupled, so that information required by the mesh layer that is already present at the MAC layer is not duplicated. Table 6, ¶ [0269], Table 9:… Target Address Binary 2 octets Short address of the final target (Router or End Device) of this message. Originator Address Binary 2 octets Short address of the originator (Router or End Device) of this message. Target PAN Identifier Binary 2 octets PAN identifier of the target Node as identified by the Target Address field. Originator PAN Identifier Binary 2 octets PAN identifier of the originator Node as identified by the Originator Address field…” Table 17, Table 36. Where it is implicit the addresses are recorded based on the association confirmation).
Regarding claim 2, Veillette teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the root node comprises a node device designated as a destination of data communications from child node devices in the tree network (¶ [0166], Tree routing is the preferred routing method when a Node initiates communications that target the Coordinator. Tree routing uses the Neighborhood Table to find a route to the Coordinator as shown in FIG. 7. ¶ [0152], ¶ [0164]).
Regarding claim 3, Veillette teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising managing data routes of the child node devices and branches in the tree network (figs. 2, 7, ¶ [0152], The preferred routes 30 between routers 20 create a tree for which the root is the coordinator 15. A SM network may include non routing nodes called end devices which are associated to a preferred parent through which messages are sent and received. ¶ [0166], ¶ [0186] and ¶ [0187]).
Regarding claim 5, Veillette teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising connecting the tree network to a central network (fig. 2, ¶ [0016] Advanced Metering Infrastructure (AMI) or Advanced Metering Management (AMM) are systems that measure, collect and analyze utility usage, from advanced devices such as electricity meters, gas meters, and water meters, through a network on request or a pre-defined schedule. This infrastructure includes hardware, software, communications, customer associated systems and meter data management software. The infrastructure collects and distributes information to customers, suppliers, utility companies and service providers.)
Regarding claim 7, Veillette teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the beacon request comprises a request for devices with available capability to connect with the broadcasting device (figs. 2-4, 73, 74, ¶ [0303],The Neighbor Info Response message is sent by each neighbor Router when a Neighbor Info Request is broadcast. This message contains the network name and Coordinator load of the responding neighbor, the quality of the requesting Node's signal as received by this neighbor, and the list tree position of this neighbor on different network trees. Table 38:…Measure of the number of End Device which are already 0-100 Children of this Router, relative to router capacity. The value 100% means full and no further End Device are accepted… Coordinator Load Bits 6-0, range Measure of the number of Nodes already associated to the 0-100 network, relative to router capacity. The value 100% means full and no further associations are accepted…” ¶ [0155])).
Regarding claim 8, Veillette teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the availability capability comprises a resource quantity representative of the computing device's capacity for accepting child node device connections (¶ [0303], Table 38:…Measure of the number of End Device which are already 0-100 Children of this Router, relative to router capacity. The value 100% means full and no further End Device are accepted… Coordinator Load Bits 6-0, range Measure of the number of Nodes already associated to the 0-100 network, relative to router capacity. The value 100% means full and no further associations are accepted…” ¶ [0155]).
Regarding claim 10, Veillette teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the joining request comprises a request to connect with the computing device to join the tree network (figs. 52, 73, 74, ¶ [0155]).
Regarding claim 11, Veillette teaches the method of claim 1, wherein establishing the broadcasting device as a child node device further comprises: allocating the computing device's capability to the child node device ((¶ [0303], Table 38:…Measure of the number of End Device which are already 0-100 Children of this Router, relative to router capacity. The value 100% means full and no further End Device are accepted… Coordinator Load Bits 6-0, range Measure of the number of Nodes already associated to the 0-100 network, relative to router capacity. The value 100% means full and no further associations are accepted…); assigning a network address to the child node device; and recording a media access control (MAC) address of the broadcasting device as a MAC address of the child node device (figs. 24, 25, 53, 70, 71, ¶ [0155], the Coordinator sends back the assigned short address in an Association Confirmation Response message. ¶ [0276], ¶ [0169], ¶ [0193], ¶ [0266], Each frame described in this document includes MAC layer fields, which are documented within the mesh layer to provide the context on which the mesh layer operates. The MAC and mesh layers are tightly coupled, so that information required by the mesh layer that is already present at the MAC layer is not duplicated. Table 6, ¶ [0269], Table 9:… Target Address Binary 2 octets Short address of the final target (Router or End Device) of this message. Originator Address Binary 2 octets Short address of the originator (Router or End Device) of this message. Target PAN Identifier Binary 2 octets PAN identifier of the target Node as identified by the Target Address field. Originator PAN Identifier Binary 2 octets PAN identifier of the originator Node as identified by the Originator Address field…” Table 17, Table 36. Where it is implicit the addresses are recorded based on the association exchange).
Regarding claim 12, Veillette teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the join confirmation comprises a message that confirms connection to the tree network via a connection between the computing device and the broadcasting device (figs. 73, 74, ¶ [0155]).
Regarding claim 15, Veillette teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the beacon responding device comprises a gateway, a router connected to a gateway, or a router connected to one or more additional routers connected to the gateway (figs. 2-4, ¶ [0152], An exemplary SM network topology is shown in FIG. 2 and is composed of a coordinator 15, routers 20 and end devices 25 (generically referred to as "nodes"). ¶ [0155], ¶ [0303], The Neighbor Info Response message is sent by each neighbor Router when a Neighbor Info Request is broadcast.).
Regarding claim 16, Veillette teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the one or more criteria includes minimum number of hops, best received signal strength indicator (RSSI), and signal noise ratio (SNR) (¶ [0327], The Association Ratio is calculated by a Node to select which Coordinator to choose. It is a weighted sum of: the "Number of Hops" to the Coordinator (from Neighbor Info Response), the "Coordinator Load" (from Neighbor Info Response), the number of local neighbors (from the number of Neighbor Info Responses received for the selected network) and the "Min LQI Class" (maximum value from all Neighbor Info Response adjusted for last hop). Table 60 lists the weighting factors. ¶ [0269], Source routing is used when the Target device is more than one hop away. Therefore the Number of hops is at least one. ¶ [0331] For all the possible routes with the best min LQI class, select the routes with the least number of hops. ¶ [0331]-¶ [0335] From the remaining list, select a Router with the least number of hops.)
Regarding claim 17, Veillette teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the joining request comprises a request to connect with the given beacon responding device to join the tree network (figs. 73, 74, ¶ [0155], an Association Router, which is a member of the selected SM network, is selected based on the Preferred Route Ratio algorithm, also discussed below. An Association Request is transmitted to the selected Association Router by the requesting device. When the Association Router is not the Coordinator, the Association Request is repackaged and forwarded in the form of an Association Confirmation Request message to the Coordinator, using tree routing).
Regarding claim 18, Veillette teaches the method of claim 14, where the join confirmation comprises a message confirming a connection to the tree network via a connection between the computing device and the given beacon responding device (figs. 2-4, ¶ [0155], If the Association Confirmation Request is received and validated, the Coordinator sends back the assigned short address in an Association Confirmation Response message, which is then repackaged and sent to the device as an Association Response message. Similarly, when the Coordinator receives the Association Request directly, it returns its response directly in an Association Response).
Regarding claim 19, Veillette teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising transmitting a frame to the given beacon responding device, the frame including payload data and control information comprising a source network address, a destination network address, a source MAC address, and a destination MAC address. ((figs. 24, 25, 53, 70, 71, ¶ [0206], ¶ [0209], ¶ [0155], the Coordinator sends back the assigned short address in an Association Confirmation Response message. ¶ [0276], ¶ [0169], ¶ [0193], ¶ [0266], Each frame described in this document includes MAC layer fields, which are documented within the mesh layer to provide the context on which the mesh layer operates. The MAC and mesh layers are tightly coupled, so that information required by the mesh layer that is already present at the MAC layer is not duplicated. Table 6, ¶ [0269], Table 9:… Target Address Binary 2 octets Short address of the final target (Router or End Device) of this message. Originator Address Binary 2 octets Short address of the originator (Router or End Device) of this message. Target PAN Identifier Binary 2 octets PAN identifier of the target Node as identified by the Target Address field. Originator PAN Identifier Binary 2 octets PAN identifier of the originator Node as identified by the Originator Address field…” Table 17, Table 36. Where it is implicit the addresses are recorded based on the association confirmation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veillette in view of Sobol et al. (US 2021/0337355 A1, hereinafter “Sobol”).
Regarding claim 4, Veillette teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the tree network a private network (figs. 1, 2, ¶ [0150], ¶ [0152], and ¶ [0189]).
Veillette does not explicitly teach wherein the tree network comprises a LoRa private network.
However, it is well known in the art to utilize LoRa network, as evidenced by ¶ [0009], ¶ [0010], ¶ [0046] of Sobol.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize a LoRa private network in the system of Veillette to further improve industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 6, Veillette teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the central network is coupled to a system that provides monitoring/analyzing of data received from the tree network (fig. 2, ¶ [0016] Advanced Metering Infrastructure (AMI) or Advanced Metering Management (AMM) are systems that measure, collect and analyze utility usage, from advanced devices such as electricity meters, gas meters, and water meters, through a network on request or a pre-defined schedule. This infrastructure includes hardware, software, communications, customer associated systems and meter data management software. The infrastructure collects and distributes information to customers, suppliers, utility companies and service providers. This enables these businesses to either participate in, or provide, demand response solutions, products and services.).
Veillette does not explicitly teach wherein the central network is coupled to a remote server that provides centralized monitoring of data received from the tree network.
However, it is well known in the art to utilize a remote server, coupled to a central network, that provides centralized monitoring of data received from a PAN network, as evidenced by fig. 1, ¶ [0033], ¶ [0035]-¶ [0337] of Sobol
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize a remote server, coupled to the central network, that provides centralized monitoring of data received from the tree network in the system of Veillette to further improve industrial applicability.
10. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veillette in view of Prakash et al. (US 2018/0167955 A1, hereinafter “Prakash”).
Regarding claim 9, Veillette teaches the method of claim 1.
Veillette does not explicitly teach wherein determining the available capability further comprises determining a child node device type corresponding to the broadcasting device.
Prakash teaches wherein determining the available capability further comprises determining a child node device type corresponding to the broadcasting device (figs. 6, 7, ¶ [0044], the association request includes a duration request for short-term priority or long-term priority. A short-term priority request indicates priority that is requested for a limited duration of time (e.g., a duration of time necessary to complete a single communication event between the TSCH node 102b and the child node 104a). A long-term priority request indicates priority that is requested for as long as the TSCH parent node 102b is operational and powered and until the child node 104a requests disassociation from the TSCH parent node 102b. ¶ [0057], ¶ [0058])
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to determine a child node device type corresponding to the broadcasting device in the system of Veillette to provide prioritized association between parent devices and child devices joining the network and requiring priority access to the network (¶ [0003] of Prakash).
11. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veillette in view of Levesque et al. (US 2016/0345317 A1, hereinafter “Levesque”).
Regarding claim 13, Veillette teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the join confirmation includes an assigned network address (¶ [0155], ¶ [0301], ¶ [0276], Table 17).
Veillette does not explicitly teach wherein the join confirmation includes an assigned network address and a capability value representative of capability distributed from the computing device to the child node device.
Levesque teaches wherein the join confirmation includes an assigned network address and a capability value representative of capability distributed from the computing device to the child node device (¶ [0025], ¶ [0062], The join response packet includes identification of the assigned network address (or short network ID) and the assigned network bandwidth for the joining sensor node 101, ¶ [0063] and ¶ [0064]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include, in the join confirmation, an assigned network address and a capability value representative of capability distributed from the computing device to the child node device in the system of Veillette to utilize conventional techniques in the art.
Conclusion
/MANDISH K RANDHAWA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477