Response to Amendment
Claims 9 and 13 have been canceled while claims 21 and 22 have been added. Therefore, claims 1-8, 10-12, 14-22 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8, 10-12, 14-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 17, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalisi (Pub 20170085843) in view of Singh (Pub 20240185610).
Regarding claim 1, Scalisi (Pub 20170085843) discloses a device for real-time surveillance, the device (doorbell system 202 fig 1/202 fig 3/ 202 fig 29) comprising:
a camera, (camera assembly 208 fig 1);
a high-frequency antenna configured to receive and transmit data over a wireless local area network, (see 552/552a first High-energy transceiver/first High-Energy WiFi transceiver respectively fig 29);
and a low-frequency radio transceiver configured to receive and transmit data, (see 550/550a first Low energy transceiver/first Bluetooth Low energy transceiver respectively fig 29).
However, wherein the device employs the high-frequency antenna until a connection with the high- frequency antenna is lost and then the device employs the low-frequency radio transceiver to receive and transmit the data is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Singh discloses wherein the device employs the high-frequency antenna until a connection with the high- frequency antenna is lost and then the device employs the low-frequency radio transceiver to receive and transmit the data, (Para. [0034] see two radios operating at different frequencies. When disruption occurs in the primary radio, the second radio to be operable). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Scalisi by Singh for the benefit of allowing signal communication even when interruption occurs.
Regarding claim 2, Scalisi discloses wherein the device is a doorbell further comprising a doorbell actuator, and wherein the device is in electronic communication with a doorbell speaker, (see doorbell fig 1, comprising doorbell actuator 212 fig 1 and a speaker 488 fig 29).
Regarding claim 3, Scalisi discloses a battery, (battery 642 fig 29) ; and a means for establishing a wired connection with a power supply, (see electrical wires 304 and power supply 312 fig 3).
Regarding claim 5, Scalisi discloses wherein the high-frequency antenna comprises a Wi-Fi® antenna, (Para. [0058]).
Regarding claim 17, Scalisi discloses a system comprising:
a surveillance system server in communication with a network, (see remote server 206 fig 1) ;
a doorbell security sensor in communication with the surveillance system server, wherein the doorbell security sensor comprises, (see security system 202 in a managed connection with remote server 206 Para. [0064]:
a camera, (camera assembly 208 fig 1);
a high-frequency antenna configured to receive and transmit data over a wireless local area network, (see 552/552a first High-energy transceiver/first High-Energy WiFi transceiver respectively fig 29);
a low-frequency radio transceiver configured to receive and transmit data, (see 550/550a first Low energy transceiver/first Bluetooth Low energy transceiver respectively fig 29);
and a chime in communication with the doorbell security sensor, (see chime 302 fig 31).
However, wherein the device employs the high-frequency antenna until a connection with the high- frequency antenna is lost and then the device employs the low-frequency radio transceiver to receive and transmit the data is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Sing discloses wherein the device employs the high-frequency antenna until a connection with the high- frequency antenna is lost and then the device employs the low-frequency radio transceiver to receive and transmit the data, (Para. [0034]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Scalisi by Singh for the benefit of allowing signal communication even when interruption occurs.
Regarding claims 21, Scalisi discloses wherein the high-frequency antenna and the low-frequency transceiver provide a dual connection between the doorbell security sensor and the chime wherein the doorbell security sensor is in direct communication with the chime via the dual connection, (see communication is enabled directly between chime and doorbell via second low-energy transceiver and second high-energy transceiver Para. [0022][0256]).
Regarding claims 22, Scalisi discloses wherein the high-frequency antenna and the low-frequency transceiver provide a dual connection between the doorbell security sensor and the chime wherein the doorbell security sensor is in indirect communication with the chime via the dual connection, (see communication is enabled indirectly between chime 302 fig 45 and doorbell 202 fig 45 via wireless network 308 fig 45. Also see dual connection through low and high energy transceivers Para. [0022][0256]).
Claim(s) 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalisi in view of Singh in view of Deng (20220377667).
Regarding claim 6, the combination discloses claim 1. However, wherein the high-frequency antenna is configured to receive and transmit the data over one or more of a 2.4 GHz waveband or a 5 GHz waveband is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Deng discloses wherein the high-frequency antenna is configured to receive and transmit the data over one or more of a 2.4 GHz waveband or a 5 GHz waveband, (Para. [0042]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Deng for the benefit of allowing data transmission wirelessly over high frequency bands.
Regarding claim 7, the combination discloses claim 1. However, wherein the low-frequency radio transceiver is configured to receive and transmit data over a 433 MHz waveband is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Deng discloses wherein the low-frequency radio transceiver is configured to receive and transmit data over a 433 MHz waveband, (Para. [0079]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Deng for the benefit of allowing different transmission mediums to operate when an interruption to one transmission medium occurs.
Regarding claim 8, the combination discloses claim 1. However, an infrared motion detection sensor is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Deng discloses further comprising an infrared motion detection sensor, (Para. [0170]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by incorporating Deng for the benefit of allowing motion to be detected so that image recording may be automatically triggered.
Claim(s) 4, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalisi in view of Singh in view of Kasmir (Pub 20160300476).
Regarding claim 4, the combination discloses claim 1, however, wherein the battery is rechargeable battery, a battery receptable, and wherein the battery is replaceable are not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kasmir discloses a rechargeable battery, (battery 462 is
rechargeable, see Para. [0218]) and wherein the device further comprises a battery receptacle configured to receive the battery and establish an electronic interface with the battery, (note battery 604 may reside in battery pack 600 construed as receptable Para. [0246]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Kasmir for the benefit of allowing uninterrupted power supply to a monitoring device.
However, wherein the battery is replaceable by sliding the battery out of the battery receptacle is not explicitly disclosed. Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that a removeable battery such as battery 604 of Kasmir may be devised so that it mechanically slide out of a receptacle. One of ordinary skill in the art would include such feature so that the functionality of the monitoring device is improved by conserving space. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination to achieve such benefit.
Regarding claim 14, the combination discloses claim 1; however, a doorbell actuator; and a processor; wherein the processor instructs the camera to capture a series of image frames in response to a user activating the doorbell actuator are not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kasmir discloses a doorbell actuator; and a processor; wherein the processor instructs the camera to capture a series of image frames in response to a user activating the doorbell actuator, (Para. [0127] see displaying video in response to user action). One of ordinary skill in the art would include the actuator and image capturing based on actuator signaling of Kasmir into the combination. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate such features so that the monitoring device may operate in different modes thereby improving the functionality of the monitoring device.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalisi in view of Singh in view of Nixon (U.S. 115232685).
Regarding claim 18, the combination discloses claim 1. However, an infrared motion detection sensor and a processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute instructions comprising: receiving an output signal from the infrared motion detection sensor, wherein the output signal indicates a change in infrared energy due to motion; and instructing the camera to capture a series of image frames in response to the change in infrared energy due to the motion are not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Nixon discloses an infrared motion detection sensor and a processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute instructions comprising: receiving an output signal from the infrared motion detection sensor, wherein the output signal indicates a change in infrared energy due to motion; and instructing the camera to capture a series of image frames in response to the change in infrared energy due to the motion, (note change in voltages based on motion detection using IR sensor col. 33 lines 8-47. A camera may be activated due to detected motion, col. 47 lines 38-64). One of ordinary skill in the art would incorporate a motion detection sensor to operate with the monitoring device of the combination. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by including a motion sensor so that events may be detected before camera activation thereby conserving power and improving the functionality of the monitor system.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalisi in view of Singh in view of Deng in view of Wong (20220223017) in view of Adato (Pub 20190215424).
Regarding claims 10, Scalisi discloses causing the series of image frames captured by the camera to be transmitted to a server by way of the high-frequency antenna and the wireless local area network, (see doorbell 212 fig 4 connected to server 332 via WiFi 328. Also, see 552/552a first High-energy transceiver/first High-Energy WiFi transceiver respectively fig 29).
However, receiving instructions indicating whether the camera should continue to capture new image frames based on content of the series of image frames is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wong discloses receiving instructions indicating whether the camera should continue to capture new image frames based on content of the series of image frames, (Para. [0018]). One of ordinary skill in the art would include instructing a camera to continue to capture new image frames so that an object/person being recorded may be identified. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by incorporating the continues image capturing to achieve noted benefit thereby improving the functionality of the monitoring device.
The combination does not disclose receiving instructions from a server.
In a similar field of endeavor, Adato discloses receiving instructions from the server, (Para. [0149 see server 135 may instruct capturing device 125G to capture specific area of interest). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a server-camera control mechanism. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by allowing a server to control a capturing device thereby allowing the capturing device to conserve processing resources thereby improving the functionality of the monitoring device.
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalisi in view of Singh in view of Nixon in view of Wong in view of Adato.
Regarding claims 19, Scalisi discloses causing the series of image frames captured by the camera to be transmitted to a server by way of the high-frequency antenna and the wireless local area network, (see doorbell 212 fig 4 connected to server 332 via WiFi 328. Also, see 552/552a first High-energy transceiver/first High-Energy WiFi transceiver respectively fig 29).
However, receiving instructions indicating whether the camera should continue to capture new image frames based on content of the series of image frames is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wong discloses receiving instructions indicating whether the camera should continue to capture new image frames based on content of the series of image frames, (Para. [0018]). One of ordinary skill in the art would include instructing a camera to continue to capture new image frames so that an object/person being recorded may be identified. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by incorporating the continues image capturing to achieve noted benefit thereby improving the functionality of the monitoring device.
The combination does not disclose receiving instructions from a server.
In a similar field of endeavor, Adato discloses receiving instructions from the server, (Para. [0149 see server 135 may instruct capturing device 125G to capture specific area of interest). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a server-camera control mechanism. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by allowing a server to control a capturing device thereby allowing the capturing device to conserve processing resources thereby improving the functionality of the monitoring device.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalisi in view of Singh in view of Deng in view of Wong in view of Adato in view of Siminoff (U.S. 11217076).
Regarding claim 11, the combination discloses claim 10. However, detecting a person
near the camera is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Siminoff discloses wherein the server assesses the series of image frames to determine whether the series of image frames detect a person near the camera, (fig 6A 606-608 and col. 45 lines30-47). One of ordinary skill in the art would include detecting a person near a camera so that an object/person being recorded may be identified. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by incorporating the image capturing to achieve noted benefit thereby improving the functionality of the monitoring device.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalisi in view of Singh in view of Deng in view of Wong in view of Adato in view of Yamamoto (Pub 20230102926).
Regarding claim 12, the combination discloses claim 10. However, receiving instructions
from the server to actuate a doorbell based on a content of the series of images; and providing a signal to a doorbell speaker to cause the doorbell speaker to emit a sound is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Yamamoto discloses receiving instructions from the server
to actuate a doorbell based on a content of the series of images; and providing a signal to a doorbell speaker to cause the doorbell speaker to emit a sound, (Par. [0059] for emitting sound through speaker and Para. [0089] for activating camera). One of ordinary skill in the art would include actuating a doorbell and emitting a sound so that an object/person being recorded may be identified. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by incorporating such features to achieve noted benefit thereby improving the functionality of the monitoring device.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalisi in view of Singh in view of Modestine (U.S. 11393108).
Regarding claims 15, the combination discloses claim 1. However, a Wi-Fi® repeater is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Modestine discloses a Wi-Fi® repeater, wherein the Wi-Fi®
repeater extends a range of the wireless local area network by receiving a signal from the wireless local area network and rebroadcasting the signal to a region surrounding the device, (col. 23 lines 30-41). One of ordinary skill the art would include a repeater to extend a wireless network range so that multimedia/video may be shared with a user at different locations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by incorporating a repeater so that the functionality of the monitoring device is improved.
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalisi in view of Singh in view of Fu (U.S. 10117309).
Regarding claim 16, the combination discloses claim 1. However, a processor, wherein the processor communicates with a user device by way of the low-frequency radio transceiver to receive login details for accessing the wireless local area network is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Fu discloses wherein the processor communicates with a
user device by way of the low-frequency radio transceiver to receive login details for accessing the wireless local area network, (col. 7 lines 38-56 the camera 100 may integrate various communication channels; also, see transceiver for communicating with different devices, such as keypad, over low frequency spectrum). One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the combination by incorporating the low frequency radio to receiving login details to conserve communication bandwidth. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination so that the functionality of the monitoring device is improved.
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalisi in view of Singh in view of Kasmir in view of Modestine.
Regarding claim 20, the combination discloses claim 17. However, a battery charger and a speaker, wherein the chime emits a sound from the speaker in response to receiving instructions from the doorbell security sensor are not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kasmir discloses a battery charger, (Para. [0034]); and a speaker, wherein the chime emits a sound from the speaker in response to receiving instructions from the doorbell security sensor, (Para. [0032]). One of ordinary skill in the art would include a battery charger and a speaker into the combination so that the monitoring device may have a backup power plan as well as allowing a user to be notified using a speaker. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by incorporating those features of Kasmir for the benefit of improving the functionality of the monitoring device.
The combination does not disclose a Wi-Fi® signal repeater that rebroadcasts a signal for the wireless local area network.
In a similar field of endeavor, Modestine discloses a Wi-Fi® signal repeater that rebroadcasts a signal for the wireless local area network; (col. 23 lines 30). One of ordinary skill the art would include a repeater to extend a wireless network range so that multimedia/video may be shared with a user at different locations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by incorporating a repeater so that the functionality of the monitoring device is improved.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HUMAM M. SATTI
Examiner
Art Unit 2422
/JOHN W MILLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2422