DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application and are subject to examination herein.
Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/08/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/11/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) filed on 10/19/2023 has/have been only given a cursory review. The IDS(s) contain well over one thousand references, with a significant number of the provided references not readily appearing to be relevant to Applicant’s disclosed invention or being only tangentially related.
Many of the references appear to be only tangentially related to Applicant’s disclosed invention and therefore are not relevant to patentability. Some examples of citations to inventions that are either unrelated or very tangentially related from the IDS filed on 10/19/2023 include the following:
Cite No.
US Pat No. or USPGPUB No.
Title
97
US 4,627,563
Device for Driving U-Shaped Anchors into the Ground
836
US 2003/0218046
Fastening Device, Fastening System and Related Methods
862
US 2006/0219838
Attachment Means for Hang Glider Simulator
882
US 2010/0063652
Garment for Use Near Autonomous Machines
265
US 8,079,433
Retractable Line Guidance for Self-Propelled Machines
266
US 8,091,905
Method and Apparatus for Reproducing Contents Based on Electronic Program Guide
893
US 2012/0012635
Stapler for Preventing Simultaneous Dispensing of Multiple Staples
904
US 2013/0031788
Brush Cutter
321
US 8,471,133
Quick-release Cymbal Felt Locating Device
341
US 8,660,879
Method for Processing a Linked List of Time Segments
911
US 2014/0197222
Cable Clip Gun
786
US 11,161,578
Biomimetic Robotic Manta Ray
747
US 11,052,535
Floor-to-Height Object Retrieval Robot
719
US 10,899,171
Low Impact Turf Wheel
736
US 11,013,655
Autonomous Hospital Bed
Due to the voluminous set of documents submitted, applicant is requested under 37 CFR 1.105 to provide an indication of which references are considered to be most highly pertinent to the claimed invention. Applicant is directed to the MPEP’s guidance on submission of documents in an Information Disclosure Statement.1 If Applicant wishes a reasonable number of specific references to be considered, Applicant should indicate these documents and indicate their relevance and/or relevant portions. This request for additional information, will aid the Examiner in providing compact prosecution for the Applicant in the present Application. "[A] mountain of largely irrelevant [material] from which he is presumed to have been able, with his expertise and with adequate time, to have found the critical [material]. It ignores the real world conditions under which Examiners work."2
Should Applicant wish to have some of these references considered, the Examiner appreciates the Applicant’s assistance in providing this detailed information.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 100 (Para. [0034]). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2017/0020064 to Doughty et al. (hereinafter Doughty) in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2016/0165795 to Balutis et al. (hereinafter Balutis).
Regarding claim 1, Doughty discloses a communication system comprising:
a robotic garden tool (robotic lawnmower 100) (Abstract; Figs. 1-5, 9A; Paras. [0051]-[0055], [0057]-[0063], [0067]-[0078]) including a first electronic processor (electronic processor/controller 415) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0068]-[0073]), a first memory (memory 420) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0071]-[0072], [0159]), and a first network interface (communications system 417) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0070], [0073]-[0074]);
a first external device (remote device 116, user device 500) (Abstract; Figs. 1, 5, 7A-7C, 9B, 9C, 10A-10C, 12A-12B, 14; Paras. [0054], [0057], [0070], [0073]-[0074], [0077]-[0079], [0085], [0096], [0101], [0103], [0108], [0110], [0114]-[0115], [0133], [0139]-[0141], [0149], [0152]), the first external device (remote device 116, user device 500) (Abstract; Figs. 1, 5, 7A-7C, 9B, 9C, 10A-10C, 12A-12B, 14; Paras. [0054], [0057], [0070], [0073]-[0074], [0077]-[0079], [0085], [0096], [0101], [0103], [0108], [0110], [0114]-[0115], [0133], [0139]-[0141], [0149], [0152]) including a display (Figs. 1, 5, 7A-7C, 9B, 9C, 10A-10C, 12A-12B, 14; Paras. [0133]), a second electronic processor (implied), a second memory (implied), and a second network interface (Para. [0070]), the second electronic processor (implied) configured to
receive a user input of a selected lawn pattern (Para. [0131]),
generate, on the display (Abstract; Figs. 7A-7C, 9B-9C, 10A-10C; Paras. [0003]-[0007], [0015], [0032], [0036]-[0038], [0057], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088], [0096], [0103]) of the first external device (remote device 116, user device 500) (Abstract; Figs. 1, 5, 7A-7C, 9B, 9C, 10A-10C, 12A-12B, 14; Paras. [0054], [0057], [0070], [0073]-[0074], [0077]-[0079], [0085], [0096], [0101], [0103], [0108], [0110], [0114]-[0115], [0133], [0139]-[0141], [0149], [0152]), a three-dimensional representation (Paras. [0057], [0086], [0096]) of a lawn surface based on the selected lawn pattern (Para. [0131]),
store, in the second memory (implied), lawn pattern information corresponding to the selected lawn pattern (Para. [0131]), and
transmit, via the second network interface (Para. [0070]), the lawn pattern information to a server device (server 505) (Abstract; Figs. 5, 11; Paras. [0074]-[0078], [0085], [0132]-[0141], [0144]) and to the robotic garden tool (robotic lawnmower 100) (Abstract; Figs. 1-5, 9A; Paras. [0051]-[0055], [0057]-[0063], [0067]-[0078]); and
the server device (server 505) (Abstract; Figs. 5, 11; Paras. [0074]-[0078], [0085], [0132]-[0141], [0144]), the server device (server 505) (Abstract; Figs. 5, 11; Paras. [0074]-[0078], [0085], [0132]-[0141], [0144]) including a third electronic processor (implied), a third memory (implied), and a third network interface (Paras. [0074]-[0077]), the third electronic processor (implied) configured to
receive, via the third network interface (Paras. [0074]-[0075]), the lawn pattern information from the first external device (remote device 116, user device 500) (Abstract; Figs. 1, 5, 7A-7C, 9B, 9C, 10A-10C, 12A-12B, 14; Paras. [0054], [0057], [0070], [0073]-[0074], [0077]-[0079], [0085], [0096], [0101], [0103], [0108], [0110], [0114]-[0115], [0133], [0139]-[0141], [0149], [0152]),
store, with the third memory (implied), the lawn pattern information (Para. [0131]),
transmit, with the third network interface (Paras. [0074]-[0077]), the lawn pattern information (Para. [0131]) to a second external device (Paras. [0073], [0078]);
wherein the first electronic processor (electronic processor/controller 415) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0068]-[0073]) of the robotic garden tool (robotic lawnmower 100) (Abstract; Figs. 1-5, 9A; Paras. [0051]-[0055], [0057]-[0063], [0067]-[0078]) is configured to
receive, via the first network interface (communications system 417) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0070], [0073]-[0074]), the lawn pattern information (Para. [0131]) from the first external device (remote device 116, user device 500) (Abstract; Figs. 1, 5, 7A-7C, 9B, 9C, 10A-10C, 12A-12B, 14; Paras. [0054], [0057], [0070], [0073]-[0074], [0077]-[0079], [0085], [0096], [0101], [0103], [0108], [0110], [0114]-[0115], [0133], [0139]-[0141], [0149], [0152]),
store the lawn pattern information in the first memory (memory 420) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0071]-[0072], [0159]), and
control an operation (Paras. [0007]-[0009], [0014]-[0015], [0018], [0025], [0042], [0054], [0068], [0070], [0072]-[0073], [0078], [0084], [0131], [0159]) of the robotic garden tool (robotic lawnmower 100) (Abstract; Figs. 1-5, 9A; Paras. [0051]-[0055], [0057]-[0063], [0067]-[0078]) on a real-world lawn based on the lawn pattern information (Para. [0131]) to generate the selected lawn pattern (Para. [0131]) on the real-world lawn.
However, while Doughty discloses the first external device to be capable of wireless communication using WiFi, Bluetooth or other wireless communication protocols (Para. [0070]) and that the server device capable of communicating with robotic lawnmower and/or user device 510, Doughty does not expressly disclose that the first external device comprises a second processor and second memory or that the server device comprises a third electronic processor and third memory. Nevertheless, Balutis teaches a first external device (feedback unit 502) (Fig. 1B; Para. [0020]) comprising a processor, memory and digital communication system (Para. [0020]) and that the server (mapping system 600) comprises one or more computers and a wireless router (Para. [0044]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the communication system disclosed in Doughty with the first external device and server device having processors and memory as taught in Balutis with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 10, Doughty discloses a method of controlling operation of a robotic garden tool (robotic lawnmower 100) (Abstract; Figs. 1-5, 9A; Paras. [0051]-[0055], [0057]-[0063], [0067]-[0078]), the method comprising:
receiving, with a first external device (remote device 116, user device 500) (Abstract; Figs. 1, 5, 7A-7C, 9B, 9C, 10A-10C, 12A-12B, 14; Paras. [0054], [0057], [0070], [0073]-[0074], [0077]-[0079], [0085], [0096], [0101], [0103], [0108], [0110], [0114]-[0115], [0133], [0139]-[0141], [0149], [0152]), a user input of a selected lawn pattern (Para. [0131]);
generating, on a display (Figs. 1, 5, 7A-7C, 9B, 9C, 10A-10C, 12A-12B, 14; Paras. [0133]) of the first external device (remote device 116, user device 500) (Abstract; Figs. 1, 5, 7A-7C, 9B, 9C, 10A-10C, 12A-12B, 14; Paras. [0054], [0057], [0070], [0073]-[0074], [0077]-[0079], [0085], [0096], [0101], [0103], [0108], [0110], [0114]-[0115], [0133], [0139]-[0141], [0149], [0152]) and with a second electronic processor (implied) of the first external device (remote device 116, user device 500) (Abstract; Figs. 1, 5, 7A-7C, 9B, 9C, 10A-10C, 12A-12B, 14; Paras. [0054], [0057], [0070], [0073]-[0074], [0077]-[0079], [0085], [0096], [0101], [0103], [0108], [0110], [0114]-[0115], [0133], [0139]-[0141], [0149], [0152]), a three-dimensional representation of a lawn surface based on the selected lawn pattern (Para. [0131]), storing, in a second memory (implied) of the first external device (remote device 116, user device 500) (Abstract; Figs. 1, 5, 7A-7C, 9B, 9C, 10A-10C, 12A-12B, 14; Paras. [0054], [0057], [0070], [0073]-[0074], [0077]-[0079], [0085], [0096], [0101], [0103], [0108], [0110], [0114]-[0115], [0133], [0139]-[0141], [0149], [0152]), lawn pattern information corresponding to the selected lawn pattern (Para. [0131]);
transmitting, via a second network (Para. [0070]) of the first external device (remote device 116, user device 500) (Abstract; Figs. 1, 5, 7A-7C, 9B, 9C, 10A-10C, 12A-12B, 14; Paras. [0054], [0057], [0070], [0073]-[0074], [0077]-[0079], [0085], [0096], [0101], [0103], [0108], [0110], [0114]-[0115], [0133], [0139]-[0141], [0149], [0152]), the lawn pattern information to a server device (server 505) (Abstract; Figs. 5, 11; Paras. [0074]-[0078], [0085], [0132]-[0141], [0144]) and to the robotic garden tool (robotic lawnmower 100) (Abstract; Figs. 1-5, 9A; Paras. [0051]-[0055], [0057]-[0063], [0067]-[0078]);
receiving, via a third network interface (Paras. [0074]-[0075]) of the server device (server 505) (Abstract; Figs. 5, 11; Paras. [0074]-[0078], [0085], [0132]-[0141], [0144]), the lawn pattern information;
storing, in a third memory (implied) of the server device (server 505) (Abstract; Figs. 5, 11; Paras. [0074]-[0078], [0085], [0132]-[0141], [0144]), the lawn pattern information;
transmitting, via the third network interface (Paras. [0074]-[0075]) of the server device (server 505) (Abstract; Figs. 5, 11; Paras. [0074]-[0078], [0085], [0132]-[0141], [0144]), the lawn pattern information to a second external device (another remote device 116, user device 500) (Abstract; Figs. 1, 5, 7A-7C, 9B, 9C, 10A-10C, 12A-12B, 14; Paras. [0054], [0057], [0070], [0073]-[0074], [0077]-[0079], [0085], [0096], [0101], [0103], [0108], [0110], [0114]-[0115], [0133], [0139]-[0141], [0149], [0152]) (Paras. [0073], [0078] indicate that multiple external devices are envisioned);
receiving, via a first network interface (communications system 417) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0070], [0073]-[0074]) of the robotic garden tool (robotic lawnmower 100) (Abstract; Figs. 1-5, 9A; Paras. [0051]-[0055], [0057]-[0063], [0067]-[0078]), the lawn pattern information;
storing the lawn pattern information in a first memory (memory 420) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0071]-[0072], [0159]) of the robotic garden tool (robotic lawnmower 100) (Abstract; Figs. 1-5, 9A; Paras. [0051]-[0055], [0057]-[0063], [0067]-[0078]); and
controlling, by a first electronic processor (electronic processor/controller 415) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0068]-[0073]) of the robotic garden tool (robotic lawnmower 100) (Abstract; Figs. 1-5, 9A; Paras. [0051]-[0055], [0057]-[0063], [0067]-[0078]), an operation (Paras. [0007]-[0009], [0014]-[0015], [0018], [0025], [0042], [0054], [0068], [0070], [0072]-[0073], [0078], [0084], [0131], [0159]) of the robotic garden tool (robotic lawnmower 100) (Abstract; Figs. 1-5, 9A; Paras. [0051]-[0055], [0057]-[0063], [0067]-[0078]) on a real-world lawn based on the lawn pattern information to generate the selected lawn pattern (Para. [0131]) on the real-world lawn.
However, while Doughty discloses the first external device to be capable of wireless communication using WiFi, Bluetooth or other wireless communication protocols (Para. [0070]) and that the server device capable of communicating with robotic lawnmower and/or user device 510, Doughty does not expressly disclose that the first external device comprises a second processor and second memory or that the server device comprises a third electronic processor and third memory. Nevertheless, Balutis teaches a first external device (feedback unit 502) (Fig. 1B; Para. [0020]) comprising a processor, memory and digital communication system (Para. [0020]) and that the server (mapping system 600) comprises one or more computers and a wireless router (Para. [0044]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the communication system disclosed in Doughty with the first external device and server device having processors and memory as taught in Balutis with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Doughty in view of Balutis teaches the communication system of claim 1 and the method of claim 10, respectively (see above). Furthermore, Doughty discloses a communication system wherein the server device (server 505) (Abstract; Figs. 5, 11; Paras. [0074]-[0078], [0085], [0132]-[0141], [0144]) transmits, via the third network interface (Paras. [0074]-[0077]), the lawn pattern information (Para. [0131]) to the robotic garden tool (robotic lawnmower 100) (Abstract; Figs. 1-5, 9A; Paras. [0051]-[0055], [0057]-[0063], [0067]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 3 and 12, Doughty in view of Balutis teaches the communication system of claim 1 and the method of claim 10, respectively (see above). Furthermore, Doughty discloses a communication system wherein the operation of the robotic garden tool includes at least one of a cutting blade height (Para. [0069]), a cutting blade speed, a cutting blade sheer angle, a traverse speed (Para. [0115]), a travel distance (Para. [0131]), a travel path (Para. [0131]), and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 4 and 13, Doughty in view of Balutis teaches the communication system of claim 1 and the method of claim 10, respectively (see above). Furthermore, Doughty discloses a communication system wherein the user input at least one of: selects the selected lawn pattern from a plurality of predetermined lawn patterns (Para. [0131]); and generates the selected lawn pattern, wherein the selected lawn pattern includes a user-customized lawn pattern (Para. [0131]).
Regarding claim 5 and 14, Doughty in view of Balutis teaches the communication system of claim 1 and the method of claim 10, respectively (see above). Furthermore, Doughty discloses a communication system wherein the lawn pattern information corresponding to the selected lawn pattern includes a predetermined travel path (Para. [0131]) of the robotic garden tool (robotic lawnmower 100) (Abstract; Figs. 1-5, 9A; Paras. [0051]-[0055], [0057]-[0063], [0067]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 6 and 15, the combination of Doughty in view of Balutis teaches the communication system of claim 5 and the method of claim 14, respectively (see above). Furthermore, Balutis teaches a communication system wherein the predetermined travel path of the robotic garden tool includes at least one of repeated horizontal lines (Fig. 4G), repeated vertical lines (Fig. 4G), repeated diagonal lines, and circular movement with a gradually increasing radius.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, the combination of Doughty in view of Balutis teaches the communication system of claim 5 and the method of claim 14, respectively (see above). Furthermore, Doughty discloses a communication system and method wherein the lawn pattern information indicates that the operation of the robotic garden tool (robotic lawnmower 100) (Abstract; Figs. 1-5, 9A; Paras. [0051]-[0055], [0057]-[0063], [0067]-[0078]) should change at one or more points along the predetermined travel path (see Annotated Figs. 1, 9A infra).
[AltContent: textbox (One or more points along the predetermined travel path where operation (direction of travel) should change)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Figs. 1 and 9A of Doughty.
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Doughty in view of Balutis teaches the communication system of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Doughty discloses a communication system,
wherein the first external device (remote device 116, user device 500) (Abstract; Figs. 1, 5, 7A-7C, 9B, 9C, 10A-10C, 12A-12B, 14; Paras. [0054], [0057], [0070], [0073]-[0074], [0077]-[0079], [0085], [0096], [0101], [0103], [0108], [0110], [0114]-[0115], [0133], [0139]-[0141], [0149], [0152]) is associated with and operated by a first user, and the second external device (another remote device 116, user device 500) (Abstract; Figs. 1, 5, 7A-7C, 9B, 9C, 10A-10C, 12A-12B, 14; Paras. [0054], [0057], [0070], [0073]-[0074], [0077]-[0079], [0085], [0096], [0101], [0103], [0108], [0110], [0114]-[0115], [0133], [0139]-[0141], [0149], [0152]) (Paras. [0073], [0078] indicate that multiple external devices are envisioned) is associated with and operated by a second user different than the first user (Paras. [0073], [0078]); and
wherein the second external device (another remote device 116, user device 500) (Abstract; Figs. 1, 5, 7A-7C, 9B, 9C, 10A-10C, 12A-12B, 14; Paras. [0054], [0057], [0070], [0073]-[0074], [0077]-[0079], [0085], [0096], [0101], [0103], [0108], [0110], [0114]-[0115], [0133], [0139]-[0141], [0149], [0152]) is configured to display, on a second display (Figs. 1, 5, 7A-7C, 9B, 9C, 10A-10C, 12A-12B, 14; Paras. [0133]) of the second external device (another remote device 116, user device 500) (Abstract; Figs. 1, 5, 7A-7C, 9B, 9C, 10A-10C, 12A-12B, 14; Paras. [0054], [0057], [0070], [0073]-[0074], [0077]-[0079], [0085], [0096], [0101], [0103], [0108], [0110], [0114]-[0115], [0133], [0139]-[0141], [0149], [0152]) and based on the lawn pattern information (Para. [0131]), the three-dimensional representation of the lawn surface corresponding to the selected lawn pattern selected on the first external device (remote device 116, user device 500) (Abstract; Figs. 1, 5, 7A-7C, 9B, 9C, 10A-10C, 12A-12B, 14; Paras. [0054], [0057], [0070], [0073]-[0074], [0077]-[0079], [0085], [0096], [0101], [0103], [0108], [0110], [0114]-[0115], [0133], [0139]-[0141], [0149], [0152]) by the first user.
Regarding claim 19, Doughty discloses a communication system comprising:
a robotic garden tool (robotic lawnmower 100) (Abstract; Figs. 1-5, 9A; Paras. [0051]-[0055], [0057]-[0063], [0067]-[0078]) including a first electronic processor(electronic processor/controller 415) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0068]-[0073]), a first memory (memory 420) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0071]-[0072], [0159]), and a first network interface (communications system 417) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0070], [0073]-[0074]); and
a first external device (remote device 116, user device 500) (Abstract; Figs. 1, 5, 7A-7C, 9B, 9C, 10A-10C, 12A-12B, 14; Paras. [0054], [0057], [0070], [0073]-[0074], [0077]-[0079], [0085], [0096], [0101], [0103], [0108], [0110], [0114]-[0115], [0133], [0139]-[0141], [0149], [0152]), the first external device (remote device 116, user device 500) (Abstract; Figs. 1, 5, 7A-7C, 9B, 9C, 10A-10C, 12A-12B, 14; Paras. [0054], [0057], [0070], [0073]-[0074], [0077]-[0079], [0085], [0096], [0101], [0103], [0108], [0110], [0114]-[0115], [0133], [0139]-[0141], [0149], [0152]) including a display (Figs. 1, 5, 7A-7C, 9B, 9C, 10A-10C, 12A-12B, 14; Paras. [0133]), a second electronic processor (implied), a second memory (implied), and a second network interface (Para. [0070]), the second electronic processor (implied) configured to
receive a user input of a selected lawn pattern (Para. [0131]),
generate, on the display (Abstract; Figs. 7A-7C, 9B-9C, 10A-10C; Paras. [0003]-[0007], [0015], [0032], [0036]-[0038], [0057], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088], [0096], [0103]) of the first external device (remote device 116, user device 500) (Abstract; Figs. 1, 5, 7A-7C, 9B, 9C, 10A-10C, 12A-12B, 14; Paras. [0054], [0057], [0070], [0073]-[0074], [0077]-[0079], [0085], [0096], [0101], [0103], [0108], [0110], [0114]-[0115], [0133], [0139]-[0141], [0149], [0152]), a three-dimensional representation (Paras. [0057], [0086], [0096]) of a lawn surface based on the selected lawn pattern (Para. [0131]),
store, in the second memory (implied), lawn pattern information corresponding to the selected lawn pattern (Para. [0131]), and
transmit, via the second network interface (Para. [0070]), the lawn pattern information to a server device (server 505) (Abstract; Figs. 5, 11; Paras. [0074]-[0078], [0085], [0132]-[0141], [0144]) and to the robotic garden tool (robotic lawnmower 100) (Abstract; Figs. 1-5, 9A; Paras. [0051]-[0055], [0057]-[0063], [0067]-[0078]);
wherein the first electronic processor (electronic processor/controller 415) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0068]-[0073]) of the robotic garden tool (robotic lawnmower 100) (Abstract; Figs. 1-5, 9A; Paras. [0051]-[0055], [0057]-[0063], [0067]-[0078]) is configured to
receive, via the first network interface (communications system 417) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0070], [0073]-[0074]), the lawn pattern information (Para. [0131]) from the first external device (remote device 116, user device 500) (Abstract; Figs. 1, 5, 7A-7C, 9B, 9C, 10A-10C, 12A-12B, 14; Paras. [0054], [0057], [0070], [0073]-[0074], [0077]-[0079], [0085], [0096], [0101], [0103], [0108], [0110], [0114]-[0115], [0133], [0139]-[0141], [0149], [0152]),
store the lawn pattern information in the first memory (memory 420) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0071]-[0072], [0159]), and
control an operation (Paras. [0007]-[0009], [0014]-[0015], [0018], [0025], [0042], [0054], [0068], [0070], [0072]-[0073], [0078], [0084], [0131], [0159]) of the robotic garden tool (robotic lawnmower 100) (Abstract; Figs. 1-5, 9A; Paras. [0051]-[0055], [0057]-[0063], [0067]-[0078]) on a real-world lawn based on the lawn pattern information (Para. [0131]) to generate the selected lawn pattern (Para. [0131]) on the real-world lawn.
However, while Doughty discloses the first external device to be capable of wireless communication using WiFi, Bluetooth or other wireless communication protocols (Para. [0070]), Doughty does not expressly disclose that the first external device comprises a second processor and second memory. Nevertheless, Balutis teaches a first external device (feedback unit 502) (Fig. 1B; Para. [0020]) comprising a processor, memory and digital communication system (Para. [0020]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the communication system disclosed in Doughty with the first external device and server device having processors and memory as taught in Balutis with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 20, Doughty in view of Balutis teaches the communication system of claim 19 (see above). Furthermore, the combination of Doughty in view of Balutis teaches a communication system, further comprising
a server device (server 505) (Abstract; Figs. 5, 11; Paras. [0074]-[0078], [0085], [0132]-[0141], [0144]) including a third electronic processor (implied), a third memory (implied), and a third network interface (Paras. [0074]-[0077]), the third electronic processor (implied);
wherein the second electronic processor of the first external device (remote device 116, user device 500) (Abstract; Figs. 1, 5, 7A-7C, 9B, 9C, 10A-10C, 12A-12B, 14; Paras. [0054], [0057], [0070], [0073]-[0074], [0077]-[0079], [0085], [0096], [0101], [0103], [0108], [0110], [0114]-[0115], [0133], [0139]-[0141], [0149], [0152]) is configured to
transmit, via the second network interface (Para. [0070]), the lawn pattern information to the server device (server 505) (Abstract; Figs. 5, 11; Paras. [0074]-[0078], [0085], [0132]-[0141], [0144]); and
wherein the third electronic processor of the server device (server 505) (Abstract; Figs. 5, 11; Paras. [0074]-[0078], [0085], [0132]-[0141], [0144]) is configured to transmit, via the third network interface (Paras. [0074]-[0077]), the lawn pattern information to a second external device for display of the three-dimensional representation of the lawn surface including the selected lawn pattern (Para. [0131]) based on the lawn pattern information.
However, while Doughty discloses the first external device to be capable of wireless communication using WiFi, Bluetooth or other wireless communication protocols (Para. [0070]) and that the server device capable of communicating with robotic lawnmower and/or user device 510, Doughty does not expressly disclose that the first external device comprises a second processor and second memory or that the server device comprises a third electronic processor and third memory. Nevertheless, Balutis teaches a first external device (feedback unit 502) (Fig. 1B; Para. [0020]) comprising a processor, memory and digital communication system (Para. [0020]) and that the server (mapping system 600) comprises one or more computers and a wireless router (Para. [0044]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the communication system disclosed in Doughty with the first external device and server device having processors and memory as taught in Balutis with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doughty in view of Balutis as applied to claims 5 and 10 above, respectively, and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 11,630,462 to Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, the combination of Doughty in view of Balutis teaches the communication system of claim 5 and the method of claim 14, respectively (see above). However, neither Doughty nor Balutis discloses or otherwise teaches that the predetermined travel path of the robotic garden tool includes at least one of repeated diagonal lines. Nevertheless, Lee teaches a robotic lawnmower wherein the predetermined travel path of the robotic garden tool includes at least one of repeated diagonal lines (Figs. 11A-11B, 12A-12C; Col. 19, lines 17-60). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the communication system taught by Doughty in view of Balutis with the predetermined travel path including repeated diagonal lines as taught in Lee with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doughty in view of Balutis as applied to claims 5 and 14 above, and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 11,175,670 to Artes et al. (hereinafter Artes).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, the combination of Doughty in view of Balutis teaches the communication system of claim 5 and the method of claim 14, respectively (see above). However, neither Doughty nor Balutis discloses or otherwise teaches that the predetermined travel path of the robotic garden tool includes at least one of circular movement with a gradually increasing radius. Nevertheless, Artes teaches a robotic lawnmower wherein the predetermined travel path of the robotic garden tool includes at least one of circular movement with a gradually increasing radius (Fig. 1B; Col. 3, line 65 to col. 4, line 21). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the communication system taught by Doughty in view of Balutis with the predetermined travel path including circular movement with a gradually increasing radius as taught in Artes with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doughty in view of Balutis as applied to claims 5 and 10 above, respectively, and further in view of Int’l. Pat. Pub. No. WO 2021/221825 A1 to Huang et al. (hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, the combination of Doughty in view of Balutis teaches the communication system of claim 8 and the method of claim 17, respectively (see above). However, neither Doughty nor Balutis discloses or otherwise teaches that the three-dimensional representation of the lawn surface displayed on the second display of the second external device is displayed in a virtual reality environment. Nevertheless, Huang teaches a method for monitoring autonomous robotic lawnmowers using an external device displaying in a virtual reality environment (P. 18, line 18 to p. 19, line 6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the communication system and method taught by Doughty in view of Balutis with the use of the virtual reality environment taught in Huang, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Pat. No. 11,064,652 to Matt et al.; 11,457,559 to Haneda et al.; 10,159,180 to Balutis et al.; 10,942,510 to Ko et al.; 11,480,973 to Ackerman et al.; and 7,953,526 to Durkos et al. relate to robotic lawnmowers using an external device (smartphone) to develop the travel path. U.S. Pat. Nos. 5,204,814 to Noonan et al.; 8,396,597 to Anderson; and U.S. Pat. Pub. Nos. 2017/0357006 to Ohrlund et al.; 2019/0346848 to Zhou et al.; and 2021/0286368 to Jung et al. relate to navigation paths of robotic lawnmowers. U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0116469 to Kim et al. relates to a robot cleaner system that utilizes augmented reality with an external device to control a robotic cleaner.
/CLAUDE J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671
1 See MPEP 2004 (13): It is desirable to avoid the submission of long lists of documents if it can be avoided. Eliminate clearly irrelevant and marginally pertinent cumulative information. If a long list is submitted, highlight those documents which have been specifically brought to applicant’s attention and/or are known to be of most significance. See Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F. Supp. 948, 175 USPQ 260 (S.D. Fla. 1972), aff’d, 479 F.2d 1338, 178 USPQ 577 (5th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 874 (1974). But cf. Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 48 F.3d 1172, 33 USPQ2d 1823 (Fed. Cir. 1995).
2 See Rohm & Haas Co. v. Crystal Chemical Co., 722 F.2d 1556, 1573 [ 220 USPQ 289 ] (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert,
denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984).