DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 9, 12, 21-24, 27, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240196616 (Kubo et al).
Concerning claim 1, Kubo discloses a memory device (Figs. 55A-70C), comprising: layer stacks that laterally extend along a first horizontal direction and laterally spaced apart from each other by access trenches (Fig. 53A), wherein each of the layer stacks comprises a respective alternating stack of respective insulating layers (32) ([0437]) and respective electrically conductive layers (46) ([0438]), and further comprises a respective contact-level dielectric layer (80) that overlies the respective alternating stack (Figs. 70A and [0443]); memory openings (49) vertically extending through a respective one of the alternating stacks ([0419]); memory opening fill structures (58) located in a respective one of the memory openings and comprising a respective vertical stack of memory elements and a respective vertical semiconductor channel ([0432]); dielectric bridges structures (276) located within a respective one of the access trenches (79) (Fig. 65A and [0435]), wherein each of the dielectric bridge structures comprises a respective pair of contoured sidewalls ([0427]), wherein each contoured sidewall of the dielectric bridge structures comprises at least two vertically-straight and horizontally-convex surface segments that are adjoined by a vertically-extending edge ([0427] and [0431]); and access trench fill structures (76 +74) located in the access trenches and embedding a respective subset of the dielectric bridge structures (Fig. 67A and [0442]).
Kubo in the embodiment as disclosed in Figs. 55A-70C does not disclose wherein a respective bottom surface of the dielectric bridge structures contacts an upper surface of the one of the access trench fill structures. However, Kubo discloses other embodiments (Figs. 75A-76A) that discloses a configuration wherein a respective bottom surface of the dielectric bridge structures contacts an upper surface of the one of the access trench fill structures (Fig. 76A, note that the dielectric bridge structure has an overhang portion that has a bottom surface and that this overhang portion’s bottom surface contacts an upper surface of the access trench fill structure). In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). See MPEP 2144.04 IV B. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the configuration of Figs. 55A-70C of Kubo in view of the configuration as disclosed in Figs. 75A-76A absent evidence that such configuration is significant.
Continuing to claim 2, Kubo discloses wherein each of the dielectric bridge structures comprises a respective pair of planar vertical sidewalls that are adjoined to the respective pair of contoured sidewalls and are parallel to a second horizontal direction different from the first horizontal direction ([0427] and Figs. 75A-76B).
Considering claim 3, Kubo discloses vertical sidewalls of the dielectric bridge structures are in contact with a respective one of the access trench fill structures (Figs. 67A and 67B).
Regarding claim 4, Kubo discloses wherein each of the dielectric bridge structures comprises a respective horizontal bottom surface located at or above a horizontal plane including top surfaces of the alternating stacks (Fig. 67A).
Concerning claim 5, Kubo discloses (in the embodiment as disclosed in Figs. 55A-70C) forming dielectric bridges and a contact-level dielectric layer (80),
Kubo does not disclose (in the embodiment as disclosed in Figs. 55A-70C) wherein each of the dielectric bridge structures comprises a respective top surface located within a horizontal plane including top surfaces of the contact-level dielectric layers. However Kubo discloses multiple embodiments (Fig. 36A) one of which has a configuration in which a dielectric bridge structure (176) is formed such that the dielectric bridge structures comprises a respective top surface located within a horizontal plane including top surfaces of the contact-level dielectric layers. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). See MPEP 2144.04 IV B. Therefore absent evidence that the claimed configuration is significant, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the dielectric bridge structure of the embodiment shown in Fig. 67A in view of the embodiment shown in Fig. 36A to arrive at the claimed configuration.
Referring to claim 8, Kubo discloses wherein each of the dielectric bridge structures is in direct contact with a pair of sidewalls of a respective one of the access trench fill structures (Fig. 67B, note that the dielectric bridge structure contacts a top and bottom horizontal sidewall of the access trench fill structure).
Pertaining to claim 9, Kubo discloses wherein each of the access trench fill structures comprises: a respective insulating spacer (74) in contact with a respective pair of the layer stacks (Fig. 67A and [0299], note that the feature 74 of the embodiment referred to in [0299] is the same feature denoted in the embodiment of Figs. 55A-70C), and in contact with a respective row of the dielectric bridge structures (Fig. 67B); and a respective access-trench contact via structure (76) that is laterally surrounded by the respective insulating spacer (Fig. 67B).
As to claim 12, Kubo discloses wherein each of the alternating stacks comprises a respective pair of lengthwise sidewalls in which a plurality of vertically-straight and laterally- concave surface segments are adjoined to each other along the first horizontal direction (Fig. 67B).
Concerning claim 21, Kubo discloses a memory device (Figs. 55A-70C), comprising: layer stacks that laterally extend along a first horizontal direction and laterally spaced apart from each other by access trenches (Fig. 53A), wherein each of the layer stacks comprises a respective alternating stack of respective insulating layers (32) ([0437]) and respective electrically conductive layers (46) ([0438]), and further comprises a respective contact-level dielectric layer (80) that overlies the respective alternating stack (Figs. 70A and [0443]); memory openings (49) vertically extending through a respective one of the alternating stacks ([0419]); memory opening fill structures (58) located in a respective one of the memory openings and comprising a respective vertical stack of memory elements and a respective vertical semiconductor channel ([0432]); access trench fill structures (76 +74) located in the access trenches(Fig. 67A and [0442]), a plurality of dielectric bridges structures (276) located within one of the access trench fill structures (79) (Fig. 65A and [0435]), wherein each of the dielectric bridge structures comprises a respective pair of contoured sidewalls ([0427]) that generally extend along the first horizontal direction, each contoured sidewall comprising at least two vertically-straight and horizontally-convex surface segments that are adjoined by a vertically-extending edge ([0427] and [0431]).
Kubo in the embodiment as disclosed in Figs. 55A-70C does not disclose wherein a respective bottom surface contacting a respective upward-facing recess surface of the one of the access trench fill structures. However, Kubo discloses other embodiments (Figs. 75A-76A) that discloses a configuration wherein a respective bottom surface of the dielectric bridge structures contacts an upper surface of the one of the access trench fill structures (Fig. 76A, note that the dielectric bridge structure has an overhang portion that overlies an upward facing recessed portion of the access trench structure and has a bottom surface and that this overhang portion’s bottom surface contacts an upper surface of the access trench fill structure). In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). See MPEP 2144.04 IV B. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the configuration of Figs. 55A-70C of Kubo in view of the configuration as disclosed in Figs. 75A-76A absent evidence that such configuration is significant.
Continuing to claim 22, Kubo discloses wherein each of the dielectric bridge structures is located in a recess region in an upper portion of the one of the access trench fill structures (Fig. 67A).
Considering claim 23, Kubo discloses each of the dielectric bridge structures comprises a respective pair of planar vertical sidewalls that are adjoined to the respective pair of contoured sidewalls and are parallel to a second horizontal direction different from the first horizontal direction ([0427] and Figs. 75A-76B), and wherein each of the dielectric bridge structures comprises a respective horizontal bottom surface located at or above a horizontal plane including top surfaces of the alternating stacks (Fig. 67A).
Kubo does not disclose (in the embodiment as disclosed in Figs. 55A-70C) wherein each of the dielectric bridge structures comprises a respective top surface located within a horizontal plane including top surfaces of the contact-level dielectric layers. However Kubo discloses multiple embodiments (Fig. 36A) one of which has a configuration in which a dielectric bridge structure (176) is formed such that the dielectric bridge structures comprises a respective top surface located within a horizontal plane including top surfaces of the contact-level dielectric layers. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). See MPEP 2144.04 IV B. Therefore absent evidence that the claimed configuration is significant, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the dielectric bridge structure of the embodiment shown in Fig. 67A in view of the embodiment shown in Fig. 36A to arrive at the claimed configuration.
Referring to claim 24, Kubo discloses wherein each of the access trench fill structures comprises: a respective insulating spacer (74) in contact with a respective pair of the layer stacks (Fig. 67A and [0299], note that the feature 74 of the embodiment referred to in [0299] is the same feature denoted in the embodiment of Figs. 55A-70C), and in contact with a respective row of the dielectric bridge structures (Fig. 67B); and a respective access-trench contact via structure (76) that is laterally surrounded by the respective insulating spacer (Fig. 67B).
Regarding claim 27, Kubo discloses wherein: the memory openings are arranged in rows that laterally extend along the first horizontal direction; the plurality of dielectric bridge structures is embedded in the insulating spacer; and each respective upward-facing recessed surface that contacts the respective bottom surface of a respective dielectric bridge structure comprises a surface of the insulating spacer (Fig. 76A).
Pertaining to claim 28, Kubo discloses wherein each of the alternating stacks comprises a respective pair of lengthwise sidewalls in which a plurality of vertically-straight and laterally- concave surface segments are adjoined to each other along the first horizontal direction (Fig. 67B).
Claim(s) 6, 7, 10, 11, 25, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 20240196616 (Kubo et al) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20240057331 (Matsuno).
Continuing to claims 6 and 11, Kubo discloses forming the access trench.
Kubo does not disclose wherein each of the access trench fill structures comprises a respective pair of contoured lengthwise sidewalls that generally extend along the first horizontal direction and have lateral undulations along a second horizontal direction different from the first horizontal direction in a plan view that is perpendicular to top surfaces of the contact-level dielectric layers or wherein each of the access trenches laterally extends along the first horizontal direction with a width modulation along the second horizontal direction. However, Matsuno discloses a three dimensional memory device configuration in which an access trench fill structure (76 +74) (Figs. 37C, 37E and [0259]) extends along the first horizontal direction with a width modulation along the second horizontal direction and has a pair of contoured lengthwise sidewalls that generally extend along the first horizontal direction and have lateral undulations along the second horizontal direction in a plan view that is perpendicular to top surfaces of the contact-level dielectric layers (Figs 37C and 37E and [0259]). In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). See MPEP 2144.04 IV B. Therefore absent evidence that the claimed configuration is significant, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the configuration of the access trench fill structures in view of Matsuno (Fig. 37E) to arrive at the configuration in which the access trenches laterally extends along the first horizontal direction with a width modulation along the second horizontal direction and a pair of contoured lengthwise sidewalls that generally extend along the first horizontal direction and have lateral undulations along the second horizontal direction in a plan view that is perpendicular to top surfaces of the contact-level dielectric layers.
Considering claim 7, Kubo in view of Matsuno discloses wherein each of the contoured lengthwise sidewalls of the access trench fill structures comprises a respective plurality of vertically-straight and horizontally-convex dielectric surface segments that are adjoined to each other at vertically- extending edges and that contact each layer within a respective alternating stack (Matsuno Figs. 37C and 37E).
Regarding claim 10, Kubo discloses forming a contact via structure (76) as a part of the access trench fill structures.
Kubo does not disclose wherein the respective contact via structure comprises a respective pair of contoured lengthwise sidewalls that generally extend along the first horizontal direction and have lateral undulations along a second horizontal direction different from the first horizontal direction to top surfaces of the contact-level dielectric layers. However, Matsuno discloses a three dimensional memory device configuration in which an access trench fill structure (76 +74) (Figs. 37C, 37E and [0259]) has respective contact via structure (76) comprises a respective pair of contoured lengthwise sidewalls that generally extend along the first horizontal direction and have lateral undulations along the second horizontal direction in a plan view that is perpendicular to top surfaces of the contact-level dielectric layers (Figs. 37C, 37E and [0259]). In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). See MPEP 2144.04 IV B. Therefore absent evidence that the claimed configuration is significant, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the configuration of the access trench fill structures in view of Matsuno (Fig. 37E) to arrive at the configuration in which respective contact via structure comprises a respective pair of contoured lengthwise sidewalls that generally extend along the first horizontal direction and have lateral undulations along the second horizontal direction in a plan view that is perpendicular to top surfaces of the contact-level dielectric layers.
Referring to claim 25, Kubo discloses forming a contact via structure (76) as a part of the access trench fill structures.
Kubo does not disclose wherein the respective contact via structure comprises a respective pair of contoured lengthwise sidewalls that generally extend along the first horizontal direction and have lateral undulations along a second horizontal direction different from the first horizontal direction to top surfaces of the contact-level dielectric layers. However, Matsuno discloses a three dimensional memory device configuration in which an access trench fill structure (76 +74) (Figs. 37C, 37E and [0259]) has respective contact via structure (76) comprises a respective pair of contoured lengthwise sidewalls that generally extend along the first horizontal direction and have lateral undulations along the second horizontal direction in a plan view that is perpendicular to top surfaces of the contact-level dielectric layers (Figs. 37C, 37E and [0259]). In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). See MPEP 2144.04 IV B. Therefore absent evidence that the claimed configuration is significant, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the configuration of the access trench fill structures in view of Matsuno (Fig. 37E) to arrive at the configuration in which respective contact via structure comprises a respective pair of contoured lengthwise sidewalls that generally extend along the first horizontal direction and have lateral undulations along the second horizontal direction in a plan view that is perpendicular to top surfaces of the contact-level dielectric layers.
Pertaining to claim 26, Kubo discloses a respective insulating spacer (74) in contact with a respective pair of the layer stacks (Fig. 67A and [0299], note that the feature 74 of the embodiment referred to in [0299] is the same feature denoted in the embodiment of Figs. 55A-70C).
Kubo does not disclose wherein the insulating spacer comprises a respective pair of contoured lengthwise sidewalls, and wherein each of the contoured lengthwise sidewalls comprises a respective plurality of vertically-straight and horizontally-convex dielectric surface segments that are adjoined to each other at vertically-extending edges and contact each layer within a respective alternating stack. However, Matsuno discloses a three dimensional memory device configuration in which an access trench fill structure (76 +74) (Fig. 37E and [0259]) has respective contact via structure with an insulating spacer (74) that comprises a respective pair of contoured lengthwise sidewalls wherein each of the contoured lengthwise sidewalls comprises a respective plurality of vertically-straight and horizontally-convex dielectric surface segments that are adjoined to each other at vertically-extending edges and contact each layer within a respective alternating stack (Fig. 37E and [0259]). In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). See MPEP 2144.04 IV B. Therefore absent evidence that the claimed configuration is significant, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the configuration of the access trench fill structures in view of Matsuno (Fig. 37E) to arrive at the configuration in the insulating spacer comprises a respective pair of contoured lengthwise sidewalls, and wherein each of the contoured lengthwise sidewalls comprises a respective plurality of vertically-straight and horizontally-convex dielectric surface segments that are adjoined to each other at vertically-extending edges and contact each layer within a respective alternating stack.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same configuration interpretation applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VALERIE N NEWTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 10/03/26
/CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897