DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 4-8 and 10-22 are presented for examination. This office action is response to the RCE filed 5/4/2026. Claim 9 is cancelled. Claims 7 and 11 are amended. Claim 22 is new.
Response to Arguments
With respect to 35 U.S.C. §102 Rejections:
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9 of applicant response filed 3/27/2026, with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Yang et al. (US20220376547 Al) does not disclose a user assigned state defining backup power behavior of outputs and that Yang instead discloses a power management algorithm to determine whether power should be supplied to non-critical ports, which is different than the claimed invention. Applicant additionally argues the claim requires configuration at the individual output level, which is different from the grouping of outputs as critical vs non-critical.
Examiner disagrees. Yang’s teaching of a system setting inputted by the user defines whether each port is critical or non-critical according to the system setting as described in Yang [0018-0019]. Yang’s teaching of the user providing a system setting which defines non-critical ports which don’t provide power during a failure of the AC mains and critical ports which do provide power during a failure of the AC mains covers this limitation. It is moot that the example system setting provided in Yang [0021] teaches that non-critical output ports of Yang use logic which may include other scenarios where the non-critical outputs don’t provide power because the system setting may provide just one condition for non-critical output ports. Yang teaches that the system setting sets at least one condition for all non-critical output ports e.g. the user may set just one condition, the condition being that non-critical output ports are not provided power when the AC mains fail as described in Yang [0020].
With respect to 35 U.S.C. §103 Rejections:
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-10 of applicant response filed 3/27/2026, with respect to claim 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10 of applicant response filed 3/27/2026, with respect to claim 12 rely solely on the arguments presented in the 35 U.S.C. §102 section above.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-11 of applicant response filed 3/27/2026, with respect to claims 13 and 16-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-12 of applicant response filed 3/27/2026, with respect to claims 14-15 rely solely on the arguments presented in the claim 13 arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10 and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (US20220376547A1).
Claim 1:
Yang teaches “A control panel comprising: a main power input for receiving main power from a main power supply;” (Yang [0016] "As shown in FIG. 1, an input terminal of the switch unit 104 and an input terminal of the charging circuit 112 are electrically coupled to the AC mains through the filtering unit 102, and the switch unit 104 is further electrically coupled to an input terminal of the filtering unit 110 and an output terminal of the DC-AC conversion circuit 108 through the bypass path 118."
),
“a backup power input for receiving backup power from a backup power supply;” (Yang Fig. 1 [As shown above in claim 1] teaches a battery 116 i.e. backup power supply providing backup power),
“a plurality of power outputs for powering one or more external devices that are external to the control panel;” (Yang Fig. 1 [As shown above in claim 1] teaches multiple output ports 160_N; Yang teaches the output ports supplying power to at least one load i.e. one or more external devices that are external to the control panel in Yang [0016] "Each output port is electrically coupled to an output terminal of one of the sensing units 150_1-150_N, and each output port is configured to supply power to at least one load (not shown)."),
“a controller operatively coupled to the main power input, the backup power input and the plurality of power outputs,” (Yang teaches a controller that is coupled to the switch unit 104 which controls the main power input, the DC-DC conversion circuit 114 and the charging circuit 112 of the battery, and the control terminal of switches of the output ports 140_1 to 140_N in Yang [0017] "The control unit 120 is electrically coupled to the switch unit 104, the power factor correction circuit 106, the DC-AC conversion circuit 108, the charging circuit 112, and the DC-DC conversion circuit 114, and is configured to provide control signals C1 to C5 to control their operations, respectively. For example, the control unit 120 can use the control signal C1 to control the operation of the switch unit 104, so that the switch unit 104 electrically couples the output terminal of the filtering unit 102 to the bypass path 118, or electrically couples the output terminal of the filtering unit 102 to the input terminal of the power factor correction circuit 106. The control unit 120 is further electrically coupled to the control terminal of each of the switches 140_1 to 140_N, and is configured to provide control signals D1 to DN to control the operations of these switches, respectively. For example, the control unit 120 can use the control signal D1 to control the switch 104_1 to be in on state or in off state."),
“wherein the controller is configured to: receive a user assigned state for each of one or more of the plurality of power outputs,” (Yang teaches a user providing a system setting inputted through a user interface 122 in Yang [0018] "In addition, in this embodiment, the control unit 120 is further configured to receive a system setting inputted by a user through the input interface 122 (details will be described later). The input interface 122 can be implemented by a touch panel or multiple physical buttons; however, this is not intended to limit the present invention."; Yang teaches receiving a system setting and defining which output ports are critical in Yang [0019] "After receiving the system setting, the control unit 120 defines members of at least one group from the output ports 160_1-160_N according to the system setting, and defines which members of each group are non-critical output ports according to the system setting. Take 8 output ports as an example. Assuming that the system setting received by the control unit 120 is used to create two groups, group 1 and group 2; assuming that in this system setting, group 1 consists of output ports 160_1, 160_3, 160_4, 160_5, and 160_6, and group 2 consists of output ports 160_2, 160_7, and 160_8; and assuming that the output ports 160_1-160_4 are non-critical output ports, then the control unit 120 will define the output ports 160_1, 160_3, 160_4, 160_5, and 160_6 as the members of group 1 according to the system setting, and define the output ports 160_2, 160_7, and 160_8 as the members of group 2 according to the system setting."),
“wherein the user assigned state is one of: a first state where the corresponding power output provides main power received at the main power input when the main power is available and provides backup power received at the backup power input when the main power is not available; a second state where the corresponding power output provides main power received at the main power input when the main power is available but not provide backup power received at the backup power input when the main power is not available;” (Yang teaches that non-critical output ports will stop supplying power when the AC mains fail i.e. critical loads will maintain power when the main power is not available in Yang [0020-0023] "Next, the control unit 120 sets, according to the system setting, at least one condition for all non-critical output ports in each group to simultaneously stop supplying power, and to accordingly control the operations of the corresponding switches. The parameters considered in the conditions comprise at least one of power consumption of load, whether the AC mains fails, remaining energy of the battery 116, temperature of the battery 116, internal temperature of the uninterruptible power system 100, ambient temperature outside the uninterruptible power system 100, and a set counting time set by a user.
Assume that the system setting received by the control unit 120 sets three conditions for each of group 1 and group 2, as follows:
Group 1 (Load>M Watt∥L2B∥BatCap<40%)
Group 2 (Load>M Watt∥L2B∥BatCap<60%)
where Load represents the total power consumption of all loads of the corresponding group, L2B represents the failure of the AC mains, BatCap represents the remaining energy of the battery 116, and M is a positive number (i.e., a real number greater than 0). Then for group 1, when the total power consumption of all loads of group 1 is greater than M Watt, the AC mains fails, or the remaining energy of the battery 116 is less than 40%, the control unit 120 controls the operations of the switches 140_1, 140_3, and 140_4 to make these switches turn off, thereby causing all non-critical output ports in group 1 (i.e., output ports 160_1, 160_3, and 160_4) to simultaneously stop supplying power."), and
“and control the one or more of the plurality of power outputs according to the corresponding user assigned state.” (Yang teaches a user providing a system setting in Yang [0018] "In addition, in this embodiment, the control unit 120 is further configured to receive a system setting inputted by a user through the input interface 122 (details will be described later). The input interface 122 can be implemented by a touch panel or multiple physical buttons; however, this is not intended to limit the present invention."; Yang teaches that non-critical output ports will stop supplying power when the AC mains fail i.e. critical loads will maintain power when the AC mains fail. Which ports are defined as critical vs. non-critical is based on the system setting provided by the user in Yang [0021-0023] " Assume that the system setting received by the control unit 120 sets three conditions for each of group 1 and group 2, as follows:
Group 1 (Load>M Watt∥L2B∥BatCap<40%)
Group 2 (Load>M Watt∥L2B∥BatCap<60%)
where Load represents the total power consumption of all loads of the corresponding group, L2B represents the failure of the AC mains, BatCap represents the remaining energy of the battery 116, and M is a positive number (i.e., a real number greater than 0). Then for group 1, when the total power consumption of all loads of group 1 is greater than M Watt, the AC mains fails, or the remaining energy of the battery 116 is less than 40%, the control unit 120 controls the operations of the switches 140_1, 140_3, and 140_4 to make these switches turn off, thereby causing all non-critical output ports in group 1 (i.e., output ports 160_1, 160_3, and 160_4) to simultaneously stop supplying power.").
Claim 2:
Yang teaches “The control panel of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: receive an updated user assigned state for a selected one of the plurality of power outputs;” (Yang teaches a user providing a system setting inputted through a user interface 122 i.e. the system setting may be updated more than once in Yang [0018] "In addition, in this embodiment, the control unit 120 is further configured to receive a system setting inputted by a user through the input interface 122 (details will be described later). The input interface 122 can be implemented by a touch panel or multiple physical buttons; however, this is not intended to limit the present invention."; Yang teaches receiving a system setting and defining which output ports are critical in Yang [0019] "After receiving the system setting, the control unit 120 defines members of at least one group from the output ports 160_1-160_N according to the system setting, and defines which members of each group are non-critical output ports according to the system setting. Take 8 output ports as an example. Assuming that the system setting received by the control unit 120 is used to create two groups, group 1 and group 2; assuming that in this system setting, group 1 consists of output ports 160_1, 160_3, 160_4, 160_5, and 160_6, and group 2 consists of output ports 160_2, 160_7, and 160_8; and assuming that the output ports 160_1-160_4 are non-critical output ports, then the control unit 120 will define the output ports 160_1, 160_3, 160_4, 160_5, and 160_6 as the members of group 1 according to the system setting, and define the output ports 160_2, 160_7, and 160_8 as the members of group 2 according to the system setting."), and
“and control the selected one of the plurality of power outputs according to the updated user assigned state.” (Yang teaches that non-critical output ports will stop supplying power when the AC mains fail i.e. critical loads will maintain power when the AC mains fail. Which ports are defined as critical vs. non-critical is based on the system setting provided by the user in Yang [0021-0023] "Assume that the system setting received by the control unit 120 sets three conditions for each of group 1 and group 2, as follows:
Group 1 (Load>M Watt∥L2B∥BatCap<40%)
Group 2 (Load>M Watt∥L2B∥BatCap<60%)
where Load represents the total power consumption of all loads of the corresponding group, L2B represents the failure of the AC mains, BatCap represents the remaining energy of the battery 116, and M is a positive number (i.e., a real number greater than 0). Then for group 1, when the total power consumption of all loads of group 1 is greater than M Watt, the AC mains fails, or the remaining energy of the battery 116 is less than 40%, the control unit 120 controls the operations of the switches 140_1, 140_3, and 140_4 to make these switches turn off, thereby causing all non-critical output ports in group 1 (i.e., output ports 160_1, 160_3, and 160_4) to simultaneously stop supplying power.").
Claim 4:
Yang teaches “The control panel of claim 1, wherein the controller receives the user assigned state for each of one or more of the plurality of power outputs via a user interface,” (Yang teaches the user inputting the system setting through input interface 122 in Yang [0018] "In addition, the control unit 120 is further electrically coupled to the input interface 122, the communication interface 124 and the input terminal of the filtering unit 102. In this embodiment, the control unit 120 is further configured to receive the signal A on the input terminal of the filtering unit 102, and determine whether the AC power source (i.e., the AC mains) fails. In addition, in this embodiment, the control unit 120 is further configured to receive a system setting inputted by a user through the input interface 122"), and
“and wherein the user interface is part of the control panel.” (Yang teaches the user interface 122 being electrically coupled to the control unit i.e. it is part of the control panel in Yang [0018] "In addition, the control unit 120 is further electrically coupled to the input interface 122, the communication interface 124 and the input terminal of the filtering unit 102. In this embodiment, the control unit 120 is further configured to receive the signal A on the input terminal of the filtering unit 102, and determine whether the AC power source (i.e., the AC mains) fails. In addition, in this embodiment, the control unit 120 is further configured to receive a system setting inputted by a user through the input interface 122").
Claim 5:
Yang teaches “The control panel of claim 1, wherein the controller receives the user assigned state for each of one or more of the plurality of power outputs via a user interface,” (Yang teaches the user inputting the system setting through input interface 122 in Yang [0018] "In addition, the control unit 120 is further electrically coupled to the input interface 122, the communication interface 124 and the input terminal of the filtering unit 102. In this embodiment, the control unit 120 is further configured to receive the signal A on the input terminal of the filtering unit 102, and determine whether the AC power source (i.e., the AC mains) fails. In addition, in this embodiment, the control unit 120 is further configured to receive a system setting inputted by a user through the input interface 122"), and
“and wherein the user interface is external to the control panel but is in operative communication with the control panel.” (Yang teaches that the control unit 120 may receive the system setting inputted by the user through a communication interface 124 i.e. the interface is external in Yang [0025] "In addition, although in the above description, the control unit 120 receives the system setting inputted by the user through the input interface 122, this is not intended to limit the present invention. For example, assuming that the control unit 120 is further configured to execute a web server program to provide a web-based user interface, and that the web-based user interface is configured for a user to enter the system setting, then the control unit 120 can receive the system setting inputted by the user through the communication interface 124. Certainly, the web-based user interface comprises a Web interface, a SNMP interface (simple network management protocol interface) or a Telnet interface. In addition, the communication interface 124 can be a wired communication interface or a wireless communication interface, which is not limited by the present invention.").
Claim 6:
Yang teaches “The control panel of claim 1, wherein the controller receives the user assigned state from a remote device over a network.” (Yang teaches that the control unit 120 may receive the system setting inputted by the user through a communication interface 124 i.e. a remote device would communicate the system setting via the communication interface in Yang [0025] "In addition, although in the above description, the control unit 120 receives the system setting inputted by the user through the input interface 122, this is not intended to limit the present invention. For example, assuming that the control unit 120 is further configured to execute a web server program to provide a web-based user interface, and that the web-based user interface is configured for a user to enter the system setting, then the control unit 120 can receive the system setting inputted by the user through the communication interface 124. Certainly, the web-based user interface comprises a Web interface, a SNMP interface (simple network management protocol interface) or a Telnet interface. In addition, the communication interface 124 can be a wired communication interface or a wireless communication interface, which is not limited by the present invention.").
Claim 7:
Yang teaches “The control panel of claim 1, where each of the plurality of power outputs comprises one or more wire connectors for connecting the corresponding one of the plurality of power outputs with one or more power supply wires corresponding to one or more of the external devices, wherein each of the plurality of power outputs comprises a power rail that carries the corresponding one or more wire connectors.” (Yang teaches monitoring the power usage consumed by the load connected to each output port i.e. a load of one or more external devices is connected to the output port in Yang [0021-0023] "Assume that the system setting received by the control unit 120 sets three conditions for each of group 1 and group 2, as follows:
Group 1 (Load>M Watt∥L2B∥BatCap<40%)
Group 2 (Load>M Watt∥L2B∥BatCap<60%)
where Load represents the total power consumption of all loads of the corresponding group, L2B represents the failure of the AC mains, BatCap represents the remaining energy of the battery 116, and M is a positive number (i.e., a real number greater than 0). Then for group 1, when the total power consumption of all loads of group 1 is greater than M Watt, the AC mains fails, or the remaining energy of the battery 116 is less than 40%, the control unit 120 controls the operations of the switches 140_1, 140_3, and 140_4 to make these switches turn off, thereby causing all non-critical output ports in group 1 (i.e., output ports 160_1, 160_3, and 160_4) to simultaneously stop supplying power."; Yang teaches that each output port is configured to supply power to at least one load i.e. it is a power rail in Yang [0016] "Each output port is electrically coupled to an output terminal of one of the sensing units 150_1-150_N, and each output port is configured to supply power to at least one load (not shown).").
Claim 8:
Yang teaches “The control panel of claim 7, wherein the power supply wires of a selected one of the external devices are connected to a selected one of the plurality of power outputs of the control panel in accordance with a desired user assigned state of the selected one of the plurality of power outputs for the selected one of the external devices.” (Yang teaches a user providing a system setting inputted through a user interface 122 in Yang [0018] "In addition, in this embodiment, the control unit 120 is further configured to receive a system setting inputted by a user through the input interface 122 (details will be described later). The input interface 122 can be implemented by a touch panel or multiple physical buttons; however, this is not intended to limit the present invention."; Yang teaches receiving a system setting and defining which output ports are critical i.e. the user would connect devices that need to be powered when on backup power to a critical output port and devices that don't need to be powered when on backup power to a non-critical output port in Yang [0019] "After receiving the system setting, the control unit 120 defines members of at least one group from the output ports 160_1-160_N according to the system setting, and defines which members of each group are non-critical output ports according to the system setting. Take 8 output ports as an example. Assuming that the system setting received by the control unit 120 is used to create two groups, group 1 and group 2; assuming that in this system setting, group 1 consists of output ports 160_1, 160_3, 160_4, 160_5, and 160_6, and group 2 consists of output ports 160_2, 160_7, and 160_8; and assuming that the output ports 160_1-160_4 are non-critical output ports, then the control unit 120 will define the output ports 160_1, 160_3, 160_4, 160_5, and 160_6 as the members of group 1 according to the system setting, and define the output ports 160_2, 160_7, and 160_8 as the members of group 2 according to the system setting.").
Claim 10:
Yang teaches “The control panel of claim 1, wherein the control panel comprises one of: (Yang teaches that the invention it describes is an uninterruptible power system which can define members of groups of outport ports according to a system setting i.e. a smart power supply panel in Yang [0003] "An object of the present invention is to provide an uninterruptible power system, which can define members of at least one group from the output ports according to a system setting inputted by a user, thereby improving flexibility in use.").
Claim 18:
Yang teaches “A control panel comprising: a main power input for receiving main power from a main power supply;” (Yang [0016] "As shown in FIG. 1, an input terminal of the switch unit 104 and an input terminal of the charging circuit 112 are electrically coupled to the AC mains through the filtering unit 102, and the switch unit 104 is further electrically coupled to an input terminal of the filtering unit 110 and an output terminal of the DC-AC conversion circuit 108 through the bypass path 118."),
“a backup power input for receiving backup power from a backup power supply;” (Yang Fig. 1 [As shown above in claim 1] teaches a battery 116 i.e. backup power supply providing backup power),
“a plurality of power rails for powering one or more external devices external to the control panel, each of the plurality of power rails is coupled with the main power input and selectably coupled with the backup power input;” (Yang Fig. 1 [As shown above in claim 1] teaches multiple output ports 160_N; Yang teaches the output ports supplying power to at least one load in Yang [0016] "Each output port is electrically coupled to an output terminal of one of the sensing units 150_1-150_N, and each output port is configured to supply power to at least one load (not shown)."; Yang teaches a controller that is coupled to the switch unit 104 which controls the main power input, the DC-DC conversion circuit 114 and the charging circuit 112 of the battery, and the control terminal of switches of the output ports 140_1 to 140_N i.e. the controller may selectably connect the output terminals to the battery circuit via switches D1 to DN in Yang [0017] "The control unit 120 is electrically coupled to the switch unit 104, the power factor correction circuit 106, the DC-AC conversion circuit 108, the charging circuit 112, and the DC-DC conversion circuit 114, and is configured to provide control signals C1 to C5 to control their operations, respectively. For example, the control unit 120 can use the control signal C1 to control the operation of the switch unit 104, so that the switch unit 104 electrically couples the output terminal of the filtering unit 102 to the bypass path 118, or electrically couples the output terminal of the filtering unit 102 to the input terminal of the power factor correction circuit 106. The control unit 120 is further electrically coupled to the control terminal of each of the switches 140_1 to 140_N, and is configured to provide control signals D1 to DN to control the operations of these switches, respectively. For example, the control unit 120 can use the control signal D1 to control the switch 104_1 to be in on state or in off state."),
“a controller operatively coupled to the main power input, the backup power input and the plurality of power rails,” (Yang teaches a controller that is coupled to the switch unit 104 which controls the main power input, the DC-DC conversion circuit 114 and the charging circuit 112 of the battery, and the control terminal of switches of the output ports 140_1 to 140_N in Yang [0017] "The control unit 120 is electrically coupled to the switch unit 104, the power factor correction circuit 106, the DC-AC conversion circuit 108, the charging circuit 112, and the DC-DC conversion circuit 114, and is configured to provide control signals C1 to C5 to control their operations, respectively. For example, the control unit 120 can use the control signal C1 to control the operation of the switch unit 104, so that the switch unit 104 electrically couples the output terminal of the filtering unit 102 to the bypass path 118, or electrically couples the output terminal of the filtering unit 102 to the input terminal of the power factor correction circuit 106. The control unit 120 is further electrically coupled to the control terminal of each of the switches 140_1 to 140_N, and is configured to provide control signals D1 to DN to control the operations of these switches, respectively. For example, the control unit 120 can use the control signal D1 to control the switch 104_1 to be in on state or in off state."),
“wherein the controller is configured to: receive a user selection designating which of the plurality of power rails will be powered by the main power supply only and which of the plurality of power rails will be powered by the main power supply and by the backup power supply;” (Yang teaches a user providing a system setting inputted through a user interface 122 in Yang [0018] "In addition, in this embodiment, the control unit 120 is further configured to receive a system setting inputted by a user through the input interface 122 (details will be described later). The input interface 122 can be implemented by a touch panel or multiple physical buttons; however, this is not intended to limit the present invention."; Yang teaches receiving a system setting and defining which output ports are critical in Yang [0019] "After receiving the system setting, the control unit 120 defines members of at least one group from the output ports 160_1-160_N according to the system setting, and defines which members of each group are non-critical output ports according to the system setting."; Yang teaches that non-critical output ports will stop supplying power when the AC mains fail i.e. critical loads will maintain power when the AC mains fail in Yang [0021-0023] "Assume that the system setting received by the control unit 120 sets three conditions for each of group 1 and group 2, as follows:
Group 1 (Load>M Watt∥L2B∥BatCap<40%)
Group 2 (Load>M Watt∥L2B∥BatCap<60%)
where Load represents the total power consumption of all loads of the corresponding group, L2B represents the failure of the AC mains, BatCap represents the remaining energy of the battery 116, and M is a positive number (i.e., a real number greater than 0). Then for group 1, when the total power consumption of all loads of group 1 is greater than M Watt, the AC mains fails, or the remaining energy of the battery 116 is less than 40%, the control unit 120 controls the operations of the switches 140_1, 140_3, and 140_4 to make these switches turn off, thereby causing all non-critical output ports in group 1 (i.e., output ports 160_1, 160_3, and 160_4) to simultaneously stop supplying power."),
“and connect the backup power input to the power rails designated by the user selection to be powered by the main power supply and the backup power supply.” (Yang teaches that non-critical output ports will stop supplying power when the AC mains fail i.e. critical loads will remain connected to the backup power when the main power is not available in Yang [0021-0023] "Assume that the system setting received by the control unit 120 sets three conditions for each of group 1 and group 2, as follows:
Group 1 (Load>M Watt∥L2B∥BatCap<40%)
Group 2 (Load>M Watt∥L2B∥BatCap<60%)
where Load represents the total power consumption of all loads of the corresponding group, L2B represents the failure of the AC mains, BatCap represents the remaining energy of the battery 116, and M is a positive number (i.e., a real number greater than 0). Then for group 1, when the total power consumption of all loads of group 1 is greater than M Watt, the AC mains fails, or the remaining energy of the battery 116 is less than 40%, the control unit 120 controls the operations of the switches 140_1, 140_3, and 140_4 to make these switches turn off, thereby causing all non-critical output ports in group 1 (i.e., output ports 160_1, 160_3, and 160_4) to simultaneously stop supplying power.").
Claim 19:
Yang teaches “The control panel of claim 18, wherein the controller receives the user selection via a user interface that is part of the control panel or via a user interface that is external to the control panel but is in operative communication with the control panel.” (Yang teaches the user interface 122 being electrically coupled to the control unit i.e. it is part of the control panel in Yang [0018] "In addition, the control unit 120 is further electrically coupled to the input interface 122, the communication interface 124 and the input terminal of the filtering unit 102. In this embodiment, the control unit 120 is further configured to receive the signal A on the input terminal of the filtering unit 102, and determine whether the AC power source (i.e., the AC mains) fails. In addition, in this embodiment, the control unit 120 is further configured to receive a system setting inputted by a user through the input interface 122"; Yang teaches that the control unit 120 may receive the system setting inputted by the user through a communication interface 124 i.e. the interface may be external in Yang [0025] "In addition, although in the above description, the control unit 120 receives the system setting inputted by the user through the input interface 122, this is not intended to limit the present invention. For example, assuming that the control unit 120 is further configured to execute a web server program to provide a web-based user interface, and that the web-based user interface is configured for a user to enter the system setting, then the control unit 120 can receive the system setting inputted by the user through the communication interface 124. Certainly, the web-based user interface comprises a Web interface, a SNMP interface (simple network management protocol interface) or a Telnet interface. In addition, the communication interface 124 can be a wired communication interface or a wireless communication interface, which is not limited by the present invention.").
Claim 20:
Yang teaches “The control panel of claim 18, further comprising a plurality of power relays that are controllable by the controller in order to selectively connect the backup power input to the power rails designated to be powered by the main power supply and the backup power supply.” (Yang teaches a controller that is coupled to the switch unit 104 which controls the control terminal of switches i.e. an electrically controlled switch is a relay of the output ports 140_1 to 140_N i.e. the controller may selectably connect the output terminals to the battery circuit via switches D1 to DN in Yang [0017] "The control unit 120 is electrically coupled to the switch unit 104, the power factor correction circuit 106, the DC-AC conversion circuit 108, the charging circuit 112, and the DC-DC conversion circuit 114, and is configured to provide control signals C1 to C5 to control their operations, respectively. For example, the control unit 120 can use the control signal C1 to control the operation of the switch unit 104, so that the switch unit 104 electrically couples the output terminal of the filtering unit 102 to the bypass path 118, or electrically couples the output terminal of the filtering unit 102 to the input terminal of the power factor correction circuit 106. The control unit 120 is further electrically coupled to the control terminal of each of the switches 140_1 to 140_N, and is configured to provide control signals D1 to DN to control the operations of these switches, respectively. For example, the control unit 120 can use the control signal D1 to control the switch 104_1 to be in on state or in off state.").
Claim 21:
Yang teaches “The control panel of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to receive, via a user interface, a user assigned state for each of one or more of the plurality of power outputs, (Yang teaches the user inputting the system setting through input interface 122 in Yang [0018] "In addition, the control unit 120 is further electrically coupled to the input interface 122, the communication interface 124 and the input terminal of the filtering unit 102. In this embodiment, the control unit 120 is further configured to receive the signal A on the input terminal of the filtering unit 102, and determine whether the AC power source (i.e., the AC mains) fails. In addition, in this embodiment, the control unit 120 is further configured to receive a system setting inputted by a user through the input interface 122"), and
“wherein the user assigned state directly designates, independent of system operating conditions, whether the corresponding power output provides backup power when the main power is not available.” (Yang teaches that the system setting sets at least one condition for all non-critical output ports e.g. the user may set just one condition, the condition being that non-critical output ports are not provided power when the AC mains fail as described in Yang [0020] “Next, the control unit 120 sets, according to the system setting, at least one condition for all non-critical output ports in each group to simultaneously stop supplying power, and to accordingly control the operations of the corresponding switches. The parameters considered in the conditions comprise at least one of power consumption of load, whether the AC mains fails, remaining energy of the battery 116, temperature of the battery 116, internal temperature of the uninterruptible power system 100, ambient temperature outside the uninterruptible power system 100, and a set counting time set by a user.”).
Claim 22:
Yang teaches “The control panel of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to receive and store the user assigned state independently for each of the plurality of power outputs such that each power output is configurable independently of other power outputs,” (Yang teaches a user providing a system setting inputted through a user interface 122 in Yang [0018] "In addition, in this embodiment, the control unit 120 is further configured to receive a system setting inputted by a user through the input interface 122 (details will be described later). The input interface 122 can be implemented by a touch panel or multiple physical buttons; however, this is not intended to limit the present invention."; Yang teaches receiving a system setting and defining which output ports are critical i.e. within one group, individual ports may be defined as critical or non-critical, so the state of each output is independent of other outputs in Yang [0019] "After receiving the system setting, the control unit 120 defines members of at least one group from the output ports 160_1-160_N according to the system setting, and defines which members of each group are non-critical output ports according to the system setting. Take 8 output ports as an example. Assuming that the system setting received by the control unit 120 is used to create two groups, group 1 and group 2; assuming that in this system setting, group 1 consists of output ports 160_1, 160_3, 160_4, 160_5, and 160_6, and group 2 consists of output ports 160_2, 160_7, and 160_8; and assuming that the output ports 160_1-160_4 are non-critical output ports, then the control unit 120 will define the output ports 160_1, 160_3, 160_4, 160_5, and 160_6 as the members of group 1 according to the system setting, and define the output ports 160_2, 160_7, and 160_8 as the members of group 2 according to the system setting. In addition, the control unit 120 will define the output ports 160_1, 160_3, and 160_4 in the group 1 as non-critical output ports according to the system setting, and define the output port 160_2 in the group 2 as non-critical output ports according to the system setting. As for the other output ports in group 1 and the other output ports in group 2, the control unit 120 will automatically define them as critical output ports."), and
“and wherein whether each corresponding power output provides backup power when the main power is not available is determined solely by the user assigned state associated with that power output.” (Yang teaches that non-critical output ports will stop supplying power when the AC mains fail i.e. critical loads will maintain power when the AC mains fail in Yang [0020-0021] "Next, the control unit 120 sets, according to the system setting, at least one condition for all non-critical output ports in each group to simultaneously stop supplying power, and to accordingly control the operations of the corresponding switches. The parameters considered in the conditions comprise at least one of power consumption of load, whether the AC mains fails, remaining energy of the battery 116, temperature of the battery 116, internal temperature of the uninterruptible power system 100, ambient temperature outside the uninterruptible power system 100, and a set counting time set by a user.Assume that the system setting received by the control unit 120 sets three conditions for each of group 1 and group 2, as follows:Group 1 (Load>M Watt∥L2B∥BatCap<40%)Group 2 (Load>M Watt∥L2B∥BatCap<60%)where Load represents the total power consumption of all loads of the corresponding group, L2B represents the failure of the AC mains, BatCap represents the remaining energy of the battery 116, and M is a positive number (i.e., a real number greater than 0). Then for group 1, when the total power consumption of all loads of group 1 is greater than M Watt, the AC mains fails, or the remaining energy of the battery 116 is less than 40%, the control unit 120 controls the operations of the switches 140_1, 140_3, and 140_4 to make these switches turn off, thereby causing all non-critical output ports in group 1 (i.e., output ports 160_1, 160_3, and 160_4) to simultaneously stop supplying power.").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US20220376547A1), in view of Chen et al. (US20220131408A1).
Claim 11:
Yang teaches “The control panel of claim 1,” as described above.
Yang does not appear to explicitly teach “wherein the controller is configured to: automatically enable one or more maintenance functions of the control panel when the main power is available; and automatically disable one or more of the maintenance functions when the main power is not available.” However, Chen does teach these claim limitations (Chen teaches a maintenance bypass mode that is only available to the operator when utility power is present in Chen [0080] "The broad line in the one-line diagram of FIG. 5 shows that the power now flows through the MBB 130 to the load 60 in the Maintenance Bypass mode. In this state, the UPS 1 no longer provides continuous backup power and a loss of utility power would result in an interruption of power to the load 60. Note that in FIG. 4, the power flow line had confirmed that utility power was present. This may have been determined by one of the voltage sensors that may be used at various locations in the MBA 200, but are not shown in the visualization diagram. Alerting graphics may be incorporated that show the locations in the overall system where power voltages are present in each state. As a consequence of the programming of the state change criteria, if utility power was not present, the capability of a state change from Normal mode to Maintenance Bypass mode would be not be available to the operator.").
Yang and Chen are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of supplying backup power. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Nunn and Chen before him/her, to modify the teachings of an Uninterruptible power system and operation method thereof of Yang to include the disabling of transitioning from normal to maintenance bypass mode when utility power is not present of Chen because adding the Maintenance bypass assembly for uninterruptable power supply of Chen would allow for servicing of the UPS while providing power to the load without providing backup power as described in Chen [0066] “There can be a state in which the UPS 1 is active, the static bypass 80 is open and the LBB 150 has been closed so that the UPS 1 can supply power to the test load 70 through an auxiliary output 170. The MBA 200 may be in the Maintenance Bypass mode so that the load 60 is continually supplied with power through the output 160, albeit without a backup in case of prime power failure.” And in Chen [0078] “FIG. 4 is a representation of the graphical display 210 for operator information and control showing the present states of the circuit breakers of the MBA 200 and the UPS 1 when the operator is in the process of transitioning from a state where the UPS 1 is on-line and providing continuous power to the load 60 (Normal mode) to a state where the UPS 1 will be bypassed so that the UPS 1 may be serviced (Maintenance Bypass mode).”
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US20220376547A1), in view of Powell (US6618042B1).
Claim 12:
Yang teaches “The control panel of claim 1,” as described above.
Yang does not appear to explicitly teach “wherein the controller is configured to: automatically set a backlight intensity setting and/or However, Powell does teach these claim limitations (Powell teaches the user selected brightness level i.e. first state of a screen remains in effect until the power source changes from external to internal batteries i.e. backup power, and that when on backup power, it automatically adjusts the screen to a preselected brightness level i.e. second state which provides longer battery life i.e. it draws less power in Powell [Column 4 line 61 - Column 5 line 3] "The user selected brightness level remains in effect until the system detects a change in the power source from the external source to the internal batteries (step 304). If the user switches to battery use, e.g., by removing the AC power adapter (step 308), the brightness level is then reduced in step 312 to some predetermined or preselected target brightness level designed to provide longer battery life. In an embodiment, the user setting is logged so that the user selected brightness level may be restored if the user subsequently reconnects the AC adapter.").
Yang and Powell are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of using backup power. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Nunn and Powell before him/her, to modify the teachings of an Uninterruptible power system and operation method thereof of Yang to include the Display brightness control method and apparatus for conserving battery power of Powell because adding the brightness changing when on backup power of Powell would allow for the uninterruptible power system to have a longer battery life as described in Powell [Column 4 line 61 - Column 5 line 3] “The user selected brightness level remains in effect until the system detects a change in the power source from the external source to the internal batteries (step 304). If the user switches to battery use, e.g., by removing the AC power adapter (step 308), the brightness level is then reduced in step 312 to some predetermined or preselected target brightness level designed to provide longer battery life. In an embodiment, the user setting is logged so that the user selected brightness level may be restored if the user subsequently reconnects the AC adapter."; Additionally, Powell states that the reduction of brightness may be applied to other types of devices aside from portable computers in Powell [Column 8 lines 27-45] “The description above should not be construed as limiting the scope of the invention, but as merely providing illustrations to some of the presently preferred embodiments of this invention. In light of the above description and examples, various other modifications and variations will now become apparent to those skilled in the art without departing from the spirit and scope of the present invention as defined by the appended claims. For example, in addition to portable computers, the present invention may be implemented with any other portable electronic device employing a display screen wherein it would be desirable to reduce display screen brightness when the device is switched from operating on an AC adapter or other external power source to a battery. Such devices include, but are not limited to, portable displays or other portable computer peripherals, cellular telephones, video camcorders, portable televisions, portable video players such as portable DVD players, electronic games, portable laboratory or medical equipment, and the like.”
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US20220376547A1), in view of Fallon et al. (US20160054771A1).
Claim 13:
Yang teaches “A method of configuring a security system that includes a control panel and a plurality of security system components,” (Yang teaches a user providing a system setting inputted through a user interface i.e. control panel 122 in Yang [0018] "In addition, in this embodiment, the control unit 120 is further configured to receive a system setting inputted by a user through the input interface 122 (details will be described later). The input interface 122 can be implemented by a touch panel or multiple physical buttons; however, this is not intended to limit the present invention."),
“the method comprising: displaying a user interface that allows a user to select which of a plurality of power rails of the control panel receive power when a main power supply is available but do not receive power from a backup power supply when the main power supply is not available, and which of the plurality of power rails of the control panel receive power when the main power supply is available and also receive power from the backup power supply when the main power supply is not available;” (Yang teaches a user providing a system setting inputted through a user interface 122 in Yang [0018] "In addition, in this embodiment, the control unit 120 is further configured to receive a system setting inputted by a user through the input interface 122 (details will be described later). The input interface 122 can be implemented by a touch panel or multiple physical buttons; however, this is not intended to limit the present invention."; Yang teaches receiving a system setting and defining which output ports are critical in Yang [0019] "After receiving the system setting, the control unit 120 defines members of at least one group from the output ports 160_1-160_N according to the system setting, and defines which members of each group are non-critical output ports according to the system setting."; Yang teaches that non-critical output ports will stop supplying power when the AC mains fail i.e. critical loads will maintain power when the main power supply is not available in Yang [0021] "Assume that the system setting received by the control unit 120 sets three conditions for each of group 1 and group 2, as follows:
Group 1 (Load>M Watt∥L2B∥BatCap<40%)
Group 2 (Load>M Watt∥L2B∥BatCap<60%)
where Load represents the total power consumption of all loads of the corresponding group, L2B represents the failure of the AC mains, BatCap represents the remaining energy of the battery 116, and M is a positive number (i.e., a real number greater than 0). Then for group 1, when the total power consumption of all loads of group 1 is greater than M Watt, the AC mains fails, or the remaining energy of the battery 116 is less than 40%, the control unit 120 controls the operations of the switches 140_1, 140_3, and 140_4 to make these switches turn off, thereby causing all non-critical output ports in group 1 (i.e., output ports 160_1, 160_3, and 160_4) to simultaneously stop supplying power."),
“for those power rails selected to receive power when the main power supply is available but not to receive power from the backup power supply when the main power supply is not available, applying power when the main power supply is available and not applying power from the backup power supply when the main power supply is not available; for those power rails selected to receive power when the main power supply is available and to receive power from the backup power supply when the main power supply is not available, applying power when the main power supply is available and applying power from the backup power supply when the main power supply is not available;” (Yang teaches that each output port is configured to supply power to at least one load in Yang [0016] "Each output port is electrically coupled to an output terminal of one of the sensing units 150_1-150_N, and each output port is configured to supply power to at least one load (not shown)."; Yang teaches that non-critical output ports will stop supplying power when the AC mains fail i.e. critical loads will maintain power when the main power supply is not available. Which ports are defined as critical vs. non-critical is based on the system setting provided by the user in Yang [0021] "Assume that the system setting received by the control unit 120 sets three conditions for each of group 1 and group 2, as follows:
Group 1 (Load>M Watt∥L2B∥BatCap<40%)
Group 2 (Load>M Watt∥L2B∥BatCap<60%)
where Load represents the total power consumption of all loads of the corresponding group, L2B represents the failure of the AC mains, BatCap represents the remaining energy of the battery 116, and M is a positive number (i.e., a real number greater than 0). Then for group 1, when the total power consumption of all loads of group 1 is greater than M Watt, the AC mains fails, or the remaining energy of the battery 116 is less than 40%, the control unit 120 controls the operations of the switches 140_1, 140_3, and 140_4 to make these switches turn off, thereby causing all non-critical output ports in group 1 (i.e., output ports 160_1, 160_3, and 160_4) to simultaneously stop supplying power."),
Yang does not appear to explicitly teach “determining a first set of the plurality of security system components that need to remain powered when the main power supply is not available”, “and a second set of the plurality of security system components that do not need to remain powered when the main power supply is not available;”, “field connecting the first set of the plurality of security system components to one or more power rails of the control panel designated to receive power from the backup power supply when the main power supply is not available;”, or “and field connecting the second set of the plurality of security system components to one or more power rails of the control panel designated to not receive power from the backup power supply when the main power supply is not available.” However, Fallon does teach these claim limitations.
Fallon teaches “determining a first set of the plurality of security system components that need to remain powered when the main power supply is not available” (Fallon teaches a load shedding screen that configures the priority for turning off outlet groups depending on conditions in Fallon [0023] "Finally, the user can visit a load shedding screen to configure the priority for turning off outlet groups when certain conditions apply. Load shedding enables a UPS to preserve battery power for critical equipment and thus is an important function of the UPS when the main power source is not available. It is essential that the user knows which equipment is connected to each outlet group as safe shutdown is not guaranteed without the correct connection."; Fallon teaches an outlet configuration utility that assigns devices to the most optimal profile in Fallon [0051-0052] "In response to the selection of the device, the outlet configuration utility 150 can determine to which outlet group the device should be assigned based on the outlet configuration process 400, as described further below. The outlet configuration process includes a set of predetermined device profiles and associated predetermined rules associated with assigning devices to those profiles, which can result in the most optimal profile determined for each device. In one embodiment, the profiles define a ‘type’ of device and its associated delays and settings. The outlet configuration utility 150 can then provide instructions to the user indicating the outlet group for attaching the device."; Fallon teaches a profile that allows for maximum runtime i.e. the outlets stay on in the event of main power loss of a device e.g. router in Fallon [0074] "In at least one example, the profiles can include a “Critical Devices Stay On” profile or the CSO profile. The CSO profile may be associated with critical equipment that needs to stay on as long as possible. The devices associated with the CSO profile can be connected to the Main Outlet Group if the group is available on the UPS 102. The CSO profile can includes settings that allow for maximum runtime and do not include the devices in this profile as part of the shutdown command. The load shedding properties of CGS profile can include settings that prevent the load from being shed. Other pre-configured settings can include the turn-off delay of 1200 seconds, the stay-off delay of 8 seconds, and the turn-on delay of 0 seconds. Examples of devices to which this profile can be assigned include routers and switches."),
“and a second set of the plurality of security system components that do not need to remain powered when the main power supply is not available;” (Fallon teaches a profile that shuts power off to a load e.g. a monitor immediately in Fallon [0076] "In at least one example, the profiles can include an “Immediate Shutdown” profile or the IS profile. The IS profile may be associated with non-critical equipment that can be turned off immediately. Minimal Turn on delay gives more critical equipment the chance to turn on first. The devices associated with the IS profile can be connected to any outlet group. The IS profile can include settings that allow for no turn-off and minimal turn-on delays. The load shedding properties of IS profile can include settings that shed load immediately, and do not use a turn-off delay. Other pre-configured settings can include the turn-off delay of 0 seconds, the stay-off delay of 8 seconds, and the turn-on delay of 60 seconds. One example of a device to which this profile can be assigned includes a monitor."),
“field connecting the first set of the plurality of security system components to one or more power rails of the control panel designated to receive power from the backup power supply when the main power supply is not available;” (Fallon teaches the outlet configuration utility instructing a user to connect a router e.g. the first set of security system components to a main outlet on the UPS and the user connecting the router to the main outlet group in Fallon [0064] "The household user can install the outlet configuration utility 150 on a home computer. According to one example, the outlet configuration utility 150 advises the user, both in text and graphical format, that the router belongs to its most critical profile. Consequently, the router should be connected to the main outlet on their UPS so that the router and other equipment connected to this group will be kept on as long as possible during a power loss. Now informed of this recommendation, the user also connects the router, the satellite television equipment and personal computer to the remaining sockets in the main outlet group."), and
“and field connecting the second set of the plurality of security system components to one or more power rails of the control panel designated to not receive power from the backup power supply when the main power supply is not available.” (Fallon teaches the outlet configuration utility instructing a user to connect a monitor e.g. the second set of security system components to outlet group 2 on the UPS and the user connecting the monitor to outlet group 2 in Fallon [0066] "The outlet configuration utility 150 can also provide instructions to advise the user that the printer is a non-critical device that can be shut down immediately during a power loss, and provide instructions that the printer should be connected to Outlet Group 2. Realizing this new information, the household user also connects the computer monitor to Outlet Group 2.").
Yang and Fallon are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of adjusting device power usage while on backup power. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Yang and Fallon before him/her, to modify the teachings of an Uninterruptible power system and operation method thereof of Yang to include the selection of the device, determination of load profile, and connection of the device of Fallon because adding the System and method for configuring ups outlets of Fallon would maximize runtime of the UPS and ensure equipment is adequately protected as described in Fallon [0028] “Accordingly, systems and methods disclosed herein include systems and methods that are configured to make recommendations for connecting one or more devices to one or more UPS outlet groups depending on desired functionality and optimal functionality. In some examples, such a utility can maximize the runtime of the UPS in the event of a power problem and can ensure that the equipment is adequately protected from surges. In addition, the systems and methods can pre-configure the user interface with the recommended shutdown settings, delay times and reboot times where appropriate for that particular device type and usage. Further, the systems and methods can provide flexibility and user configurability by providing an option for the user to edit the preconfigured settings if the user wants to make changes to those settings.”
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US20220376547A1), in view of Fallon et al. (US20160054771A1), further in view of Coq et al. (US20230307941A1).
Claim 16:
Yang in view of Fallon teaches “The method of claim 13,” as described above. Neither Yang or Fallon appear to explicitly teach “further comprising: displaying a user interface that allow a user to select a security system component from the first set of the plurality of security system components;” or “and allowing the user, via the user interface, to configure a first set of operating parameters for the selected security system component used for controlling the selected security system component when the main power supply is available and to configure a second set of operating parameters used for controlling the selected security system component when the main power supply is not available.” However, Coq does teach these claim limitations.
Coq teaches “further comprising: displaying a user interface that allow a user to select a security system component from the first set of the plurality of security system components;” (Coq teaches that a user may define the priority of devices through a user device i.e. a user interface would be displayed to select a device in Coq [0031] "In some embodiments, the BPAM can obtain priority data by user input. For example, in some embodiments, a user can select priorities and/or thresholds for tasks and/or electronic devices through a user device (e.g., user device 140, FIG. 1 ). In this example, the user can transmit the selected priorities and/or thresholds to the BPAM through a network (e.g., network 150, FIG. 1 )."; Coq teaches that a first server i.e. security system component may be configured to maintain the quantity of power allocated during a power outage i.e. when the main power supply is not available in Coq [0029] "In this example, in the event of a power outage, the BPAM can be configured to maintain a quantity of power allocated to the first server and to reduce a quantity of power allocated to the second server, based, at least in part, on the respective designations. Additionally, in some embodiments, the BPAM can reduce the quantity of power allocated to the second server by reducing one or more processing speeds of the second server. In some embodiments, the BPAM can reduce the quantity of power allocated to the second server by powering off the second server."), and
“and allowing the user, via the user interface, to configure a first set of operating parameters for the selected security system component used for controlling the selected security system component when the main power supply is available and to configure a second set of operating parameters used for controlling the selected security system component when the main power supply is not available.” (Coq teaches that a second server i.e. security system component may be configured to reduce the quantity of power allocated during a power outage i.e. when the main power supply is not available in Coq [0029] "In this example, in the event of a power outage, the BPAM can be configured to maintain a quantity of power allocated to the first server and to reduce a quantity of power allocated to the second server, based, at least in part, on the respective designations. Additionally, in some embodiments, the BPAM can reduce the quantity of power allocated to the second server by reducing one or more processing speeds of the second server. In some embodiments, the BPAM can reduce the quantity of power allocated to the second server by powering off the second server.").
Yang, Fallon, and Coq are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of adjusting device power usage while on backup power. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Yang, Fallon, and Coq before him/her, to modify the teachings of an Uninterruptible power system and operation method thereof of Yang modified to include the selection of the device, determination of load profile, and connection of the device of Fallon to include the selection of a device’s priority of Coq because adding the Backup power allocation management of Coq would autonomously tailor performance by backup power sources according to a user’s interest as described in Coq [0017] “To address these and other challenges, embodiments of the present disclosure include a backup power allocation manager. In some embodiments, the backup power allocation manager can modify an allocation of power to one or more electronic devices based on monitored environmental conditions and a set of predetermined priority ratings. By accounting for dynamic environmental conditions, embodiments of the present disclosure can autonomously increase a duration of available backup power from one or more backup power sources. Additionally, by utilizing a set of predetermined priority ratings, embodiments of the present disclosure can autonomously tailor performance by one or more backup power sources according to a user's interests.”
Claim 17:
Yang in view of Fallon, further in view of Coq teaches “The method of claim 16, further comprising: automatically operating the selected security system component in accordance with the first set of operating parameters when the main power supply is available; and automatically operating the selected security system component in accordance with the second set of operating parameters when the main power supply is not available.” (Coq teaches that a second server i.e. security system component may be configured to reduce the quantity of power allocated during a power outage i.e. when the main power supply is available, it operates at a standard, first set of operating parameters and when the main power supply isn't available, it operates at a second set of operating parameters in Coq [0029] "In this example, a first server of the set of servers can have the “critical” designation, and a second server of the set of servers can have the “non-critical” designation. In this example, in the event of a power outage, the BPAM can be configured to maintain a quantity of power allocated to the first server and to reduce a quantity of power allocated to the second server, based, at least in part, on the respective designations. Additionally, in some embodiments, the BPAM can reduce the quantity of power allocated to the second server by reducing one or more processing speeds of the second server. In some embodiments, the BPAM can reduce the quantity of power allocated to the second server by powering off the second server.").
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US20220376547A1), in view of Fallon et al. (US20160054771A1), further in view of Tylicki et al. (US10830404B1).
Claim 14:
Yang in view of Fallon teaches “The method of claim 13,” as described above.
Yang in view of Fallon does not appear to explicitly teach “wherein the first set of the plurality of security system components include one or more of a motion sensor, (Tylicki teaches a motion sensor which provides data when in backup power mode i.e. it is powered when on backup mode in Tylicki [Column 5 lines 15-21] "When operating in the backup power mode, the second set of LEDs can illuminate in response to signals from a motion sensor and/or ambient light sensor, and the illumination time can be limited to conserve battery power. The second set of LEDs can illuminate as long as motion is sensed and/or as long as an amount of ambient light detected is outside of a threshold."; Tylicki teaches that sensor data may be powered by a backup power source depending on the utility power's availability in Tylicki [Column 12 lines 25-32] "The sensor data can be powered by a utility power source or a backup power source depending on an availability of the utility power source. Furthermore, the sensor can be a motion sensor, which can include an infrared sensor, image sensor, audio sensor, moisture sensor, temperature sensor, and/or any other sensor capable of being responsive to movements."; Tylicki Fig. 2 teaches the sensors 210 which may include the motion sensor mentioned earlier being powered by backup battery 218.
).
Yang, Fallon, and Tylicki are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of adjusting device power usage while on backup power. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Nunn, Fallon, and Tylicki before him/her, to modify the teachings of an Uninterruptible power system and operation method thereof of Yang modified to include the selection of the device, determination of load profile, and connection of the device of Fallon, to include the motion sensor of Tylicki, because including the Battery backup for lighting system of Tylicki would allow for providing security lighting in the event of a power outage as described in Tylicki [Column 4 lines 43-60] “The described embodiments relate to systems, methods, and apparatuses for controlling lights in a security lighting system according to whether grid power is available to the security lighting system. A security light can illuminate in response to a variety of stimulus in order to illuminate areas of interest when certain actions are occurring at those areas. An example of such stimulus can include motion or changes in ambient light. Unfortunately, should a power outage occur, many security lights would no longer be able to sense such stimulus and provide power to their lights. Moreover, in the event that a light of a security lighting device malfunctions, the security light may not have any backup for providing light in case of an emergency. However, the present disclosure provides security lighting systems with a backup battery and a backup array of light emitting diodes (LEDs), along with circuitry for preserving the backup battery, and controlling when the backup array of LEDs will be active.”
Claim 14:
Yang in view of Fallon, further in view of Tylicki teaches “The method of claim 13, wherein the second set of the plurality of security system components include one or more of a temperature sensor, a (Tylicki teaches a sensor 210 may be a temperature sensor in Tylicki [Column 8 lines 52-63] "The driver 208 can power a controller 212 of the security lighting system 202 from either utility power 204 or the backup battery 218. For example, when a power outage occurs and the utility power 204 is no longer available, the controller 212 can detect that a loss of electrical power from the utility power 204 and switch the driver 208 to the backup battery 218. The controller 212 can also use sensors 210 to determine when to no longer operate a backup power circuit 216 of the security lighting system 202. For example, at least one of the sensors 210 can be a temperature sensor, and the backup power circuit 216 can charge the backup battery 218 using power from the utility power 204.").
Conclusion
/Z.A.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116